Flashback Xbox 360

User Score
4.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 63 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 63
  2. Negative: 30 out of 63

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 3, 2013
    1
    I was looking forward to this, as with many HD remakes (having played the originals the first time around) and so bought it straight away.
    But there my excitement ended.
    Visually it looks great, but this does not a good game make. The voice acting is awful, this does not really put me off. Less than 5 mins into the game (including cut scenes and loading) Conrad gets stuck in a wall.
    I was looking forward to this, as with many HD remakes (having played the originals the first time around) and so bought it straight away.
    But there my excitement ended.
    Visually it looks great, but this does not a good game make. The voice acting is awful, this does not really put me off. Less than 5 mins into the game (including cut scenes and loading) Conrad gets stuck in a wall. Restart. Less than 20 mins after that Conrad falls through the floor. Restart. The AI is bloody terrible. You are more often than not dropped into a situation where you are jumped by mobs, and die, without getting a chance to either run away or to avoid their attacks, as mentioned by others the controls are very clunky and unresponsive, I was stood next to a healing station stabbing to use it, but to no avail. I died. The checkpoints seem random to be honest, and the only way that I have found to get through the majority of the game is explore a screen, run back to a known VR station, as that is the only time that you can get a reliable save. To be honest, if you never played the original, that is included and plays pretty much as I remember. But I would say, until this game is fixed, if you want to experience Flashback, buy a Megadrive and a second hand copy. It will probably still be cheaper.
    Expand
  2. Oct 12, 2013
    4
    Congratulations, you have managed to create a remake of a game made decades ago and did a worst job in the animations, amazing!!!
    It looks great but gameplay, controls and animation is far worse than the original.
  3. Aug 21, 2013
    2
    First I have not played the original but this remake I'm sure doesn't do it justice. It feels like a budget rip off of shadow complex. The gameplay and platforming is boring and the voice acting SUCKS! This is the worse game of summer of arcade. Save your money for any of the other titles like brothers and tmnt out of the shadows unless you want to play a boring platformer with no new ideas.
  4. Oct 1, 2013
    3
    Ubisoft made the impossible they ruined a good game. Control is awful. There are TWICE more buttons (not counting mouse aiming) that original game, for example jump up and jump forward are different keys, and still main character doesn't know how to duck! Instead, they made separate keys for roll forward and climb down.
  5. Aug 22, 2013
    0
    That game sucks. Paul Cuisset take the original one, do a poo inside and publish it on xbox live arcade. the great adventure game is now a stupid shoot and run game with lot of bug and a totally useless RPG feature.
  6. Oct 10, 2013
    4
    Couldn't drag myself to finish the game.

    Such a shame tho 'cause the game clearly looks like it had a good idea going on... but DEM CONTROLS. Buggy and unresponsive as f*** (the physics are pathetic too), and if you combine that with the fact that the game itself is actually kinda challenging the results are a million cheap deaths in the million mediocre action sequences you will find.
    Couldn't drag myself to finish the game.

    Such a shame tho 'cause the game clearly looks like it had a good idea going on... but DEM CONTROLS.
    Buggy and unresponsive as f*** (the physics are pathetic too), and if you combine that with the fact that the game itself is actually kinda challenging the results are a million cheap deaths in the million mediocre action sequences you will find.

    What a pity, the game could have been a thousand times better but IMO it got destroyed by the controls and physics. Also the main character's voice and overall charisma is ridiculously dumb.
    Expand
  7. Oct 3, 2013
    4
    My god, I loved this game and I loved the original soundtrack. But they totally messed it up! All the songs are of some fake crappy Vangelis type of music. Come on you guys!!! You only needed to remaster the mods that are available everywhere.

    To get some nostalgic feelings I started up the original game. THERE IS NO MUSIC THERE EITHER! Aargh!
  8. Aug 27, 2013
    4
    Actually, this could be a good remake.
    But after I did the demo by hate me especially the cruel control in memory. You control the character simply inaccurate.
    The eternally annoying up and down with time.
    In addition, the missions is not demanding.
    The original has more style and class.
  9. Dec 15, 2013
    3
    The Genesis Flashback was a masterpiece of Prince-of-Persia-esque reflex and trial-and-error, but this game treats you like a 4 year old and tells you where to go and what to do, not to mention loosens the controls so that they're incredibly forgiving. Part of the fun of Flashback/Prince of Persia(the original) and their ilk was launching yourself into a pit or into an electric fence orThe Genesis Flashback was a masterpiece of Prince-of-Persia-esque reflex and trial-and-error, but this game treats you like a 4 year old and tells you where to go and what to do, not to mention loosens the controls so that they're incredibly forgiving. Part of the fun of Flashback/Prince of Persia(the original) and their ilk was launching yourself into a pit or into an electric fence or being shot by a drone and being instantly murdered because you went one step too far tight, unforgiving but very precise controls made this a thrilling adventure that rewarded you with a sense of accomplishment for bypassing a particularly difficult area. This game has none of that Pavlovian response to a life-ending stimulus that made the old one great. Disappointing. Expand
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 37
  2. Negative: 15 out of 37
  1. Oct 23, 2013
    60
    Flashback isn’t a particularly long game, clocking in at around 4-5 hours with limited replayability beyond collectibles for completionists. For $12.95 though, that’s a decent amount of playtime; it’s just a shame that it runs out of steam so early and leaves you wanting flashbacks of the first few levels.
  2. X-ONE Magazine UK
    Oct 14, 2013
    50
    The bugs overshadow what is a generally poor update of a classic game. [Issue#103, p.86]
  3. Hyper Magazine
    Oct 3, 2013
    50
    The one thing that New Flashback has going for it is that it comes bundled with Better Flashback, which you can access via the main menu. [Nov 2013, p.66]