• Publisher: THQ
  • Release Date: Mar 16, 2010
  • Also On: PC
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 397 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 50 out of 397
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 20, 2011
    10
    I was actually really surprised with this one. It's pretty rare to see a shooter rely on story to keep the player going instead of the mindless action we see in the Call of Duty series. There are some but very few parts that are annoying, but they aren't very big things. Numerous times I forgot to take off my gas mask because the breathing audio is barely audible. I'm not sure why they putI was actually really surprised with this one. It's pretty rare to see a shooter rely on story to keep the player going instead of the mindless action we see in the Call of Duty series. There are some but very few parts that are annoying, but they aren't very big things. Numerous times I forgot to take off my gas mask because the breathing audio is barely audible. I'm not sure why they put the air powered weapons in the game since finding them is next to impossible except for the rare one or two times. The scoped weapons scopes don't work very well in darker environments even with night vision goggles on. I like the stealth elements of the game as well. It's not like other games with stealth in them where you only have to keep track of a few things. You have to keep track of the light exposure, how much noise your making, and how far you are from others that you might wanna kill. While this may sound unnecessarily complicated, it's actually all very simple.

    I did find it annoying that there's no obvious way to get the "good" ending of the game. I actually had to find a guide only to find that you would have to pretty much talk to everybody and interact with pretty much everything to get to it. I'm also disappointed that they didn't use the "good" ending for the sequel but instead went with the "bad/normal" ending. But then again it's understandable since, the book, Metro 2034 doesn't have much fighting in it like Metro 2033 has.

    The guns are also extremely fun to use. I was really surprised that using the AK-47, or the Kalash as the in game residence call it, didn't feel like just firing yet another AK-47. Using the silenced weapons to get rid of enemies quietly and destroying lights are also fun to do.

    Overall, the game is extremely good. It may not be for the one who is looking for nothing but action but it's still good. I recommend setting your own challenges in the game since it makes it even more fun. For example, playing the entire game using only pistols or rifles.
    Expand
  2. APearson
    Mar 24, 2010
    9
    This game is tough to recommend. I enjoyed the heck out of it, but it isn't for everyone. Pros: Graphics are amazing. Atmosphere is immersive, and the story and the game itself is compelling. The world is gritty, the metro stations are incredibly detailed, and you feel like you are a part of the game world. Sometimes, even dying is fun. When I got killed by a spiked, swinging log This game is tough to recommend. I enjoyed the heck out of it, but it isn't for everyone. Pros: Graphics are amazing. Atmosphere is immersive, and the story and the game itself is compelling. The world is gritty, the metro stations are incredibly detailed, and you feel like you are a part of the game world. Sometimes, even dying is fun. When I got killed by a spiked, swinging log that I caused by hitting a tripwire, I couldn't help but smile. Plenty more traps where that came from. Cons: The shooting is a bit off. The human enemies are a bit too hard to kill, and sometimes when they recoil from getting shot they get invulnerable until they get out of a particular animation. I had no problem with hit boxes. Headshots are headshots. Animation of the characters is lackluster. Facial expressions are worse. So there you go! That's Metro 2033 in a nutshell. You'll either love it or hate it, but at least give it a try! 9/10 Expand
  3. Nov 20, 2011
    8
    OVERALL: Easily one of the most underrated game of its time. This game delivers on some very key components that you would look for in a FPS.

    PROS: As said earlier, the big things you are looking for in a game, Metro 2033 succeeds in. The storyline is great, containing two possible endings that both are exciting and leave you suspicious until the end. "Ranger" difficulty can make it a
    OVERALL: Easily one of the most underrated game of its time. This game delivers on some very key components that you would look for in a FPS.


    PROS: As said earlier, the big things you are looking for in a game, Metro 2033 succeeds in. The storyline is great, containing two possible endings that both are exciting and leave you suspicious until the end. "Ranger" difficulty can make it a very challenging game making every bullet important, killing every enemy an accomplishment, and making every "Cartridge" spent carefully. The gameplay is very intuitive and offers a wide range of styles of playing. The graphics are amazing, from the people in each station, the post-apocalyptic Moscow, and every monster you encounter in the frozen wasteland.


    CONS: There are two big problems that this game has. First, Metro 2033 is very bug-filled, making some points in the game impossible to proceed which makes the game very frustrating at some points. It can also get confusing and sometimes too difficult, for some players, as this is a very hardcore game. Another problem is the stealth system. Stealth is an option in this game but is very difficult to control and master. This is partly due to bugs, how a guy will automatically know where you are at when you silent killed another guy in the dark. The cons are an issue but doesn't stop it from being a great game or should it stop you from buying it.


    GRAPHICS: 9 out of 10 Very nice, makes you feel like you are surviver living in the Moscow Metro
    STORYLINE: 8 out of 10 A bit confusing at first, gets better as it goes along.
    GAMEPLAY: 8 out of 10 Tons of new features and styles makes it unique, some bugs to work out.
    LASTING APPEAL: 6 out of 10 No multiplayer or anything, but "Ranger Mode" will keep plenty of people busy for a while.
    OVERALL: 8 out of 10


