Battlefield: Bad Company Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 70 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 298 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Built from the ground-up for next-generation consoles using Digital Illusions' Frostbite game engine, Battlefield: Bad Company drops gamers behind enemy lines with a squad of renegade soldiers who risk it all on a personal quest for gold and revenge. Featuring a deep, cinematic single-playerBuilt from the ground-up for next-generation consoles using Digital Illusions' Frostbite game engine, Battlefield: Bad Company drops gamers behind enemy lines with a squad of renegade soldiers who risk it all on a personal quest for gold and revenge. Featuring a deep, cinematic single-player experience loaded with adventure and dark humor, the game delivers the series' trademark sandbox gameplay in a universe where nearly everything is destructible. Battlefield: Bad Company also features a full suite of the franchise's trademark multiplayer options with deep gameplay modes designed to take full advantage of the game's massively destructible environments. [Electronic Arts] Expand
Buy Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Battlefield: Bad Company Official Trailer 1
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 70
  2. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. It looks great, has fun characters, a load of interesting weaponry, and works nicely whether you’re playing alone or with a squad. The campaign lasts long enough to feel fulfilling, and the multiplayer kept me coming back once that was complete.
  2. Bad Company represents a new direction for the Battlefield series, and it makes its debut as a console exclusive with a building-blasting bang.
  3. 90
    Dynamic action, tons of features, and highly-detailed visuals come together for the first significant step forward of console first-person shooters since "Halo: Combat Evolved." While there are a few minor quibbles, you're assured to become addicted to Bad Company's twitch gameplay.
  4. Battlefield Bad Company is a great game and continues the excellent fun found in every game in the Battlefield series that I've played so far.
  5. The levels are massive - although there are only seven of them - and the sense of being in a conflict can only currently be matched by CoD4.
  6. As a console exclusive, it delivers a great campaign with unique features that set it apart from the majority of first-person shooters on the platform.
  7. It’s got some fresh, entertaining details, and though the game experience is shallow and a little frustrating, you can hop into a mortar cannon and knock down an enemy entrenchment to make you feel better.

