Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
Buy On
  1. Jan 2, 2011
    72
    For those with fond memories of the original, this game give you a chance to briefly relive those moments. However, it misses the opportunity of really evolving the series. It is in itself a backcourt violation, looking back instead of forward.
  2. Oct 21, 2010
    72
    NBA Jam on Wii is a solid, fun reboot that should please many fans. Considering its roots, the game aims to deliver the goods, but it doesn't quite reach its full potential.
  3. Jan 5, 2011
    70
    NBA Jam is as much fun as fifteen years ago. It's a missed opportunity that EA hasn't brought the game to modern times, however, as the lack of options like an online mode would have greatly expanded the replayability.
  4. Dec 17, 2010
    70
    EA successfully updates the classic arcade game, but the result was much more adequate for digital distribution with a lower price.
  5. Dec 17, 2010
    70
    NBA Jam in its incarnation for the Nintendo Wii is a good arcade game. Unfortunately, the lack of online game and a certain flatness of gameplay make NBA Jam only a good game and not a masterpiece of the genre.
  6. Dec 17, 2010
    70
    With an all too familiar feeling, NBA Jam serves as homage to the games we have lost from yesteryear. What it boils down to is: the gameplay hasn't changed all that much and aside from unlocking the plethora of classic players such as Detlef Schrempf and Chris Mullin, there's little reason to return to NBA Jam after a few hours of play.
  7. Oct 25, 2010
    70
    Even for those that would never normally dream of playing a basketball sim this is a great game, although it's best played in small doses.
  8. Oct 21, 2010
    70
    This rim-rocking arcade classic returns, and though it's missing modern amenities, it's still an awful lot of fun.
  9. Oct 21, 2010
    64
    NBA Jam is an excellent way to spend an evening or two, but at the end of the day, it's still just a prettier iteration of its former self that fails to add any mechanical polish to the formula.
  10. Oct 21, 2010
    60
    NBA Jam is a 100% arcade basketball game which is doing what we expect from it, but nothing more.

Awards & Rankings

23
39
#39 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2010
55
#55 Most Shared Wii Game of 2010
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Oct 10, 2010
    10
    great game. It has the glitter of the arcade basketball game. 2011 is a very exciting basketball season and this is a great game. This game isgreat game. It has the glitter of the arcade basketball game. 2011 is a very exciting basketball season and this is a great game. This game is for everyone, not just basketball fans Full Review »
  2. Oct 6, 2010
    9
    Action basketball at it's finest. This is a reminder as to why/how the NBA differentiates itself from other big leagues! Exciting and funny,Action basketball at it's finest. This is a reminder as to why/how the NBA differentiates itself from other big leagues! Exciting and funny, and yet hip and cool this will a party favorite for my friends and I. Full Review »
  3. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    Ok, so my buddies and I have logged many (hundreds) of hours playing the original jam series on both consoles and a full arcade. As for thisOk, so my buddies and I have logged many (hundreds) of hours playing the original jam series on both consoles and a full arcade. As for this game, the use of the wii controller is AWESOME, and adds a new level of play to the game. The feel of actually timing a slam is exillerating and playing this game in multiplayer mode with buddies is a ton of fun. The one problem I have with this game (and it's a big one) is the fact that when you Get on Fire....it means nothing. In the original game, when you were playing with your buddies, it was all about getting on fire....so by taking away the concept of getting on fire and not missing a shot so you can take the lead or catch up...really takes away from the game. However this is still really a fun game and I highly recommend it for any system (I have it for my PS3 too). But Please EA drop us a patch to make getting on fire worth the effort...a toggle setting...something. Full Review »