Mafia II Image
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 79 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 533 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Featuring a deep mobster-driven narrative packed with both behind-the-wheel and on-foot action, Mafia 2 is the sequel fans have been clamoring for. Like the original Mafia title, Mafia 2 immerses players in the mob underworld of a fictitious late 1940's-early 1950's scenario. Players easilyFeaturing a deep mobster-driven narrative packed with both behind-the-wheel and on-foot action, Mafia 2 is the sequel fans have been clamoring for. Like the original Mafia title, Mafia 2 immerses players in the mob underworld of a fictitious late 1940's-early 1950's scenario. Players easily become engaged in the game's cinematic Hollywood movie experience with strong, believable characters in a living, breathing city. [2K Games] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Mafia II Ties That Bind Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 79
  2. Negative: 5 out of 79
  1. This might not be the best game of the year, but it is certainly the best and most immersive interactive cinematic experience this reviewer has had in 25 years of gaming.
  2. Mafia II is a great game, crafted with incredible care by its developers. If you're looking for a game with a strong story and a great shooter component, don't think twice about buying it. Just don't expect a myriad of side missions typical of other free roaming activities: this is a very story-driven and linear experience.
  3. Due to some weaknesses in terms of story (extremely disappointing ending) and gameplay (savepoints), Mafia II turned out to be a good game, but not the masterpiece we've hoped for. Most of these problems can be quite easily forgiven though, thanks to its overwhelming atmosphere and charm.
  4. 80
    A deeply flawed game, where the story is the highlight - and far more engaging than most. I certainly enjoyed my 11-12 hours with Mafia II, and those looking for an authentic-feeling mob tale should definitely check it out. This one is more than the sum of its parts.
  5. It falls a bit short in terms of features and replay when compared to other similar-style games, but it makes up for some of that with atmosphere and story.
  6. It's never nice being mean about a game with as much ambition as this, but if we're talking sheer value for money then halfway through the 14 hours it takes to complete Maria II you'll have experienced one really good shooting mission and absolutely no decent car chases, of which there are only a couple in the entire game. [Sept 2010, p.81]
  7. Unfortunately, aging gameplay mechanics and weak plot turns make the game's magic peel away faster than a bank-job getaway car.

See all 79 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 91 out of 144
  2. Negative: 12 out of 144
  1. Sep 11, 2010
    10
    This is why I don't get most of the reviewers out there. Mafia 2 is an absolute blast to play IF you enjoy an amazing story with greatThis is why I don't get most of the reviewers out there. Mafia 2 is an absolute blast to play IF you enjoy an amazing story with great characters. The gameplay works very well in every aspect of this game. The driving was the part I enjoyed the most. Different cars have different feels and the town is gorgeous. It took me around 14 hours to complete the game. Sure, I took my time, but it was worth it. I cannot wait for Mafia III. Expand
  2. Nov 28, 2011
    10
    Brilliant,brilliant,brilliant.I only have two beefs with this game.One is that the driving in this game gets annoying and could of been aBrilliant,brilliant,brilliant.I only have two beefs with this game.One is that the driving in this game gets annoying and could of been a better experience.Two is that the replay value isn't very good.Yes I will play this game in 5 years but most gamer's will not.The world is so big it could of easily been opened up more to add more replay value- and that's it.Everything else is A+!The game play,graphics,world of Mafia 2,emotional connection.While Heavy Rain on the PS3 is a movie like game and while different, this is the definition of controlling a movie gaming experience.While I said different the emotional factor is pure cinematic genius.It is very linear but that's what makes it such a WOW experience.I would rather have a solid 10 hour main game then 30 hours of crapola.I give this game a 9.5 rounded to a ten.I counted only 10 reviewers that gave this game 90% or higher well I guess only 10 reviewers really invested quality time in this game for a real,complete review. Expand
  3. Aug 25, 2010
    9
    Just finished playing Mafia 2 for the first time and i am truely immersed into it, i am a big fan of gangster movies (casino, goodfellas, theJust finished playing Mafia 2 for the first time and i am truely immersed into it, i am a big fan of gangster movies (casino, goodfellas, the sopranos etc) and after playing the original mafia i was hoping Mafias sequel would justify the franchise. Mafia 2 is a more story line based game it draws the gamer in and gets you eagerly awaiting the next cutscene the voice acting is Supoib! and it really gets you immersed into the story. The first few missions are set in a winter wonderland and visually its beautiful, also i liked the fact that your cars handling is greatly affected by the icy roads you gotta take care driving round empire city or you may catch attention of the fuzz! i also noticed how the pedestrians adjusted there clothes depending on the weather its little details like this that you have to appreciate they all create a truly immersive setting for the story to unfold, so far i am oving the game and i cant wait till i get myself higher up the crime ladder an start whacking some spaghetti eating fools!! Expand
  4. Sep 20, 2010
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. OK, let me start out by saying, this is not the worst 2K game ever made, nor the best. In my opinion, BioShock is first on the list. But, according to all past mafia/ gangster video games, (Godfather, The Getaway, Saints Row, True Crime, Trigger Man) this could be one of the very best, great graphics, awesome storyline, hilarious humor, historic facts, and such true things that you've seen in Goodfellas, The Godfather, etc. The Bad Side; Some of the emotions in the characters (graphics) do not relate to how they are saying some things, like when (SPOILER, BEWARE) Joe gets drunk after Marty is shot to death, and shoots the bartender. Vito starts to curse and yell at Joe for his mistake, his emotions are only slightly changed while doing so.The characters are also very predictable. Vito- veteran; How is it so familiar? GTA IV? Remember? Niko Bellic was also a veteran. Joe- jackass friend; Just like in any other Mafia- involved movie/ book/ TV show/ video game. Proof? Leaves Vito to be arrested, has all the really bad pick- up lines, has all the sex, has the house by himself first, has all the money, and many more reasons. I did like this game, and still do. (Didn't finish story) I would recommend this game to anyone who enjoys staying back, and shooting guys who won't pay back loans. Expand
  5. Aug 31, 2010
    8
    Mafia II is the best game of it's kind. It's visceral, fierce and down right brutal, but alot of fun. With one of the best narratives that hasMafia II is the best game of it's kind. It's visceral, fierce and down right brutal, but alot of fun. With one of the best narratives that has graced the genre, rivalling that of films such as GoodFellas and The Godfather you'll feel like your a character in a film, rather than that in a video game. The basic story is that Vito Scaletta, a wounded soldier of WW2, returns to America to find is family in a financial crisis. What happens along the way, and after though is alot more deep and interesting, as Vito and his buddy Joe Barbaro descend into the dark world of the Mafia. There are times where it seems like all will be well, but then, as we all know, the Mafia never forgets. The story is strong all the way through, taking twists and turns, and subjecting it's audience to some of the most brutal cutscenes in recent times. You'll feel for the characters, mainly due to their excellent voice acting. They all have great attributes, and feel like real gangsters right out of The Sopranos. Missions will vary, from Car stealing to whack jobs, Mafia II has it all. There are some truly harrowing moments, whilst others are extremely satisfying. There are also alot of references to pop culture movies and shows, most notable is the scene with Vito and Joe burying a deceased mobster, remember GoodFellas?

