Typoman Image
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 29 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Typoman is a 2D puzzle platformer distinguished by a unique game world. You slip into the role of the HERO struggling to make your way through a dark, surreal world. Despite your small stature you have a powerful gift: You can use letters to alter your environment.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Typoman - E3 2015 Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 26
  2. Negative: 5 out of 26
  1. Nov 19, 2015
    87
    An indie Wii U exclusive with personality, style and a very intriguing gameplay. The difficulty spikes in the action sequences could be too much for some people.
  2. Nov 23, 2015
    80
    One of those small surprises that come from the indie market, Typoman could remind you of Limbo, but soon it takes on a very different and interesting gameplay path.
  3. Jan 11, 2016
    70
    With a good sense of progression and an ever-rising challenge threshold, in moments of greater tension word-forming can become frustrating but this does not hinder Typoman's creativity and originality.
  4. Nov 24, 2015
    65
    This is one to at least look out for on the Wii U. Just keep in mind, there is some trial and error that has to be played through to get to the good bits.
  5. Nov 25, 2015
    60
    The idea is original and the base is interesting, but at the end of the day it all feels empty and feels like a wasted opportunity. With better mechanics, it could have been a way better game.
  6. Dec 7, 2015
    50
    This isn’t an awful game by any stretch, it’s not nothing special, despite the feeling it should be.
  7. Nov 24, 2015
    30
    A great idea ruined by some very strange design decisions, that turn what should be a fun platformer puzzler into a gloomy and illogical word game.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Dec 4, 2015
    9
    Very fun and extremely underrated platformer it seems. Incredibly unique and challenging. One of the most underrated titles to come out thisVery fun and extremely underrated platformer it seems. Incredibly unique and challenging. One of the most underrated titles to come out this year. Fantastic artwork. Fantastic game. Expand
  2. Feb 22, 2017
    7
    Typoman Revised
    A Clever Adventure
    Typo Man Revised is an extended and slightly altered version of the original Typoman It isn’t much
    Typoman Revised
    A Clever Adventure
    Typo Man Revised is an extended and slightly altered version of the original Typoman
    It isn’t much longer though only taking around 3 hours to complete
    This is a story of good vs evil,
    A 2d platformer where you play as hero trying to get through to the end of each hour long chapter
    This is no ordinary 2d platformer though..
    This is a bit of a 2d platformer meets scrabble game…
    It will definitely test your wits as your trying to come up with words you can use with the letters around you to activate switches reach higher places and activate a reaction in the games environment..
    Thankfully none of the solutions are too hard…
    Though some solutions will seem out of place for example a hanging letter in one chapter I needed to use cut to make it drop... while the game spent the other parts of the game teaching me to swing on these letters…
    So the game does contradict itself at times…
    but these moments are few and far between…
    You never feel frustrated even when youre stumped…
    its genuinely satisfying solving these word puzzles to continue through these charming and interactive worlds…
    Bringing words to life...
    The game eventually even adds a lie creature…
    A lie will turn words into their opposites,
    giving you more letters to work with and more opportunity for more challenging puzzles...
    and that’s exactly what you get before the final boss…
    An insane difficulty spike near the end that will have you switching words, making new words, and then switching them, to make even more new words.. And so on…
    But like every other challenge the game throws at you... it felt good once that section was finally passed… and I never got angry at the game.. Only at myself...
    Typoman offers an enjoyably 3 hour brain teaser worth the run through.
    I give Typoman Revised
    a 7.5/10
    Expand
  3. Mar 31, 2017
    7
    es muy bueno el juego y es muy interesante la mecanica pero la historia es muy corta y te deja con gusto a poco en la boca . justifico con loes muy bueno el juego y es muy interesante la mecanica pero la historia es muy corta y te deja con gusto a poco en la boca . justifico con lo justo la inversion. Dzaga Expand
  4. Jan 4, 2016
    6
    I really liked the ambiance and the artwork of Typoman and I think it really uses the concept of bringing words to life well. However, I feelI really liked the ambiance and the artwork of Typoman and I think it really uses the concept of bringing words to life well. However, I feel like the game started to crumble around the center of it. At first, the puzzle were introduced nicely and kinda fit in the feel of the game where you stumble across situations and there are words that you must use to progress. But at one point this flow gets broken and I didn't like the second part as much as the first and it sort of ruined my experience of the game.

    Also, the controls in general aren't that responsive and make some sections particularly frustrating to complete. This game is good, has great ideas, but lacks in execution and creativity in some parts.
    Expand
  5. Nov 23, 2015
    6
    Typoman has an awesome concept, held back by unresponsive controls and bizarrely precise timing puzzles. This is a game where you must pushTypoman has an awesome concept, held back by unresponsive controls and bizarrely precise timing puzzles. This is a game where you must push letters together to form words to interact with the environment. The problem is letters will often get hung up on each other and there is no indication of how far a letter will go when thrown. On numerous occasions, I knew the solution to a puzzle but was unable to proceed because the timed based hazards in an area would kill me before I could push a solution into place.

    Equally frustrating are pretty regular frame-rate drops and platforming sections that require incredibly precise landings despite the protagonists slow and sluggish jumping controls.

    There is a good game buried here somewhere, but unfortunately, it feels like it was rushed out of the gate too soon and is in need of some serious polish.
    Expand

Trailers