    THE CONCLUSION: For a new game developer (4A Games) and a new franchise, there is always going to be some kinks to work out. But this is definitely something great they created and I cannot wait for the refined Metro: Last Light.
    Expand
  4. May 2, 2011
    10
    FIrst of all I have to make a note on the fantastic graphics, which helps a great deal in showing the player a dark underground world in which humanity has ended up in. The storyline was original with interesting characters along the way, if and the voice acting is great. The overall feel of the game is dark and slightly gothic (in a russian kinda way :P) but this is wonderfully presented,FIrst of all I have to make a note on the fantastic graphics, which helps a great deal in showing the player a dark underground world in which humanity has ended up in. The storyline was original with interesting characters along the way, if and the voice acting is great. The overall feel of the game is dark and slightly gothic (in a russian kinda way :P) but this is wonderfully presented, creating an immersive and extremely fun experience, a must have for people who enjoy this type of fps. Expand
  5. SkullScience
    Mar 22, 2010
    10
    The game is a must have for any FPS fans who enjoyed the dark atmosphere of games such as Fear and Condemned. It also has a little Fallout 3 mixed in for good measure. The atmosphere of the game really puts it head and shoulders above most FPS games, with a relentless dark, gritty and foreboding atmosphere. The management of ammo (used for money as well) is a great aspect of the game and The game is a must have for any FPS fans who enjoyed the dark atmosphere of games such as Fear and Condemned. It also has a little Fallout 3 mixed in for good measure. The atmosphere of the game really puts it head and shoulders above most FPS games, with a relentless dark, gritty and foreboding atmosphere. The management of ammo (used for money as well) is a great aspect of the game and makes buying weapons and equipment a deeper process than it is in most other shooters. A top 360 exclusive. Full marks!! Expand
  6. MichaelC
    Mar 23, 2010
    9
    Actually i would give this game a 8.5 if this site had a .5 scale. Anyway this game has a very intense story which makes this the high point of the game. The AI however is very inconsistent. Sometimes it may appear as if the enemy is just standing there looking at you not doing anything. Thankfully however it only happens every now and again. Despite that however this game can be Actually i would give this game a 8.5 if this site had a .5 scale. Anyway this game has a very intense story which makes this the high point of the game. The AI however is very inconsistent. Sometimes it may appear as if the enemy is just standing there looking at you not doing anything. Thankfully however it only happens every now and again. Despite that however this game can be extremely tuff at times. The First Person controls are pretty standard compared to other games. The aiming senstivity is adjustable which is a huge plus, but for the most the default sensitivity is just right. There are some design choices that are questionable in this game such as the level layouts and such. Sometimes navigating in these enviorments in the dark can be a little trying at times which contributes to the game being harder in certian spots. Thanks to the great pacing and variety in the missions though it more than makes up for it. I recommend this game to anyone who is looking for a slightly different edge of your seats sort of survival horror fps expierence thats very challenging at times. Ignore the low reviews by 1UP and Onion(AV Club). These two reviewers clearly are not that skilled at playing videogames and let there frustration get the best of them. Too bad for them that they had to convey the wrong message to gamers about this potential cult classic. Thanks for taking the time to read my review! Expand
  7. ChrisB
    Mar 23, 2010
    9
    After playing the first couple of hours, I was planning to give this a solid 7. However, as I got deeper into the Metro I found myself totally absorbed. While the shooting is a bit clunky, for my money the atmosphere and level of involvement is equal to anything Bioshock or even Half-Life 2 can offer. It really is like that book that you can't put down, except with a book you After playing the first couple of hours, I was planning to give this a solid 7. However, as I got deeper into the Metro I found myself totally absorbed. While the shooting is a bit clunky, for my money the atmosphere and level of involvement is equal to anything Bioshock or even Half-Life 2 can offer. It really is like that book that you can't put down, except with a book you don't get the thumping heartbeat and adrenaline rush that I experienced when half sneaking, half sprinting (and not looking back!) through an abandoned library, hoping you don't get spotted by the 'librarian' while you change your gas mask filter. You feel genuine relief when you finally make it to a friendly station, and reflect on the journey you've just had since the last. And what a memorable journey it is! Go on - back the underdog games out there! Put down COD, get some headphones, turn the lights off and enter the Metro! Expand
  8. Jul 1, 2013
    8
    I loved this game and it was short a masterpiece,im truly saddened due to thq selling it to deepsilver.The best Russian game out there,hopefully no one will copy it...
  9. Travis
    Mar 17, 2010
    9
    To say this game has flown under the radar is an understatement. Much like Vigil games' brilliant Darksiders, Metro 2033 hasn't gotten a quarter of the publicity and attention it deserves prior to launch. Not surprising seeing as it launched along side the titan that is God of War 3. I am happy to say that 4A games Metro 2033 is a success for it's astounding atmosphere, To say this game has flown under the radar is an understatement. Much like Vigil games' brilliant Darksiders, Metro 2033 hasn't gotten a quarter of the publicity and attention it deserves prior to launch. Not surprising seeing as it launched along side the titan that is God of War 3. I am happy to say that 4A games Metro 2033 is a success for it's astounding atmosphere, progressive sense of dread, and superb pacing throughout. Not only did I take a night off from one of the best games I've ever played(GoW 3), but I will probably be running through the campaign again soon just to experience it all again. Though the shooting doesn't match the visceral kick of recent FPS, it more than makes up for it with a well told story, truly next gen visuals, and more atmosphere than most games could ever hope of acheiving. This is not to say the shooting is bad, in fact it is quite good. One could even argue the underpowered feeling of the weapons is due to the fact that the guns are weathered and damaged to match the post-apocolyptic feel the game portrays. Everyone has retreated to the metro system after the world spirals onto a nuclear winter. Mutated creatures lurk above ground and below, and surviving factions fight eachother in the massive metro system. The trips above ground are some of the most memorable moments in the game, as you are forced to put on a gas mask and frequently check your watch for filter degration. An in game HUD is non exsistent in Metro 2033, which adds to player immersion even more. Instead to navigate you have a clipboard with your objectives and a compass pointing you towards your next objective. In dark areas you flick a lighter on to make the clipboard visible. This is a game that encourages smart play. Using your ammo wisely and conserving ammo is a must if you want to make it in the metro. The games currency is pre-fallout ammo, noticeable by it's golden shiny color and prestine condtion. These bullets are also significantly more powerful that the "dirty rounds" manufactured in the metro. The game is raw, uncompromising and at times ratchets the tension to unbearable levels. You have 4 bullets left in your shotgun, you and your partner hear the howls and screams of creatures closing in on you slowly getting louder and louder. Your in a dark wet tunnel and your flashlight is all that illuminates the way, you turn to your right and see one of the creatures climb the wall and immediately jump down after you. Suddenly your in the middle of 6 or 7 of them quickly scanning your surroundings with your flashlight. These moments are great and help move the game along nicely. This is a story driven FPS. The way it moves along to story segments without ever breaking your first person view is something to behold. Overall I am pleasantly surprised by Metro 2033 and I hope word of mouth gets this game into more peoples hands. Because I believe that like me, once you pick it up, you won't be able to put it down. Well played 4A games, well played. Expand
