User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 118 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 95 out of 118
  2. Negative: 16 out of 118
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 8, 2014
    10
    Great game so far. I have played about 4 hours of the game so far,and ill tell you that it keeps you on the edge of your seat throughout. the Alien is not the only danger too, you have to watch out for rogue androids and other surviving crew members. The graphics are great for the XBOX 360 looking almost like next gen consoles. the game play is great adding features in the game from theGreat game so far. I have played about 4 hours of the game so far,and ill tell you that it keeps you on the edge of your seat throughout. the Alien is not the only danger too, you have to watch out for rogue androids and other surviving crew members. The graphics are great for the XBOX 360 looking almost like next gen consoles. the game play is great adding features in the game from the DEAD SPACE series like the famous save stations and concepts from the horror game OUTLAST. the only issue so far is that sometimes the words do not always match the mouth. SEGA really improved from their last game ALIEN: COLONIAL MARINES. Expand
  2. Oct 19, 2014
    10
    Sega's reputation for the Alien series has been very patchy up to now, so I expected to be let down by this game - only to have my backside kicked!!

    First, some really important details - the 360 version comes on two DVD's, the first one is the installation disc and the second one the game disc. You need to ensure that the 360 is connected to the network upon first running, as there is
    Sega's reputation for the Alien series has been very patchy up to now, so I expected to be let down by this game - only to have my backside kicked!!

    First, some really important details - the 360 version comes on two DVD's, the first one is the installation disc and the second one the game disc. You need to ensure that the 360 is connected to the network upon first running, as there is first a download patch of 896 megs, and following this 5.4 gigs of data is installed from the game disc onto the hard drive. I'm warning you of this, as it takes around 45 minutes to install, and with that you can clear drive space if you don't have much!!

    The presentation is largely wonderful - the graphics occasionally have a mite frame slip-up here and there, and occasionally have a slightly 'odd' texture, but they catch the atmosphere of the movie Alien down to a tee. The music is utterly wonderful, the new arrangements fitting seamlessly with Jerry Goldsmiths's classic score, and the sound effects are some of the best I've heard this year. May I say in the presentation stakes that the developers studied it seems not only Alien, but also elements from the other Alien movies (in terms of sound effects Alien 3 certainly) to painstaking detail, and it shows. There is a slight period of say 20-25 seconds to load between sections, but this doesn't take you too far out of the action.

    The gameplay is first-person survival horror, and there is one thing that you really need to get used to fast: you are going to die, a LOT!! From the off, the plot reveals multiple hazards along the way, in addition to the titular creature, you will come to find that death comes all too easy. Couple this with the lack of 'handholding' that the game provides and the fact that you really can only save at manual save points, you may think that this may seem really irritating (think the first time that people played Demon's Souls and realized what they were in for and you're close!!) but once you 'get' into the spirit of the game you come to realize that you aren't succombing to 'cheap' deaths, but in fact you need to get your head around things and understand where you are. This perhaps smacks of a weak tutorial to some, but it really doesn't take that long to find your bearings. Once learnt, the gameplay is truly satisfying in its depth, even if it does call for a lot of patience.

    With all of this then, its left to the last question - how is the Alien handled? Only one word can sum it up really - WOW. The Alien from the off is treated sparingly, but the scripting to its appearances are wonderful - again, the team that put the game together obviously are fans, and everything gels so well. The first time the creature appears your heart will be in your mouth, it is that good (and dare I say, vastly more effective than the entirety of Alien Resurrection and the Aliens vs Predator movies!!). Later encounters push the tension even more, and prove above all, that with true understanding of the subject matter, the desired result can be achieved.

    This will not appeal to all and I can see that many will hate the initially unfair nature of the game - this is not the game for them. But if you want something that's deep and atmospheric, and is more than just a tribute to a classic movie (although it does a stunning job of that too), then you should at the very least give this a try.

    For this man though, its brilliant, and worth the tension.
    Expand
  3. Oct 13, 2014
    10
    Atmosphere! Atmosphere! Atmosphere!

    The folks at Creative Assembly have perfectly recreated the look & feel of Alien. A slow, long story build before the Alien appears just adds to the immersion. It's scary as hell to have a single, near omnipotent alien hunting you compared to the wave after wave of aliens you mow down in any of the Aliens games. The oft maligned save system only
    Atmosphere! Atmosphere! Atmosphere!

