Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 95 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Pro Evolution Soccer 2014 is the latest edition to the PES franchise and it centers everything on the ball including how it moves and how players use it. The game purports to offer new levels of control and fundamentally changing play. Key features include the M.A.S.S physics engine, which promises to make every tussle unique and true-to-life, plus new animation tech and emotion mapping of players, teams and fans. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Sep 18, 2013
    90
    Crucially, though, that intangible PES magic remains and expands with the potential of the new engine; matches take on their own personalities (helped by new player emotions – perform well and your play will visibly improve during the game) and you’ll discuss great goals for years, especially now that shooting and heading are weightier, more natural feeling. Even Master League is better.
  2. Sep 30, 2013
    87
    While the new engine, based on Kojima Production's FOX Engine, allowed a visual improvement, it also helped us realize that the game's physics are in need of a little renovation. The game modes are basically the same as in previous editions, but the real improvements were made in its core mechanics. Obsessive players are going to be able to control every detail of the game, but newcomers might feel overwhelmed by all the new possibilities that the complex control scheme allows.
  3. Sep 18, 2013
    85
    This is a good restart for the series and we're sure all the fans will appreciate this chapter.
  4. 80
    Its also frustrating that a game that can give so much on the pitch has very little to offer beyond it.
  5. Oct 2, 2013
    80
    PES 2014 is a huge improvement in a franchise with a new engine, which will provide football fans with countless hours of fun. Sadly for everything good Konami has done, if they don’t change their after sales administration, PES will never be top of the League again.
  6. 80
    PES 2014 shows its strengths in the most important places, but ultimately could be more appealing to a wider audience with some polish in the right places. Even so, it's a strong entry in the series that proves there's definitely room for two on the pitch.
  7. Sep 18, 2013
    60
    This is a game that tries to straddle the line between arcade action and sublime simulation and never succeeds at either. PES is at its best when it's selective with its realism: here's hoping next year it can go back to doing what it does best.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 16
  2. Negative: 4 out of 16
  1. Sep 24, 2013
    10
    Pes has finally overtaken fifa. Gameplay is very realistic and despite a few player face issues the graphics are good. If you are worried about licensing just download an option file onto a usb, dont get an inferior game just because it has licensed teams. Collapse
  2. Sep 28, 2013
    10
    Premetto che ho assegnato un 10 per risollevare il voto ingiusto, che a mio avviso dovrebbe essere sicuramente un 8 pieno;

    Questo gioco ha
    2 volti:

    -Il primo volto, sgradevole, quello dei contenuti...poche licenze, assenza di pioggia, assenza di stadi, pochi volti dei giocatori e online perennemente con i "lavori in corso"...Fifa, in questo ambito, ne esce nettamente vincitore come negli anni passati...

    -Il secondo volto, quello invece gradevole, quello del gameplay...quest'anno la fisica degli impatti notevole, non ci sono compenetrazioni poligonali, le animazioni sono molto buone e l'IA davvero ottima...giocare contro la CPU divertente ed appagante, azioni sempre diverse e fantasiose e non scriptate come in Fifa...una volta acquisita la padronanza dei comandi, quindi dopo almeno 10/15 partite, si può godere questo gioco al massimo delle potenzialità e divertirsi tantissimo...

    Conclusioni:

    Pes14 in single player lo ritengo nettamente più divertente, profondo, appagante e realistico di quello di Fifa...dove l'IA pessima, le azioni scriptate e si segna sempre negli stessi modi;
    Fifa14 superiore nei contenuti e nel comparto on line, dove offre molto di più...

    A voi la scelta...io quest'anno preferisco sicuramente Pes14 e spero che nel prossimo capitolo facciano le cose come si deve anche per i contenuti, che sono davvero poveri.
    Expand
  3. Feb 2, 2014
    9
    I think is the new beginning of PES, as we know since last 5 years the game had some specific changes year by year. For now there are lots. I enjoy this game, specially by the real way to score a goal, that's everybody know isn't easy.
    As PES fan I give them a chance to offer a new better game for 2015.
    Expand
  4. Oct 24, 2013
    7
    PES 14 is a vast improvement over its predecessors but a dated presentation and a lack of features lets it down once again as the absence of a full licence takes its toll. The gameplay is more flowing this year and the ball physics are more convincing than any version within this generation. Graphically the game is significantly better than last year but the players and their shirts look very grainy and inaccurate.

