Pro Evolution Soccer 2014 Xbox 360

Pro Evolution Soccer 2014 Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.3

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 113 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Pro Evolution Soccer 2014 is the latest edition to the PES franchise and it centers everything on the ball including how it moves and how players use it. The game purports to offer new levels of control and fundamentally changing play. Key features include the M.A.S.S physics engine, whichPro Evolution Soccer 2014 is the latest edition to the PES franchise and it centers everything on the ball including how it moves and how players use it. The game purports to offer new levels of control and fundamentally changing play. Key features include the M.A.S.S physics engine, which promises to make every tussle unique and true-to-life, plus new animation tech and emotion mapping of players, teams and fans. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Sep 18, 2013
    90
    Crucially, though, that intangible PES magic remains and expands with the potential of the new engine; matches take on their own personalities (helped by new player emotions – perform well and your play will visibly improve during the game) and you’ll discuss great goals for years, especially now that shooting and heading are weightier, more natural feeling. Even Master League is better.
  2. Sep 30, 2013
    87
    While the new engine, based on Kojima Production's FOX Engine, allowed a visual improvement, it also helped us realize that the game's physics are in need of a little renovation. The game modes are basically the same as in previous editions, but the real improvements were made in its core mechanics. Obsessive players are going to be able to control every detail of the game, but newcomers might feel overwhelmed by all the new possibilities that the complex control scheme allows.
  3. Sep 18, 2013
    85
    This is a good restart for the series and we're sure all the fans will appreciate this chapter.
  4. 80
    Its also frustrating that a game that can give so much on the pitch has very little to offer beyond it.
  5. Oct 2, 2013
    80
    PES 2014 is a huge improvement in a franchise with a new engine, which will provide football fans with countless hours of fun. Sadly for everything good Konami has done, if they don’t change their after sales administration, PES will never be top of the League again.
  6. 80
    PES 2014 shows its strengths in the most important places, but ultimately could be more appealing to a wider audience with some polish in the right places. Even so, it's a strong entry in the series that proves there's definitely room for two on the pitch.
  7. Sep 18, 2013
    60
    This is a game that tries to straddle the line between arcade action and sublime simulation and never succeeds at either. PES is at its best when it's selective with its realism: here's hoping next year it can go back to doing what it does best.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 18
  2. Negative: 6 out of 18
  1. Feb 2, 2014
    9
    I think is the new beginning of PES, as we know since last 5 years the game had some specific changes year by year. For now there are lots. II think is the new beginning of PES, as we know since last 5 years the game had some specific changes year by year. For now there are lots. I enjoy this game, specially by the real way to score a goal, that's everybody know isn't easy.
    As PES fan I give them a chance to offer a new better game for 2015.
    Expand
  2. Sep 30, 2013
    9
    Jogabilidade renovada e muito boa por sinal, gráficos incríveis e defeitos como qualquer outro game. Dessa vez a Konami acertou e inovou emJogabilidade renovada e muito boa por sinal, gráficos incríveis e defeitos como qualquer outro game. Dessa vez a Konami acertou e inovou em PES 2014 que um grande jogo de futebol. Collapse
  3. Sep 27, 2013
    8
    Bought it for the Xbox 360 instead of the PS3. Worth buying!! The game's much improved now, much better. The graphics are better. The gameBought it for the Xbox 360 instead of the PS3. Worth buying!! The game's much improved now, much better. The graphics are better. The game runs smoothly no glitches like PES 2013. Sorry to say this though, its good but not good as FIFA 14. Its something new by Konami. Anyways good work Expand
  4. Sep 25, 2013
    5
    PES14 simply gave a radically changed throughout your look. Got better, freer and more realistic. Konami managed to find my way is better nowPES14 simply gave a radically changed throughout your look. Got better, freer and more realistic. Konami managed to find my way is better now increasingly. Expand
  5. Oct 12, 2013
    5
    This is one of those games where it gives you just enough of glimpse to see how great it could be whilst simultaneously failing to execute theThis is one of those games where it gives you just enough of glimpse to see how great it could be whilst simultaneously failing to execute the overall plan.

    The game suffers from several bugs and glitches. Modes have been stripped down to a threadbare minimum which is barely acceptable in this day and age (Master League). The lack of stadia and the removal of the stadium editor is very poor and i just do not buy the excuse from Konami that it all down to aggressive licensing from EA. The game gives the overall impression of being released in an unfinished state. While there is nothing new in this Konami have always had a habit of releasing games without the correct rosters for example before updating in patches there appear to be several aspects of the gameplay which just look incomplete. The goal keepers need a lot of work and manual shooting is terrible with a controlled shot function which is quite simply broken. Attackers seem completely unable to head the ball due to an incredible poor responsiveness that bears no relation to how you time your button press.

    However, the game is not reducible to its bugs and there is a great deal which is awe inspiring. The game really makes you think in midfield about the best way to unlock defences. No game before has made me think in this way there was always an exploit to score cheap goals. The annoyances in difficulty levels are things that Konami can hopefully refine through a patch (AI defenders retreating as you carry the ball unchallenged towards the goal for example)
    Expand
  6. Nov 24, 2013
    3
    PES 2014 tries to be more realistic and fun,however,lacks fun any fun.I recomend either the past PES or even the PS2 versions of any PES.ifPES 2014 tries to be more realistic and fun,however,lacks fun any fun.I recomend either the past PES or even the PS2 versions of any PES.if you want a good soccer game this year,play PES 2014.

    GOOD:
    -Excellent graphics

    BAD:
    -Mutilated presentation
    -Horrible modes
    -Frustrating
    -0% fun
    -The game is completely broken.
    Expand
  7. Jan 17, 2014
    1
    This is really bad game and not good for our mental health, I'm seriously.. This game can make us oftenly lost temper for playing this gameThis is really bad game and not good for our mental health, I'm seriously.. This game can make us oftenly lost temper for playing this game
    Player often to frezee and just watch the ball roll when collide with other player, and goalkeeper sometimes just watch the ball go in the net
    Teriible face for some star player, this game looks like has been made in hurry mode so we can say simply this is an unfinished game, maybe for some selling reason with the competition with fifa 14
    The menu cursor so slow, looks like this game has not been done completely yet in this area
    Player reaction for passing and shooting so late so we often cannot finish a good soccer gameplay
    The menu and option in master league very simple and we lost so many good things in the previous pes 2013
    Maybe the only thing good of this game is a little bit more realistic in player and ball movement but a lot of defect and hurryness in the making of this game make this game "unrealistic"
    This is a bad game, hope konami wont make same mistake again by launching an unfinished game just for the competition with fifa
    And I dont understand why the 40 negative comment hasnt been display in this user main review display?
    Expand

See all 18 User Reviews