  10. Aug 20, 2010
    8
    This game looks nice and is very atmospheric. I love the array of makeshift weapons such as the shotgun that has the butt of a P90. Also I like how you have to charge your flashlight and your journal is in realtime and is a 'weapon' that is affected by ambient light. I would recommend this to anyone who likes FPS/Survial games.
  11. Oct 29, 2010
    8
    The underground of Moscow in 2033 with monsters, tunnels, darkness and a radioactive Earth surface...sounds good so far... Overall this game stands out with its amazing atmosphere which in our books will beat Bioshock's atmosphere 8 days of the week. The story is again a masterpiece and we can't fault it too much - We just wish it would have gone on for even longer!!!! So far everything isThe underground of Moscow in 2033 with monsters, tunnels, darkness and a radioactive Earth surface...sounds good so far... Overall this game stands out with its amazing atmosphere which in our books will beat Bioshock's atmosphere 8 days of the week. The story is again a masterpiece and we can't fault it too much - We just wish it would have gone on for even longer!!!! So far everything is perfect...Our flaw is in the game engine and AI... Many online reports have found many glitches with the actual game and with DLC too! The AI is another annoyance. Enemies take cover behind cover (or so they think they are!). They are actually in the open but look like they are looking out from cover. You will also hear the AI enemies constantly say the same lines over and over again until you finally kill them off with the bullets..which brings us to our final problem: guns and bullets. Not only are they inconsistent but very annoying. Sometimes a single bullet will knock enemies off their feet but most of the time it will take entire unloading of clips of ammo into enemies just to watch them shout "you're dead!" in a super hardcore voice whilst they sit behind their non-existent cover. No wait, one more problem: you spend half the game collecting currency bullets and find a super cool gun you want to buy but it will cost everything you have, so you do it, knowing your reward is epic...then you walk through to the next level only to find the first enemy you encounter has the same gun and its might even have some attachments and you wasted all your ammo as you could have got it for free....damnit! Expand
  12. Jun 10, 2011
    8
    The power of that game in its color and beauty. Weak side of that game is much more complicated. At first - a game concept, which delivers a bunch of different mini-games followed one after another thanks to a poor idea behind the game. Second thing is absolutely brainless monsters programmed to use one way only although most of them are pretty tough. Third one - you can not exploreThe power of that game in its color and beauty. Weak side of that game is much more complicated. At first - a game concept, which delivers a bunch of different mini-games followed one after another thanks to a poor idea behind the game. Second thing is absolutely brainless monsters programmed to use one way only although most of them are pretty tough. Third one - you can not explore anything - even the biggest locations, they'd been placed there like a great decoration stuff (even people). Overall game is good, it's interesting and has a lot of fun-scary moments. Worth to buy (i'm looking at the steam price now - June 2011) but not expect that Metro 2033 is a kind of a masterpiece. 6 of 10 Expand
  13. Sep 1, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Metro, for all its faults, is quite underrated. To be honest, yes combat is kind of bad, but the game isn't meant to be a shooter, as many people treat it. It is mostly focused on the Story, which can be quite gripping if you are willing to go any try everything a second time. Combat isn't very good because it doesn't require you to fight EVERY baddie that crosses your path. On the Communist vs. Nazi mission, you can get an achievement for both killing them all AND for sneaking past them. In Fact, its recommended not to do it without the STEALTH suit. The nosalises are constantly just going past you or standing up mid-combat because they are stupid. They were more than likely created out of moles that mutated into them, if you take a look at their faces. As for people complaining about graphics, you're missing a very noticeable point: This is irradiated Moscow, which probably didn't look so happy in the first place. However, I will agree that the Gas Mask doesn't seem to make much sense. After all, if Gas Masks cancelled out radiation, we wouldn't have Haz mat suits. Expand
  14. Mar 3, 2013
    10
    An excellent game set in a richly detailed and elaborately conceived environment. The story is much stronger than the industry average for FPS games. The textures and art design are also above average. Sound is generally decent also and the Russian accents add authenticity to the dialogue. The brilliance of Metro lies among a host of little details done exceptionally well. There isAn excellent game set in a richly detailed and elaborately conceived environment. The story is much stronger than the industry average for FPS games. The textures and art design are also above average. Sound is generally decent also and the Russian accents add authenticity to the dialogue. The brilliance of Metro lies among a host of little details done exceptionally well. There is claustrophobia in the dark tunnels but as soon as you leave them you can't wait to get back. Every bullet is scarce, and thus valuable, a notion that is wonderfully underlined by the use of bullets as currency. Gas masks and their filters are a necessity while traversing certain areas... and are always necessary outside. Masks can break during combat, leading to rapid asphyxiation. Avoiding combat through stealth makes sense then, but don't take too long doing so or you'll run out of filters..! In short the brilliance of this game lies in the way that it manages to convey both continual dread and omnipresent threat. Expand
  15. Sep 9, 2012
    9
    Metro 2033 is a very underrated game. It has some issues indeed, it's not for everyone but for me who doesn't like mindless shooters it's one of the best games I've played so far. It's dark, violent, mature and its atmosphere is just stunning and very depressing. The story is great, as it's based on the book, which I really enjoyed and the graphics, for a 2010 game, are really nice. TheMetro 2033 is a very underrated game. It has some issues indeed, it's not for everyone but for me who doesn't like mindless shooters it's one of the best games I've played so far. It's dark, violent, mature and its atmosphere is just stunning and very depressing. The story is great, as it's based on the book, which I really enjoyed and the graphics, for a 2010 game, are really nice. The world of Metro is completely destroyed and beautiful at the same time and still, after playing the game and reading the books, it has a lot of questions unanswered which makes me extremely hyped for Metro: Last Light. However, the game is very annoying sometimes. It's glitchy, not very polished and the AI is so precise that it's almost impossible to sneak unnoticed, which kinda ruins the game for me. I don't recommend it for everyone, but if you like shooters with a good story and atmosphere, go get it ASAP, even if you'll be annoyed sometimes. Expand
  16. May 17, 2013
    10
    This is my PC opinion for this game, it's here since I'played it on my 360 also, clearly the PC tech part does not apply here.

