User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 326 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 75 out of 326
Watch Now
Buy on

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 25, 2013
    7
    Save for a completely nonexistent story and a few forgettable maps, "Far Cry 2" is a mostly enjoyable open-world shooter with a breadth of hilarious gameplay tweaks.
  2. GeorgeM
    Nov 3, 2008
    7
    Having played Far Cry 1 and thinking nothing of it i felt compelled to play Far Cry 2 as it appeared to be a superior sequel. After borrowing a friends copy and giving it a good play-through, i can honestly say this isn't a vast improvement over Far Cry 1. Graphically the game looks great, the enviroments are highly detailed and very lush, character models sport a decent amount of Having played Far Cry 1 and thinking nothing of it i felt compelled to play Far Cry 2 as it appeared to be a superior sequel. After borrowing a friends copy and giving it a good play-through, i can honestly say this isn't a vast improvement over Far Cry 1. Graphically the game looks great, the enviroments are highly detailed and very lush, character models sport a decent amount of detail, and effects like wind causing fire to spread and weapons getting wear and tear over time are nice little additions...but after a while, the locales tend to look the same and they aren't as interactive as i thought they woudl be and you catch yourself shooting what is seemingly the same guy over and over (not alot of variety in enemy character models). At first i thought this to be a HUGE open-ended FPS....and it is to an extent, but there are things that keep you from exploring this seemingly open-ended world (the malaria thing sucks, it keeps you from exploring). The gameplay will suck you in for about the first couple hours....but gradually it gets more and more repetitive as you realize how limited the game really is. Far Cry 2 is an improvement over Far Cry 1....but they've still a long way to go before its a series worth keeping up with. Expand
  3. captainawesome
    Jan 3, 2009
    6
    Fun for a little while, but feels unfinished at times. For example, on the xbox360 version I played, shooting an enemy driving a vehicle would result in that enemy suddenly popping up next to the car (in mid air) and then dying. A number of other things kept me from fully enjoying this title: - the enemies don't seem to be very smart at all, and have a very unfair accuracy Fun for a little while, but feels unfinished at times. For example, on the xbox360 version I played, shooting an enemy driving a vehicle would result in that enemy suddenly popping up next to the car (in mid air) and then dying. A number of other things kept me from fully enjoying this title: - the enemies don't seem to be very smart at all, and have a very unfair accuracy considering it takes the player some amount of time to figure out where shots are coming form due to the vegetation being all around. - the game is very repetitive - the open world is largely empty and thus you spend the majority of your time driving. - constantly getting chased by enemies get old really really fast - cars crap out on you fast, so you'll either have to fix them every three minutes (because of all the enemy encounters) or walk (which sucks balls) - The mortar didn't seem to do anything (this could be my fault rather than the game's) - the game promises features which aren't present, for instance in the weapon shop it says that the flare gun can be used to call backup, but I've yet to see this in action. I haven't played this game for a few weeks now, so this is the stuff that's off the top of my head. I'd say rent rather than buy, unless you're really into it. It's certainly not the next generation of shooters, and IMO doesn't deserve the high scores it seems to be getting. All in all just an ok title. Expand
  4. ApocalypseBrown
    Oct 28, 2008
    6
    Somebody said this game was criminally under-rated by the press, on this occasion I think opinion on Far Cry 2 has been a little generous. The game as itself as a amazing technical achievement, where you probably will not see for years an inactive environment looking as good as this. Seriously brilliant by Ubisoft. But it's the gameplay that hasn't altered from FC1 which is the Somebody said this game was criminally under-rated by the press, on this occasion I think opinion on Far Cry 2 has been a little generous. The game as itself as a amazing technical achievement, where you probably will not see for years an inactive environment looking as good as this. Seriously brilliant by Ubisoft. But it's the gameplay that hasn't altered from FC1 which is the problem. The simple choice between sneaky/all-out warfare is fine, but when both are equally tiring it becomes a chore quickly. And what was a huge mistake was the exclusion of Carver, he was a driving force to plot and gameplay in the previous version. Lastly driving through miles of forest to get to missions is a joke, I can't believe the designers even considered it let-alone do it. The game physics are odd also, as enemies hang in the air then float down when blown up. But a plus is the A.I., you want get a cheap kill on this game. But again if enemy A.I. interact better with their environment that would have keep guys playing. Overall a decent game hugely let-down by some bad decisions by Ubisoft. Expand
  5. Mike
    Oct 27, 2008
    6
    This was my most-anticipated game for a long time, after being let down repeatedly by overhyped games that didn't stack up. My friends and I have been DYING for a good fps multiplayer, and Far Cry 1 was our favorite game of all time. Well, if you are hoping for the same spark in this one, you will be sadly disapppointed. They bascially took everything that made Far Cry 1 fun, and This was my most-anticipated game for a long time, after being let down repeatedly by overhyped games that didn't stack up. My friends and I have been DYING for a good fps multiplayer, and Far Cry 1 was our favorite game of all time. Well, if you are hoping for the same spark in this one, you will be sadly disapppointed. They bascially took everything that made Far Cry 1 fun, and removed it. Prone? gone. Predator? gone. ATV? gone. Jetski? Gone. Speedboat? gone. Radar or compass on HUD? gone. Ability to see who's speaking? gone. Ability to jump vehicles far distances? gone. Place weapons on maps in editor? gone. Pick up weapons in multiplayer? gone. My favorite mp games at the moment are GTA and COD4, and this is quite literally a far cry from either. I am struggling through the tediousness of single palyer just so I can somewhat get my money's worth at this point. Multiplayer is clunky, awkward, and one-dimensional. Horrible character movement. Heinous multiplayer maps. I couldn not believe Crytek would let us down like this, until I discovered this game wasn't made by them!!! WHAT!? This game was made by Ubisoft, the original makers of FC had nothing to do with it, which explains everything. It doesn't deserve the name Far Cry. Expand
