Dragon Quest Swords: The Masked Queen and the Tower of Mirrors Image
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 43 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 29 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Five years have passed since the defeat of the Deathbringer, and the kingdom of Avalonia joyously celebrates what seems to be an everlasting era of peace. However, a closer look reveals that things are amiss. Calamity arises within the kingdom, as unfamiliar and powerful monsters invade theFive years have passed since the defeat of the Deathbringer, and the kingdom of Avalonia joyously celebrates what seems to be an everlasting era of peace. However, a closer look reveals that things are amiss. Calamity arises within the kingdom, as unfamiliar and powerful monsters invade the outskirts of town. With the Deathbringer gone, what explanation is there for the onset of these monsters? And what of the queen, who has come to hide her face behind a strange mask? Make your way through the perilous journey, solve the baffling mysteries and return order to Avalonia. [Square Enix] Expand
Buy Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Nintendo E3 Press Conference Montage 2
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 43
  2. Negative: 3 out of 43
  1. Not the long epic DQ adventure people want, can be fun to play while it lasts, but some might not be compelled to play for a while it once it's completed.
  2. This won't appeal to everyone, but those willing to put up with tired genre formulas are bound to have some fun. [Mar 2008, p.102]
  3. 70
    Dragon Quest Swords was originally intended to be a launch game for the Nintendo Wii system and it definitely shows.
  4. 65
    Perhaps the most casual Dragon Quest game to date, TMQATTOM is a case of too little, too late, and is difficult to recommend to anyone but a casual or perhaps younger gamer.
  5. As an introduction to RPGs Dragon Quest Swords might find an audience, but anyone hoping it will be a proper entry in the hugely popular series will be severely disappointed.
  6. Nintendo Gamer
    58
    This is a truly sub-par DQ effort. Genius Sonority managed to spoil "Pokemon Battle Revolution" and they weave that same inept magic here. [JPN Import; Oct 2007, p.64]
  7. The series had some good games but this latest addition doesn't convince us. The storyline and fighting are simply poor. The movements just aren't right. The developers probably had good idea, we just don't see them in-game.

See all 43 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 6
  2. Negative: 2 out of 6
  1. Feb 18, 2022
    10
    Monlithsofts newest adventure "Dragon Quest swords" is a wonderful masterpiece about a young dragon quester who goes on amazing and funMonlithsofts newest adventure "Dragon Quest swords" is a wonderful masterpiece about a young dragon quester who goes on amazing and fun adventures with his dad (he is hot btw) This game is just steller. honestly, if you havent played this masterpiece of a video game, then i think you should honestly just end yourself. It is on parr with Xenoblade Chronicles 2 and Dead or Alive exteme Beach volley ball (Also by Nintendo). This game is such soooooo good, its amazing. I literally nutted TWICE. to this game. The mechanics is simple. Swing you sword baby ! That it. Swing it. Swing it rn. Ive never had a massive floaty, my pubes literally sprouted up. Its that amazing. Its just sooooooo goood. This game (by rockstar games) is a god sent, literally in 2:3 of the bible, Jesus predicted this amazing game. And we must thank our lord for this. I will marry this game, this game is the prpohet. In the game, you have a sword and its really cool and fun, and yeha. also you swing the sword and kill the demons that satin sent you. Would recommend.. My nephew is really enjoying this game, as am i. Expand
  2. ChrisP.
    Feb 28, 2008
    9
    IT bring something NEW!!! and it is fun in every standard. The total content ashould last about 25-30 hours of gameplay and it has seriously IT bring something NEW!!! and it is fun in every standard. The total content ashould last about 25-30 hours of gameplay and it has seriously good re-play value. DQS is on par with the best Wii games you can buy. This is the type of game the Wii was built for and is something that can only be delivered with the Wii. DQS has set a new standard for what can be done with the Wii-mote and provides the fresh new game experience I cannot get from other games. Expand
  3. AndyH.
    Mar 30, 2010
    9
    While, it's not flawless, this is a great addition to the DQ series. It combines my two favorite genres in one, On-rails action and While, it's not flawless, this is a great addition to the DQ series. It combines my two favorite genres in one, On-rails action and traditional RPG. The combo works wonders, it's just simply too fun, slicing enemies about, and leveling up to tackle any problem. The only real complaint I have, is that sometimes the controls don't work to their fullest. Still, this is my favorite of the spin offs in this series, bar none. Expand
  4. Jun 1, 2011
    7
    Dragon Quest Swords is a combination of RPG and First Person Light Gun Shooter. As bizarre as that sounds it actually works to some degree.Dragon Quest Swords is a combination of RPG and First Person Light Gun Shooter. As bizarre as that sounds it actually works to some degree. The RPG aspect is pretty simple. You buy your weapons and armor, you level up by beating monsters, buy potions, etc. The light gun shooter aspect of the game is you select where you aim your sword and slash away at the evil doods. Sadly putting the two together means they both must suffer. The RPG aspect feels extremely light and the story feels cliché
    , there's only a handful of levels to go to and there's no real power ups you expect from a light gun shooter. But the game does manage to make do with what it has and if you can get pass the awkward control scheme at the beginning (D pad to move in a 3D space?!) then you should be fine. If you want a light RPG that will keep you moving, try this one. It should be in the bargain bins everywhere by now..
    Expand
  5. TashaB.
    Aug 28, 2009
    3
    After completing all legend of zelda games, i was looking for an equally as exciting game. after briefly looking at the cover and no attempts After completing all legend of zelda games, i was looking for an equally as exciting game. after briefly looking at the cover and no attempts to read reviews of the game i decided to give it a try. i would not recommend this game for anyone over the age of 7. it was a grave disappointment. i invested 5 hours of game playing to this poorly plotted game and decided its just not for me. u are restricted in your actions and in some parts its almost like you are on train tracks. you can literally hold the run button and it will guide you to your destination. where this may be an advantage to some gamers, it was irritating to me. i would have loved to have explored my surroundings a little more. like i said, i haven't put forth much effort to the game and i may have retreated a little early but there is little to no incentives to make me want to invest... sorry, waste anymore time with this game. Expand
  6. Jan 12, 2021
    1
    hard to play, the commands sucks and the game design is bad. the wiimote is not responsive, too and often fighing results only frustrating.hard to play, the commands sucks and the game design is bad. the wiimote is not responsive, too and often fighing results only frustrating. the plot is boring and banal Expand

Awards & Rankings

91
74
#74 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2008
31
#31 Most Shared Wii Game of 2008