    Among the best atmosphere in a game so far, it's somehow linear but in way that makes you feel more free than how you actually are, in this game you actually cares about your weapons and stuff, you can feel every bullet you or your enemies fires, you have to
    This is my PC opinion for this game, it's here since I'played it on my 360 also, clearly the PC tech part does not apply here.

    Among the best atmosphere in a game so far, it's somehow linear but in way that makes you feel more free than how you actually are, in this game you actually cares about your weapons and stuff, you can feel every bullet you or your enemies fires, you have to fight against various kinds of threats, enemies, time and fears in an environment that really sucks you in, it's a mature and tense experience able to drag a bit of the scary kid out of everyone no matters age or experience, kids you are warned.
    Complaints about a narrow FOV are just nonsense from beginners, this game is supposed to give a good amount of claustrophobic feeling and is pretty damn good at it, complaints about weapons "feeling" lets clearly understand who played it with a controller and who didn't, usually mouse and keyboard doesn't have a rumble pack inside, actually a controller is the best way to play many games and many PC gamers have to realize that mouse and keyboard weren't planned to play games while a controller, yes. The sounds are creepy and relaxing at a right pace, the graphics looks really good but are heavy at higher settings on non high-spec or old machines, the AI is balanced and challenging, if you walk on glass or alarms, no wonder they will hear you and suspect something is going on, in a reality in which everything can kill you the fact they set up traps an get immediately alerted is quite reasonable, it's not about "you" but everyone and "everything" could be there.
    Many of the few complaints I've seen here among the negative reviews seems to come from beginners or people scared by this game that are actually searching for other reasons to mask their feelings and to "punish" the game...childish, there are people simply giving a 0 to this game due to the fact they haven't understood this game or they've thought it were something else, NO, it's not Call of Duty, it's a damn immersive experience and it NEEDS a more narrow field of view than other shooters for kids, it's an engaging, immersive and amusingly punitive hard-core experience for mature "minds" regardless of physical age.
    Few "here and there" and the fact that on PC it has heavily requirements to be pushed to the limit would require a little lowering of my rating that would approximate more a high 9 than a 10 but the fact that there are people giving out 0-4 not being able to roam the configuration menus or not reading all the hints the game gives out lead me to round this up to 10 just to balance this unfairness, a good game getting bad rating from bad players is something that drives me mad, when I realize that a game is not my kind and or I don't have enough skill to play it, simply I don't drop crap on it giving a bad rating and blaming as a fault of the game itself.

