User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 65 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 65
  2. Negative: 15 out of 65

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 10, 2014
    10
    I just finished Child of Light, and I am already positive that I will be playing it again! Child of light is a fantastic game with beyond beautiful visuals, wonderful storyline, and entertaining gameplay. First up are the visuals. From the wonderfully drawn characters to the water-color backgrounds, even the menus are stunning. Another thing is the story, which follows Aurora, a young girlI just finished Child of Light, and I am already positive that I will be playing it again! Child of light is a fantastic game with beyond beautiful visuals, wonderful storyline, and entertaining gameplay. First up are the visuals. From the wonderfully drawn characters to the water-color backgrounds, even the menus are stunning. Another thing is the story, which follows Aurora, a young girl trying to save her father. She must fight her evil stepmother and reclaim the sun, moon, and stars. The game creators cleverly take classic fairy tale features and add their own twist which makes the game feel both familiar but original at the same time. Then there's the gameplay which is always engaging. The combat is definitely the best feature, which combines turn-style battle and tactical use of timing. Overall, Child of Light is an amazing game that is sure to provide multiple play throughs. Expand
  2. May 6, 2014
    9
    Im struggling to understand how anyone can give this a bad review. For a start it is stunningly beautiful with a great atmosphere, very playable, with an excellent and challenging battle system. It is very sweet and is a truly excellent games and well worth the €15 paid for it. when you consider that titanfall and the new fifa world cup game and alot more and don't have half the value.Im struggling to understand how anyone can give this a bad review. For a start it is stunningly beautiful with a great atmosphere, very playable, with an excellent and challenging battle system. It is very sweet and is a truly excellent games and well worth the €15 paid for it. when you consider that titanfall and the new fifa world cup game and alot more and don't have half the value.

    buy it you wont regret it.
    Expand
  3. May 12, 2014
    10
    just a masterpiece,the music, art.retro rpg style, it is like the champagne in terms of videogames,.......buy it now if you love rpg classics skip it, if you are a dumb fps fan boy,
  4. Aug 11, 2014
    10
    I'd give this a 4 but you all know how metacritic works graphics are in simplicity : cheap gameplay is steryotypical and nothing all that knew story is non existent honestly and the audio is good but that won't make a game for me at least I did not like this one bit I gave this version a 10 because of the fact that this version is actually better than the rest but gets the least love
  5. Aug 2, 2014
    9
    Fantastic game. The art style is nothing less than stunning. The music is hauntingly beautiful. The battle system is challenging without being too overwhelming. I played co-op with my 7-year-old daughter (she controlled the firefly) and she won't shut up about it. The biggest flaw is the dialogue, which is ENTIRELY in rhyme to keep with the storybook style. It gets a little wearisome.Fantastic game. The art style is nothing less than stunning. The music is hauntingly beautiful. The battle system is challenging without being too overwhelming. I played co-op with my 7-year-old daughter (she controlled the firefly) and she won't shut up about it. The biggest flaw is the dialogue, which is ENTIRELY in rhyme to keep with the storybook style. It gets a little wearisome. People always argue about whether video games can be considered art. Child of Light is now my number one argument for "absolutely". Expand
  6. Sep 6, 2017
    9
    Gorgeous game, beautiful soundtrack, loveable characters. Poetry lovers will enjoy the fact that most talk between characters are in rhymes. The combat mechanics are interesting, every enemy requires a slightly different strategy when the going gets tough. Kids enjoy playing with Igniculus using an optional second joystick, so this makes for a fun cooperative game. Younger kids might beGorgeous game, beautiful soundtrack, loveable characters. Poetry lovers will enjoy the fact that most talk between characters are in rhymes. The combat mechanics are interesting, every enemy requires a slightly different strategy when the going gets tough. Kids enjoy playing with Igniculus using an optional second joystick, so this makes for a fun cooperative game. Younger kids might be scared by certain bosses, depending on their age. Expand
  7. Jan 22, 2017
    8
    Ein französischer Entwickler versucht sich ein einem JRPG... wirklich interessant. Nun ist dieses Gerne zufälligerweise mein persönlicher Favorit unter den Videospielen und somit nehme ich mir es heraus dieses Spiel in seine Einzelteile zu zerlegen... :-).

    Nun allerdings gibt es nicht wirklich viel negatives zu sagen und somit mache ich es kurz. Child of Light bietet alles was ein
    Ein französischer Entwickler versucht sich ein einem JRPG... wirklich interessant. Nun ist dieses Gerne zufälligerweise mein persönlicher Favorit unter den Videospielen und somit nehme ich mir es heraus dieses Spiel in seine Einzelteile zu zerlegen... :-).

    Nun allerdings gibt es nicht wirklich viel negatives zu sagen und somit mache ich es kurz.

    Child of Light bietet alles was ein JRPG (von einem französischen Entwickler) braucht. Bis auf zwei Dinge. Die Charakterentwicklung und Individualisierung ist sehr mau ausgeprägt und die Spiellänge lässt zu wünschen übrig. Aber Stop. Dieses Spiel wurde als eine Art Indietitel entwickelt und somit ist alles im grünen Bereich... Außerdem ist die Mucke gut... :-)
    Expand
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 5 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. May 10, 2014
    70
    As I played Child of Light for review, I found it to be a game that I wasn’t itching to play, but rather enjoyed myself when I did. A pretty, diverting yarn that I’m thrilled exists, but is perhaps a little too nice to recommend wholeheartedly.
  2. May 5, 2014
    80
    While not the underdog classic some gamers may have hoped for, Child of Light is an enjoyable platform adventure with a surprisingly complex turn-based battle system. It also doesn't hurt that the game is absolutely gorgeous to look at.
  3. May 2, 2014
    80
    A beautiful journey made possible with the power of the UibArt engine. Child of Light is one of the nicest surprises we've had in a long time.