Kirby's Epic Yarn Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 70 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 264 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Kirby's wields his yarn through danger in the latest epic adventure.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Kirby's Epic Yarn Epic Yarn Action Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 70
  2. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. Mar 11, 2011
    100
    Never before has a game been so uniquely captivating, charming and simultaneously fun for its absolute entirety; truly an epic experience which every self-respecting gamer should own.
  2. Feb 28, 2011
    95
    It goes beyond making you smile to that level of cuteness where your cheek muscles feel sore from the big smile which won't leave your face and you feel a rush of energy like you just had a shot of hard liquor. If you have any interest in platforming games at all, get Kirby's Epic Yarn.
  3. Mar 29, 2011
    90
    More than just a visual masterpiece, Kirby Epic Yarn is a solid and cute platform game that is perfect be experienced in co-op with a casual player. With some great hardcore similar games like Super Mario Bros. Wii and Donkey Kong Country Returns on the Wii, this alternative choice is all but superfluous.
  4. Dec 19, 2010
    88
    Kirby's Epic Yarn is a wonderful surprise. Brilliantly crafted to take the player on a fantastic voyage into a world of patchwork, you will easily fall in love with Kirby's attitude and yarn-inspired aesthetics.
  5. It's rare for a visual direction to have such a profound impact on gameplay, but the two are seamlessly interwoven in Kirby's Epic Yarn. It's certainly not one of the more challenging platformers out there, but it's a breathtaking experience nonetheless.
  6. Mar 7, 2011
    80
    Kirby's Epic Yarn is a well made platforming adventure that delivers exactly what we expected from all the trailers and previews. It's a fun experience for one or two players and is especially suitable for children. The Wii may lack a large amount of quality games, but as long as Nintendo keep providing solid platforming experiences like this one we'll keep the complaints to a minimum.
  7. Oct 27, 2010
    60
    Perfectly sized for young children and the parties with all the family, Kirby's Epic Yarn is undeniably one of the titles that everyone can conclude without real effort, especially with two players, but still keeps some surprises in store for those who want to unlock everything.

See all 70 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 74
  2. Negative: 1 out of 74
  1. Oct 17, 2010
    10
    You do not need difficulty to have a good time. This game removes the idea of rushing and frustration and concentrates on the idea of classicYou do not need difficulty to have a good time. This game removes the idea of rushing and frustration and concentrates on the idea of classic platforming game, and innovative uses of buttons and yarns. It's a masterpiece when you think deeply about it. Expand
  2. Jun 14, 2014
    10
    I may have given this game a ten, but there's not a selection for 9.99. Anyways, this game is AWESOME!! I got this one the year it came outI may have given this game a ten, but there's not a selection for 9.99. Anyways, this game is AWESOME!! I got this one the year it came out (2010) and played it to my heart's content (which is 2 years, until I stopped playing it and started playing Dream Collection. Sometimes, I still go back to it and wonder, is this game actually as good as I think it is? Well, I play it and I know is is as good as I think it is. I know this seems like a overrating review (I am a HUGE fan of Kirby), but believe me, it is a special treasure to cherish for a long time. It surely is memorable to play, especially with a friend! One tiny, tiny, tiny problem was that you cannot die. Oh, wait! That's not a problem! The games already hard enough to complete! Expand
  3. JPK
    Jun 20, 2019
    10
    One Of The Most Creative Games Ever
    Epic Yarn is by in large a perfect game with it's concept alone.
  4. Nov 2, 2010
    9
    This is a really fun game, with great visuals. It's a game that made me want to keep playing much Mario than Mario did. I removed 1 pointThis is a really fun game, with great visuals. It's a game that made me want to keep playing much Mario than Mario did. I removed 1 point because of the difficulty. Not because you can't die, because I liked that part, but because it wasn't challenging enough. (You can get gold medals on 80% of them on the 1st try) Expand
  5. May 15, 2012
    9
    Who said easy was bad? whoever it was, they were wrong. This is possibly my favorite 2D platformer on the Wii, it looks fantastic, it playsWho said easy was bad? whoever it was, they were wrong. This is possibly my favorite 2D platformer on the Wii, it looks fantastic, it plays perfectly and is just so great! Seriously, I love Kirby games, this is possibly my favorite one. Only complaints I have are small: It's a little too short (due to how fun it is) and the co-op mode isn't amazing, but that just might be down to the fact that I like playing most games alone. Now stop reading this (if anyone is) and buy this bright, cheery game that is sure to put a big grin on your face. Expand
  6. Feb 12, 2012
    8
    A fun but different type of Kirby game. The different type of Kirby's you can be in this game is what makes it fun to go along with theA fun but different type of Kirby game. The different type of Kirby's you can be in this game is what makes it fun to go along with the levels. The multiplayer is much more fun to complete this game than solo. Although a fun game to play, replay value is some what dull. I suggest playing the first Kirby on the NES over this game.â Expand
  7. Aug 6, 2013
    3
    I will be the only person that will be negative about this game. I know it looks good and yes I know it is very cute and looks it does soundI will be the only person that will be negative about this game. I know it looks good and yes I know it is very cute and looks it does sound really good but its not Kirby. This is a game that Nintendo wanted to make and had every right to make but why put Kirby in it. The Kirby franchise is one of my favorite series that has ever been made and it kinda makes him look less like a pink badass and more like a pink little jerk. I like been able to turn into a fire breather and a guy that looks likes Link but instead of him been old school Kirby he was turned into something so cute it made me mad and very upset. He is not yarn he is a monster eating alien. I hate this game with all my heart and I want people to hate this game but that is not going to happen anytime soon. Expand

See all 74 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

8
6
#6 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2010
2
#2 Most Shared Wii Game of 2010