    The short version is: I've played it on the 360 a first time and decided to replay it on PC to enjoy better graphics and sound lately while waiting for Last Light, by my point of view it's a masterpiece and never gets old, every serious gamer should not miss this experience.
    Expand
  17. May 17, 2012
    9
    What a surprise hit. This is a really fun and immersive game. The action is intense but manageable. A little bit of a stretch when it comes to the story but still involving after the first couple of chapters. The weapons have power too, a headshot feels explosive. All in all a great game, I recommend It.
  18. Feb 3, 2013
    9
    This is one of those games that despite its flaws it is different enough and has the bells and whistles in place that the flaws can be easily over-looked. The game is set in future Russia where mankind is now settles underground. I never tell story elements in my reviews and never read reviews with potential spoilers but the setting is what makes this game so good. For a 360 game it looksThis is one of those games that despite its flaws it is different enough and has the bells and whistles in place that the flaws can be easily over-looked. The game is set in future Russia where mankind is now settles underground. I never tell story elements in my reviews and never read reviews with potential spoilers but the setting is what makes this game so good. For a 360 game it looks downright fantastic. The lighting and atmosphere is above everything else not called Hal 4. It really is a sight to behold. The only flaw is the outside levels (Very few) have some ugly texture work.
    Another cool feature is the good ammo and the worn down ammo mechanic. The good ammo is standard affair while the older ammo takes more bullets to down and enemy or you can use it to trade for better weapons and ammo. At first it is a tad confusing which one you are using however. Also the gun play is not up to par with other shooters. It is a bit clunky. As good as the story is, I wish the developers did a better job of giving the players more variety instead of a still pic with the words text across the screen and the main character reading it off. At least Artyum is a cool character and the other characters do a decent job filling you in on the back story. Enemy A.I. is either incredibly stupid or brutal. So the difficulty is all over the place and I did find a few bugs. But regardless, when it comes to production values, atmosphere, and creepy settings, very few games touch this gem. A must play and I can't wait for the next installment.
    Expand
  19. Jan 1, 2013
    9
    ill keep it brief, this is one of the best single player experiences money can buy, i have seen some pretty unfair reviews on this game and all i can say is that they are full of it. The only thing wrong with the game is the stealth system, and i felt like they over dramatized it, it wasn't that bad, sure not perfect, but not broken. Other than that this game is great, you do have to getill keep it brief, this is one of the best single player experiences money can buy, i have seen some pretty unfair reviews on this game and all i can say is that they are full of it. The only thing wrong with the game is the stealth system, and i felt like they over dramatized it, it wasn't that bad, sure not perfect, but not broken. Other than that this game is great, you do have to get the secret enlightenment ending to fully appreciate the themes and the message this game is sending you, which is something few games can math, the atmosphere is top notch. If your thinking about getting this game do it, and show THQ some support! Expand
  20. May 18, 2013
    10
    This is the Best FPS in the world, in story,protagonist,voice acting,music is fit for the game,atmosphere is unique.not like metro last light in my opinion that is a failure game.
  21. Aug 6, 2011
    8
    Like Metro 2033's cousin, STALKER, the main draw is the fascinating world around you. Immersing yourself in a post-apocalyptic society thriving underground is unforgettable. The gunplay is merely adequate at best, as well as the stealth components. There are also some pretty intense moments scattered here and there (one involving the most unlikely of places: a library) Overall, Metro is aLike Metro 2033's cousin, STALKER, the main draw is the fascinating world around you. Immersing yourself in a post-apocalyptic society thriving underground is unforgettable. The gunplay is merely adequate at best, as well as the stealth components. There are also some pretty intense moments scattered here and there (one involving the most unlikely of places: a library) Overall, Metro is a solid shooter sporting some pretty unique set pieces and characters. Expand
  22. Dec 27, 2010
    9
    THIS IS AWESOME GAME !!!! 10 / 10 !!!
  23. Aug 28, 2010
    10
    This is a spectacular game although it isn't as polished as the likes of COD it has a wonderfully odd story and the gameplay accommodates to that by the constant fear of what lurks around that dark corridor or the fact that you cant breath outside without a gas mask. The atmosphere is what i think the games strong point is i mean the depth of the game is amazing with a lot of set piecesThis is a spectacular game although it isn't as polished as the likes of COD it has a wonderfully odd story and the gameplay accommodates to that by the constant fear of what lurks around that dark corridor or the fact that you cant breath outside without a gas mask. The atmosphere is what i think the games strong point is i mean the depth of the game is amazing with a lot of set pieces and sneaking bits i have to say this is the best survivall game i have ever played thank god there is still games like this instead of the regular stories that have been repeated too many times, this story is original in its own way and is definitely worth a try i mean it has Russians in it how fing awesome is that Expand
  24. May 14, 2013
    9
    Extremely atmospheric game with tons of immersion. Fairly decent shooting mechanics, but nothing to write home about. Overall, good story, good shooting mechanics, great atmosphere, great gameplay mechanics (like having to change gas mask when cracked and filters for it when you run out.)
  25. Nov 20, 2013
    8
    A really engaging and interesting first person shooter, variation on traditional game mechanics with ammo currency and toxic environments were really interesting and created a sense of anxiety in this post apocalyptic survivalist shooter, the shooting itself seemed to be a bit off at times and difficult to track but that probably unintentionally created a greater sense of panic, graphicsA really engaging and interesting first person shooter, variation on traditional game mechanics with ammo currency and toxic environments were really interesting and created a sense of anxiety in this post apocalyptic survivalist shooter, the shooting itself seemed to be a bit off at times and difficult to track but that probably unintentionally created a greater sense of panic, graphics were eerie and oppressive (in a good way) but the voice acting was pretty terrible. I found this a unique and gratifying experience. Expand
  26. DanielJ
    Mar 17, 2010
    8
    Say whatever you want about the post-apocalyptic setting, and how it's been beaten to death. I don't think in terms of video games this setting has been overdone just yet. Metro 2033, while it is an apocalypse game, is not in the traditional sense. You'll not find the desolate, satirical wastes of Fallout in this game. Most of Metro 2033 takes place in the metro tunnels of Say whatever you want about the post-apocalyptic setting, and how it's been beaten to death. I don't think in terms of video games this setting has been overdone just yet. Metro 2033, while it is an apocalypse game, is not in the traditional sense. You'll not find the desolate, satirical wastes of Fallout in this game. Most of Metro 2033 takes place in the metro tunnels of Moscow. The air on the surface is still very much poisonous, and this game is the polar opposite of fallout in terms of mood. While in Fallout you'll be laughing at the jokes that Black Isle/Bethesda put in these games, but also feel very much alone in the wastes, traveling by yourself. In Metro 2033, you get a sense that humans are barely holding on to survival, and the appearance of a new step in evolution, the "Dark Ones". You are Artym, and you are for some reason immune to the psychic power of these beings, and thus go to seek help for your village, community, whatever you want to call it. You'll come across many other communities on your journey, all of which have this sense of life about then that Fallout doesn't seem to be able to quite capture. It is an odd pairing, this hopelessness you feel through the game, and these happy communities you come across, though in reality if we all didn't die from a nuclear fallout, this may be exactly what it would be like. Out in the metro tunnels though, you will feel very much alone. The game does a really good job at immersing you into your environment, combining realistic audio, current gen graphics, that may not exceed very many games of this generation, it's not to say that they are bad. They are very much good. The gunplay has gotten a lot of flak from most reviews, and it isn't exactly unjustified. There are times when enemies are performing a scripted action, and your bullets do no damage to them, which is especially bad since ammo is the currency of this post-nuclear world. The enemies don't seem to react realistically to being shot. If I had to give a comparison in terms of gunplay, I would have to say Bioshock, and that is very much what i was reminded of when i was gunning down bandits and the like. Like Bioshock however, the shooting is average, and the story and feeling of the game more than support this game. Metro 2033 is a relatively short game, clocking in at around 8 to 10 hours (longer than your standard FPS's 6 hour story), and you will not have much incentive to go back and play again if all you like was the story and atmosphere. Either get it if you don't mind spending the 60 dollars, or wait for the inevitable price drop(s) in the coming months. Expand
  27. Nov 24, 2011
    9
    In Metro 2033 you are a citizen of a metro station about 20 years after there was a nuclear war. When you find out that these creatures created form the radiation of the nukes are beginning to come into the metro system you leave to warn and get help from the biggest station in the metro. Metro 2033 is a very linear FPS that is dark and depressing. What helps make the game feel that way isIn Metro 2033 you are a citizen of a metro station about 20 years after there was a nuclear war. When you find out that these creatures created form the radiation of the nukes are beginning to come into the metro system you leave to warn and get help from the biggest station in the metro. Metro 2033 is a very linear FPS that is dark and depressing. What helps make the game feel that way is the great art design and the low creepy music. Shooting on Metro 2033 is a little heavier than most shooters, but does not take to long to get used to. Throughout the game you stop at different stations that have shops where you can buy new weapons, armor, and ammo. The currency is bullets. Specifically high quality bullets that are more rare and more powerful. You can trade in the items to get more bullets to use to buy other items. The bullets can also be used to shoot, but I recommend not do that to often, especially on later levels. Metro 2033 is more challenging than most shooters. It does not hold your hand and the player learns from experience what are the best tactics and weapons to use in certain situations. Voice acting in can be a little questionable once in a while, but it is good enough. Metro is different than most shooters in the fact that it is more story based and does not have the over the top action like other shooters. Also Metro does not have multiplayer, but the single-player over shadows it. I am personally happy that there is not any multiplayer because it could of hurt the story and gameplay. If you want to compare Metro 2033 to any other shooter the closest one is Half-Life. If you want a good story driven shooter that is different than most shooters than Metro 2033 is for you. I am looking forward to Metro Last Light. Expand
  28. Apr 2, 2013
    9
    Downloaded this for cheap on XBOX Live sale. Always wanted to play it and now I have. 3 years after it was released and man! Its awesome! This game is severely underrated! This is a dark, gritty thinking mans FPS. Gameplay is wonderful, spooky and surreal. Yes, the graphics may not be great but they do the job. Anyway, most of the time you are smothered in the darkness. If you are lookingDownloaded this for cheap on XBOX Live sale. Always wanted to play it and now I have. 3 years after it was released and man! Its awesome! This game is severely underrated! This is a dark, gritty thinking mans FPS. Gameplay is wonderful, spooky and surreal. Yes, the graphics may not be great but they do the job. Anyway, most of the time you are smothered in the darkness. If you are looking for something away from the Battlefields, COD's and any other military shooters, give this a try. Expand
  29. Aug 17, 2015
    8
    I was pleasantly surprised with this game. Having received it for free through Games with Gold I did not expect much. Instead I came away adrenaline pounding in my ears, thoroughly engrossed in an excellently paced and crafted experience. I say experience because the feeling of claustrophobia and confusion are palatable, and they pull you deeper into the metro. The audio adds to thisI was pleasantly surprised with this game. Having received it for free through Games with Gold I did not expect much. Instead I came away adrenaline pounding in my ears, thoroughly engrossed in an excellently paced and crafted experience. I say experience because the feeling of claustrophobia and confusion are palatable, and they pull you deeper into the metro. The audio adds to this experience being both tense and sorrowful interchangeably, making you experience the emotions that would accompany such an underground existence.
    Some week points do exist, the game never feels anything but linear, and there are some dated graphics at work here. These two things, plus the game being relatively short lead to the 8 out of 10.