  6. ChrisH
    Oct 27, 2008
    5
    An amazing environment and strong premise, but marred by sluggish control, unwieldy gun play, and a world too large given the modes of transportation and obstacles involved. With games like Call of Duty 4 reaching a pinnacle of perfection when it comes to smooth and responsive control in an FPS, Far Cry's camera and movement feel as though they've been stuck in mud and left to An amazing environment and strong premise, but marred by sluggish control, unwieldy gun play, and a world too large given the modes of transportation and obstacles involved. With games like Call of Duty 4 reaching a pinnacle of perfection when it comes to smooth and responsive control in an FPS, Far Cry's camera and movement feel as though they've been stuck in mud and left to try in the heat of the African sun. This carries over into the actual shooting portions and makes precise aiming tough; this hurts because everyone seems to be superhuman and you'll often waste 2 ammo clips just to take down one militiaman. When you can only carry 3 at the start of the game, it leads to some frustrating situations in the heat of battle. Also, as large as the world is, you'll be traveling from place to place A LOT. Unfortunately, this gets quite boring and especially obnoxious given the guard posts and other obstacles that inevitably get you and your vehicle shot up (and often disabled) before you're even halfway to a destination. While quick-transit bus stations are available, they service only a few destinations and will often still leave you with ground to cover. I found Far Cry 2, overall, to be a disappointment and not worth investing much time with, especially considering the other top quality releases available, including Dead Space, Fallout 3, and the upcoming Call of Duty: World At War. Expand
  7. Toltec01
    Feb 22, 2009
    6
    Like I said another beautiful game wtih no game....it basically didn't allow me to play the game...that might sound strange, but compare it to Fallout3. Fallout3 releases the player out into the wild and you'r e on your own, what a great feeling! While Farcry is so restrictive for an open world game...I gave up looking for diamond briefcases after finding the 3rd one or not Like I said another beautiful game wtih no game....it basically didn't allow me to play the game...that might sound strange, but compare it to Fallout3. Fallout3 releases the player out into the wild and you'r e on your own, what a great feeling! While Farcry is so restrictive for an open world game...I gave up looking for diamond briefcases after finding the 3rd one or not being able to driver around into the red zone, come on...Farcry1 was a much better tuned game as well...to bad. Expand
  8. BR
    Aug 30, 2009
    6
    Great Idea but unfortunatelly not the best execution.Game is frustrating and has bugs.AI not the best.Graphics are very nice.
  9. Jan 27, 2013
    5
    Far Cry 2 was a massive disappointment, i expected so much more and it felt like a completely different game from the first. The environments are visually impressive but not enough to save game play from a sheer bore fest from start to finish.
  10. Rem
    Jul 12, 2013
    7
    Far Cry 2's biggest sins isn't one of the forgettable and lame story, but rather on its gameplay. It's not that it doesn't deliver, but rather it delivers TOO much. The game takes place in an African nation undergoing civil war. What I remember most from the game is the beauty of the world. Not only is it massive, but it has a variety of locations such as deserts, savannas, and evenFar Cry 2's biggest sins isn't one of the forgettable and lame story, but rather on its gameplay. It's not that it doesn't deliver, but rather it delivers TOO much. The game takes place in an African nation undergoing civil war. What I remember most from the game is the beauty of the world. Not only is it massive, but it has a variety of locations such as deserts, savannas, and even tropical forests. The biggest drawback about the world is traveling. The vehicle controls aren't the best but what irks me most is the fact I have to do it all the time. It doesn't help the guard posts keep res[awning, hindering me from my destination. It feels like padding in a tedious way. However everything else beyond that is well done. Searching for diamonds is always worth it, and the gunplay feels very tight and responsive. I could even bear with the realism if the weapon degrading didn't happen too quick. It took me 28 hours to complete along with optional sidequests. The new map editor puts Halo's forge to shame. I spent a chunk of time creating wonderful maps to play online. All in all, Far Cry 2 does a wonderful job in immersing me. Gameplay overall was solid though the annoyances keep it from becoming something much greater. Expand
  11. AdamW
    May 22, 2009
    5
