User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 2895 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AndyZ
    May 20, 2010
    10
    Simply a masterpiece of a game. The world is beautifully crafted and the story is engaging. As a person who though GTAIV was only so-so, I can fully endorse this. There is a wide variety of mission types to do and the minigames are actually fun. The characters are likable and the voice acting and animations are really nice. Graphics are great on the 360, especially for a console game. Simply a masterpiece of a game. The world is beautifully crafted and the story is engaging. As a person who though GTAIV was only so-so, I can fully endorse this. There is a wide variety of mission types to do and the minigames are actually fun. The characters are likable and the voice acting and animations are really nice. Graphics are great on the 360, especially for a console game. Anyone complaining about lock on shooting is out of their mind. Half the time in this game you are riding on a horse, shooting people on other horses. Without lock on you'd never hit anything as the action is too fast and people don't just stand there to let you shoot them. That's why you can go manual in Dead Eye mode, because it slows everything down to possible speeds. It is a joy to ride around the countryside and the random events that happen there really break up any monotony you might feel. Expand
  2. BrunoG.
    May 20, 2010
    10
    Rating this game less than a 9 would be a statement that people around here ahte anything related to the western genre. RDR is easily the best sandbox game I've ever seen, and even more easily the best western game ever produced. Has anyone seen so lifelike faces before, such landscapes. It is bound to become the next San Andreas. The best 70 euros ever spent in game this year! An Rating this game less than a 9 would be a statement that people around here ahte anything related to the western genre. RDR is easily the best sandbox game I've ever seen, and even more easily the best western game ever produced. Has anyone seen so lifelike faces before, such landscapes. It is bound to become the next San Andreas. The best 70 euros ever spent in game this year! An absolute masterpiece! Expand
  3. CoreyC.
    May 18, 2010
    10
    Surpasses GTA IV in scope, depth and just overall fun. I wasn't sure what to expect going into this game but it has been nothing short of epic from the start. The controls are much refined over GTA IV. Yes, it feels similar and fans of Rockstar will sense that from the start. With the addition of many mini-games, TONS of random events and even hunting you'll have SO much to do Surpasses GTA IV in scope, depth and just overall fun. I wasn't sure what to expect going into this game but it has been nothing short of epic from the start. The controls are much refined over GTA IV. Yes, it feels similar and fans of Rockstar will sense that from the start. With the addition of many mini-games, TONS of random events and even hunting you'll have SO much to do outside of the main storyline... which by the way,is phenomenal. Rockstar San Diego hit this one out of the ball park. I couldn't recommencement this game more. Expand
  4. DC
    May 18, 2010
    10
    Red Dead Redemption is the best multiplayer video game I have ever played. I have never played a game with so much to it, never a game the actually puts you in the time and setting and gives you the feel of really being a part of the environment. Blows any Rockstar game out of the water put it up to any GTA and this blows it away. If you don
  5. BrendonN
    May 19, 2010
    10
    Ahh Jesse, you are a fool. While I would agree with some of that, in this game. That context is ridiculous. This is the game I was hoping it would be, a sandbox game made by the king of sandbox games that gives you the feeling of being in a western. From the incredible voice acting, to the story, to the massively enjoyable multiplayer system. This game is amazing. Yes, it uses a system Ahh Jesse, you are a fool. While I would agree with some of that, in this game. That context is ridiculous. This is the game I was hoping it would be, a sandbox game made by the king of sandbox games that gives you the feeling of being in a western. From the incredible voice acting, to the story, to the massively enjoyable multiplayer system. This game is amazing. Yes, it uses a system that has been used to GTA IV, but that's because that system worked and is still the best open world game out. Rockstar knows what they are doing and since the scope of this project is absolutely breath-taking, I'll give the bugs a big fat pass. Seriously, this game is amazing. I hope it does well so Rockstar can free themselves from GTA IV and bring out projects that make you feel a part of a breathing world with incredible story and dialog. This game is awesome, and if you are tired of game engines being re-used, then you should just stop playing games. Of course a pre-exsisting system is going to be used in a game. It makes sense financially, and the good engines gives the designers a good place to start to build the world you want. The business has worked this way for damn near ever, and it wont change. I personally don't want it to. An awesome game is an awesome game. Read Dead Redemption is an awesome game. 10/10 Expand
  6. RyanJ
    May 20, 2010
    10
    An utterly beautiful game. The comparisons to Grand Theft Auto are fair only in the vein that the open-world genre has never looked more beautiful or contained more things to do. Other than that, I think reviewers are just comparing their level of awe to when they first played GTA IV. Yes, it's that good.
