• Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Nov 14, 2006
Super Monkey Ball: Banana Blitz Image
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 53 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 86 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The single-player puzzle levels in Super Monkey Ball: Banana Blitz have been designed to challenge gamers' skills like never before. For the first time in the Super Monkey Ball franchise, AiAi and his friends have the ability to jump when players flick the Nintendo Wii controller in anThe single-player puzzle levels in Super Monkey Ball: Banana Blitz have been designed to challenge gamers' skills like never before. For the first time in the Super Monkey Ball franchise, AiAi and his friends have the ability to jump when players flick the Nintendo Wii controller in an upward motion. The ability to jump has given game designers another dimension in which to expand the Super Monkey Ball gameplay experience and allows gamers a whole new way to interact with the franchise; this time in true three-dimensional fashion. The Party Games return with more variety than ever. An abundance of new Party Games have been designed to take advantage of the Wii controller in a multitude of ways. Gamers find themselves competing in a traditional game of ring toss, or even smacking pesky moles in a game of "Whack-a-Mole." [Sega] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Super Monkey Ball: Banana Blitz Official Movie 1
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 53
  2. Negative: 0 out of 53
  1. Games Master UK
    86
    Top single-player action, and multi-player that exploits the Wii controller brilliantly. [Christmas 2006, p.72]
  2. Nintendo Gamer
    84
    A party game that does a lot more than most to show off the possibilities of the controller, and a set of one-player levels that will enthrall, frustrate and capture your attention every bit as much as the previous Monkey Ball games did. [January 2007, p.47]
  3. Official Nintendo Magazine UK
    81
    While the single-player experience can be shallow, this game really shines in multiplayer. [Christmas 2006, p.82]
  4. I challenge you to keep a straight face while playing Monkey Boxing... Which is what SMB:BB is all about, delivering a load of insane fun to keep you and your friends happy for hours and hours.
  5. The infrastructure stands and the game is fun, which is most important. But the additions can grate, and most of the minigames strike out, though multiplayer anything that requires people to make foolish gestures has some merit.
  6. It presents a good learning curve for those unaccustomed to the Wiimote, and stays true to the tried-and-tested Monkey Ball formula.
  7. Between odd design choices, forced motion control and a number of questionable mini-games, Super Monkey Ball: Banana Blitz doesn't exactly live up to the series' standards. However, some of the mini-games are pretty cool, if a bit shallow.

See all 53 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 46
  2. Negative: 20 out of 46
  1. Nov 22, 2019
    10
    m o n k e y . b a l l.
  2. MattD.
    Dec 12, 2006
    8
    The best version of Monkey Ball I've ever played. The single player game just makes sense with the Wiimote. Yes there are a lot of odd The best version of Monkey Ball I've ever played. The single player game just makes sense with the Wiimote. Yes there are a lot of odd and a few unplayable minigames but there's some real gems too in there. So it's no terribly original or different from its earlier versions, but then neither's Zelda and that's a classic still on the Wii. It probably won't win over many folk who disliked earlier games, but fans will be pleased I'm sure. Expand
  3. Aug 7, 2019
    8
    It is certainly a very funny game with a nice level design. However, it can become really frustating sometimes and this is what made me playIt is certainly a very funny game with a nice level design. However, it can become really frustating sometimes and this is what made me play this game intermittently rather than focus on it almost exclusively. But I think it has more positive than negative points and is very challenging. Expand
  4. [Anonymous]
    Apr 28, 2007
    5
    50 minigames for $49.99 sound like a best value. It not even worth it! Playing it make me feel like I play flash online game. Want Monkey in 50 minigames for $49.99 sound like a best value. It not even worth it! Playing it make me feel like I play flash online game. Want Monkey in a ball and nice control ,buy Super Monkey Ball 1/2.Want mokey in a ball,but hate money buy this game. Expand
  5. May 17, 2014
    4
    I absolutely loved the first two Monkey Ball games for the Gamecube, so I couldn't resist getting my hands on this game. However, I WILLI absolutely loved the first two Monkey Ball games for the Gamecube, so I couldn't resist getting my hands on this game. However, I WILL resist to play it now. Why, you may ask?

    The control, the character design, and the party games could be described in 2 words: GOD AWFUL. You tilt the Wii-mote where you want the monkey to go, but you are at the MERCY of the loose control.

    Also, the jump ability, which I swear was there because SEGA knew that the controls were GOD AWFUL, can literally destroy the challenge of various stages. The jump ability can be finnicky at times, leading to a WHACKLOAD of cheap deaths.

    What doesn't help is the incredibly frustrating boss battles that seem to be there just for the sake of having a boss battle. As bad as the control and camera were in the actual stages, the bosses apply it TENFOLD.

    Those would be the worst part of the game if it weren't for the UNPLAYABLE minigames. Sure, a small few of them are okay, but the rest leaves 20,000 TONS to the imagination, due to the horrendous controls on these minigames.

    In short, Banana Blitz is one of the ABSOLUTE WORST WII GAMES EVER CREATED!!!!!
    Expand
  6. Oct 17, 2013
    3
    I loved the first two Super Monkey Ball games for the Gamecube. I was excited to play this game, but ended up returning it within a week.I loved the first two Super Monkey Ball games for the Gamecube. I was excited to play this game, but ended up returning it within a week.

    This was one of the launch titles for the Wii, and the controls show it. Some of the minigames are nearly impossible to control, and across the game there's a gimmicky over-use of the Wii Remote's motion sensors. All of the fun minigames from 1 & 2 are gone, replaced by more, smaller minigames. The most fun minigame for me was Rock-Paper-Scissors, which should give you an idea of the complexity and enjoyment value of the others.

    The graphics weren't bad for their time, but they look very childish.

    The story mode is the only redeeming factor, as it is similar to that of SMB2, but the ability to jump makes most stages too easy. You are forced to use the poorly implemented motion controls for everything, which ruined the experience for me.
    Expand
  7. MisterT.
    Dec 26, 2006
    0
    Please, do yourself a favor and ignore any positive reviews this game received. It is the worst controlling game I've ever played and Please, do yourself a favor and ignore any positive reviews this game received. It is the worst controlling game I've ever played and easily one of the most frustrating experiences I've ever had with a game. Expand

See all 46 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

7
5
#5 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2006
16
#16 Most Shared Wii Game of 2006