    Excellent game giving a very different look and feel to a crowded genre, worth every minute.
    Expand
  30. May 11, 2012
    9
    A highly under-rated gem and a must have for the post-apocalyptic fan. This game is a unique and dark story-driven post-apocalyptic tale that adds some original weapons and mechanics to the fps genre. There are a few things the game could have done better such as a quick melee button instead of manually switching to the knife but overall the environments and unique weapons make this gameA highly under-rated gem and a must have for the post-apocalyptic fan. This game is a unique and dark story-driven post-apocalyptic tale that adds some original weapons and mechanics to the fps genre. There are a few things the game could have done better such as a quick melee button instead of manually switching to the knife but overall the environments and unique weapons make this game stand out. The underground settlements really feel alive with npc's playing guitars, having hushed conversations, cooking a meal, and children's scribbles scattered around. This game does much more right that wrong and I am really looking forward to the sequel. Expand
  31. May 22, 2012
    8
    While the game, at release, was marred by animation glitches, performance issues, and lackluster gunplay, after a number of patches, along with the later released 'Ranger' pack, Metro 2033 stands as a breath of fresh for the fps genre. One of the most atmospheric titles I've had the pleasure to play through, the game does a great job of placing you within it's world, creating a believableWhile the game, at release, was marred by animation glitches, performance issues, and lackluster gunplay, after a number of patches, along with the later released 'Ranger' pack, Metro 2033 stands as a breath of fresh for the fps genre. One of the most atmospheric titles I've had the pleasure to play through, the game does a great job of placing you within it's world, creating a believable atmosphere, both oppressive and almost heartbreaking. The world is as much a character itself as any of the souls you will come across throughout the story. This, combined with a strong narrative, creates a very interesting and satisfying experience for the player. As stated above, the gunplay, easily the weakest element of the game at launch, has received a major upgrade in the form of a dlc pack. The 'Ranger' dlc pack (240 points on xbox, free for pc), offers two new weapons, as well as two new difficulty modes. These modes boost the damage of both yours and your enemies' weapons, doing away with the excessive damage both parties used to take. This goes a long way to improving the overall feel of the combat. That said, there are still a few issues that I have with the game. With all the improvements they have made since launch, the stealth section are still rather shoddy, prone to be broken through either ai issues, or simply through lackluster design. The physics found in the game are also a mixed bag. While it allows for realistic weight to the firing of weapons, some ragdoll animations are less than believable, and the throwing of grenades feels very, very off. Everything said, this was still one of the most satisfying gaming experiences of a long while. Not without it's problems, it's easy to see that 4A games went out of their way to offer something truly interesting to the player. A highly recommended title, there is only a few gripes holding this game back. Even then, the pros largely outweigh the cons. Now easily found for cheap, there is little reason for someone not to check out this title. Expand
  32. Feb 5, 2014
    8
    A great game very different from what someone would expect from a first-person-shooter. The atmosphere is original and top notch, the graphics hold up pretty well and the firefights are exhillerating. Something from the atmosphere of the first Gears of War, FEAR and a lot of darkness.