  7. ChristianC.
    May 21, 2010
    10
    Red Dead Redemption is the finest by Rockstar to date. It uses the GTA IV architecture, but then with way better controls and updated graphics en physics. The setting is perfect and the Rockstar formula fits better to the open setting of the West then to the big city. There are a ton, and i do mean a ton, of things to do. Random events, heaps of challenges, loads of mini-games, outfits to Red Dead Redemption is the finest by Rockstar to date. It uses the GTA IV architecture, but then with way better controls and updated graphics en physics. The setting is perfect and the Rockstar formula fits better to the open setting of the West then to the big city. There are a ton, and i do mean a ton, of things to do. Random events, heaps of challenges, loads of mini-games, outfits to unlock and find, treasure maps, bounties etc etc etc. And what's more, all these these activities are really a lot of fun. Unlike GTA IV where they where kind of ok, but still more a gimmick then real fun. In RDR the side activities are tuly amazing and some of the activities could perhaps justify a new game by itself. Then there's the ecosystem wherin many different animals live and interact naturaly. It's amazing just to watch a bird of prey snatch a rabbit just when you wanted to shoot it. And the Dead Eye aming system makes the shooting a lot of fun, more so then in GTA IV. Trust me. Drop what you are doing. Buy this game of you haven;t done so already. Now. Expand
  8. AndP.
    May 20, 2010
    10
    If you don't really enjoy this game, you might be a "ri-tard" like a certain user reviewer on this page. What you need to know is that this is a landmark game. There will be other game made to try to emulate it, that's for sure. It's completely addicting, and there is so much to do. You will get sidetracked constantly with the immense amount there is in this game. It's If you don't really enjoy this game, you might be a "ri-tard" like a certain user reviewer on this page. What you need to know is that this is a landmark game. There will be other game made to try to emulate it, that's for sure. It's completely addicting, and there is so much to do. You will get sidetracked constantly with the immense amount there is in this game. It's worth buying right now! There are wo things that are wrong with this game, basically:::you cannot swim at all, and there are random graphical bugs. The lack of swimming leads to anninstant death and can be frustrating. Yet, you'll get over it quickly. The bugs don't really take away from anything. They are just funny if you run across them, that's all. For your own sake, go and play this game. You'll be playing it for months and months to come! Expand
  9. GiovanniC
    May 18, 2010
    10
    first to just clear the air, Jesse J. what kind of asshole quotes himself from another website. Why not come up with a constructive criticism? I'm looking at the entire (probably really time consuming) paragraph and noticing you never brought up a valid point to why you hate the game, you only just bash GTA IV. I'll give you that GTA IV is not a good game, I fail to see the first to just clear the air, Jesse J. what kind of asshole quotes himself from another website. Why not come up with a constructive criticism? I'm looking at the entire (probably really time consuming) paragraph and noticing you never brought up a valid point to why you hate the game, you only just bash GTA IV. I'll give you that GTA IV is not a good game, I fail to see the similarities that you see between this and GTA. How pathetic are you that you have to come to review site and spend an hour not listing anything constructive. Please go to another website and hurt somebody else's eyes with your terrible grammer. On to other things, this game is great. For anybody who is a fan old spaghetti westerns and sandbox shooters, this is a must play. The story shows the struggle of changing times better than any other game I've ever played. It perfectly reflects the old times of the wild west: the barren wasteland, the gentlemen and vagabonds, the fighting. The gunplay added with the new physics engine, makes for some of the best shooting in gaming. No lie, I'd play this game a million times! Expand