    This game has promise and looks like an 8 or 9 when you first start playing it but after the first 4 or 5 mission everything is the same with no range of mission. It is either go to a place and steal something, kill someone or blow something up. Not only does this get very boring easily there are also checkpoints filled with enemies every 5 minutes. There is no joy in killing them because This game has promise and looks like an 8 or 9 when you first start playing it but after the first 4 or 5 mission everything is the same with no range of mission. It is either go to a place and steal something, kill someone or blow something up. Not only does this get very boring easily there are also checkpoints filled with enemies every 5 minutes. There is no joy in killing them because they will be back the next time you pass. The only thing that saves this game from being a 2 or 3 is the map editor and some of the truly tremendous maps made available for all to play online. For instance some has built an entire plane floating in the air for players to battle on, another person had built a map which has four dimensions and some of the creations are truly inspiring. There are limits to the number of vehicles and explosives you are allowed to use but apart from that you can make endless creations Expand
  12. JacobB.
    Nov 30, 2008
    7
    The game is not perfect, but in a short and simple description the game brings some small new features to the title and fps's in general but it lacks any stand out features the map maker for multiplayer will leave almost anyone breathless because of how great it is, but the multiplayer is a little bad because of connection problems and unbalanced weapons. If you are a gamer who likes The game is not perfect, but in a short and simple description the game brings some small new features to the title and fps's in general but it lacks any stand out features the map maker for multiplayer will leave almost anyone breathless because of how great it is, but the multiplayer is a little bad because of connection problems and unbalanced weapons. If you are a gamer who likes single player more then multiplayer then this is a must buy but if you are a multiplayer only guy then this is a 50/50 chance the game is only worth buying if you are going for the single player Expand
  13. WalterJ.
    Nov 5, 2008
    7
    I would love to give this game a lower score..... because of the controls and fickleness of the gameplay (no cover? really?) but .... as someone who just got back from Africa I CANNOT DENY HOW WELL THIS CAPTURES THE CONTINENT! Even the way the car feels when driving on a dirt road is how things feel over there, the shading, the sounds, the buildings everything! Absolutely amazing, it I would love to give this game a lower score..... because of the controls and fickleness of the gameplay (no cover? really?) but .... as someone who just got back from Africa I CANNOT DENY HOW WELL THIS CAPTURES THE CONTINENT! Even the way the car feels when driving on a dirt road is how things feel over there, the shading, the sounds, the buildings everything! Absolutely amazing, it reminds me of Nigeria and Cameroon so much, so I have to rate this game high because I have never, never felt something take me to a place so much, I don't even know how they did it. Expand
  14. ToddD.
    Oct 24, 2008
    5
    Really don't like the control scheme. Coming from COD4, it has similar button placement, but the camera control is really stodgy and slow. It feels very unnatural and heavy. Gameplay...I dunno. It's open world, so you'll spend most of your time driving around from one point to the other. Multiplayer is just okay, but suffers from the same slowness in the controls and just Really don't like the control scheme. Coming from COD4, it has similar button placement, but the camera control is really stodgy and slow. It feels very unnatural and heavy. Gameplay...I dunno. It's open world, so you'll spend most of your time driving around from one point to the other. Multiplayer is just okay, but suffers from the same slowness in the controls and just isn't all that fun. Meh. Expand
  15. KipP
    Oct 28, 2008
    6
    I was a huge fan of the original Far Cry. And although the graphics and African setting are amazing...the game play went down a notch or 2 in my opinion. It plays more like a GTA style game...which is great if that's what you like....exporling environments and driving around doing nothing....but I'm a let's get to the point kind of gamer. I find the pace of this game I was a huge fan of the original Far Cry. And although the graphics and African setting are amazing...the game play went down a notch or 2 in my opinion. It plays more like a GTA style game...which is great if that's what you like....exporling environments and driving around doing nothing....but I'm a let's get to the point kind of gamer. I find the pace of this game tedious. The AI is pretty dumb as well. Having just come off Rainbow Six Vegas 2...the difference between the game play is stunning. As a first person shooter, RSV2 is far superior. If you have a lot of time to kill buy it. I'm 15% through it, and I probably won't bother to finish this one. Expand
  16. Mar 19, 2011
    7
    Far Cry 2 is an ok FPS which is technologically brilliant, but has the fun sucked out of it due to a number of problems. This (from what I've heard) seems to have nothing in common with the original Far Cry, or even the Xbox/Xbox 360 game, Far Cry Instincts. It just shares the same name with the original game. Anyway, Far Cry 2 drops you in to an African-like sandbox landscape, which isFar Cry 2 is an ok FPS which is technologically brilliant, but has the fun sucked out of it due to a number of problems. This (from what I've heard) seems to have nothing in common with the original Far Cry, or even the Xbox/Xbox 360 game, Far Cry Instincts. It just shares the same name with the original game. Anyway, Far Cry 2 drops you in to an African-like sandbox landscape, which is huge by the way, to kill an arms dealer known as "the Jackal". Instead of playing as Jack Carver (from Far Cry and Instincts), you pick 12 different characters, each with their own back story but they all have one thing in common: they all have malaria! The graphics are lovely with beautiful landscapes to admire with lush grass (which blows with the wind depending if it's windy or not) and organic plant life. At its heart, Far Cry 2 is an open world FPS with a meaty single player campaign and you're not constrained into completing missions in a linear fashion; you have freedom to do what you want like complete side missions, scavenge for diamonds and upgrade your arsenal of weapons. The huge range of weapons is impressive from the traditional FPS assault rifles and pistols to a portable mortar that you can use to rain death on your enemies. As you rescue people around the landscape as part as normal progression, they