    The folks at Creative Assembly have perfectly recreated the look & feel of Alien. A slow, long story build before the Alien appears just adds to the immersion. It's scary as hell to have a single, near omnipotent alien hunting you compared to the wave after wave of aliens you mow down in any of the Aliens games.

    The oft maligned save system only adds to the stress of playing. You'll find yourself asking "Where it is? Is it safe to go?" followed by checking your tracker, listening, checking the tracker again, repeat... instead of a quick save with a dash to the next safe spot. Definitely not a game for the ADHD crowd :)

    Too many games worry about eye candy and not game play. Alien Isolation is loaded with both. It's a lloonngg, completely immersive and scary game. This is survival horror at its best.

    TL&DR: If you're a fan of the Alien series, especially Alien with its atmosphere and story build, you will love Alien Isolation.

    (Folks who complain about a lack of weapons would likely also gripe about Garrett's lack of a BFG in the Thief series.)
    Expand
  4. Nov 7, 2014
    10
    i am such a huge fan of Ridley Scott's Alien also Alien's prequel Prometheus and James Cameron Aliens. The alien series is one my favorite sci-fi movies that a true sci movie it for true sci movie goers like me and for geeks also someone who has taste for movies. after playing colonial marines it really it doesn't go any were but i did love it even though it was confusing and they didi am such a huge fan of Ridley Scott's Alien also Alien's prequel Prometheus and James Cameron Aliens. The alien series is one my favorite sci-fi movies that a true sci movie it for true sci movie goers like me and for geeks also someone who has taste for movies. after playing colonial marines it really it doesn't go any were but i did love it even though it was confusing and they did not find ripley but thanks to SEGA we know have a sequel !. this game is hard in deed then you can't find a solution to escape to this " Alien " then you beat the game. they really understand alien they designed the characters realistic , they designed the spaceship it was like being in the 1979 spaceship all over again. Grade A+ ( best game of 2014) Expand
  5. Nov 3, 2014
    8
    Excellent game, the visuals and audio really pulls you in. You really do feel as though you're taking part in an extension of the first alien film. However all the backtracking and stealth gameplay can become a little tiresome at times, and the enemies can be quite unforgiving. It's a game to immerse yourself into in a dark silent room; a brilliant homage to the 1979 original.
  6. Oct 22, 2014
    9
    Don't be fooled by the morons at IGN and Gamespot!! this game is GREAT! One of the best survival horrors i ever played in my life!! amazing graphics, tight controls, good storyline and A LOT of tension. If you like to feel challenged, likes to explore and enjoys games with amazing setting and atmosphere, this game is for you! Sorry for my bad english!
  7. Jan 10, 2015
    4
    PROS.

    Great period correct atmosphere that looks like an early 80's sci-fi film. Good well polished graphics with minimal glitches that are top of the line for last gen consoles. The alien detail is excellent. CONS. Clunky and sometimes poorly thought out controls. (You have to hold down x to reload your gun instead of just pressing it for example. And instead of having a
    PROS.

    Great period correct atmosphere that looks like an early 80's sci-fi film.

    Good well polished graphics with minimal glitches that are top of the line for last gen consoles.

    The alien detail is excellent.

    CONS.

    Clunky and sometimes poorly thought out controls. (You have to hold down x to reload your gun instead of just pressing it for example. And instead of having a menu for crafting items you have to hold down a series of buttons to bring up a half assed menu that is a little buggy.) And if you get attacked don't expect to be able to get away with any DEGREE of ease because if you try to run right after breaking a grapple hold your joystick won't work and you'll just end up running in a straight line, Often times into another F*CKING enemy.

    And your character is also apparently mentally retarded as she seems to think that the perfect time to stop running is when she is being shot at. I **** you not she will just outright stop running for absolutely no reason at random when you're trying to get away from the **** that's trying to kill you.

    Seemingly super human AI senses. I swear no matter what I do the freaking alien runs right up to me every time even if i'm hiding from it. And if you sneak up on a guy and club him to death his friends will all turn around and have an instant lock on you even if you didn't make a sound. This utter BULL**** got me killed SO many times.

    Pretty sparse scares. For a game that is supposed to scare you as the main SELLING point this game doesn't do a very good job of it.

