Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
Buy On
  1. Nov 3, 2011
    90
    Skylanders signifies a new start for the franchise – a step back to Spyro's roots, yet a step into the future.
  2. Oct 31, 2011
    90
    In the end, Skylanders knows exactly what it trying to be – a family friendly affair featuring cool creatures.
  3. 90
    An extremely well-designed game that is perfect for kids. Unfortunately for parents, this game is wonderful and addictive, meaning that most kids who get their hands on this will crave more characters to collect them all.
  4. Nov 9, 2011
    85
    Skylanders has a smart concept that has been implented very professionaly. The toys that you use with the Portal really star in this game that is fun for young and old.
  5. Nov 7, 2011
    82
    Skylanders is not your typical depressing teen game; on the contrary is a competent and sometimes surprising project, full of quality and with some real production value. But the success of the game really needs a huge marketing behind, and that's what Activision really needs to do now.
  6. Jan 10, 2012
    80
    It's an awesome game, the only caveat being that it has more hidden fees than most airlines.
  7. Nintendo Gamer
    Dec 7, 2011
    80
    A fun, silly, occasionally challenging romp. [Dec 2011, p.67]
  8. Nov 9, 2011
    80
    A near-perfect conceptual marriage of toys and video games. While wallets may shudder at the thought of throwing down potentially lots and lots of money for the complete experience, what you get out of the box is a well-crafted adventure and world that kids of all ages can be excited about.
  9. Nov 5, 2011
    80
    Yes, ultimately the content in the game is already on the disc and you have to pay money to unlock it, which sounds like BS. But even without the extras, Skylanders is a pretty substantial action game for kids (with a small cast). It's fun, it's challenging, the story is cute, and there is co-op.
  10. An entertaining platformer let down by a silly pay-to-play unlocking system.
  11. Nintendo Power
    Nov 8, 2011
    70
    The overall package is one that only fairly young players with generous parents are going to really enjoy. [Nov 2011, p.76]

Awards & Rankings

8
8
#8 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2011
8
#8 Most Shared Wii Game of 2011
User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 38 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 38
  2. Negative: 14 out of 38
  1. Oct 17, 2011
    10
    When I got this game, I wasn't expecting too much (good few hours of fun) but this game is addictive! It is great to be able to swapWhen I got this game, I wasn't expecting too much (good few hours of fun) but this game is addictive! It is great to be able to swap characters on the fly, the environments and music are great. I would recommend this game for any parents who have kids (I even found myself playing co-op with my son!) Full Review »
  2. Dec 26, 2011
    10
    My children received this game from a relative who lives far away for Christmas only to get it home and find that it doesn't work. TheMy children received this game from a relative who lives far away for Christmas only to get it home and find that it doesn't work. The "portal" will only recognize the character if it's held about 6 inches over the portal. Once it's placed on the portal a alert comes up on the game asking you to place the character on the portal. After looking online for a way to solve this problem I see that many people are having similar problems with the "portal", including dead spots, not registering characters, not working at all, etc.

    Now the idea behind this game is obviously all about selling packs of additional characters to add to your arsenal. That being said, you should be able to toss this portal off a building and have it still work. Once the portal is broken, which seems incredibly easy considering the age group this game is aimed at, the sales of additional characters comes to a halt.

    I have tried to contact Activision for 3 days and have had no luck. The phone line brings you to automated answers to questions that any person who read the directions already knows and then hangs up on you. The website, after filling out all the information, returned me to a screen that stated "you cannot create an account at this time" NICE!

    I would recommend staying away from Activision products (see MW3 review) until they realize that ripping people off is NOT an acceptable business practice.
    Full Review »
  3. Jan 19, 2015
    8
    This is a very nice game, unlike the others in the franchise.

    Pros -Plenty to explore -Entertaining story -fun battle Cons -Poor
    This is a very nice game, unlike the others in the franchise.

    Pros
    -Plenty to explore
    -Entertaining story
    -fun battle

    Cons
    -Poor Graphics

    You must check out this game.
    Full Review »