    The game lets itself down with an ancient presentation that would look out of date even on the PS2. The menus are quite simply dour and this makes the unchanged Master League intolerable in time.

    Passing, shooting, keepers and even the refs have been tweaked dramatically which adds to the experience but there is a real lack of features here. Konami have taken a small step forward with the gameplay aspect but there is still lots to be done off the field. The future is looking better for PES but I can't help but fell EA will move forward quicker and more effectively with the next gen version. The UT and licences are a major plus that even myself; a past PES fanatic is struggling to overlook.
    Expand
  5. Sep 30, 2013
    6
    well i am so disappointed... first i was expecting to be really better than pes 2013 which i liked alot, i dont like fifa or how fifa plays and this year pes attempts to be fifa, the gameplay is just awfful... in superstar your players are like feathers and lose the ball just to be near oposing teamates, i have won some games and in all that games i never had any kind of control whatsoever...AI mistakes all over, then its the slugish movements and the players bad reaction times...

    pes 2013 was great and tehy could improve on that, what they did was just kill a franchise for good, in my case, a fan of the franchises did some work on kitsever i am really dissapointed to see that konami killed the soul of the game, trading it to be a cheap copy of fifa that plays even worse than fifa does

    no football games for me this year

    also, framerate on a gtx 770 somtimes comes down to 24 fps....in a freakin 770gtx
    Expand
  6. Oct 12, 2013
    5
    This is one of those games where it gives you just enough of glimpse to see how great it could be whilst simultaneously failing to execute the overall plan.

    The game suffers from several bugs and glitches. Modes have been stripped down to a threadbare minimum which is barely acceptable in this day and age (Master League). The lack of stadia and the removal of the stadium editor is very poor and i just do not buy the excuse from Konami that it all down to aggressive licensing from EA. The game gives the overall impression of being released in an unfinished state. While there is nothing new in this Konami have always had a habit of releasing games without the correct rosters for example before updating in patches there appear to be several aspects of the gameplay which just look incomplete. The goal keepers need a lot of work and manual shooting is terrible with a controlled shot function which is quite simply broken. Attackers seem completely unable to head the ball due to an incredible poor responsiveness that bears no relation to how you time your button press.

    However, the game is not reducible to its bugs and there is a great deal which is awe inspiring. The game really makes you think in midfield about the best way to unlock defences. No game before has made me think in this way there was always an exploit to score cheap goals. The annoyances in difficulty levels are things that Konami can hopefully refine through a patch (AI defenders retreating as you carry the ball unchallenged towards the goal for example)
    Expand
  7. Jan 17, 2014
    1
    This is really bad game and not good for our mental health, I'm seriously.. This game can make us oftenly lost temper for playing this game
    Player often to frezee and just watch the ball roll when collide with other player, and goalkeeper sometimes just watch the ball go in the net
    Teriible face for some star player, this game looks like has been made in hurry mode so we can say simply this is an unfinished game, maybe for some selling reason with the competition with fifa 14
    The menu cursor so slow, looks like this game has not been done completely yet in this area
    Player reaction for passing and shooting so late so we often cannot finish a good soccer gameplay
    The menu and option in master league very simple and we lost so many good things in the previous pes 2013
    Maybe the only thing good of this game is a little bit more realistic in player and ball movement but a lot of defect and hurryness in the making of this game make this game "unrealistic"
    This is a bad game, hope konami wont make same mistake again by launching an unfinished game just for the competition with fifa
    And I dont understand why the 40 negative comment hasnt been display in this user main review display?
    Expand

See all 16 User Reviews