No More Heroes 2: Desperate Struggle Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 68 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 242 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: No More Heroes 2: Desperate Struggle continues the tale of punk anti-hero Travis Touchdown, the Japanese anime Otaku, and pro wrestling-obsessed assassin. Travis finds himself at the bottom of the UAA (United Assassins Association) rankings and must wage war to become the No. 1 assassin onceNo More Heroes 2: Desperate Struggle continues the tale of punk anti-hero Travis Touchdown, the Japanese anime Otaku, and pro wrestling-obsessed assassin. Travis finds himself at the bottom of the UAA (United Assassins Association) rankings and must wage war to become the No. 1 assassin once again. The follow-up to the popular No More Heroes will offer fans infectious, fun gameplay that allows you to wield not just one, but two swords and face multiple bosses simultaneously in bigger-than-ever boss battles. [Ubisoft] Expand
Watch Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
No More Heroes III + NMH 1 & NMH 2: Desperate Struggle - Nintendo Switch Gameplay Reveal Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 68
  2. Negative: 0 out of 68
  1. 100
    A brilliantly twisted love letter to the videogame medium, scrawled in blood and pixels.
  2. Nintendo Gamer
    90
    A Suda51 game anyone can enjoy. [Mar 2010, p.44]
  3. 90
    Quirky, crass, and incredibly fun, Suda51's stylish sequel to 2008's No More Heroes slashes its way onto the Wii with even more boss battles, much-improved gameplay, and loads of worthwhile new content.
  4. Those that loved No More Heroes will really enjoy Desperate Struggle. The winning gameplay has been retained and polished for an even more enjoyable experience, and the changes made to the overall gameplay makes things a lot more accessible, quicker, and more fun overall.
  5. Same great dialogue and voice acting.
  6. The game's concessions to traditional game design make No More Heroes 2 a more palatable, satisfying experience. But in doing so, you feel Suda 51 and his team have moved away from Grasshopper's boisterous 'Punk's Not Dead' slogan.
  7. Fans of the original wanting to know where Travis has been will want to pick this up, while people new to the Suda 51 universe would be best at a rental.

See all 68 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 48
  2. Negative: 2 out of 48
  1. Oct 21, 2012
    10
    This game gets a 10 because of its simple, fun combat system, multiple boss fights, and one of the best messages ever given to the playerThis game gets a 10 because of its simple, fun combat system, multiple boss fights, and one of the best messages ever given to the player through gameplay alone, that revenge isn't all it's cut out to be. Expand
  2. LukeK.
    Jan 29, 2010
    10
    A stylized, hedonistic action game that people with the necessary sense of humor will truly appreciate. Epic yet absurd battles combine with A stylized, hedonistic action game that people with the necessary sense of humor will truly appreciate. Epic yet absurd battles combine with the hilariously self-aware dialogue to form a masterpiece. Expand
  3. Apr 25, 2011
    10
    I felt like I was playing Kill Bill the game; only way, way crazier. This is one of the best hardcore games on the Wii, along with games likeI felt like I was playing Kill Bill the game; only way, way crazier. This is one of the best hardcore games on the Wii, along with games like MadWorld & Muramasa. Buy it now. Expand
  4. SamS.
    Jan 29, 2010
    9
    As a big fan of the first game, playing NMH2 was extremely satisfying in some ways, but a little disappointing in others. I did have As a big fan of the first game, playing NMH2 was extremely satisfying in some ways, but a little disappointing in others. I did have extremely high expectations, admittedly having even DREAMED of the game counting down the days to its release, so take my words with the grain of salt that comes from me being a fan of #1. First off, the graphics have been so awesomely improved its ridiculous, and look amazing. I don't simply mean on a technical level, since some environments are huge, vivid, crisply textured, reflective, epic, and atmospheric with destructible scenery, but some are straight-up artistically gorgeous. The colors and the lighting - these are some of the best looking environments I've ever seen in a game, and in my opinion this is the best looking Wii game there is. The music, unlike the first game, isnt composed by Masafumi Takada, and carries less of the game's insane style than the first, but you'll still hear some great tracks and key pieces from the first along the way. The gameplay on the other hand is improved in every regard. Combat is faster and more frenetic, and slicing dudes to pieces is extremely satisfying. I'm disappointed that the over-world is out and replaced by 1 menu, which you cant even check your money from, but its a small gripe ultimately. The 8BIT job missions are a ton of fun, I mean several could've easily held their ground as independent NES titles back in the day. Finally, the lack of attention to each assassin is what disappointed me the most, since several assassins were basically given the silent treatment or had very little to say. As a result there's a lacking exchange of insane dialogue and characterization for some of them - the key ingredient which made the first game so epic. There are nonetheless more than 10 fights this time around with awesome dialogue, so overall its better than the first game, but anyone who wanted amazing intros with each and every assassin will be disappointed. Ultimately, this game is improved on the first in basically every way, and deserves attention for its outrageous insanity and blatantly awesome fun. Its like an anime in its craziness, and you wont find anything else like it. Expand
  5. Apr 22, 2016
    9
    jajajja que juego tan divertido... y un poco pervertido, me recuerda a las famosas peliculas de Kick-ass ya que este juego posee un humorjajajja que juego tan divertido... y un poco pervertido, me recuerda a las famosas peliculas de Kick-ass ya que este juego posee un humor negro vastante notable y el gameblay exelente Expand
  6. Sep 10, 2011
    9
    Fantastic gameplay, incredible characters, fantastic graphics, great comedy, great boss battles, fantastic music, and great amounts ofFantastic gameplay, incredible characters, fantastic graphics, great comedy, great boss battles, fantastic music, and great amounts of unlockable material Expand
  7. Oct 30, 2020
    0
    Didnt think it was that good! So many people recommend, i see why you shouldn't listen to popular opinion!

See all 48 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

13
8
#8 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2010
24
#24 Most Shared Wii Game of 2010