  10. BomB.
    May 18, 2010
    10
    I nailed this game, JUST done 100%, pretty easy but I reckon that it will take most people more than 18 hours (like i did). The story of this game reminds me of stories my Grandad told me when I was younger. I especially like the mexican poncho's, (Clint Eastwood FTW) This game has some strong sexual themes which I like and that add to the games story. The grahics in this game are I nailed this game, JUST done 100%, pretty easy but I reckon that it will take most people more than 18 hours (like i did). The story of this game reminds me of stories my Grandad told me when I was younger. I especially like the mexican poncho's, (Clint Eastwood FTW) This game has some strong sexual themes which I like and that add to the games story. The grahics in this game are especially good, but the character animations generally dont support the voice acting. I suggest this game to anyone who liked GTA 4 or/ and Clint Eastwood. Expand
  11. SysR
    May 19, 2010
    10
    Dear Jesse J. are you sure you're not just a spoiled bitch when it comes to video games? If you hold GTA: IV or RDR up to a lot of the other games that are released they pale in comparison to what Rockstar has done. You don't like lock-on shooting? Turn it off or join games without lock-on shooting. I've played through GTA: IV 4 times now. I have yet to find anything about Dear Jesse J. are you sure you're not just a spoiled bitch when it comes to video games? If you hold GTA: IV or RDR up to a lot of the other games that are released they pale in comparison to what Rockstar has done. You don't like lock-on shooting? Turn it off or join games without lock-on shooting. I've played through GTA: IV 4 times now. I have yet to find anything about the game repetitive except when someone blows up my getaway vehicle in Cops N Crooks. Now I'm wondering, what kinda game or what game in particular would you give a 10/10? Because Rockstar's GTA: IV and RDR are A-list games that deliver the goods on so many levels I could go on for hours and hours about how Rockstar has changed video games and brought something (almost) real to video gaming. I'd rather not go on for hours about how wrong you are. What the hell is wrong though, seriously? Expand
  12. ToJesseJ.
    May 19, 2010
    10
    This isn't GTA4 with a new skin. It's like saying that every cover shooter is like Gears of War. Red Dead Redemption has it's own feel and its own mehanics and It makes you belive like youre actually in Wild West like Arkham Asylum sell you on ilusion that you are Batman. And of course critics are comparing it to GTA4, like critics compared Half Life 1 to Half Life2 and This isn't GTA4 with a new skin. It's like saying that every cover shooter is like Gears of War. Red Dead Redemption has it's own feel and its own mehanics and It makes you belive like youre actually in Wild West like Arkham Asylum sell you on ilusion that you are Batman. And of course critics are comparing it to GTA4, like critics compared Half Life 1 to Half Life2 and some still thinks that HL1 is better allthough HL2 is a magnificent game and compering Devil May Cry to Bayonetta, because they are in the same genre and are directed by the same people. And Jesse J., stop bullshiting around lock on shooting, a mehanic that you can TURN OFF in both GTA4 and RDR. Red Dead Redemption is a magnificent game, with a great art style, many different mehanics, great story (for a game) and characters, and a most believing world that I've seen in a videogame. Expand
  13. SteveS
    May 20, 2010
    10
    First off I would like to say that "Jesie J" is in fact a complete and utter asshole! This is not GTA in the old west. This is an "old west style game" that's made by the same company that made "GTA" I have no idea why Jesie J. does not like this game but it is obviuos he doesn't. Maybe "Hello Kitty" would be more to your liking! Don't listen to Jesie J. this game is awesome!!!
