Metroid Prime 3: Corruption Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 62 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 547 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: If you think you knew what it felt like to be the bounty hunter behind the visor, think again. Take aim at evil with Nintendo's revolutionary controller. Players control Samus by moving with the Nunchuk controller and aiming with the pointer, allowing for a level of immersion unlike anythingIf you think you knew what it felt like to be the bounty hunter behind the visor, think again. Take aim at evil with Nintendo's revolutionary controller. Players control Samus by moving with the Nunchuk controller and aiming with the pointer, allowing for a level of immersion unlike anything they have ever experienced. Through the eyes of Samus, players experience a quantum leap in first-person control as they wield the Wii Remote, the ultimate device for the first-person shooter genre. Samus employs well-known power-ups like the Grapple Beam and Morph Ball, as well as a bunch of new surprises, to help her survive her coming trials. Saving the planets from Corruption isn't enough, though. Eventually, players must take down Samus' mortal enemy, Dark Samus. [Nintendo] Expand
Buy On
  • Developer: Retro Studios
  • Genre(s): Action, Shooter, Shooter, First-Person, Sci-Fi, Sci-Fi, Arcade
  • # of players: No Online Multiplayer
  • Cheats: On GameFAQs
  • Rating: T
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 59 out of 62
  2. Negative: 0 out of 62
  1. From the action-packed intro to its ultimate conclusion, Metroid Prime 3: Corruption is bursting at the seams with "win" material.
  2. The original "Metroid Prime" is one of the highest-rated games in existence, but Metroid Prime 3: Corruption is easily superior. It’s far less frustrating, and more action packed, while managing to redefine console shooting controls in the process.
  3. An amazing game. It's almost perfect, and while a few things do pull it back from being that, it's still everything we've been waiting for from the Wii, wrapped in a nice fifty dollar package.
  4. Maxi Consolas (Portugal)
    90
    The excellent control system is not the only virtue of Retro Studios. The brilliant level design and the absence of any technical flaw makes Metroid Prime 3 a Wii masterpiece. [Nov 2007]
  5. games(TM)
    90
    The Metroid series is in need of an overhaul before it steps out onto the Wii again. But for now, Metroid Prime 3: Corruption represents a triumphant last hurrah for what has been a consistently excellent series. [Nov 2007, p.116]
  6. The straightforward nature of the game certainly doesn't hurt the final product, nor to the great Wii controls.
  7. 60
    The controls are heavenly but the game isn’t.

See all 62 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 4 out of 125
  1. Jan 4, 2011
    10
    Here's my Top 50 games of all time:

    The Legend of Zelda a Link to the Past Super Metroid The Legend of Zelda Metroid Prime (Trilogy)
    Here's my Top 50 games of all time:

    The Legend of Zelda a Link to the Past
    Super Metroid
    The Legend of Zelda
    Metroid Prime (Trilogy)
    Banjo-Kazooie
    Resident Evil 4
    Tetris DS
    Words with Friends (Scrabble)
    Super Mario Galaxy
    Mike Tysonâ
    Expand
  2. KevinH.
    Sep 6, 2007
    10
    Wow, one of the best games I have ever played. It just sucks you in and you want to keep playing. Not to mention, the controls are AMAZING! I Wow, one of the best games I have ever played. It just sucks you in and you want to keep playing. Not to mention, the controls are AMAZING! I hope this will be a model of what games are to be in the future. Expand
  3. HakanI.
    Aug 27, 2007
    10
    This game really does bring a fresh experience to FPS...if this game was played on Playstation or Xbox with there standard controller, I This game really does bring a fresh experience to FPS...if this game was played on Playstation or Xbox with there standard controller, I would give it a 9/10.....but the Nintendo Wii controls make it a one of a kind masterpiece....best in the series. Expand
  4. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    It takes back what the original made so great, since Prime 2 was a bit slower and weird, and adds great and unique controls. This is a gemIt takes back what the original made so great, since Prime 2 was a bit slower and weird, and adds great and unique controls. This is a gem only possible on Wii. Level design and concept is awesome. Boss battle and missions are memorable. If you had this game, you're a lucky gamer. Expand
  5. Nov 5, 2011
    9
    Honestly, it doesn't feel as polished as 2 and 1 were, but it's still very fun to play. Some areas are definitely boring, and the game couldHonestly, it doesn't feel as polished as 2 and 1 were, but it's still very fun to play. Some areas are definitely boring, and the game could do without voice acting. New hunters are very cool, story is also good. Controls are top notch again, feel very precise. Graphically, it pushes the Wii very far, it's one of those games that doesn't feel like it's trying too hard to be visually impressive. (Unlike The Conduit.)
    Lore is a bit weaker, but it's still very interesting. Definitely a good closeup for the Prime series. Has more pros than cons, so it get's a 9. No less, no more.
    Expand
  6. Jun 1, 2011
    8
    An amazing game with new controls and features. The introduction of more of a plot kind of hurt the beginning of the game, but as soon as youAn amazing game with new controls and features. The introduction of more of a plot kind of hurt the beginning of the game, but as soon as you leave Norin, the game begins to fit the usual Metroid mind space and isolation begins to fill in. As a fan of the series I must say the game is the easiest in the series and the shortest. Expand
  7. JaredC.
    Aug 26, 2007
    0
    Its another lame game from Nintendo Wii, this was poorly made. Its basically impossible, in one shot you are dead, well thats no fun, I got Its another lame game from Nintendo Wii, this was poorly made. Its basically impossible, in one shot you are dead, well thats no fun, I got frustrated and found myself upset that I bought a game that was no different from Metroid Prime Hunters. Imposiible and stupid. I don't see how this is in the top ten. Expand

See all 125 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

3
3
#3 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2007
7
#7 Most Shared Wii Game of 2007