will become your buddy to help you by helping you when your pinned down by enemy fire or offer you an alternative mission to the one that you're going on at the time. To help you transverse the huge African environment, you have a bunch of vehicles to choose from like boats, jeeps and buggies. They are nippy to drive although the engine noises of some of the vehicles are dull. When the action gets going, the game is a joy to play with frantic gun fights and encounters with the enemy. You can even use stealth tactics to eliminate your enemy although the branch whip and claymore mine tactics that you can use to silently kill the enemy from Far Cry Instincts are gone. The guys you fight can soak up a few bullets so to conserve ammo, you gotta nail those headshots. What is really good about this game is the physics. Far Cry 2 is built on Ubisoft's Dunia engine and this allows you to shoot individual branches off a tree. The animations that play when you're trying to fix yourself because you're nearly dead by pulling a bullet out of your flesh or twisting your leg back because of a huge fall is pleasing to watch. The way fire spreads is so realistic: A small fire can soon turn into a huge problem! The grass and the bushes blows (when it's windy) convincingly with the wind. It may seem a really good action packed FPS but there are a few problems that dampen the experience. The game can get incredibly boring while you travel across huge distances just to get to your destination/start of a mission and you'll just be begging for something to happen. There are a few ways to travel to your destination like using a bus stop to warp large distances or drive there but if you lose your vehicle when you're nowhere near a bus stop or your destination, you face walking for a long time. The save system is flawed. You can only save your game manually at any of the safe houses scattered around the gaming environment. There may be an abundance of them but you'll find yourself saving at everyone you'l come across on your way to a destination because if you die, you'll spawn at a safe house you've recently saved at. Dying is imminent while walking towards your destination because an enemy vehicle can suddenly run you over or trying to attack an enemy owned camp and then getting killed because you have run out of syringes and you face going back a long way from your destination if you don't save regularly. Why can't the game have an auto save feature? The jamming gun feature is a nice touch - basically the more you use a specific gun, the more worn out it will become and will be more prone to jamming - but can be tedious when you're in the middle of a gun fight and you'll have to constantly un-jam your gun. Basically to solve this problem, you have to continuously swap out your old weapons for new ones. Also, why do you have to play as a character that has malaria? What happened with the bad ass feral abilities from Far Cry Instincts which made you a powerful force? Now you are a weak character that can't run 50 yards without tiring out. You have to keep on top of your sickness by taking malaria tablets that have to be earned by going on side quests. It's just an unnecessarily distraction from the main game. Going on missions for the weapons vender to unlock new weapons proves pointless considering the weapons unlock through normal story progression. There isn't much mission variety: just kill this guy, collect this document and return it, turn this knob and that etc. Far Cry 2 is a good FPS in general but I feel it's a big step down in storyline and game play from Far Cry Instincts Expand
  17. May 19, 2013
    6
    After playing Far Cry 3 been my favourite game of 2012 I had to try Far Cry 2! So is it a breath-taking experience like Far Cry 3 or does it crash, face-first on the ground? Sadly my experience with Far Cry 2 wasn't as good as I thought it could be. The campaign is easily the worst thing about this game. Lost interest many times with it. The world map is really big, witch is a greatAfter playing Far Cry 3 been my favourite game of 2012 I had to try Far Cry 2! So is it a breath-taking experience like Far Cry 3 or does it crash, face-first on the ground? Sadly my experience with Far Cry 2 wasn't as good as I thought it could be. The campaign is easily the worst thing about this game. Lost interest many times with it. The world map is really big, witch is a great thing. However its such a pain in the ass to travel their, due to the lack if fast travel stations. Tons of sides missions witch is good but seem way too much each other, same with the main missions. Chracters are not intereating at all and they usally end up dying anyway. Save system in this game is really annoying and wish it was auto save instead of finding this place to save your witch sometimes takes ages to get to one, so you might die trying on hard diffuculy. However the things they do a really good job at is realisim and story. Story was good and wad kinda interesting how it it all ended. Now I don't really judge gamfes for realisim, but man i'm so impresed with it, even intho its 2013 and we have gotten furder with games since then. Gund in poor condiction jam, you need to take pills because you got malerea in the start of the game, witch you may need to take when your swiming, in combat, or when you are talking to someone. Fire spread is great as well, with the fire looking great as well. Lets finally talk about the multiplayer.Really good, hard to find a game these days but when you do its great fun. With more game types then Far Cry 3's multiplayer, and with vehicle s in this multiplayer unlike 3's. Map editor is also really good if you like to mess around or make awesome maps. Overall its an okay game witch is ruined by the bad campaign, but the other features are really good. Far Cry 2 6.4/10. Expand
  18. Jul 14, 2013
    7
    While the gameplay at heart is good the open world is excellent and the graphics is well done but the story is not there there is no fast travel and that is so annoying the save pits are really just annoying the guns jam you get malaria and there are respawing enemies in outposts even after liberating its good but not any more
  19. May 28, 2014
    7
    Graphics: 8.5 Sound: 8.0 Gameplay: 7.7 Fun/Story: 7.0

