Mario Super Sluggers Image
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 88 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In the same spirit as other sports-themed Mario games on Wii, Mario Super Sluggers blends richly interactive baseball action with eccentric characters and elements from across the popular Mario universe. Players can swing the wireless Wii Remote just like a real bat or wave it toward theIn the same spirit as other sports-themed Mario games on Wii, Mario Super Sluggers blends richly interactive baseball action with eccentric characters and elements from across the popular Mario universe. Players can swing the wireless Wii Remote just like a real bat or wave it toward the plate to deliver a masterful pitch, enjoying the same intuitive, easy-to-learn controls that helped make Wii Sports a living room hit. With Mario and his unpredictable pals filling out the roster, imagination and active-play innovation are sure to dominate the diamond in this lively title. [Nintendo] Expand
Buy Now
Buy on
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 31
  2. Negative: 1 out of 31
  1. Games Master UK
    80
    A step back for Wii baseball controls, but enough of a gameplay leap to warrant playing. [Sept 2008, p.70]
  2. I recommend it highly to anyone that missed the first game, but anyone who played the GameCube original to completion won’t see much of a difference.
  3. Nintendo Gamer
    79
    It isn't quite the game we were hoping for, but taken as another Mario sports game rather than a baseball sim, it's as solid and enjoyable as you'd expect. [JPN Import; Sept 2008, p.52]
  4. In addition to the questionable controls, the main problem with this game is that there really aren’t any significant improvements over its predecessor, and definitely not any to make this game worth fifty bucks.
  5. Mario Super Sluggers is fun to pick up and play for a short session with friends, but as a game to play by yourself it's shallow. It also doesn't make much use of the system's capabilities with limited motion control and no online play.
  6. If you want to play baseball on the Wii, try The Bigs or MLB Power Pros. Even though Sluggers does have fast paced action, giant baseball super pitches and fireball star hits, as a baseball game, Mario Super Sluggers is too simplistic for the average game player.
  7. As a Mario game, Mario Super Sluggers feels kind of cheap; as a baseball game, it fails to capture the finer points that make the sport interesting in the first place. Its accessibility is probably Mario Super Sluggers' most well-realized characteristic, but what you're getting access to simply isn't much fun.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 40
  2. Negative: 2 out of 40
  1. Aug 7, 2013
    10
    I love this game! It's so fun and addicting and great for children, what's not to like? It incorporates sports and exercise into a 9 inningI love this game! It's so fun and addicting and great for children, what's not to like? It incorporates sports and exercise into a 9 inning Wii game. It's awesome! Expand
  2. Jul 3, 2021
    10
    This game slaps! It’s fun to play alone, and even more fun with friends! The game also has a tiny bit of Hank, which I wholeheartedly love!
  3. Apr 7, 2013
    9
    I bought this game for baseball. I got a storyline and many characters, including that epic little Baby DK!
    It is fun, and is sort of like
    I bought this game for baseball. I got a storyline and many characters, including that epic little Baby DK!
    It is fun, and is sort of like MLB 2k series, but is not as serious. Anyway, great game!
    Expand
  4. BradJ
    Aug 31, 2009
    8
    I don't see why everyone is hating on this game. Sure the graphics aren't improved much from the gc version, but there are like I don't see why everyone is hating on this game. Sure the graphics aren't improved much from the gc version, but there are like 10-15 new characters, more stadiums (also playable at night), and I thought the single player mode was a lot more fun than the original's. There are also gameplay improvements, and the wii controls feel great, as they usually do! I give it a 7.5. It's not the best game ever, (Or the longest, really, 'bout 10 hours) but some of these reviews are just, plain bad!!! Expand
  5. Apr 23, 2022
    8
    this is actually a pretty good game I feel it is a little under rated its a great Mario sports game that's fun to play against friends coms orthis is actually a pretty good game I feel it is a little under rated its a great Mario sports game that's fun to play against friends coms or go through the story mode could be much better there is enough characters but most don't have a star power but its super fun to customize teams. 8/10 Amazing Expand
  6. Jul 8, 2022
    8
    Mario Super Sluggers is a good game to play. Despite only playing the game for almost two months from now, I got used to the game afterMario Super Sluggers is a good game to play. Despite only playing the game for almost two months from now, I got used to the game after beating Bowser Jr in story mode. Although story mode is short, it still contributes to the game's basics. The one game you can rob home runs by buddy jumping. This is better than playing a simulated baseball game relating to MLB. Chemistry can be a question for all characters, especially other characters being allies. For example, Luigi and Yoshi. Like all Mario games back in the day, it goes by character. Its a fun multiple game and there are plenty of challenges you can do in the game playing solo. Challenges include the "Mario Super Sluggers Gauntlet" (the challenge to defeat every captain in the game), "Mario Super Sluggers Dinger Derby Challenge" (hitting a home run with all 71 characters that includes the Mii with a home run/inside the park home run), facing one of the greatest rosters of all time, and many more. I was inspired by the man himself, Coach Chizplays, the GOAT of Mario Super Sluggers who brings a lot of great times and laughs. There are three ways to play the game, which include the nunchuck. I prefer motion controls playing defense and playing sideways to play with more manual inputs and to be a master at playing the game. It would be awesome to have online multiplayer in this game and customizing your Miis with the stats you choose (power, speed, pitch, and running abilities). The variety of characters from Mario and DK franchise is awesome to see. Playing with items can also be awesome, but also chaotic which features friendly fire. The Boo and POW Block are the best items in the game. Imagine if this games gets ported with new courses, enhance story mode, and more characters. Winning close plays, creating errors to your opponents, home runs/inside the park home run, robbing home runs, and buddy tossing to victory are great feelings. Why play simulated baseball when you have the Mario aspect of baseball. Mario Super Sluggers and Mario Strikers Charged are the last great Mario Sports games. Expand
  7. SyrinD.
    Aug 31, 2008
    2
    AWFUL, compared to Mario Baseball for the GC. Way too easy, no player development, simplistic gameplay, and short short game. Buy MLB Power AWFUL, compared to Mario Baseball for the GC. Way too easy, no player development, simplistic gameplay, and short short game. Buy MLB Power Pros 2008 instead. Expand

See all 40 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

72
9
#9 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2008
20
#20 Most Shared Wii Game of 2008