    The drawbacks are that it has a steep learning curve and the AI is problematic. Also the game could use
    A great game very different from what someone would expect from a first-person-shooter. The atmosphere is original and top notch, the graphics hold up pretty well and the firefights are exhillerating. Something from the atmosphere of the first Gears of War, FEAR and a lot of darkness.

    The drawbacks are that it has a steep learning curve and the AI is problematic. Also the game could use some puzzles or smthing like puzzles because of its nature. The story and universe are incredible, though I expected a bit more info up till the end.

    Overall, the authenticity is there and except from a few problems, I can't wait till I get my hands on Last Light. The PC version is far superior to the console version.
    Expand
  33. Jul 10, 2013
    8
    The 'Metro' books are easily my favourite book series because their concept is so original and fresh. It pleases any reader who enjoys horror and is rather tired of the 'Vampires & Werewolves' stories that seem to now be associated with our beloved genre. So after discovering there are game based on the books, you will understand that I simply had to play them. Metro 2033 being the firstThe 'Metro' books are easily my favourite book series because their concept is so original and fresh. It pleases any reader who enjoys horror and is rather tired of the 'Vampires & Werewolves' stories that seem to now be associated with our beloved genre. So after discovering there are game based on the books, you will understand that I simply had to play them. Metro 2033 being the first of the two (soon to be three when Metro 2035 is published) was the first I played. I went into the game hoping for a story-driven, fresh, new thriller. I was not disapointed.

    As with FPS you obviously have to look at the shooting mechanics in general, and recognizing that this isn't an Activizion or Bungie title, so you can't expect them to compete with the best, Metro 2033's shooting mechanics can certainly hold there own with any other non A-list shooters. The guns themselves and their actions are smooth, even if the recoil is a bit jumpy, and occasionally as a monster jumps at your face, your shotgun shots seem to go through or mysteriously bend round the target. But such small things don't take away or affect the fun of intense fights with demons by torchlight in the pitch dark of a metro tunnel.

    As far as the Horror aspect goes, Metro 2033 has one of the best, ecspecially for a console game. Not enough to compete with the original Resident Evil games, but enough to ensure that through out the entire game you never feel safe unless you have someone, anyone with you, and just as you realise that, you find yourself completley alone, in the Metro, in the Dark, with only your flashlight, a home-made gun, and a limited amount of bullets. When you finally come face-to-face with the thing you could only hear echoing behind you and in the tunnels, you may not be as scared as your imagination may have made you think you were going to be, but you may certainly be panicked and squeezing the controller harder than you thought you would or could as you get ambushed by a group of mutants or a flying demon, but the models themselves certainly don't compare with th ones I imagined in my head as I read their descriptions in the book, and the models themselves or how they attack aren't great, they still do their job well enough and are enough to make you jump. Also the variety and originallity of the Mutants you will meet (ecspecially the 'Librarian') are very interesting and seperate Metro 2033 from those tiring games we have all played at one point or another where the enemy type is repetative and boring, thankfully Metro 2033, staying true to the book, does not suffer from this problem.

    A major issue that all players will find, whether they expect a good stealth system or not, is the fact that the stealth in this game is definatley below par. Generally irritating issues and decisions that seem to have been made in development will make certain levels very annoying and tiresomme if you're a perfectionist, and generally irritating if you arn't. Mechanics such as missing once with a silent throwing knife will cause EVERY ENEMY ON THE LEVEL to immeadiatley know your location nd attack you. Even if the guy you missed the first time has been silently killed before he could make a sound. Somebody programmed that, and I will never know why.

    The only other complaints are minor but necesarry to mention. The HUD isn't very friendly to a controller, to stab somebody with your knife, for example is tideous, rather than a quick button press like in other FPS games, you have to press left on the D-pad at least twice to select the knife and then attack with it, pointless and annoying. Another is the over-complicated oxygen system. As you enter areas where oxygen is either unavailable or contaminated you will have to put a gas mask on and replace the filters periodically, but the system to tell you how long you have left of oxygen is unclear and uneasy to read or understand without googling or YouTubing it.

    One other notable thing in the game is its trade system, rather than money, (as in the books) bullets are used to facilitate trade. There are several types of bullets: Pistol bullets (only used as ammo for pistols), Machine gun Bullets (only for use in rifles or sub-machine guns) and Shotgun shells (only used in shotguns). The other type of bullet is called; 'Millitary Grade Ammunition' this is used as cash for medpacks, filters, other types of bullets and grenades. They can also be shot, and often are because they do alot more damage than regular bullets, but saving them is neceasarry. The trade sytem isn't obivious at first glance, but is logical and makes sense the more you trade.

