• Publisher: Tecmo
  • Release Date: Jun 3, 2008
Ninja Gaiden II Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 74 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 356 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: (Also known as "Ninja Gaiden 2") In Ninja Gaiden II, gamers must guide Ryu Hayabusa on a mission to avenge his clan and prevent the destruction of the human race. Armed with an assortment of ninja weaponry, players must help Ryu skillfully maneuver through a world fraught with peril and(Also known as "Ninja Gaiden 2") In Ninja Gaiden II, gamers must guide Ryu Hayabusa on a mission to avenge his clan and prevent the destruction of the human race. Armed with an assortment of ninja weaponry, players must help Ryu skillfully maneuver through a world fraught with peril and danger. Ninja Gaiden II features an all-new gameplay engine, a new auto-health regeneration system, levels, adventures, enemies and thrilling combat with an extensive assortment of ninja weaponry, representing a true evolution of the highly popular franchise. Assuming the role of a ninja warrior, players experience an all-new combat system that requires skill and mastery of their full arsenal of weapons, including Obliteration Techniques that allow players to quickly and stylishly finish off an opponent. In addition to the variety of brutal new primary weapons and enhanced versions of previous favorites, Ninja Gaiden II features unique acrobatic combat and attacks used not only by Ryu Hayabusa but also by his formidable enemies. The new auto-healing system in Ninja Gaiden II, featuring semi-permanent damage restored at save points, is the natural evolution of the franchise's distinctive gameplay and introduces a new twist to managing health. With a newly implemented auto-healing functionality and save-point system, as well as an extensive story mode and multiple difficulty levels available from the start of the game, the gameplay of Ninja Gaiden II is both accessible to more casual players and challenging to even the most demanding gamers. [Team Ninja] Expand
Buy Now
Buy on
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 74
  2. Negative: 0 out of 74
  1. 95
    NG2 is the perfect fighting-action game, it is the ultimate gaming challenge for 2008, and it's one of the best looking 'gore games' ever created. If you want to know why Master Ninja level NG players give no respect to anyone who hasn't achieved this level of action-gaming perfection, you must become one yourself.
  2. 90
    Ninja Gaiden II is not perfect but it's one of the best action games since the original and an absolute joy to play.
  3. Upgraded graphics and improved gameplay solidify it as a legitimate marquee next generation title. For those who are not particularly partial to the hack and slash action genre I would recommend you hold out. Ninja Gaiden fans should purchase Itagaki-san’s last chapter immediately and those who do fancy the genre should do the same.
  4. Ninja Gaiden II is a fun, brutal and violent game.
  5. Fans of high-speed action titles can't go wrong; in fact, they'd be foolish to look anywhere else for anything better this generation. It's just disappointing that Ninja Gaiden II -- which is said to be the last in the series -- isn't quite the flawless masterpiece I’d hoped for
  6. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    75
    Despite the addition of execution moves and a recharging life guage, the series' renowned(and reviled) difficulty is left mostly unchanged. [Aug 2008, p.80]
  7. An acceptable update in terms of presentation, but regretfully somewhat lacking in the new gameplay features the move to a new generation should demand. Regretfully, it is far from the spectacular game many hoped it would be when it was first announced. It grasps on too tightly to what came before, refusing to give gamers the freedom other games in this generation have offered.

See all 74 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 71 out of 106
  2. Negative: 16 out of 106
  1. RobC
    Jun 30, 2008
    10
    Being a fan of Ninja Gaiden for Xbox I had no doubt that I would like Ninja Gaiden II. NG II is similar to the original but throws more Being a fan of Ninja Gaiden for Xbox I had no doubt that I would like Ninja Gaiden II. NG II is similar to the original but throws more different enemies and has more techniques and weapons to choose from. Of course the story and levels are different. It also is very challenging at the higher difficulties, in which something is constantly being shot at you and breaking up your combos. You can also chop off the enemies arms and legs spraying blood everywhere. Nothing is more satisfying than observing all of the limbs and blood sprayed over the walls and the floor. The only explanation I can think of for the low scores from critics is the similarity to the original. You owe it to yourself to get this game. Expand
  2. Jun 20, 2011
    10
    THE BEST ACTION GAME ON XBOX 360!!
    60+ houers and still playing!
    Blood,Fast Action,Many Wepons,Massive Combos,Story is **** but its not story
    THE BEST ACTION GAME ON XBOX 360!!
    60+ houers and still playing!
    Blood,Fast Action,Many Wepons,Massive Combos,Story is **** but its not story you want from that kind of games.
    PURE FUN:)
    Expand
  3. JamesF.
    Jun 5, 2008
    9
    Wow and I thought the first one was hard. This entry into they series wont revolutionise anything but it is a faster paced game. The weapons Wow and I thought the first one was hard. This entry into they series wont revolutionise anything but it is a faster paced game. The weapons and moves little lone the enemies make it insane. That aside the difficulty and akward camera means this game isnt for every one but if you liked the first one you will most likely enjoy Ryu continuing adventure. Expand
  4. Mar 16, 2017
    9
    I first got my Xbox 360 in 2007 and I had Bioshock but I didn't enjoy it at the time so I barley played it. a few months pass and I get NinjaI first got my Xbox 360 in 2007 and I had Bioshock but I didn't enjoy it at the time so I barley played it. a few months pass and I get Ninja Gaiden 2 as I loved the first one on the original Xbox.

    Ninja Gaiden 2 still holds up today. at first it seems like a hack and slash and that may get you through most of the game at first, its when you start playing the later levels and playing on a harder difficulty is where you realise that its a lot more than a hack and slash. The amount of weapons you get really keeps the gameplay fun and switching between then to slice tons of enemies at once is satisfying. The game is difficult but the combat and A,I are great so if you die, its your fault. Collecting the Skulls and beating the game on different difficulties with each weapon is also great for replay ability.

    If you still have a 360 and haven't played it just buy it. the price for this game is next to nothing and the game may come backwards compatible for the Xbox One so get it for if that happens as well. You can also get Ninja Gaiden Sigma 2 for PS3 which is a different version of the game and is arguably better than the 360 version.

    If you're a fan of the Devil May Cry or God of War series you really need to play this game.
    Expand
  5. BradW.
    Jul 27, 2008
    8
    Fun game, full of fast action and lots of thrills. Unfortunately, the camera leaves you attacking unseen enemies and the story is pratically Fun game, full of fast action and lots of thrills. Unfortunately, the camera leaves you attacking unseen enemies and the story is pratically non-existant. Flaws aside though, it is a fun action game. If you want a challenge, put this game on the higher difficulty. It is hard as hell. Expand
  6. Brian
    Jun 5, 2008
    7
    A punishing game which replaces the intelligent AI of its predecessor with cheap, auto targeting enemies that withstand merciless onslaughts A punishing game which replaces the intelligent AI of its predecessor with cheap, auto targeting enemies that withstand merciless onslaughts until your thumbs are sore. Not only this, but the polish is missing. Technical issues such as frame rate slow downs and frequent load times add to the frustration as players battle the horde of fiends as well as the vicious camera. Expand
  7. HansG.
    Jun 2, 2008
    0
    Just like SIgma, nothing new. Graphics look dull. Don't buy it, buy sigma.

See all 106 User Reviews