  14. KayayE.
    May 20, 2010
    10
    Rockstar is undoubtedly my favorite game developer. There is no other company that even comes close to recreating worlds the way that Rockstar does time and time again. Red Dead Redemption is nothing short of absolute brilliance. The vast open world, top-notch voice acting and cinema worthy script (plus many other features) immerse the player into the classic Western setting in a way that Rockstar is undoubtedly my favorite game developer. There is no other company that even comes close to recreating worlds the way that Rockstar does time and time again. Red Dead Redemption is nothing short of absolute brilliance. The vast open world, top-notch voice acting and cinema worthy script (plus many other features) immerse the player into the classic Western setting in a way that makes you feel like you've lived through that time period. On top of a great single player experience, Rockstar's 2nd real crack at an open world multiplayer experience (the first being GTA IV) sets the bar even higher for what multiplayer games should be. I'm drawn to games that really demonstrate the skill and artistry of the people who put it all together. I appreciate the "Art" of game making. Red Dead Redemption is a Masterpiece! Expand
  15. VirtualS.
    May 20, 2010
    10
    This game is more than a GTA IV game with a western skin. It is a tour de force by giving tribute to the great spaghetti westerns with sold storyline, improved game play structure, and a refreshing setting that only few game developers have dared attempted to try, but only this game has delivered on.
  16. mrptri
    May 21, 2010
    10
    Don't believe that Jesse J kid. Ill agree with him that critics can be full of it and can get caught in the hype, and ill even give him the fact that gta 4 got repidative but this is not gta with a new skin. By his logic the same could be said about any open world game. This is by far the most immersive console game I've ever played. Did gta have random events like saving Don't believe that Jesse J kid. Ill agree with him that critics can be full of it and can get caught in the hype, and ill even give him the fact that gta 4 got repidative but this is not gta with a new skin. By his logic the same could be said about any open world game. This is by far the most immersive console game I've ever played. Did gta have random events like saving someone from being hanged or a woman from being raped? Did gta have the option to hunt and skin an absurd variaty of animals directly in the game world? I haven't even scratched the surface here. This game is amazing from presentation to voice acting to variation in both missions and ambient gameplay. Truely an amazing achievement. Expand
  17. JoeM
    May 20, 2010
    10
    Yes, I did in fact give this game a 10 out of 10 rating. A select few have had quite a lot of negative things to say about this game, but you shouldn't read their reviews at all. If you want a nit-picky review, goto IGN.com. This game includes a fabulous storyline (waaaay more deep than GTA IV), greatly defined characters, beautiful open world design, dangerous out-laws, and mountain Yes, I did in fact give this game a 10 out of 10 rating. A select few have had quite a lot of negative things to say about this game, but you shouldn't read their reviews at all. If you want a nit-picky review, goto IGN.com. This game includes a fabulous storyline (waaaay more deep than GTA IV), greatly defined characters, beautiful open world design, dangerous out-laws, and mountain lions. All of this put together using Rockstar's RAGE system which may feel like GTA, but I think this game refines any and all aspects from the former. If the same system worked before, why change it? A multimillion dollar game engine finally put to the test and comes out on top with Red Dead Redemption. This game will keep you busy for hours and is worth every buck. Expand
  18. stephens
    May 18, 2010
    10
    This is a review from a day and a half of play in multiplayer. Don't let that dissuade you from what I'm gonna tell you. YES its alot like GTAIV. But to me its so much better. To be honest I wasn't a fan of GTA's multiplayer. But this game has made me a believer of Rockstar's multiplayer ability. Its madcapped crazy autoaiming nonsense but for some reason I love This is a review from a day and a half of play in multiplayer. Don't let that dissuade you from what I'm gonna tell you. YES its alot like GTAIV. But to me its so much better. To be honest I wasn't a fan of GTA's multiplayer. But this game has made me a believer of Rockstar's multiplayer ability. Its madcapped crazy autoaiming nonsense but for some reason I love it. The people playing online (from the genuine laughs and screams) are having a great time with this game and so you should as well! If you had a slight fancy for GTAIV's decent multiplayer your gonna LOVE RDR's craziness! Expand
  19. AaronS.
    May 19, 2010
    10
    Jesse, I just wanted to tell you that you're an idiot. You haven't played the game, I can tell by your review. You just want to bitch and moan about anything that's popular to try to be cool. People like you are ruining the internet, shut the fuck up. anyway, the game strikes the tones of all great westerns. It's not perfect, but it's close enough for me to give it a 10.