    A consistent game but should be better. I liked much more its predecessor. Not bad nor good, not much more to say.
  20. Mar 28, 2015
    7
    Far Cry 2 is a good game not amazing but not terrible either. Maybe it's just the difficultly, or maybe it's those annoying guards who blow you to pieces every 5 minutes. Well its actually both of those things and more, the difficultly in this game is not to the point of extreme but can frustrate many players such as myself, what makes this the more difficult is that there's guards inFar Cry 2 is a good game not amazing but not terrible either. Maybe it's just the difficultly, or maybe it's those annoying guards who blow you to pieces every 5 minutes. Well its actually both of those things and more, the difficultly in this game is not to the point of extreme but can frustrate many players such as myself, what makes this the more difficult is that there's guards in cars and in small out post who just attack you and never leave you alone every 3-5 minutes whether your driving or just walking. and the controls aren't very helpful if you want to have a fun time in this game. Expand
  21. Apr 13, 2017
    5
    C'est l'un des plus beaux jeux en monde ouvert, Far Cry 2 est vraiment superbe de ce point de vue (effets météo, transition jour-nuit...). Le monde proprement dit au niveau de son architecture ne peut cependant se mesurer aux productions Bethesda (en dehors de tout aspect RPG ou non) : trop de montagnes infranchissables, pas ou très peu de raccourcis, ce qui oblige à suivre les voies deC'est l'un des plus beaux jeux en monde ouvert, Far Cry 2 est vraiment superbe de ce point de vue (effets météo, transition jour-nuit...). Le monde proprement dit au niveau de son architecture ne peut cependant se mesurer aux productions Bethesda (en dehors de tout aspect RPG ou non) : trop de montagnes infranchissables, pas ou très peu de raccourcis, ce qui oblige à suivre les voies de communication tracées par le développeur. On est pas aussi libre de ses mouvements à cet égard et c'est dommage : les points de voyages rapides sont insuffisants, ce qui aggrave un peu plus le problème.