    The game is WAAAAAY too dark in some places, It's supposed to be scary but when you're trying to find your way around it just becomes annoying.

    Collision glitches can occur suddenly without warning and stop you from moving, Parts of the game world may suddenly vanish as well.

    Combat is horribly one sided, Most enemies take several shots from a revolver to bring down and they can also counter your melee attacks.

    Your hand held motion tracker is a worthless piece of **** that tells you that the alien is safely walking down a distant hallway when it's actually right beside you.

    IN CONCLUSION.

    Aliens: Isolation is a beautiful to look at game with in game mechanics so horribly implemented and poorly thought out that they will kill you ten times more than any enemy in the game. With it's buggy game play and coding errors you're sure to be red hot with anger instead of afraid. This game is NOT worth buying.

    Amnesia: The dark descent is BY FAR a better game than this could ever hope to be. If you want a survival horror experience that will leave you on the edge of your seat and biting your lower lip buy that instead. And besides, You can install custom stories on amnesia so you're actually getting several survival horror games in one! It may not be as pretty but it's core mechanics are rock solid and the game is genuinely horrifying when played alone in the dark.
    Expand
  8. Oct 8, 2014
    1
    Played the game for a while, really didn't like it. Not enough action for me.
    I especially didn't like the fact that there are no guns to shoot the aliens.
  9. Nov 17, 2014
    4
    Have to say I don't like it. Think it's pretty crap actually. Glad i only paid £20 for it. Didn't find if scary at all just found the alien really really really really annoying. I love stealth with a purpose at a slow n steady rate not at the rate of useless AI that just hassles you the whole time! The alien comes down from vents far to often to let you really soak up the greatHave to say I don't like it. Think it's pretty crap actually. Glad i only paid £20 for it. Didn't find if scary at all just found the alien really really really really annoying. I love stealth with a purpose at a slow n steady rate not at the rate of useless AI that just hassles you the whole time! The alien comes down from vents far to often to let you really soak up the great atmosphere of the ship which they nailed. Could have been a great game. Mayb next time. Just way toooooo slow. Expand
  10. Jan 9, 2015
    9
    I had been looking forward to Alien Isolation even before i saw the first two films in the Alien series. the game looked absolutely terrifying from what i saw in press videos and demos, so i was highly anticipating it. though, at the same time, i was a bit skeptical, since most Alien games beforehand didn't get good reception at all, especially Colonial Marines almost two years ago. I canI had been looking forward to Alien Isolation even before i saw the first two films in the Alien series. the game looked absolutely terrifying from what i saw in press videos and demos, so i was highly anticipating it. though, at the same time, i was a bit skeptical, since most Alien games beforehand didn't get good reception at all, especially Colonial Marines almost two years ago. I can safely say, however, that Alien Isolation is one of the best horror games I've ever played. From the moment I started the game, i knew i was in for a great experience, from the beginning to see how barren and atmospheric the Sevastopol station was, to my first encounter with the Alien. The gameplay is top-notch here. The atmosphere is nailed perfectly and captures the mood of the original Alien film effortlessly, not to mention its art design is absolutely perfect as well, and looks exactly like the style of the original films. The thought of having limited supplies was dreadful to me, as i had to constantly stockpile items in fear that i'd lose them. I was always afraid i'd have to use them on other humans to get rid of them, waste even more to fight working Joes, but worst of all, ward off the Xenomorph that can't be killed. The Alien creature in this game is easily the best part of the game. Its A.I. is incredibly smart, constantly on the lookout, and you never know when it'll strike next. I can't count how many times i hid in the same spot for nearly 20 minutes just so i didn't have to look at the alien. Each level became a tense experience for me because i never knew when anything was going to find me or going to strike at me. Combine this with excellent lighting effects, slick graphics, and its already established atmosphere, and you're in for one of the most dreadful games you'll ever play. The story, while entertaining, isn't much to write home about. The writing can be pretty good at times, but there's times where i felt the story dragged a bit. And some scenes felt like they were only put in there for fanservice, which is nice for Alien fans like me, but can still pad out game time. And the ending isn't all that great either. Even without knowing what really happens to Amanda Ripley in the extended version of Aliens, the game ends very abruptly, and i couldn't believe it had just ended right there. However, the ending isn't the worst aspect of Alien: Isolation- the worst part is the save system. this game doesn't auto save, and there are not that many save stations available at your disposal. On one hand, this adds to the tension, as you really don't want to start a whole section over, but at the same time, this adds frustration to the game, and can really take away from the experience. This issue aside, i can't deny that Alien Isolation is an excellent game. It has a great atmosphere, amazing A.I., great lighting and graphics, a good story, and excellent horror gameplay. Expand
  11. Jun 2, 2017
    10
    Amnesia: The Dark Descent was great. It invented the genre. Everything that attempted to emulate it felt trite to the extent that i gave up on the genre. I avoided Alien: Isolation for two and a half years for that reason. The middling reviews confirmed my expectations. After 2 and a half years It was cheap enough in stores to warrant a go (It was the only game on the shelf i hadn'tAmnesia: The Dark Descent was great. It invented the genre. Everything that attempted to emulate it felt trite to the extent that i gave up on the genre. I avoided Alien: Isolation for two and a half years for that reason. The middling reviews confirmed my expectations. After 2 and a half years It was cheap enough in stores to warrant a go (It was the only game on the shelf i hadn't played)