  20. KevinS
    May 19, 2010
    10
    Finally, a western themed gamed that hits all of the notes and strikes a perfect harmony. Graphically, the world of RDR is designed with more detail than has been seem to date - the attention paid to color, lighting, texture, and mood are simply jaw dropping. Getting the ambiance of this gritty and beautiful place so perfectly sets this game apart from most. On top of the striking Finally, a western themed gamed that hits all of the notes and strikes a perfect harmony. Graphically, the world of RDR is designed with more detail than has been seem to date - the attention paid to color, lighting, texture, and mood are simply jaw dropping. Getting the ambiance of this gritty and beautiful place so perfectly sets this game apart from most. On top of the striking artistic value, the game itself is damn fun. The core missions are varied and entertaining while serving to move the main plot along. At the same time, the many side missions help to fully enrich the RDR world as a whole. Besides being prettier than previous GTA style games, gone are the difficulty spikes that plagued previous games. I also felt that the save points were managed better than previous games. GTA IV raised the bar for open-world, sandbox style games with interesting characters and story. Red Dead Redemption has push that bar even further. This game is a MUST own. Expand
  21. CodyB.
    May 21, 2010
    10
    Let me start off by saying that I was not a fan of the Grand Theft Auto series, so I was very hesitant to pick this up. This game has everything I imagined a game could be. I'm not going to write a huge review and pick it apart, but I will say this, the gunplay, the voice acting, the story are all top notch. It's been a long time since I have invested in a game for this long. Let me start off by saying that I was not a fan of the Grand Theft Auto series, so I was very hesitant to pick this up. This game has everything I imagined a game could be. I'm not going to write a huge review and pick it apart, but I will say this, the gunplay, the voice acting, the story are all top notch. It's been a long time since I have invested in a game for this long. I'm just glad I am not completely finished with it. Bring on the DLC! Expand
  22. Oct 29, 2012
    10
    Red Dead Redemption is a stunning game that clips its spurs on the way through to the finishing line. John Marston is one of the year
  23. Aug 12, 2010
    10
    Red Dead has everything you could want in a game it really captures the old Western days. I like it more than other Rockstar games such as GTA IV because it has a sense of being unique.
  24. Aug 13, 2010
    10
    If your a fan of western films like me you'll really love "Red Dead Redemption" because it truly captures the feel and look of those films perfectly.
