Kinect Star Wars Image
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 61 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 146 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Enter the Galaxy: True to the Star Wars you know and love, visuals transport you into the Star Wars universe, complete with iconic characters, vehicles, ships, Droids and much more. Drawing on iconic moments from the motion pictures, Kinect Star Wars allows you to enter the Star WarsEnter the Galaxy: True to the Star Wars you know and love, visuals transport you into the Star Wars universe, complete with iconic characters, vehicles, ships, Droids and much more. Drawing on iconic moments from the motion pictures, Kinect Star Wars allows you to enter the Star Wars universe and experience a variety of physical play. Swing your arms to wield a Lightsaber, reach out and use the Force, jump, dodge or kick to defeat your enemies. Easy in/out co-op lets a 2nd player jump into the fun at any time in some modes. Lightsaber combat, Force moves, piloting Speederbikes and iconic ships, Podracing and much more. Experience the breadth of the Star Wars universe as you wield a Lightsaber and train to be a Jedi Master, become a champion Podracer, master the Force, pilot iconic ships and Speederbikes, and much more. [Microsoft] Expand
Buy On
  • Developer: Terminal Reality
  • Genre(s): Action, Adventure, General, 3D, First-Person, Sci-Fi, Sci-Fi
  • Cheats: On GameFAQs
  • Rating: T
  • Special Controllers: Kinect Compatible , Kinect Required
  • More Details and Credits »

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Kinect Star Wars - E3 Storm Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 61
  2. Negative: 11 out of 61
  1. 80
    To anyone expecting a poor dance game: yes there is dancing, it resembles Dance Central and the reason for it being in the game is explained by C-3PO as a corrupted file in the Jedi Archives. If that makes you cringe and abandon the game, then you will miss out on a great Pod Racer, a fun dancing game, a well made jedi campaign and other mini games using the Star Wars license respectfully. Recommended for all ages.
  2. Apr 18, 2012
    70
    The campaign grows tedious in spite of its mixed-up gameplay, and the remaining mini-game modes are enjoyable more for their novelty and humor than for their actual gameplay. I'd still recommend the game for serious Star Wars fans, but if you're more of a casual fan and/or just have a passing interest, it's better worth renting than a full-on purchase.
  3. Apr 5, 2012
    68
    Many of the individual games exhibit occasional flashes of brilliance, and the absurdity of the Galactic Dance Off bears witnessing at least once. We just can't recommend picking up the entire package in order to do so.
  4. Apr 16, 2012
    58
    Kinect Star Wars is a rich Kinect title flawed by poor dialog, control issues and forgettable extra modes. Anyway kids will likely enjoy pods and dancing sessions while fans will be attracted by the chanche to wield a light saber.
  5. Hyper Magazine
    May 14, 2012
    50
    Crappy in places, but frequently very fun. You might hate yourself for not hating it. [June 2012, p.74]
  6. 50
    Kinect Star Wars isn't the worst Kinect game I have ever played, nor is it the worst Star Wars game I have ever played. It's just depressingly mediocre.
  7. May 3, 2012
    30
    While the feel of Star Wars is certainly present, helped largely by the Podracing, the developers dropped a huge ball when it comes to being a Jedi.

See all 61 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 39
  2. Negative: 17 out of 39
  1. Apr 3, 2012
    10
    It is an amazing Kinect-Game and the best out there. The Presentation ist good, Controls great and there is a lot of Content to enjoy. WhatIt is an amazing Kinect-Game and the best out there. The Presentation ist good, Controls great and there is a lot of Content to enjoy. What may piss people off is, that the Game is a family game and not a core game as many of us would have expected but regardless of that : A damn good family game. Expand
  2. Sep 16, 2018
    10
    I'm han solo, I'm han solo, I'm han solo, I'm han solo, I'm han solo, I'm han solo, I'm han solo, I'm han solo, I'm han solo, I'm han solo,I'm han solo, I'm han solo, I'm han solo, I'm han solo, I'm han solo, I'm han solo, I'm han solo, I'm han solo, I'm han solo, I'm han solo, I'm han solo, I'm han solo, I'm han solo, I'm han solo, I'm han solo, I'm han solo, I'm han solo, I'm han solo, I'm han solo, I'm han solo, I'm han solo, I'm han solo, I'm han solo, I'm han solo, I'm han solo, I'm han solo, I'm han solo, I'm han solo, I'm han solo, I'm han solo, I'm han solo, I'm han solo. Expand
  3. Apr 3, 2012
    8
    I know there's been a lot f negativity directed towards this game over the past year with some valid concerns (possibly on rails, not 1:1I know there's been a lot f negativity directed towards this game over the past year with some valid concerns (possibly on rails, not 1:1 controls, etc...) along some equally ridiculous criticism (not Battlefront 3, "Lightsaber On!", etc...), but some of this is expected when creating new content for a franchise with millions of fans with incredibly diverse backgrounds both within and outside of their love for Star Wars.