    This game gave me the experience you expect from a new console. It felt like Tomb Raider or Resident Evil on PS1. Turok on N64 and Resident Evil 4 on Gamecube. It feels new and exciting. Its genuinely tense. The sound and art design are hollywood level. Beautifully presented. Remember when you bought games because they were unique and fun as opposed to having the quality of being an update or a sequel? This games a reminder of that and I'm so pissed that i allowed external influences to prevent me from playing this. The reviews are mixed because not everyone has the same experience. The a.i makes each playthrough unique. Well done sega. Games like this are the reason you invest in a games console.
    Expand
  12. Feb 19, 2016
    8
    What we have here is a first person, horror-survival video game in outer space. Visually stunning. Very intense. Not a bad game -- but also very frustrating, and repetitive. The controls are somewhat weak, and the crafting, while simple, does not work as well as intended. Lots of issues with lighting. Wasn't enthusiastic about the saving scheme. These issues hold back what could've been aWhat we have here is a first person, horror-survival video game in outer space. Visually stunning. Very intense. Not a bad game -- but also very frustrating, and repetitive. The controls are somewhat weak, and the crafting, while simple, does not work as well as intended. Lots of issues with lighting. Wasn't enthusiastic about the saving scheme. These issues hold back what could've been a great game. Still it is very much worth a try, especially for people that are fans of this particular genre, or the movie series. I would not play this again, because it felt a smidgen too long, but the first run through is an experience. Expand
  13. Feb 1, 2015
    9
    This game is great. It really feels like an alien game as you explore the Sevastopol space station that looks like it was taken right out of Ridley Scott's Alien. The atmosphere fits perfectly and still looks graphicly good on the xbox 360. Danger lurks around every corner as you scavenge, craft, and use your wits to evade the smart and terrifying alien as well as rogue survivors andThis game is great. It really feels like an alien game as you explore the Sevastopol space station that looks like it was taken right out of Ridley Scott's Alien. The atmosphere fits perfectly and still looks graphicly good on the xbox 360. Danger lurks around every corner as you scavenge, craft, and use your wits to evade the smart and terrifying alien as well as rogue survivors and malfunctioning androids. I highly recomend this game to any aliens fan or survival horror game fan. P.S. if Aliens: Colonial Marines dissapointed you, then Alien: Isolation will take that disgusting taste right out of your mouth. Expand
  14. Dec 12, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I have played and finished this game many times over, and I can officially say it is one of the best games I have had the pleasure of playing. After so many sequels, spinoffs, and terrible cheap remakes, you'd think it would be impossible to make the classic alien truly frightening, but Alien Isolation achieves this. The alien is an extremely oppressive and downright terrifying being, that will have you peeing your pants every time you hear the noise signalling it has dropped from a vent. The atmosphere also assists with not only making this game feel eerie, but also making you feel as though you have stepping into the Alien universe. Amanda is a wonderful protagonist, mirroring (but not copying) what made Ellen of the original such a great lead. The side characters are also wonderfully written, and I found myself screaming "Noooooooo" as each of them met their untimely end. So in the end, all these elements add up to make a fresh, and absolutely horrifying experience that will leave you clenching your controller with sweaty palms, and refusing to put it down until the credits start to roll. Expand
  15. Jan 16, 2015
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I have a few scary games in my collection; Resident Evil & Alan Wake being among them. Turns out that they weren't so scary after all....