  25. Aug 14, 2010
    10
    Red Dead Redemption is the best game I have played in the last decade. It revamps video game narratives, and defines the western genre. Rockstar are well known for the Grand Theft Auto series, most recently GTA IV, which raised the bar for open world games. RDR builds on the solid foundations of Rockstar North's latest game, but also advances on the already secure underpinning. You play asRed Dead Redemption is the best game I have played in the last decade. It revamps video game narratives, and defines the western genre. Rockstar are well known for the Grand Theft Auto series, most recently GTA IV, which raised the bar for open world games. RDR builds on the solid foundations of Rockstar North's latest game, but also advances on the already secure underpinning. You play as John Marston, who once rode in a gang. Now, blackmailed by federal agents he must hunt down his former friends and bring them in, or great harm will come to his family. That's the basis, and like all great western films it encompasses justice, betrayal and visceral violence. You'll become absorbed in the plot, and actually feel for the characters, like you would in any great TV show or film. The voice acting is incredible, every lone wandering cowboy sound's different, each region reflects part of the west today, with different accents and morals. You'll travel throughout the desolate plains, and through the beautiful red rock expanses of land in Mexico. The landscape though, acts as another character. Everything from the heat shimmers on the horizon, to the sunset's, are incredible. You'll become engrossed in the world, and it is very, very easy to spend alot of time just wondering and admiring the terrain of which this epic tale is set in. Wandering round ranches at night, you'll see groups huddled round camp fires playing instruments, and informing others of local news. You may them talking about your character, or a certain event that you have been involved in. This adds to your ego, but more importantly the atmosphere. One word to describe the size of the playable area is; scope. It'll take you a good half an hour to cross on horseback, even longer on foot. There are random events that occur as you are travelling, a women asks for your help while she stands next to a battered stagecoach, do you help or leave? It's up to you, whatever the outcome, it will help shape your characters 'honour' and 'fame' stats, a representation of what local townsfolk think of you. You can be an outlaw or a good guy, these choices are all yours. The combat is also solid, you'll recognise things like the cover system from GTA IV, but there are legitimate weapons, and gunshot wounds, which all add to the experience and authenticity. 'Dead-eye' enables the player to slow down time and place several shots on enemies, letting go of the activation button see's Marston fire off at all the targets in rapid succession, particularly useful if you are low on health and outnumbered. There isn't much of a learning curve with the controls, and although the game may seem challenging at times, it never becomes frustrating. Riding a horse, although not as exciting as driving a car, is also fun. You become attached to your mount, and it can be difficult to leave it it dies and collapses during a fight. The music is also very atmospheric. The OST gives a western vibe, and other songs like Jose Gonzalez's 'Far Away' feel right when played. There are alot of memorable moments in this game, ones that will stay with you forever and never fail to amaze or shock time and time again. Watching a sunset whilst standing on top of a huge cliff, admiring the landscape laid out in front of you can be extremely relaxing, it looks real thanks to the wonderful art direction and graphics behind the game. I could go on and on about Red Dead Redemption but I fear that I would ruin the experience. This is simply a must play game, and will prove to anyone that games can provide interesting story lines and contain atmospheres on par with blockbuster films. As Clint Eastwood once famously said in A Fistful Of Dollars; "You will never see another one like it." Red Dead Redemption will go down in history. Expand
  26. Aug 15, 2010
    10
    There is not a better game out right now. After completing the single-player game, I went and tried the multilplayer which I didn't think would be too great. It was absolutely astounding! It opened up a whole new world for me. The only knock is you have to have at least a decent connectivity to fully play the multiplayer without hiccups, which most Xbox live players have access to nowadays anyway
  27. Aug 17, 2010
    10
    This is the best game to come out since GTAIV. The gameplay, graphics, and storyline are all top-notch. Expect this to get a **** ton of awards. I love this game.
  28. Aug 27, 2010
    10
    Oh my god .. Wooow . I can't believe that games has reached this level of gaming experience , in this game we - gamers . we're proud of what videogames finally has reached .. and This game ( Red Dead Redemption ) it's 4 me the best game ever made . i played a lot and a lot of games but this one is really really special , the graphics are immersive .. imagine that u have a map of a hundredsOh my god .. Wooow . I can't believe that games has reached this level of gaming experience , in this game we - gamers . we're proud of what videogames finally has reached .. and This game ( Red Dead Redemption ) it's 4 me the best game ever made . i played a lot and a lot of games but this one is really really special , the graphics are immersive .. imagine that u have a map of a hundreds of Km2 full with a wonderfull lightning . and a beautifully reflexes and all sorts of weather .. The horses are perfectly made ... the story is perfect .... and a hooole of new ideas u can find .. and the best thing that i loved in this game is that u can spend hours and hours of gaming to reach the 100% of the game .. an infinite secondary missions ... in each place u go u'll find something to do .. just like the real life ... and summered this game i can say ... Red Dead redemption is the mirror of the real life back in 19's .. i realy injoyed this game i realy lived the western experience thanx to rockstar games .. if you don't buy this game you will miss a lot and a lot .. Expand
  29. Aug 30, 2010
    10
    Best Game of the Year 2010. Unbelievable good looking and large world with plenty of things to discover. It is a pity i just completed the main story and almost every side quest. Definitely the best game i played on the the XBox360 to this date. (Played around 80 Games). Soundtrack is lovely too!
