User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 103 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 96 out of 103
  2. Negative: 4 out of 103

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 28, 2011
    10
    One of greatest adventures I under took in my late childhood was playing The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past! Many claim that Zelda: Ocarina of Time is the best Zelda game, and while indeed it is excellent, the real masterpiece that Ocarina was built from is A Link to the Past. The gamed design, gameplay, art design, quest design, dungeon layout, themes, items, pacing, and story allOne of greatest adventures I under took in my late childhood was playing The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past! Many claim that Zelda: Ocarina of Time is the best Zelda game, and while indeed it is excellent, the real masterpiece that Ocarina was built from is A Link to the Past. The gamed design, gameplay, art design, quest design, dungeon layout, themes, items, pacing, and story all were set out here that Ocarina and the later Zelda titles would follow. When I finished this game over a summer while young I felt as if I had finished a great quest, an epic journey. There have been few games that brought this level and feeling of satisfaction. But this game is not a masterpiece because I enjoyed it as a child, Zelda: A Link to the Past is one of the best crafted and designed action/adventure video games of all time with or without nostalgia. Expand
  2. Dec 17, 2010
    10
    Forget about the old review!I confused it with Zelda 2!Thi score is high and the game a classic!YES!THIS GAME IS REALLY GOOD!frearfsetgwsrgsrgdrsgsdrgsrdgdsfgsf
  3. Sep 10, 2014
    10
    A masterpiece. This is the definitive 2D game in the series, and BY FAR the best 2D game, if not THE BEST Zelda!

    The sword is satisfying, the story is developed just right, the items are wisely used, the exploration is well dosed, and the challenge is perfectly fair.

    And dat music!