    The graphics are also a major part of the game, creating the fictional city of 'Empire Bay' that is loosely based on New York City. Everything from the diners to the shoe shiners breathes atmosphere, great authentic music from the likes of The Cadillacs and Dean Martin (just to name a few) also contribute to the 40's/50's feel. However, make no mistake, this is not an open world game. Waypoints constantly point you to your next objective and the game is chapter is split into chapters, giving you no time in between missions. Sure, you can rob clothes stores, gun shops and diners but what 2K Czech is trying to do here, is give the best experience possible. The story is the main selling point, and giving the players an open world would just be a mistake. However, it would have been nice to see an option to free-roam after the credits roll, rumours have already started circulating the internet, suggesting that 2K may be bringing this in an upcoming DLC.

    Overall then, Mafia II is a very good game. Sure, there are some draw backs, glitches that forced me to reload and not much to do after the credits roll, but they aren't game breakers. Taking just over 15 hours on the 'hard' difficulty setting, it won't take you long to complete, but whilst you are playing, it's a thrill ride that transports you back to the era of organised crime, cathouses and rocking tunes. This is definitely not one to miss.
    Expand
  6. Aug 30, 2010
    7
    Like all the other reviews state, this is NOT a GTA clone. It is less of a sandbox game, and more of a third person shooter with an openLike all the other reviews state, this is NOT a GTA clone. It is less of a sandbox game, and more of a third person shooter with an open world. You will not want to explore the world, because there is nothing to be found. Anything of interest can be found on your minimap. That being said, Mafia 2 is a really fun game, with a great story. You will have a great time playing through the missions, although some do get repetitive. You might find yourself bored after a while if you have a short attention span, but for the most part, the missions are fun. The main complaint I have against this game is the length and replay value. This game will take you roughly 12 hours to complete, but after you beat the game, there is really no reason to restart. I would HIGHLY recommend renting Mafia 2 for its great story, and fairly fun gameplay, but I would NOT buy it, simply for the fact that is short, and has very little replay value. Expand
  7. May 29, 2015
    0
    First of all the amount of traffic is way over-done. I wish game creators would stop trying so hard to push realism because this game is aFirst of all the amount of traffic is way over-done. I wish game creators would stop trying so hard to push realism because this game is a good example of what happens when game creators try to hard with realism. How am I suppose to keep my car on the road let alone stop my car at a red light when Its constantly snowing or raining. Another thing that made me sick with this game is the fact that I can even sneeze without the cops turning around and wanting to chase me down for it. Really guys! The game started out ok, but started loosing interest real fast. Problem is even when a game is **** if I start it I almost always have to finish it, But this one I Can't. So the only plus I can give to this game is the fact it has lifted my curse of having to finish games even if they are crap. To finish up my review I will say to the game creators there is a huge difference between fun and frustration. It's a game, it's a game, It's a freaking game. Knock off the horse **** realism and get back to pure fun gaming Collapse

See all 144 User Reviews