    Go and buy this game.
  30. Sep 15, 2010
    10
    it kind of goes without saying that this is one of the best ideas put to video game in the history of video games, but i thought i'd just put in my two cents because this title most def deserves it.
  31. Dec 26, 2010
    10
    Rockstar at its best! what makes this games so excellent is the heart pounding gameplay and the always good open world freedom. finally a old west game thats actually good and fun.
  32. Sep 11, 2010
    10
    Out of all the games I've played in 2010 so far, none have stuck with me as long as Red Dead Redemption. This game features some of the best writing the medium has ever seen. Every character is given a unique and memorable personality, and the dialogue between them is sharp, ranging from light- hearted banter to displays of authentic drama. The story of Red Dead can best be described asOut of all the games I've played in 2010 so far, none have stuck with me as long as Red Dead Redemption. This game features some of the best writing the medium has ever seen. Every character is given a unique and memorable personality, and the dialogue between them is sharp, ranging from light- hearted banter to displays of authentic drama. The story of Red Dead can best be described as "Unforgiven" with a few twists. The main character however is quite distinctive. John Marston is a former outlaw that's settled down with a family. While he is generally a good natured person, John's outlaw roots show through whenever he gets angry or when the situation calls for it. That may not sound all that different from a lot of other characters out there, but the way the voice actor delivers his lines lends an air of authenticity that few game characters ever capture. There is a downside, though. No matter what your actions in the game are, the game always makes you out to be the hero. This isn't a huge issue, but it does seem weird when John acts courteous and considerate right after gunning down a prostitute and looting her corpse.

    The gameplay isn't anything groundbreaking, but it is still remarkably strong. Employing the same cover mechanic seen in countless other games, Red Dead will have you with your back up against something most of the time. That's not really the point, though. The beauty of the gameplay lies in context. Every firefight feels like it could be straight out of a Peckinpah film like The Wild Bunch with bullets whizzing every which way and outlaws running desperately for cover as their buddies try to shoot at you from rooftops, balconies, and windows. There are also several epic set pieces which I won't spoil.
    Expand
  33. Dec 22, 2010
    10
    One of the best games Rockstar has ever made outside of Grand Theft Auto. Beautifully realised western world (it's huge as well) that completely captures the magic and atmosphere of many great western films, a story that completely rivals or even outmatches what Hollywood can do right now and sublime game play with so many things to do. After this, you won't be desperate for another GrandOne of the best games Rockstar has ever made outside of Grand Theft Auto. Beautifully realised western world (it's huge as well) that completely captures the magic and atmosphere of many great western films, a story that completely rivals or even outmatches what Hollywood can do right now and sublime game play with so many things to do. After this, you won't be desperate for another Grand Theft Auto game. Expand
  34. Sep 15, 2010
    10
    My review of Red Dead Redemption is basically this i think this is probably the greatest game of all time second only to Halo and Grand theft auto 4. I really liked the story to this game,the action is incredible,and the multiplayer is topnotch.The horseriding in Red dead is better than any Old west game that came before. A definite must buy
  35. Mar 19, 2011
    10
    I don't understand some people, "crappy story"!? What makes this game an ABSOLUTE winner is it's characters and Rockstars attention to detail. Reading Cormac McCarthy's novels alongside playing RDR is an absolute joy, my imagination is running amuck with mexican horse thieves and lonely harmonicas.