    In terms of frights and sheer heart-pumping adrenaline gaming, Alien Isolation is pretty much perfection. Set between the events of the original Alien film and the sequel Aliens, it involves taking control of heroine Ellen Ripley's daughter Amanda Ripley, who has decided to travel into outer space to a far off space station who have captured a black box recording from her mother's ship, the Nostromo.
    Of course, all is not what it seems and she soon finds herself alone, marooned and face to face with her mother's worst nightmare, the Alien.
    What makes the game so great is the way that the Alien has been so faithfully recreated. Like in the 1979 film, it's ruthless, remorseless and the perfect killing machine. You'll spend many gaming hours dodging it, hiding from it and very often not succeeding. And it's because of this that the game is so terrifying to play; If you make a mistake, you'll be likely to pay for it with your life.
    The game is of course not completely perfect. It is extremely frustrating to play and times, and makes no attempt to give the player a fair break just for the sake of it. But this is also part of the game's charm, it has to be said. It can also get a bit repetitive after a while. There are only so many times you can wander down spaceship corridors, or encounter annoying humans or androids without feeling just a little bored. But one thing's for sure; whenever the Alien shows up, boredom flies out of the window and you'll be hooked and on the edge of your seat.
    One of the best games of it's genre in a long time.
    Expand
  16. Oct 17, 2014
    8
    First, let me apologize to the action gamers of the world. I too, was disappointed to find that there was a lack of gun play to this game. However, what I also didnt expect was to be sucked in by the total fear I had when playing this game. Every noise made me stop instantly, crouching, waiting for the Alien to grab me. Little did I know It would be a good while before I even had to worryFirst, let me apologize to the action gamers of the world. I too, was disappointed to find that there was a lack of gun play to this game. However, what I also didnt expect was to be sucked in by the total fear I had when playing this game. Every noise made me stop instantly, crouching, waiting for the Alien to grab me. Little did I know It would be a good while before I even had to worry about it. One thing that I liked about "Silent Hill" was the constant fear of Pyramid Head lurking around every dark corner. Well thats the exact effect "Alien:Isolation" had on me...FOR THE ENTIRE GAME! So, in closing I will break it down as thus:
    Pro:Great hide and go seek game! Ambiance is outstanding.
    Con:Killing things is hard, sometimes impossible. So If action is your name, this aint yo game!
    Expand
  17. Nov 5, 2014
    10
    I finished Isolation last night having struggled through it over an overlong period of over 2 weeks... What a stunning and terrifying experience. Creative Assembly should be massively congratulated and thanked for giving XB360 users such a near as you can get to next gen experience. The atmosphere, the content, the storytelling, the pacing, everything, makes this for me practically a totalI finished Isolation last night having struggled through it over an overlong period of over 2 weeks... What a stunning and terrifying experience. Creative Assembly should be massively congratulated and thanked for giving XB360 users such a near as you can get to next gen experience. The atmosphere, the content, the storytelling, the pacing, everything, makes this for me practically a total one off, better than the Dead Space series which is high praise. It does slow down and jerk a bit at some points when there is a lot going on and loads of different particle effects, lighting and texture changes going on at once, but I dont think anything more is achievable on this machine, by anyone, ever. Makes you realise even more how ripped off we were with Forza Horizon 2...
    Alien Isolation is in my top 5 games of all time. It's that good. And it's completely cured my constipation. So thanks for that!
    Expand
  18. Jan 9, 2015
    9
    Although I thought the storyline was thin, and the saving system was unfair, the game was still fun in many ways. There was a lot of scares, action, and enough enemies to refreshen the game every time you play it.The levels do get harder once you first encounter an alien.
  19. Jan 10, 2015
    9
    Alien: Isolation is true triumph for Sega, Creative Assembly and the Alien franchise!

