Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
Buy Now
Buy on
  1. Jun 24, 2014
    90
    In correcting the many small mis-steps of its predecessor, Autosport finally gives us a worthy successor to 2008’s revolutionary Race Driver GRID.
  2. Jun 24, 2014
    83
    Grid Autosport promised proper motor racing, and that’s exactly what it delivers (and plenty of it, to boot). It falls a bit short in the visual stakes compared to the hotter, new generation completion, but few developers get pack racing right like Grid Autosport does. The spirit of the classic TOCA games is finally back.
  3. Sep 3, 2014
    80
    Stripping racing back to the basics, Codemasters have crafted a simple game that’s one-hundred-percent about the racing while also proving that going for the simple option doesn’t necessarily mean it’s the easy one.
  4. 80
    In just over a year, the Grid series has turned it around. Autosport doesn’t do anything particularly new, but it will remind fans why they love the Grid series.
  5. Jun 25, 2014
    80
    Another great instalment in the GRID series, GRID Autosport puts right all of the perceived things that were wrong with GRID 2. There's no more narrative stuff to get caught up in, no pretty front end menus to ogle; it's just you, the cars and the race track. If that sounds good to you, then GRID Autosport is your game. Go race.
  6. Jun 24, 2014
    80
    Codemasters is unwilling to leave this generation of consoles with a new GRID game which doesn't overtake its predecessors, but it shows how much racing variety you can have in one single game.
  7. Jun 26, 2014
    78
    Autosport isn't a pioneering effort, but it is a solid one.
  8. Jul 13, 2014
    75
    A decent racing game but we were expecting much more. It sports a very good Career mode but it gets hindered by a disappointing technical production and lackluster online multiplayer.
  9. Oct 21, 2014
    70
    Despite its many shortcomings, GRID Autosport is a decent game. There’s plenty of fun to be had in single player mode generally, even though multiplayer is pretty much a bust.
  10. Aug 18, 2014
    70
    GRID Autosport is a middle of the road racing game that has little to set it apart from the competition.
  11. Jul 6, 2014
    70
    At first glance GRID: Autosport really impresses, but after the first two races you'll start to see the flaws of Codemasters' new racer. Still, the racing and graphics are supurb, which makes GRID: Autosport better than GRID 2, but pales by comparison to the first GRID.
  12. Jun 25, 2014
    70
    It’s still far from perfect but the improvements here are enough to help fans forget GRID 2, and hope that GRID 3 will be the game they really want.
  13. 70
    Strong, frequently brilliant fun, but it's still only GRID 2.5. There's variety compared to its predecessor, but it never escapes the feeling that it's just a stopgap for whatever's coming next.
  14. Jun 24, 2014
    70
    The all-important thing is that the racing is great and a swift return to form for the GRID series. In spite of my qualms, the variety and intensity of racing on offer is enough to keep players coming back.
  15. Hyper Magazine
    Aug 12, 2014
    60
    Sadly the simplified physics model makes driving a chore, even if it's still fun for the occasional quick hoot around the track. [Issue#251, p.78]
User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 62 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 62
  2. Negative: 21 out of 62
  1. Jun 24, 2014
    10
    this game is soo hard. i have to brake sometimes. wtf. i like being able to drive just using accelerator to get round corners. in big rigs offthis game is soo hard. i have to brake sometimes. wtf. i like being able to drive just using accelerator to get round corners. in big rigs off the road racing i never had to let go of accelerator Full Review »
  2. Jun 30, 2014
    7
    It's not actually that bad. Coming from a sim racers perspective (iRacing, Assetto Corsa, rFactor) it's definitely playable. Whilst it isn't aIt's not actually that bad. Coming from a sim racers perspective (iRacing, Assetto Corsa, rFactor) it's definitely playable. Whilst it isn't a sim, I can happily sit down & play for a few hours just to take a break from the serious games. I was able to jump right in & race hard and fast from the get-go, with the AI set to Hard difficulty. (With only the HUD on, if you want to count that as an assist) After completing the first 2 introduction races I hopped into the Open-Wheel career path and completed my first season there, it was a lot of fun, just driving different tracks and cars (Formula 3) to what I was normally used to. However, the cockpit view is horrible. Everything is blurred out so you can't see the steering wheel or mirrors. This is by far the games' biggest issue that could have been EASILY fixed. Codemasters, please do tell me what the point is of having a cockpit with blurred mirrors? It's almost impossible to enjoy the game with no HUD on as you have no way to tell what position you're in or how many laps to go, or when to change gears, (I go by sound, but not being able to see my engines RPM or shift lights is utterly ridiculous). This next section I'll be going through a few positives & negatives about the game as I know people don't want to read on and on and on.

    Positives:
    - The cameras each have their own unique feel to them but the roll-bar cam is quite nice with just the right amount of FOV set that allows you to see both what's in front and what's next to you, I highly recommend you use this and not the 3rd person camera to get the most out of GRID Autosport.

    - Menu navigation is simplistic.

    - The music can get repetitive, but its surprisingly bearable, or you can disable it entirely in the options menu.

    - Physics for a simcade aren't too bad although some cars feel like they need a bit of work.

    - Career mode is pretty good, with a wide variety of disciplines.

    Negatives:

    - The whole teammate, team stuff doesn't have enough depth. Why on earth should I care if my team-mate does well? I'm only there for my self, not the team.

    - AI pace can be inconsistent from track-to track.

    Overall:
    It's not a bad game for a casual racing fan or a hardcore sim racing enthusiast, cockpit view needs to be patched asap though.
    Full Review »
  3. Jun 24, 2014
    0
    Handling sucks, physics sucks, career sucks, sounds sucks and everything sucks in this game. Codemasters **** Grid fans again. For god's sakeHandling sucks, physics sucks, career sucks, sounds sucks and everything sucks in this game. Codemasters **** Grid fans again. For god's sake don't buy this recycled **** Full Review »