Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 110 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Pro Evolution Soccer 2014 is the latest edition to the PES franchise and it centers everything on the ball including how it moves and how players use it. The game purports to offer new levels of control and fundamentally changing play. Key features include the M.A.S.S physics engine, whichPro Evolution Soccer 2014 is the latest edition to the PES franchise and it centers everything on the ball including how it moves and how players use it. The game purports to offer new levels of control and fundamentally changing play. Key features include the M.A.S.S physics engine, which promises to make every tussle unique and true-to-life, plus new animation tech and emotion mapping of players, teams and fans. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Sep 18, 2013
    90
    Crucially, though, that intangible PES magic remains and expands with the potential of the new engine; matches take on their own personalities (helped by new player emotions – perform well and your play will visibly improve during the game) and you’ll discuss great goals for years, especially now that shooting and heading are weightier, more natural feeling. Even Master League is better.
  2. Sep 30, 2013
    87
    While the new engine, based on Kojima Production's FOX Engine, allowed a visual improvement, it also helped us realize that the game's physics are in need of a little renovation. The game modes are basically the same as in previous editions, but the real improvements were made in its core mechanics. Obsessive players are going to be able to control every detail of the game, but newcomers might feel overwhelmed by all the new possibilities that the complex control scheme allows.
  3. Sep 18, 2013
    85
    This is a good restart for the series and we're sure all the fans will appreciate this chapter.
  4. 80
    Its also frustrating that a game that can give so much on the pitch has very little to offer beyond it.
  5. Oct 2, 2013
    80
    PES 2014 is a huge improvement in a franchise with a new engine, which will provide football fans with countless hours of fun. Sadly for everything good Konami has done, if they don’t change their after sales administration, PES will never be top of the League again.
  6. 80
    PES 2014 shows its strengths in the most important places, but ultimately could be more appealing to a wider audience with some polish in the right places. Even so, it's a strong entry in the series that proves there's definitely room for two on the pitch.
  7. Sep 18, 2013
    60
    This is a game that tries to straddle the line between arcade action and sublime simulation and never succeeds at either. PES is at its best when it's selective with its realism: here's hoping next year it can go back to doing what it does best.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 19
  2. Negative: 6 out of 19
  1. Sep 28, 2013
    10
    Premetto che ho assegnato un 10 per risollevare il voto ingiusto, che a mio avviso dovrebbe essere sicuramente un 8 pieno;

    Questo gioco ha
    Premetto che ho assegnato un 10 per risollevare il voto ingiusto, che a mio avviso dovrebbe essere sicuramente un 8 pieno;

    Questo gioco ha 2 volti:

    -Il primo volto, sgradevole, quello dei contenuti...poche licenze, assenza di pioggia, assenza di stadi, pochi volti dei giocatori e online perennemente con i "lavori in corso"...Fifa, in questo ambito, ne esce nettamente vincitore come negli anni passati...

    -Il secondo volto, quello invece gradevole, quello del gameplay...quest'anno la fisica degli impatti notevole, non ci sono compenetrazioni poligonali, le animazioni sono molto buone e l'IA davvero ottima...giocare contro la CPU divertente ed appagante, azioni sempre diverse e fantasiose e non scriptate come in Fifa...una volta acquisita la padronanza dei comandi, quindi dopo almeno 10/15 partite, si può godere questo gioco al massimo delle potenzialità e divertirsi tantissimo...

    Conclusioni:

    Pes14 in single player lo ritengo nettamente più divertente, profondo, appagante e realistico di quello di Fifa...dove l'IA pessima, le azioni scriptate e si segna sempre negli stessi modi;
    Fifa14 superiore nei contenuti e nel comparto on line, dove offre molto di più...