    This game is tense, frightening, exciting and certainly not for the faint of heart as much of the game demands you hold your nerve to the last second of each encounter with the alien. Alien: Isolation pulls you in from the word 'Go' and doesn't let you go until well after the game has ended. Alien:
    Alien: Isolation is true triumph for Sega, Creative Assembly and the Alien franchise!

    This game is tense, frightening, exciting and certainly not for the faint of heart as much of the game demands you hold your nerve to the last second of each encounter with the alien. Alien: Isolation pulls you in from the word 'Go' and doesn't let you go until well after the game has ended.

    Alien: Isolation has benefited hugely from support from 20th century fox which has been faithfully interpreted and delivered by Creative Assembly.
    The game looks authentic with a well rendered and cleverly lit yet dark environment which has been based upon original conceptual art work and records of sets built for the original Alien movie.
    The musical score and sound staging have been enriched with 20th century fox's library of sounds from the original movie and are instrumental in bringing this game to its zenith with atmospheric music which interacts with the alien's AI and intensifies as it draws nearer.
    The Alien's AI is terrifyingly clever and learns from previous encounters, often not falling for the same trick twice which forces you to be creative in surviving. Thinking fast quickly becomes a survival by-word.

    However, as you sneak and dart your way through the last of the levels of the Sevastopol Station you can't help but shake the feeling of a little repetition which is normally forgotten after 30 seconds as surviving the Alien's hunt quickly becomes your primary concern. With no place to hide and no zones that are truly declared as being 'safe' the intensity and tension of the game can become a little unbearable which is non-stop beginning to end. These things are only small criticisms though and in no way detracted from my enjoyment of this game and are all part of the challenge Alien: Isolation invites you to take.

    My 1 true disappointment was the ending. It was simply not a big enough reward for all that you have gone through to complete this game. Maybe, we are to appreciate that simply surviving is the reward. I can only hope that the this game has been left open for a follow-up in the near future.

    These elements help make this game all the more personal and you aren't as much drawn in as dragged into the vent system and devoured by this game. 9/10 is richly deserved as is the title 'Best game for 2014'.
    This is the game the Aliens franchise has deserved and we have been hoping for for so many years and we are not left wanting. Manicparrot signing off.
    Expand
  20. Sep 30, 2015
    8
    Probably the closest thing to a perfect "Alien" game we'll ever get, although there are occasional bugs and one of the DLCs mysteriously won't download for many people.
  21. Jan 27, 2015
    9
    What does Pyramid Head, the Nemesis t-type and Chris Walker (the fat man from "Outlast") have in common? Well, among other things, their paths, conducts and the times they show up are all scripted.

    Here is where Alien: Isolation stands over most horror games: The Alien, the Xenomorph, is completely unpredictable. A strategy that killed you five minutes ago may function perfectly now. He
    What does Pyramid Head, the Nemesis t-type and Chris Walker (the fat man from "Outlast") have in common? Well, among other things, their paths, conducts and the times they show up are all scripted.

    Here is where Alien: Isolation stands over most horror games: The Alien, the Xenomorph, is completely unpredictable. A strategy that killed you five minutes ago may function perfectly now. He stalks you, learns your tactics and waits silently until you make a mistake.

    It is not as scary as it is stressing, and tries to keep the monotony away by changing the pace after the first half, giving you weapons to scare the alien away. However, the ammunition for these weapons is scarce, and hiding is still your only option to survive.

    I played the game on the hardest available level for the first time, and it never felt frustrating at all. The save system is weird but adequate for this kind of game, and the games sounds and looks great.

    However, the characters are completely meaningless, and Amanda turns out to be more of a badass survivor in one 20-hours long game (yes, it is pretty long) than her mother was during 200 years. In fact, knowing what happens to Amanda already (because of the beginning of James Cameron's Aliens) limits a lot the surprise factor, but also opens great possibilities.

    This is what makes the game require strong support characters, and besides one synthetic, this is where the game fails and what makes it feel a little too long.

    Even taking this into account, I prefer this kind of story than the absolute mess that Alien: CM did to the Aliens' story.

