Mindjack Image
Metascore
43

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 42 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
1.4

Overwhelming dislike- based on 119 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: With this unique action shooter set in 2031, Square Enix continues to expand its portfolio of video games across a wide variety of genres. Drawing upon the graphics and storytelling mastery of both Square Enix and feelplus, MINDJACK offers a distinctive experience that throws players into aWith this unique action shooter set in 2031, Square Enix continues to expand its portfolio of video games across a wide variety of genres. Drawing upon the graphics and storytelling mastery of both Square Enix and feelplus, MINDJACK offers a distinctive experience that throws players into a revolutionary playing field where an engaging solo campaign transitions seamlessly to thrilling, cooperative multiplayer gameplay. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Mindjack Official Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 42
  2. Negative: 26 out of 42
  1. Xbox World 360 Magazine UK
    Mar 1, 2011
    74
    You'll feel frustration nearly as much as exhilaration, but the concept shines through. [Apr 2011, p.96]
  2. Jan 30, 2011
    50
    Mindjack teaches us that a good concept doesn't always evolve into a good game. Square Enix should really think about all the mistakes they've made if they ever want to create a successor.
  3. Feb 27, 2011
    50
    Interesting ideas like the multiplayer interactions aren't supported by a suitable structure, story and technical execution.
  4. Jan 24, 2011
    40
    Cheap science-fiction, lame story and a not-fun gameplay system. We're still wondering why Square Enix wanted to develop an action-paced game without any kind of meaning at all, just a copy & paste of games like Gears of War and Uncharted. Nothing interesting here, better wait for something that's worthy of our attenttion.
  5. Mar 3, 2011
    40
    Feelplus and Square-Enixʼs new try in the shooting genre falls way too short, compared even to the weakest 3rd-person shooters of the last five years.
  6. Feb 9, 2011
    30
    The bottom line is the more I played Mindjack, the more I wanted to stop playing Mindjack. I made it through to the end, but it wasn't without a lot of head-scratching, hair-pulling, and obscenity-laced tirades.
  7. Jan 21, 2011
    20
    Basic, totally generic gameplay.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 31
  2. Negative: 29 out of 31
  1. Feb 15, 2011
    8
    Don't get me wrong this game has its problems but lets go over the good things first. The gameplay is of course a core third person shooterDon't get me wrong this game has its problems but lets go over the good things first. The gameplay is of course a core third person shooter with RTS elements. While this might sound tedious it actually flows quite well and can be pulse pounding. The graphics are nothing special but not terrible. The story is a weak point but odd enough it's easily ignored amogst the frantic battles. It's basically a cheesy sci fi future that's terribly bland considering the setting. The game reminds me of Kane and Lynch: Dead Men where the flawed mechanics are nothing in compared to the exciting new ideas and creativity. Buy this game for the multiplayer as its a definite saving grace for this title. Expand
  2. Dec 9, 2013
    4
    Honestly reading the reviews of this game makes me believe the people writing them played maybe the first 2 levels before making theirHonestly reading the reviews of this game makes me believe the people writing them played maybe the first 2 levels before making their judgement.
    The third person cover mechanics being described as broken are far from they are almost identical in fact to the first gears of war game.
    The AI is terrible this is true but it is only noticeable in relation to your allies. It is especially disconcerting in this regard as the mindjack mechanics which are a cool idea and should be a lot of fun cannot be used more often than not unless you want your main character to walk into the midst of your enemies whilst you attempt to make the most of this core mechanicism.
    The graphics are pretty average for a 2011 game but better than earlier games which are described as amazing.
    The Multiplayer works in much the same way as Dark souls with red or blue invaders. The rpg elements are not rpg elements essentially it is a couple of perks you can equip.

    The thing I find weirdest is talk about how the story is one of it's redeeming qualities, here I disagree the most the story is terrible, it is a good concept, but the story lacks any interaction with the basic plot, lacks any real depth and honestly makes you feel like you are playing what is an alright game for absolutely no reason, all information is laid out in conversation based cut scenes and your boss battles which should lend a bit of variety to the faceless soldiers who you kill for who knows what reason are often more aggravating than entertaining, at certain points even leading you to fight indestructible enemies who will explode when you kill all the lackeys.

    Ultimately I quit this game when I spent 20 minutes firing rockets into a boss without it dying only to have a mass of troops spawn beside me and kill me. Up until then I got a lot of entertainment from this game but after this with no vested interest in the story I just thought "what is the point."
    Expand
  3. Feb 6, 2012
    3
    Okay guys. The only thing good about is the idea, I really appreciate the idea of this game, BUT, the whole thing is poorly presented. BadOkay guys. The only thing good about is the idea, I really appreciate the idea of this game, BUT, the whole thing is poorly presented. Bad gameplay, the story is not convincing, bad AI, almost everything is bad. If you value your money, and go buy another game. If you value your time, don waste your time on this. I am surprised why would any publisher will release this, maybe to remind us how good is the other games?This is the worst game I have played. The 3 marks, are for the idea and effort. Expand
  4. Jul 2, 2012
    1
    What a disappointment, I got the game when it was released. This game is filled with game breaking bugs, insane difficulty spikes, stiffWhat a disappointment, I got the game when it was released. This game is filled with game breaking bugs, insane difficulty spikes, stiff controls, bad voice acting. I've never seen a game this bad. Expand
  5. Jan 21, 2013
    0
    I have not seen this poorly executed games since sonic freeriders and APB.The story of this game is catastrofic.But the worst thing in thisI have not seen this poorly executed games since sonic freeriders and APB.The story of this game is catastrofic.But the worst thing in this game is that when you enter mindjack mode,the most ear killing sound ever appears,so you never want to mindjack in mindjack.Bosses in the game are too easy to beat you just have to kill some people and that is it he is just there being stupid and doing anything.And the A.I is so brain dead that they just stay in the middle of the way shooting walls nothing else literally.And the voice acting is pure S**t.So my final verdict for this game is a 0 out of 10 0-why was this planed???I hope god has mercy on the souls of the men that worked on this game
    Please do not buy this peace of crap
    Expand
  6. Oct 2, 2012
    0
    The only thing you will like about this game is the time that you spend NOT playing it. The game has countless broken AI's that can't shootThe only thing you will like about this game is the time that you spend NOT playing it. The game has countless broken AI's that can't shoot anything but the air. This game provides no challenge at all, and if your willing to put up with this garbage for another 8 hours. You will be able to beat it with your eyes closed. Expand
  7. May 26, 2011
    0
    one word crap I could not believe how crappy it was it was as crappy as alpha protocol and Alan wake it ranks in my top 10 crap game of allone word crap I could not believe how crappy it was it was as crappy as alpha protocol and Alan wake it ranks in my top 10 crap game of all time can't believe i spend $48 giving it back and getting my money back and telling anyone who wants to play this game you will be disappointed trust me Expand

See all 31 User Reviews