    Also, the atmosphere is just right!
    A well merited 10/10!
  4. Jan 20, 2014
    8
    Outstanding game for what it is. Still holds very well today on this Wii port. Tough I've have been angry sometimes with clueless objectives (like finding the flute) or being stuck without mana. It gets really hard later on.
  5. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    "The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past" has been cited by many as the best game in the franchise... It seems that it is in an endless battle for the #1 spot with Ocarina of Time and possibly Majora's Mask. While I don't like to get into all these discussions about which one is the better game, I certainly agree that "A Link to the Past" is a real gem in the Zelda series and the Wii"The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past" has been cited by many as the best game in the franchise... It seems that it is in an endless battle for the #1 spot with Ocarina of Time and possibly Majora's Mask. While I don't like to get into all these discussions about which one is the better game, I certainly agree that "A Link to the Past" is a real gem in the Zelda series and the Wii cetainly does a great job in showing you its nostalgic splendor with no real changes whatsoever. The game does well in portraying a story that revolves on a young Link, serving as sort of a prequel in the series. The simple gameplay, yet complex story, is great for any Zelda fan, hardcore gamers, and even anyone who has never played a single Zelda game and wants to give one a try. It receives a 10/10 from me. Tis' truly amazing. Expand
  6. Apr 21, 2018
    0
    A Link to the Past always has been and always will be the most overrated Zelda game ever.
  7. Feb 8, 2017
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Best Zelda game I have ever played! A TRUE MASTERPIECE! Some say Ocarina of time is the best Zelda game. I don't see Ocarina as the best zelda game. This game has the best gameplay, amazing graphics and art style and boss battles as well as controls,items,weapons,replay value, all leading up to the EPIC AS HELL BOSS BATTLE WITH THE EVIL AND ACTUALLY THREATENING GANON! 10/10! EASILY! Expand
  8. Aug 30, 2017
    10
    Where everything starts... I played so many games in my life, but this is and always be THE game, I love The Legend of Zelda saga, and A Link to the past is.... 10/10
  9. May 19, 2012
    10
    my favorite game of all time brings back so many memories and it doesn't get any better than this in a zelda game. way better than 3d zeldas in acception for ocarina of time!
  10. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    A Link to the Past uses The Legend of Zelda's popular overhead view and so much more. The story in this game is a lot more clear and involving than previous Zelda games. The art style is flawless and memorable. The musical scores are classic. Gameplay wise, instead of merely stabbing with the sword like in the Legend of Zelda, Link swipes, and if you hold down the sword button, he does aA Link to the Past uses The Legend of Zelda's popular overhead view and so much more. The story in this game is a lot more clear and involving than previous Zelda games. The art style is flawless and memorable. The musical scores are classic. Gameplay wise, instead of merely stabbing with the sword like in the Legend of Zelda, Link swipes, and if you hold down the sword button, he does a spin attack, which has become a staple of the Zelda series and opened a doorway into new gameplay possibilities. The game design of this game is phenomenal. The overworld is a joy to be part of, as each new screen is something different. The game shines mostly however, in its dungeons. They are expertly made and fiendishly clever, not to mention at some points difficult. If I were to give a score to this game it would be 9.8. Expand
  11. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Anybody a fan of the Zelda series needs to play this game, simply to see how much they are missing out. Not just for a SNES game, but a game in general, it is packed with so much content and replay value, it is simply a game ahead of it's own time. I've recently played it and it really shows that Zelda had excellent games not only on the N64, but on the SNES too.
  12. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    While I had played the NES games, this was the first Zelda game I ever owned. I remember playing this game as a child for hours. Sometimes I would just run around the world for no reason at all but to explore, knowing I have already completed it 100%. Exploring Hyrule to me, was like Exploring one of the vast lands of the Elder Scrolls games today.
  13. Jan 25, 2012
    10
    "A Link To The Past" is the best Zelda game at date, and that's saying much. Story, grafics, gameplay, difficulty... everything is honed to a perfection!
  14. Aug 27, 2012
    10
    A classic. I don't know why, but all of these SNES Nintendo games have been a joy to play. I'll be going to my local gaming store to get a Wii Points card more often than usual. Oh, sorry! I must have dozed off! The gameplay is great, the amount of secrets in this game is outstanding. Those character models are so colorful and detailed, you will want to play this game just to look atA classic. I don't know why, but all of these SNES Nintendo games have been a joy to play. I'll be going to my local gaming store to get a Wii Points card more often than usual. Oh, sorry! I must have dozed off! The gameplay is great, the amount of secrets in this game is outstanding. Those character models are so colorful and detailed, you will want to play this game just to look at its visuals. It looks like a Saturday morning cartoon, and for good reason. It is quite the long game, the boss battles are satisfying and the overall feeling of accomplishment I got from beating this game is more than enough to recommend it to other gamers. This is a must-buy. Do yourself a favor and buy it, if you haven't done so already. Expand
  15. Jul 11, 2013
    9
    The blueprint for all future Zelda games. The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past has a vast open world to explore with perhaps the best dungeons of the entire series. Nintendo took the formula of the original Zelda and added a full scale map, more diverse dungeons, more and better items, and an overall better experience. One aspect that doesn't seem to get brought up is the less crypticThe blueprint for all future Zelda games. The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past has a vast open world to explore with perhaps the best dungeons of the entire series. Nintendo took the formula of the original Zelda and added a full scale map, more diverse dungeons, more and better items, and an overall better experience. One aspect that doesn't seem to get brought up is the less cryptic secrets compared to the original Zelda. In a Link to the Past, there is always some sort of clue to finding secrets weather it be heart pieces, rupees, or items. And to put a cherry on top is the fantastic and lively open world. It is my favorite open world to explore in the entire Zelda series. And nevertheless, this might be my favorite Zelda installment in the franchise. Expand
  16. Mar 15, 2016
    9
    I love this game. If this site had a decimal rating, I would give this game a 9.9/10. The first two titles of the franchise are pure examples of games that have become worse as time progressed. But this game... just wow. It has aged remarkably. Just like the first game, it set a ton of standards for the franchise. When I think of Zelda games, I think of this game (and Twilight Princess,I love this game. If this site had a decimal rating, I would give this game a 9.9/10. The first two titles of the franchise are pure examples of games that have become worse as time progressed. But this game... just wow. It has aged remarkably. Just like the first game, it set a ton of standards for the franchise. When I think of Zelda games, I think of this game (and Twilight Princess, but that's for another time.) Every SNES owner needs this game. It has an excellent plot, the best soundtrack in the series, and graphically, it's in my opinion the best looking game on the system, aside from Donkey Kong Country. My second favorite Zelda game, and one of my personal favorite games of all time. Expand
  17. Jan 7, 2017
    7
    As a gamer of the modern generation journeying back to experience the origins of my favorite game series, I can review this game without the bias caused by nostalgia. While I can say that I enjoyed this game quite a bit, I can also say it has not aged particularly well. Dungeon design, the controls, and the puzzles in particular impressed me after playing modern Zelda games. I found myselfAs a gamer of the modern generation journeying back to experience the origins of my favorite game series, I can review this game without the bias caused by nostalgia. While I can say that I enjoyed this game quite a bit, I can also say it has not aged particularly well. Dungeon design, the controls, and the puzzles in particular impressed me after playing modern Zelda games. I found myself stopping to think frequently, though not for long each time. The overworld was diverse and interesting to explore, and had a refreshing amount of hidden and optional areas. In fact, this is, in my opinion, the game's biggest strength. It has a sense of freedom that's hard to compress into words. There are secrets and optional items throughout the game. Compared to this world, Ocarina of Time's will appear barren. My biggest issues with this game were with the length. Most of the game matches the difficulty of future Zelda games, but there are certain areas in the game that become exercises in tedium if the player makes a simple mistake. Graphically the game looks great, although I must say that I don't understand Nintendo's conscious choice to make the player's sprite so very colorful later in the game. The music in the game is also extremely fitting and sounds great. Overall, the game is worth a shot, even with its flaws. Expand
  18. Mar 17, 2017
    9
    If you loved the first Zelda on NES and you didn't like as much Zelda II. This SNES TLOZ game is one of the many games that defined sub-genres. If you know how SNES colors looked and how special the sound felt back in 90's, this will be very special. The game iterates on every aspect of the original Zelda from NES. I'm surprised even decades after the ideas they had on how to takeIf you loved the first Zelda on NES and you didn't like as much Zelda II. This SNES TLOZ game is one of the many games that defined sub-genres. If you know how SNES colors looked and how special the sound felt back in 90's, this will be very special. The game iterates on every aspect of the original Zelda from NES. I'm surprised even decades after the ideas they had on how to take advantage of such lovely overworld. Go play this gem! Expand
  19. Apr 20, 2018
    9
    This was the age of Nintendo. The age of pixel gaming. The Wii port is a SNES game.

    Great game in terms of items and inventory and dungeon design. Only drawback the repetitive music in the dungeons and a few more minor problems like the bottle arrangement.

    Other than that, a great game from the era when Nintendo still looked fresh and did not heavily rely on nostalgia.
  20. Jul 16, 2018
    10
    A link to the past is my favorit game( even more of breath of the wild) its not nostalgia, im born in 2004 and my first zelda game was twilight princess. I gust find the game so good and well done, its way it is my favorit game of all time!

There are no critic reviews yet.