See all 70 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 114
  2. Negative: 23 out of 114
  1. BfbccRAzythebestever
    Jun 24, 2008
    10
    Probably the best fps out there right now. Call of duty 4 comes in a close 2nd with it tho with halo right behind it.
  2. AaronB
    Aug 13, 2008
    10
    10 for an EA game, from me. I've blasted them in the past but quite frankly they hit the sweet spot with this title. DICE should be 10 for an EA game, from me. I've blasted them in the past but quite frankly they hit the sweet spot with this title. DICE should be applauded for what they have achieved with this game. It looks incredible, plays beautifully, the single player is great, giving you a good grounding in all the classes and special weapon uses. Online is definately were its at though....and wait for it....wait for it...theres NO lag. Congrats EA - it would appear that after all these years of milking franchises till there is nothing left, ripping off the gaming community and generally producing shit quality games you have come to your senses. I'm sold again on EA after this. Army of Two still sucked though. Oh and to Kevin F. below, that was the EA of past- and 2 months ago I would have agreed with your comments. Conquest is available to download free, and its superb. They have even updated the maps and lighting/weather effects on 4 of them specifically for conquest mode..yes there is no prone but the game is well balanced without it- don't let that put you off thats for sure. EA has regained some respect from me and that really is a bloody surprise to me I can tell you. Pick this one up for sure. Expand
  3. Apr 12, 2011
    10
    I've owned this game for a long, long time now, but never wrote a review. Anyway, I use this game as a measuring stick for all other onlineI've owned this game for a long, long time now, but never wrote a review. Anyway, I use this game as a measuring stick for all other online FPSs. I'll compare COD and Crysis 2 to this game. Obviously, both fall WAY short of the mark. It confounds me. I've been playing online FPSs since Medal of Honor: Allied Assault. When that game came out (like 11 years ago), I thought the multiplayer was really cool. It's not so great, however, when COD releases a contemporary multiplayer FPS that mirrors those from over a decade ago. Anyway, tl;dr - Bad Company (and its successor, Bad Company 2) are far superior to all other online FPSs. Expand
  4. BarryB
    Jun 17, 2008
    9
    This game takes everything currently available in a FPS and pushes it further. This is most evident in the sound effects and the impressively This game takes everything currently available in a FPS and pushes it further. This is most evident in the sound effects and the impressively destructible environments. The controls are solid and responsive, the graphics are outstanding, the audio/sfx are especially noteworthy, and the replay value is immense. The demo's available for free download over Xbox Live and includes 1 mission and 1 multiplayer map. This game is very highly recommended. Expand
  5. ApocalypseBrown
    Jul 7, 2008
    8
    I will start this by saying in my opinion this is better than COD4! But Battlefield BC should be a lot better than it currently is. Everyone I will start this by saying in my opinion this is better than COD4! But Battlefield BC should be a lot better than it currently is. Everyone buys Battlefield due to the multi player, but this time the single player is a blast too. It reminds me a lot of Black, but it similarity ends at big weapons and explosive barrels. While Black was hugely intense and had great A.I./set pieces/aiming, BC single player has only the set pieces. For the wealth of impressive weaponry, the aiming is terrible! You can dump twenty rounds into a enemy face, and only four shots will connect. Rubbish! Also the A.I. are totally stupid. Enemy bad guys will look at you when your face to face, and do nothing. Yet when your hiding they seem to have x-ray vision and shoot. Rubbish! But there is a lot of fun regardless, with the huge weapons and being able to total buildings in one shot. But the centre piece is the multi player, and man it rocks! But again rubbish aiming, rejoining into hot spots and dying straight away, and no conquest mode suck! But there is too many reason to put this down, BC is great fun! Expand
  6. DanielB.
    Jan 1, 2010
    6
    this game isn't perfect.. or mach up to cod 4 in any way shape or form.... the graphics are pretty good.. but not sharp and this game isn't perfect.. or mach up to cod 4 in any way shape or form.... the graphics are pretty good.. but not sharp and photorealistic.. the gameplay is ok.. the blowing up thing is okay at least.. its a nice gameplay feature but is all scripted and doesn't compare to red faction:gorilla.. the story is pretty good filled with fun and creative characters but the AI is sub-par and the missions are repetitive and subpar as well. the online maps are huge and a bit hard to find people hit detection is bad at best... while the breakable buildings are fun.. the vehicle controls are terrible and not mention the vehicle themselves are cheap. they spawn in almost completely random places... unaware that they are giving all of them to say the team that is pwning. speaking of controls.. there terrible. at least.... not to mention there is ads.. but only with a few guns.. some just zoom in and its extremely annoying..and the layout itself is just god-awful, y to knife right stick click to duck.... wtf... overall this game is just a cheap COD4 knockoff.. do not buy it Expand
  7. ChaseMurata
    Jun 24, 2008
    0
    Okay, after a few days and a lot of hours with the demo, here is my seasoned critique. A critique, as my first-impressions (of primarily theOkay, after a few days and a lot of hours with the demo, here is my seasoned critique. A critique, as my first-impressions (of primarily the single-player) were far too generous.

    I do not like how there are only two spawn points (team or base). Opponents can simply camp with tanks and kill you in succession. I was killed five times in a row switching off both spawn points. Every time I respawned at our base some asshole would immediately - before I could take a step - fire tank bursts into the spawn area. Between the tank and the machine-that-acts-like-your-own-personal-Airstrike, my entire team was decimated every time we spawned at the base spawn point during that game.

    The imbalance between classes is infuriating. Snipers have the advantage in most games as the scope covers a great deal of the map, and considering Battlefield is a large-scale game, snipers can, literally, see you coming from miles away. I will say, though, that the aiming system is so imprecise that it will take a few shots for them to kill you - but they will kill you before you can fire back.

    Damage is a bit ridiculous, and the Medic class, or what-ever-name-they-gave-it, is not useful at all. Why did they include this class into the game? No one uses it. No one. I have only seen a handful of people use this class in my hours upon hours of gameplay. When I do see them, only few of them handed out health crates. Those who did hand out health crates amidst warfare were killed alongside those who tried to get health crates.

    This brings me to my next point: the damage is ridiculously high. It takes only three shots to kill someone with a pistol, and I
    Expand

See all 114 User Reviews