    L'autre souci concerne les ennemis eux-mêmes... dans le genre coriace qui réclame un chargeur pour en tuer un, rien qu'un seul, j'avais jamais vu ça. D'autant que les armes s'enrayent souvent au début et qu'elles continuent de s'enrayer au bout d'un certain temps, même quand elles sont achetées neuves par la suite. Heureusement qu'on a accès rapidement à un arsenal plus explosif... et qu'on ne manque jamais de munitions ! Autre défaut relevé, la maniabilité perfectible : le pad est victime d'une accélération mal calibrée qui nuit à la précision.

    L'infiltration est possible mais reste très limitée tout de même, la faute au radar du premier Far Cry qui a disparu dans ce second opus (c'était pourtant le seul point intéressant à reprendre du calamiteux jeu PC d'alors).

    Hormis le caractère très répétitif de Far Cry 2 (crapahuter dans la jungle, rouler dans la brousse, nettoyer, pacifier, massacrer), ce n'est pas toujours désagréable : les armes ont un comportement assez réaliste, les sons (des armes) mais également les sons de l'environnement plongent dans l'ambiance avec une grande efficacité, la musique est sympathique, la VF soignée et il y a un je-ne-sais-quoi qui pousse à continuer jusqu'à la fin malgré le scénario aussi ridicule que maladroit.

    Ce doit être que malgré ses maladresses, Far Cry 2 s'occupe du joueur correctement : le système de sauvegarde tient la route, on peut se trimballer tout un tas de médikits et l'accès à de nouveaux joujous pour tout faire péter (beuhar) nous transforme en Rambo de la savane. C'est tout de même un progrès immense que ce Far Cry 2 par rapport au misérable et pathétique Far Cry 1 de Crytek mais Ubi Soft doit encore creuser et raffiner davantage le concept pour en faire un bon triple A.
    Expand
  22. Mar 20, 2019
    5
    At the time of the release, the graphics was quite good on this game. There is some cool mechanics here that was way ahead of its time, like shooting branches of trees, and setting fire to the grass never feels more rampant. And you also got guns that jams up, and even breaks apart totally in the middle of a firefight. Maybe the devs was far too optimistic in terms of realism.
    You start
    At the time of the release, the graphics was quite good on this game. There is some cool mechanics here that was way ahead of its time, like shooting branches of trees, and setting fire to the grass never feels more rampant. And you also got guns that jams up, and even breaks apart totally in the middle of a firefight. Maybe the devs was far too optimistic in terms of realism.
    You start the game having a Malaria fever which will hunt you for the majority of the game. Every now and then you have to pop a pill to supress the fever and keep you going. If you run out, you have to take a small side mission to get more pills. These affects gameplay a little, and can be annoying at times.

    There is a story in this game, You hunt an arms dealer called "The Jackal" but its story direction is almost immediately fragmented as soon as you start the game. You find yourself in the middle of a war between two factions, These two factions are pitted against each other towards a 3rd mercenary group that you ally up against trying to intervene them both . You never take sides in this war, and you will find yourself knocking on both doors of the factions. If you have seen a movie called Last Man Standing from 1996 with Bruce Willis, you will get the idea what i am talking about.
    Often you can handle the mission two ways, straight on, or with your AI buddies.
    The AI buddies are a neat and well executed part of the game. You meet them as you progress. Often they will interact and call you before a main-mission where they offer to execute mission in a different direction.
    The AI can also jump in and revive you if you go Solo and die during any mission.
    Another cool and realistic thing about AI. They too can get wounded and you have a choice to revive or leave them there to die. If you choose the latter, and he dies, he dies for good. Thats it. You will never see him again. So take care of your buddies.
    You can also undertake assassination missions to to break away from the faction one. You find these at various radio towers spread around. They usually gives you an mission to go to somewhere and kill someone.