    A must play, and the game that the franchise deserved.
    Expand
  22. Jul 18, 2015
    7
    An interesting game... I'd give it a 7.5/10

    I rather enjoy it, I'm on mission 6 right now. It is entertaining, has a fairly good story-line. Only thing that sort of pisses me off is there isn't any way to kill the damn alien. But that also makes things more interesting and intense, you see, because... you have to evade the thing. It is classified as a survival-horror game/FPS but you
    An interesting game... I'd give it a 7.5/10

    I rather enjoy it, I'm on mission 6 right now. It is entertaining, has a fairly good story-line. Only thing that sort of pisses me off is there isn't any way to kill the damn alien. But that also makes things more interesting and intense, you see, because... you have to evade the thing. It is classified as a survival-horror game/FPS but you don't find the gun till later. Fyi, pyro554 is also my XBL gamer tag.
    Expand
  23. Oct 9, 2016
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Alien Isolation is an impressive take on the 70s film "Alien" with next gen quality visuals on last gen tech, a sense of true horror, terrifyingly simple but extremely difficult A.I., and if you got the Nostromo Edition, you're in for a real treat.

    You play as Amanda Ripley "daughter of Ellen Ripley" and a strong female lead. The story has you along in a decollate mall ship paradise thing in Jupiter's Orbit know only as Sevastopol. Sevastopol is now a home of the Xenomorph and the rest of the crazed survivors. You must go through many tricky and interesting puzzles that will test your patience and fear factor level. Oh and this game is not meant for the impatient because if you make one wrong move you'll either get killed or go through an insane attempt at escaping. Don't bother escaping from the Alien. You'll get caught up to because the thing is fast AF and its impossible to kill. Don't even friggin' run in this game. That's how sensitive the A.I.'s hearing is in this game is. The A.I. is very advanced in this game and difficulty is definitely on the hard end. The game is about 10 hours long and you can't go once at anytime without dying unless you're going for the achievement.

    The scenery feels like were something when down hard. The atmosphere and music is tense and terrifying keeping you on your toes making sure you don't die and you will hallucinate plenty of times thinking the Xenomorph is lurking in your bedroom right now in fact. The game maybe a single place to go kind of game but the game's environments are actually more open than what anyone expected. Most of the stuff that's blocked off are available to be unlocked after you've got the right tool for the job. Heck the stuff you find later on. You can go back to the beginning of the game and unlock the blocked off areas. I haven't even found what's back in the beginning yet because story.

    If you got the Nostromo Edition (like I got), you play as the original cast. You start in the scene after they discuss the Alien and you have to close off the area without getting killed. I don't know how it ends because I keep getting killed.

    Pros:
    Excellent Story
    Advanced A.I.
    Amazing Graphical Detail
    Memorable Characters
    Just the right amount of difficulty
    Perfect Movie Tie-In game
    Expand
  24. Dec 8, 2016
    10
    Play most games on 1st person perspective and never been so amazed by creativity and intensity of a game like alien isolation, it delivers true horror but in very different way than any other titles which only would give us some early hours to feel the fear.
    CA team has made something really unique about stealth to survive gameplay and that's make it more and more interesting throughout
    Play most games on 1st person perspective and never been so amazed by creativity and intensity of a game like alien isolation, it delivers true horror but in very different way than any other titles which only would give us some early hours to feel the fear.
    CA team has made something really unique about stealth to survive gameplay and that's make it more and more interesting throughout the game, i highly suggest this one to have a sequel since we all know other games are trying to pick up typical basic stealth survival element of Alien Isolation into their games.
    Finally for me this is the best action adventure game overall on 360, hope to play the sequel very soon!
    Expand
  25. Jul 15, 2017
    9
    I have to admit that my first impression was not so good. i bought this game on xbox 360 because i don't like play on pc. I knew that graphics will be much worse than on other platforms but you can't forget about flavour while you play on xbox 360. i love game that give you get deep in main character. its not simple shooter but game that based mainly on great story, flavour. Very scaryI have to admit that my first impression was not so good. i bought this game on xbox 360 because i don't like play on pc. I knew that graphics will be much worse than on other platforms but you can't forget about flavour while you play on xbox 360. i love game that give you get deep in main character. its not simple shooter but game that based mainly on great story, flavour. Very scary game,that try to keep your mind in impatient, fear. graphics is very good on xbox 360. i never complain about very low resolution compared with pc games. I love this console from first meet. I think this game is one of the top horror game that you can play on this console. Of the most drawback is way how you can save state of game, and sometimes difficulty level that is too high for me, but paradoxically is at the same time advantage. Expand

There are no critic reviews yet.