    Firstly, I'd like to say that the developers of this game really stepped it up and fought though some major obstacles to deliver what I feel is the first really solid experience for the Kinect. As soon as I loaded up the game I was immediately impressed by the presentation. The menu backdrops were interesting enough that they grabbed my attention and familiar enough that I wasn't distracted from my purpose, getting into gameplay. I am immediately hit by a wave of nostalgia upon seeing C3-PO and R2, who act as our guides and welcome companions throughout the menus and experiences of the game. Controls for the menu screens are fairly standard fair for the Kinect at this point, but they've also added voice command functionality as a very welcome addition for those that loath the monotony of holding a hand up to cover a selection while an animated circle slowly separates a piece of your soul from your body.

    I fully intended to jump straight into Jedi since that's what we're all here for, but became compelled to select Rancor Rage after seeing the roaring monster pop up in the menu. Selections were made easy since most of the content is locked by default and must be unlocked by bashing and smashing your way through galactic civilization, fine by me. It's a bit disorienting at first, being thrust into this large hulking monster, but with a few quick instruction prompts and a hologram I quickly understood how to move the beast. As soon as I collided with the first building, everything went out the window in the face of some of the most satisfying physics I've seen in a game. They're not terribly realistic compared to Battlefield or other modern sims (what with all the bouncing cages and rag-dolling civilians); however, it quickly becomes obvious why this decision was made and this mode is all the better for making you an immense force of nature tearing down and through anything in your path. The enemies are interesting and gradually build up in size, numbers, and difficulty as you threaten to destroy more of the city. Words cannot describe the satisfaction of jump, double-clotheslining a squad of three T.I.E. fighters as they make a strafing run through the city. Overall this mode is robust and after hours of play is still providing new and amazing moments that make you freak out once you've done it.