    Overall the Game was disapointing from a book-reader's perspective but very fun from a gamer's perspective, if you enjoyed the books, buy the game because you will definatley enjoy immerising yourself in the universe. If not, then I would only recomend the game to people who are willing to overlook minor issues, to discover a true gem of a game.
    Expand
  34. May 26, 2013
    8
    This was actually the first time Iv'e seen a game based of a best-selling book, Russian to be precise, and actually work! There's no MP yet for the franchise, but the single-player story is something to look at. However, I recommend the game be played on PC over Xbox 360, helps with the moody atmosphere the game has.
  35. May 30, 2013
    8
    I was very pleased with this game. Despite it being a bit short and have less desirable stealth mechanics, this game is really fun and it actually feels like a survival horror game because of its dark setting in areas where you don't have a lot of room to move around. Fun game and I'd recommend it.
  36. Jul 3, 2013
    8
    The game is VERY underrated. It very immersive, intense and fun. Though the stealth mechanics could do with some improving, It's optional so it wasn't a big deal. Overall, its a great game with a tale worth telling.
  37. Mar 17, 2018
    8
    Наверное единственный серьезный проект от русских разработчиков заглянувший на консоли. Знакомый и очень приятный сеттинг. Неплохая истории и стрельба.
  38. Mar 22, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Critic's can't seem to see a good thing if it's right in front of them.
    Metro 2033 is a " What if" scenario, where the United States dropped a nuclear missile on Moscow in Russia causing World War III. In the aftermath, your play as a character named Artyom who lived the underground safe havens of a Metro. After your Metro was under attacked by mutated leftovers who rome the darker sides of the Metro, Artyom is sent to reach the other side of the Metro so that he could get some help for his home Metro.
    Metro 2033 was a game that kept interested thought out it, the action is intense, the story is interesting, and it gives off the real atmosphere of an apocalypse.
    The combat is so much fun after you get use to it, however you could use a more stealthy approach but its broken as hell, also the rounds for gun are in really short demand and what ever clip you find could only give a total of three-thirty round so ammo management is a need to and make every shot count. The story is outstanding to go through, it's not like the Call of Duty s**t you go through. The story is one that if something good or bad happens you react to it majorly felling happy, mad, or sad. Finally the setting of the apocalyptic world. Well it's down right beautiful, the Metro's lighting sets the area where its dark and damp, while the ruins of the world you go through outside is gorgeous. However so parts fell lazy and liner paths to fallow.
    There's no way to describe the way this game was, the rating was an 8.5 but its generous to give a 9 so an 8 is going to have to do
    Expand
  39. Nov 20, 2013
    10
    Game is awesome for those who love this genre. Atmosphere is impressive, ambient is amazing. The game is not without a lacks, quite short besides, however the one who likes this world will stay here forever.
  40. Aug 30, 2013
    8
    It took me a little while to get into this one (basically because I wasn't very good) but it was worth the effort.

    The shooting mechanics do take a bit of getting used to and it has a steep learning curve but the challenge is rarely (too) frustrating. The atmosphere and game world is highly immersive once you get into it and there are some genuinely scary moments, in particular the
    It took me a little while to get into this one (basically because I wasn't very good) but it was worth the effort.

    The shooting mechanics do take a bit of getting used to and it has a steep learning curve but the challenge is rarely (too) frustrating.

    The atmosphere and game world is highly immersive once you get into it and there are some genuinely scary moments, in particular the library level.

    The stealth works well and is the most interesting part of the game. The brief excursions to the surface are also really exciting.

    I'd recommend this game to people willing to put some time into getting into it, it's not a pick up and play for a few minutes game.
    Expand
  41. Feb 4, 2017
    8
    Metro 2033 is a very good survival-horror FPS that is criminally underrated.

    2033's gameplay is very solid,with great shooting mechanics and intelligent AI,this is a very hard game,so if you don't like a challenge you won't enjoy this.The game also forces you to use a gas mask when on the surface or you will die,and you will have to scavenge around these huge levels,which adds to the
    Metro 2033 is a very good survival-horror FPS that is criminally underrated.

    2033's gameplay is very solid,with great shooting mechanics and intelligent AI,this is a very hard game,so if you don't like a challenge you won't enjoy this.The game also forces you to use a gas mask when on the surface or you will die,and you will have to scavenge around these huge levels,which adds to the immersion,but it does lead to a lot of backtracking admittedly.

    The graphics are beautiful,and the game runs really well on 360.

    The story here is brilliantly written,and I'm certainly not spoiling it.The voice-acting here is very convincing.

    The sound design for the guns is excellent,but the soundtrack leaves a lot to be desired.

    Overall,Metro 2033 is a complete gem for the 360 and you need to check it out,highly recommended.
    Expand
  42. Aug 15, 2015
    8
    It is truly shocking to know that Metro 2033 is one of the most underrated games of all time. I cannot believe IGN gave this 6.9/10, just unbelievable. Metro 2033's storyline is one of the best in videogames and that is not an exaggeration. The scary atmosphere is amazing for a game but the gameplay does fell a bit clunky but that is easily forgiven. The main thing which stops me fromIt is truly shocking to know that Metro 2033 is one of the most underrated games of all time. I cannot believe IGN gave this 6.9/10, just unbelievable. Metro 2033's storyline is one of the best in videogames and that is not an exaggeration. The scary atmosphere is amazing for a game but the gameplay does fell a bit clunky but that is easily forgiven. The main thing which stops me from giving this a 9/10 or 10/10 is the time takes to finish the game, it too short for such a great game. Buy this now, lets hope this underrated game gets popular once and for all. Expand
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 83 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 83
  2. Negative: 2 out of 83
  1. Here’s the problem: the shooting, the only real game in Metro 2033, is broken.
  2. 85
    If post-nuclear apocalyptic thrillers are your thing, then Metro 2033 should be on your “must buy” list.
  3. If you're a first-person shooter fanatic that's not into micromanagement and just wants to kill things, this is definitely not your game. However, if you're looking for something in the genre that digs a little deeper, this one demands exploration.