    The developers designed this game to have the gamer struggle for most part. But it can get tedious at times while you progress.
    To mention the worst of them. Around the sandbox map there are several guard post scattered around. all tied up to sectorisation. Meaning, after you kill all enemy forces, as soon as you leave the area, the guard post will reset and enemies respawn.
    Also the AI is pretty naff and dumb in this game. Soldier can just shoot at you and suddenly run around doing nothing. Also, i never played a game with such aggressive opposing enemies as this game. Everyone and their mother will go at you if they spot you. You pass by any oncoming traffic and they will turn and chase you down every time.
    The guard posts i mention, often just driving trough the bulletstorm is sometimes impossible. You are damned that most of them have 2 guards ready to jump in a gun mounted jeep as soon as you pass. And they will NEVER stop chasing you until you are shot to bits. Every checkpoint you pass, you most likely HAVE to kill them off to move on alive.

    The majority of the time in this game is spent behind the wheel going from A (contractors) to B (assassination target) And its just that. There are fast travel bus stops. but they are too few

    There are two major maps in this game. Halfway trough you get to start at a brand new map to explore. Either you will do a huge sigh and carry on or burn your copy of the game.

    The game does take time to finish. And if you do, you will most likely vow to never play this game again.

    In true Ubisoft style, there are collectibles in form of diamond cases to collect. There are over 220 cases to look up (someone at Ubisoft is really a sadist)
    Diamonds are the main currency in the game. You use them to buy and upgrade weapons at the arms dealer. To expand the selection, you can take missions from the vendor. These are always; go to a part of the map where a convoy drive around in circle and blow it up.
    Funny enough, the game gets more stable and a little more fun when you get better guns.
    Guns bought at arms dealers also are in excellent condition. but they do degrade too over time, so come back to the arms dealer to switch out your old shooters for new fresh ones every now and then.

    The game could have been something. But overall it lacks excitement to move on with its too linear and non existent story line that weighs the game down

    Way ahead of its time on game mechanic, but dull and tedious to play overall. Far Cry 2 remains a double edged sword by todays standards.
    Expand
  23. Jan 19, 2019
    5
    I love playing FPS games and I am a big fan of the Far Cry series in particular. I originally played this game when it first came out on PC and enjoyed it although I did not play it all the way through. Now with backwards compatibility I had a chance to replay this Xbox 360 title on the Xbox One.

    The open world gameplay still seems fun, even though at least initially missions are given
    I love playing FPS games and I am a big fan of the Far Cry series in particular. I originally played this game when it first came out on PC and enjoyed it although I did not play it all the way through. Now with backwards compatibility I had a chance to replay this Xbox 360 title on the Xbox One.

    The open world gameplay still seems fun, even though at least initially missions are given to you in a linear fashion, and the shooting action is still relatively good when compared to more recent FPS games. Graphics and audio are definitely previous gen but still look good.

    Unfortunately my playthrough revealed multiple bugs that did not allow me to complete missions or that required restoring an older save and repeating to try and trigger the mission to complete. I do not think I ever experienced this with the PC version, and not sure if this was an issue originally on the Xbox 360 so it could just be an issue with the backwards compatible version. Not sure but either way it makes the game game breakingly unplayable.

    If you do not experience these game breaking bugs then the game would still be worth a go but my rating reflects my personal experience with the game and bugs.

    #PlayMoreGames @guywithbeer
    Expand
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 75 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 75
  2. Negative: 0 out of 75
  1. In order to truly appreciate it, you’ll have to look past all the monotonous traveling and the repetitive missions and get sucked in to the immersive world that Ubisoft Montreal has created.
  2. Official Xbox Magazine UK
    90
    Far Cry 2 is this year's equivalent of Assassin's Creed... when it comes to enveloping the player in exotic sights and sounds, Ubisoft has absolutely nailed it. [Issue # 40]
  3. Games Master UK
    92
    A challenging and technically impresive FPS set in gorgeous but treacherous surroundings...It's one of the most engaging shooters we've played for ages. [Dec 2008, p.67]