    A voi la scelta...io quest'anno preferisco sicuramente Pes14 e spero che nel prossimo capitolo facciano le cose come si deve anche per i contenuti, che sono davvero poveri.
    Expand
  2. Sep 25, 2013
    9
    PES14 simply gave a radically changed throughout your look. Got better, freer and more realistic. Konami managed to find my way is better nowPES14 simply gave a radically changed throughout your look. Got better, freer and more realistic. Konami managed to find my way is better now increasingly. Expand
  3. Jul 16, 2014
    9
    Pes is very realistic mutch better than fifa! Don't know what all the hate is about! Only problem is the team names such as Man Utd isPes is very realistic mutch better than fifa! Don't know what all the hate is about! Only problem is the team names such as Man Utd is Manchester red or something like that hopefully that changes for Pes 2015.
    It is getting better and better every year!
    Expand
  4. Sep 30, 2013
    6
    well i am so disappointed... first i was expecting to be really better than pes 2013 which i liked alot, i dont like fifa or how fifa playswell i am so disappointed... first i was expecting to be really better than pes 2013 which i liked alot, i dont like fifa or how fifa plays and this year pes attempts to be fifa, the gameplay is just awfful... in superstar your players are like feathers and lose the ball just to be near oposing teamates, i have won some games and in all that games i never had any kind of control whatsoever...AI mistakes all over, then its the slugish movements and the players bad reaction times...

    pes 2013 was great and tehy could improve on that, what they did was just kill a franchise for good, in my case, a fan of the franchises did some work on kitsever i am really dissapointed to see that konami killed the soul of the game, trading it to be a cheap copy of fifa that plays even worse than fifa does

    no football games for me this year

    also, framerate on a gtx 770 somtimes comes down to 24 fps....in a freakin 770gtx
    Expand
  5. Sep 30, 2013
    5
    I haven't played a Konami Soccer game since my N64 days, back when it was called International Superstar Soccer. Aaaahhh.... That game willI haven't played a Konami Soccer game since my N64 days, back when it was called International Superstar Soccer. Aaaahhh.... That game will go down as my favorite soccer game of all time. So how does it's 2014 iteration measure up exactly?
    Well, for the most part it's pretty decent & I respect what Konami have tried to do here but it would be unfair to write a review based purely on intention so let's get back to the product as it stands. PRO EVO 2014 is not perfect. Not even close! It suffers with frame rate & control issues & yes, it's a rather barebones package when compared to what EA's FIFA 14 has to offer, yet underneath all that there's a pretty good game of soccer to be had. The play mechanics feel "evolved" and are indeed superior to FIFA 14 "on the pitch" but the bottom line is BOTH GAMES ARE SUB-STANDARD & the reason for this is quite simple: Both these companies will keep failing to "deliver" because they believe the world needs a football game each year. If they'd devoted more development time to their franchise just imagine what quality games would be possible? GTA V anyone?? With all the talk of the revolutionary new Fox Engine and other hyped new features I really wanted badly for this to be "the" definitive football game. It's not. But that's not to say you shouldn't get it. After all, what's there is better than FIFA 14, but only just!
    Expand
  6. Nov 24, 2013
    3
    PES 2014 tries to be more realistic and fun,however,lacks fun any fun.I recomend either the past PES or even the PS2 versions of any PES.ifPES 2014 tries to be more realistic and fun,however,lacks fun any fun.I recomend either the past PES or even the PS2 versions of any PES.if you want a good soccer game this year,play PES 2014.

    GOOD:
    -Excellent graphics

    BAD:
    -Mutilated presentation
    -Horrible modes
    -Frustrating
    -0% fun
    -The game is completely broken.
    Expand
  7. Jan 17, 2014
    1
    This is really bad game and not good for our mental health, I'm seriously.. This game can make us oftenly lost temper for playing this gameThis is really bad game and not good for our mental health, I'm seriously.. This game can make us oftenly lost temper for playing this game
    Player often to frezee and just watch the ball roll when collide with other player, and goalkeeper sometimes just watch the ball go in the net
    Teriible face for some star player, this game looks like has been made in hurry mode so we can say simply this is an unfinished game, maybe for some selling reason with the competition with fifa 14
    The menu cursor so slow, looks like this game has not been done completely yet in this area
    Player reaction for passing and shooting so late so we often cannot finish a good soccer gameplay
    The menu and option in master league very simple and we lost so many good things in the previous pes 2013
    Maybe the only thing good of this game is a little bit more realistic in player and ball movement but a lot of defect and hurryness in the making of this game make this game "unrealistic"
    This is a bad game, hope konami wont make same mistake again by launching an unfinished game just for the competition with fifa
    And I dont understand why the 40 negative comment hasnt been display in this user main review display?
    Expand

See all 19 User Reviews