    Alright, so now that I'm exhausted (rampaging for hours is hard work and Godzilla is my new hero) it's time for some Jedi Destiny: Dark Side Rising. Yeah it's kin of a mouthful, but that's alright since it's almost natural to just shorten it to Jedi Destiny anyway. So, I'll start by saying I was pleasantly surprised by the large selection of Padawans that I could choose to start my journey through the campaign. The campaign opens up with the traditional beginning to any Star Wars movie and I find that I would have it no other way. I won't go into specifics of the story except to say that again, the presentation of this mode is complete and makes you feel like you've stepped into a Star Wars movie. As I progress through the training levels (refreshingly short and to the point compared to most tutorials) I find that the controls operate very smoothly and transition well from one move to another. There is some animation, but it seems subtle and both the Jedi and my saber seem to respond immediately as I make even slight movements. In combat, all of this immediately broke down and I began trying to do everything at once; this is a terrible idea in this game. As with other Kinect titles I've played, the sensor seems to have difficulty interpreting all of these movements at the same time so what you get is sporadic, flailing movements (possibly also what I look like playing the game) that unpredictably activate the moves you intended and make you feel like you've lost control. Now, it should be said that flailing can be extremely effective as it tends to break down AI attempts at defense. However, it isn't a very fun way to play except for maybe kids; who I'm sure will have a blast flying through the levels with their seemingly endless reserves of energy. It should also be noted, that when I slowed down and really thought about what I wanted to do and began stringing moves together this mode became extremely fun. Doing so makes this mode so much better and makes me feel much more like a Jedi patiently and calmly wading through the midst of huge battles and seemingly endless enemies.
    Expand
  4. Jun 3, 2012
    6
    Personally, I liked it, but after a while it gets old. The main quest is based on repetitive action and slow paced boss fights. Pod racing isPersonally, I liked it, but after a while it gets old. The main quest is based on repetitive action and slow paced boss fights. Pod racing is not that fun, which each race taking so long that it will make your arms tired. Duel mode is okay. But rancor rampage is pretty fun. In Rancor rampage, you feel like the hulk as you bash a small town to pieces. I have never tried dance mode, but I've heard its okay if you like dancing games. Overall, i think its an okay Kinect game for families, but I would recommend you rent it for a little while before you purchase it. Expand
  5. Apr 3, 2012
    4
    Since camera tracking and motion control came on the scene, Star Wars fans have been clamoring for a lightsaber combat game. The yelling forSince camera tracking and motion control came on the scene, Star Wars fans have been clamoring for a lightsaber combat game. The yelling for such a game reached deafening proportions when Nintendo unveiled the Wii. Fast forward to E3 2010 and Microsoft capitalized on this desire by showing Kinect Star Wars as a premiere title for Kinect. Many of us watched and rewatched the E3 2010 presser and saw the flaws but realized the game was in very early alpha or beta, so we had hope the game would live up to the expectations. ||| A year later, at E3 2011, the game was still in terrible shape. Most previews of that particular build complained, heartily, of tracking problems and sluggish controls. Then, later in the year, it started to come out that the whole premise of the game was so short that Terminal Reality had to start tacking on other modes to give more depth to the game, turning it into a mini-game compilation. Yet I still held out hope. ||| Picked up the game early this morning while shopping as an impulse buy. Three hours later, I'm wishing I had saved the money. From E3 2011, it feels like little has changed. Controls are sluggish and the tracking leaves A LOT to be desired. Far too many times I have taken hits in the main campaign because Kinect just doesn't react properly. I've spent an hour fiddling with Kinect tuner, and testing with Kinect Sports (which is tracking well), only for the same problems to crop up again and again in Star Wars. The story is cringe worthy and the on-rails movement could have been handled much better. As it stands the movement is very immersion breaking. ||| Sadly, the other "modes" are equally as bad. Podracing is graphically better than the Dreamcast/N64 game, but suffers from "Kinect Joy Ride" type controls that range from decent to outright bad. It's pretty shallow and you really won't be coming back to for many plays. Rancor Rampage is fun, for a little bit, and it's also very exhausting because you'll constantly be moving. I have no problem with the latter, and it'll be a great way to burn energy out of kids, but, ultimately, it's also shallow and really isn't worth coming back to after a play or two. ||| Dance mode is such a travesty I can barely speak of it. The premise is ridiculous and it's literally a direct copy and paste of Dance Central. Play Dance Central or Just Dance if you want a dancing game, not this. This is just a poor attempt to tack on humor by copying the most popular Kinect title. Sadly, it's also the only mode where tracking ISN'T absolutely atrocious. ||| Jedi Duels are slow paced, sluggish, and suffer the same tracking problems as the rest of the game. In fact, Jedi Duels plays like a series of quicktime events with motion controls. Boring after a couple of plays, if you get to "bosses" (Vader, Dooku) before you give up on the mode, you're a better person than I. ||| At the end of the day, I'm hoping my kids like it so it's not a complete loss. I can't help but feel this really SHOULD be the final nail in the coffin in regards to motion controls; The one IP that could have propelled motion controls into the limelight turns out to be just another collection of mediocre "me-too" shovelware. Expand
  6. dz9
    Apr 8, 2012
    3
    I think like most people, I was very psyched for this game, we all wanna grow up to be a Jedi warrior! And the first time you hold out yourI think like most people, I was very psyched for this game, we all wanna grow up to be a Jedi warrior! And the first time you hold out your arm to retrieve your saber in the career... The feeling of holding the saber is breathe taking. But unfortunately, the game loses its spark drastically after that! Where to begin, the motion controls only work accurately 10 percent of the time, they only work at a barable accuracy 40 percent of the time, and the other half you spend your time wailing your arms around frantically in a desperate fashion, and when a second person joins the action it gets even worse. Outside of the campaign, you get an embarrassing dance central knock off, a pointless rancor rampage mini game, a failing duel adventure, and a decent pod racing game. To add to the pile of mistakes, the graphics are out dated, voice acting is terrible, and story for the campaign is lacking which is much more essential in a star wars title. The good: few good ideas presented, does capture the overall feeling of star wars with the presentation, and a few genuinely fun moments. The bad: controls are unbarable, graphics are outdated, voice acting is awful, and the story is completely missing. In the end: overall, this is a dreadful game, children 7 and under may get a few good kicks out of this, but anyone above that age will be left scratching their heads wondering what the hell just happened. Expand
  7. Apr 9, 2012
    0
    Ok, we can watch that some companys do a great job with some kinect titles (Haunt, Rhythm Party, Your Shape, etc...), and some bad works, andOk, we can watch that some companys do a great job with some kinect titles (Haunt, Rhythm Party, Your Shape, etc...), and some bad works, and with this game happen the second. When much people heard about this game they think that a great idea can appear, but after when they watch the trailer, they think in a regular game, after comes the demo in the E3 and be a disaster, after we watching this dance mode, and all say "really?", the gameplay is really boring, jump and run other movements, and the dance mode, is really stupid, the detection of kinect is slow. Sorry, but Kinect Star Wars is a bigger disaster. Expand

See all 39 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews

    Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews Image
    Published: October 4, 2012
    Mediocre reviews for a high-profile videogame? It does happen from time to time, as the new release "Resident Evil 6" demonstrates. Inside, we look at 40 games from the past decade that earned disappointing reviews despite major anticipation.