Metroid Prime 3: Corruption Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 62 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 659 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: If you think you knew what it felt like to be the bounty hunter behind the visor, think again. Take aim at evil with Nintendo's revolutionary controller. Players control Samus by moving with the Nunchuk controller and aiming with the pointer, allowing for a level of immersion unlike anythingIf you think you knew what it felt like to be the bounty hunter behind the visor, think again. Take aim at evil with Nintendo's revolutionary controller. Players control Samus by moving with the Nunchuk controller and aiming with the pointer, allowing for a level of immersion unlike anything they have ever experienced. Through the eyes of Samus, players experience a quantum leap in first-person control as they wield the Wii Remote, the ultimate device for the first-person shooter genre. Samus employs well-known power-ups like the Grapple Beam and Morph Ball, as well as a bunch of new surprises, to help her survive her coming trials. Saving the planets from Corruption isn't enough, though. Eventually, players must take down Samus' mortal enemy, Dark Samus. [Nintendo] Expand
Buy Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Nintendo E3 Press Conference Montage 1
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 59 out of 62
  2. Negative: 0 out of 62
  1. From the action-packed intro to its ultimate conclusion, Metroid Prime 3: Corruption is bursting at the seams with "win" material.
  2. The original "Metroid Prime" is one of the highest-rated games in existence, but Metroid Prime 3: Corruption is easily superior. It’s far less frustrating, and more action packed, while managing to redefine console shooting controls in the process.
  3. An amazing game. It's almost perfect, and while a few things do pull it back from being that, it's still everything we've been waiting for from the Wii, wrapped in a nice fifty dollar package.
  4. Maxi Consolas (Portugal)
    90
    The excellent control system is not the only virtue of Retro Studios. The brilliant level design and the absence of any technical flaw makes Metroid Prime 3 a Wii masterpiece. [Nov 2007]
  5. games(TM)
    90
    The Metroid series is in need of an overhaul before it steps out onto the Wii again. But for now, Metroid Prime 3: Corruption represents a triumphant last hurrah for what has been a consistently excellent series. [Nov 2007, p.116]
  6. The straightforward nature of the game certainly doesn't hurt the final product, nor to the great Wii controls.
  7. 60
    The controls are heavenly but the game isn’t.

See all 62 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 7 out of 140
  1. Jan 4, 2011
    10
    Here's my Top 50 games of all time:

    The Legend of Zelda a Link to the Past Super Metroid The Legend of Zelda Metroid Prime (Trilogy)
    Here's my Top 50 games of all time:

    The Legend of Zelda a Link to the Past
    Super Metroid
    The Legend of Zelda
    Metroid Prime (Trilogy)
    Banjo-Kazooie
    Resident Evil 4
    Tetris DS
    Words with Friends (Scrabble)
    Super Mario Galaxy
    Mike Tysonâ
    Expand
  2. KevinH.
    Sep 6, 2007
    10
    Wow, one of the best games I have ever played. It just sucks you in and you want to keep playing. Not to mention, the controls are AMAZING! I Wow, one of the best games I have ever played. It just sucks you in and you want to keep playing. Not to mention, the controls are AMAZING! I hope this will be a model of what games are to be in the future. Expand
  3. Sep 8, 2019
    10
    Playing this on the Metroid Prime: Trilogy has shown me how good the Metroid series is. It is the latest we have in terms of new consolePlaying this on the Metroid Prime: Trilogy has shown me how good the Metroid series is. It is the latest we have in terms of new console Metroid games, and it holds up amazingly, This game has some of the best sense of atmosphere ever, and it has an incredibly designed Metroidvania world and fun FPS combat. This game is simple and makes you happy as you solve puzzles, fight monsters, and discover more and more of this interconnected world Expand
  4. AlexR.
    Jul 24, 2008
    9
    Metroid Prime 3 is easily the most beautiful game out yet for the Wii. The controlles take full advantage of the Wii's injinuity and the Metroid Prime 3 is easily the most beautiful game out yet for the Wii. The controlles take full advantage of the Wii's injinuity and the overall control is perfect. The new features that faltered MP2's experiance have been thrown out of MP3 and even ones that weren't taken out were improved on greatly. The few downsides I saw in the game was that you only have one beam type that upgrades as you progress (2D Metroid style anyone?) and a few times there would be a few quite tough moments. Aside from the two this had the most interesting storyline yet in the Prime series. Like Metroid Prime first came out this is a must buy for the Wii. Expand
  5. Nov 5, 2011
    9
    Honestly, it doesn't feel as polished as 2 and 1 were, but it's still very fun to play. Some areas are definitely boring, and the game couldHonestly, it doesn't feel as polished as 2 and 1 were, but it's still very fun to play. Some areas are definitely boring, and the game could do without voice acting. New hunters are very cool, story is also good. Controls are top notch again, feel very precise. Graphically, it pushes the Wii very far, it's one of those games that doesn't feel like it's trying too hard to be visually impressive. (Unlike The Conduit.)
    Lore is a bit weaker, but it's still very interesting. Definitely a good closeup for the Prime series. Has more pros than cons, so it get's a 9. No less, no more.
    Expand
  6. Oct 8, 2020
    8
    Despite being certainly lesser than both of it's predecessors due to it's often very constricting linearity, Prime 3 is still a blast in it'sDespite being certainly lesser than both of it's predecessors due to it's often very constricting linearity, Prime 3 is still a blast in it's own right. Featuring the Prime series' best combat and boss quality yet all while still accompanied by interesting lore and a great soundtrack. Expand
  7. JaredC.
    Aug 26, 2007
    0
    Its another lame game from Nintendo Wii, this was poorly made. Its basically impossible, in one shot you are dead, well thats no fun, I got Its another lame game from Nintendo Wii, this was poorly made. Its basically impossible, in one shot you are dead, well thats no fun, I got frustrated and found myself upset that I bought a game that was no different from Metroid Prime Hunters. Imposiible and stupid. I don't see how this is in the top ten. Expand

See all 140 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

3
3
#3 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2007
7
#7 Most Shared Wii Game of 2007