  36. Sep 21, 2010
    10
    This an unbelievably well-made game. The game world is fairly large, the story is one of the best I have ever seen in video games, and there are tons of things to do on the side. It is an incredibly immersive game, one where you just kind of want to hang out in the game world and go exploring just to see what you might find. The stranger encounters are fun, the random encounters keep youThis an unbelievably well-made game. The game world is fairly large, the story is one of the best I have ever seen in video games, and there are tons of things to do on the side. It is an incredibly immersive game, one where you just kind of want to hang out in the game world and go exploring just to see what you might find. The stranger encounters are fun, the random encounters keep you on your toes, and as I said before the story is fantastic. It's pretty close to a perfect game. Expand
  37. Sep 25, 2010
    10
    pros - Awesome story, great gameplay, beautiful graphics, western setting, multiplayer has a boat load of variety, you can work together to hunt animals, or just go all out killing each other.
    cons - shorter single player then previous rockstar games. This game is worth the $60 price tag.
  38. Nov 29, 2012
    10
    Again, Rockstar blows our minds. Grand Theft Auto IV was probably a top 10 game of all time on Xbox 360 and this is just another one. Everything goes right in this game. there were a few avoidable and forgettable problems with Grand theft auto IV and this just threw em out
  39. Oct 19, 2010
    10
    wow i can't believe how awesome that was, don't miss out on this game. i see 50 or so people didn't like this game and i feel bad for you few that have no taste in games.
  40. Jan 12, 2011
    10
    Grand Theft Horse. But so much more. All the irritations of GTA fixed, and a far more appealing setting of the Old West. No more being chased by the cops for minor traffic infringements. No more shocking auto aim. NO MORE MOBILE PHONE. Simply put, RDR is a masterpiece of gaming, most notably the storytelling, the realisation of the game world, and the characterisation. The missionsGrand Theft Horse. But so much more. All the irritations of GTA fixed, and a far more appealing setting of the Old West. No more being chased by the cops for minor traffic infringements. No more shocking auto aim. NO MORE MOBILE PHONE. Simply put, RDR is a masterpiece of gaming, most notably the storytelling, the realisation of the game world, and the characterisation. The missions are varied, the voice acting top notch, the world is believable, and it never overstays its welcome. If it weren't for Mass Effect 2, this would be my Game of the Year 2010. And with Undead Nightmare, it's even better. Expand
  41. Feb 4, 2011
    10
    A fair warning to kids, "Red Dead Redemption" is not some twitchy fantasy western shooter shooter, it is a game that actually plays in the old west. Well, actually plays in a virtual old west anyway. The game has you rope, ride, drive cattle, throw horse shoes, fire one bullet at a time, and fight off the occasional cougar (not a 30 something woman with an eye for you, a real virtualA fair warning to kids, "Red Dead Redemption" is not some twitchy fantasy western shooter shooter, it is a game that actually plays in the old west. Well, actually plays in a virtual old west anyway. The game has you rope, ride, drive cattle, throw horse shoes, fire one bullet at a time, and fight off the occasional cougar (not a 30 something woman with an eye for you, a real virtual cougar). And you will experience the story whether you like it or not. For a sand box game, this is no choose your own adventure. The only recourse you have is to stop playing the game when you are satisfied with the ending, because like any good piece of art, the actual ending will leave you with mixed feelings. The ending here surpasses the Lone Wolf level of "Halo: Reach" as the most iconic ending of all time. 2010 was a banner year for video game endings in that respect.

    Speaking of respect, this game has it. Each character looks lovingly made and easily distinguished. Funny how video game characters now look more real than the made-up actors and actresses we see on TV and in movies. The whole world here seems handcrafted. Sparse but not lifeless. Earth toned but not dull. This is what the actual earth looks like, after-all. "Red Dead Redemption" sets a new standard for games. Sure it has funny glitches and I never did figure out how the gunfight mechanic was supposed to work. No game of this scope has been or ever will be perfect. By going somewhere few games have ever gone, into the realm of dare I say it, art, "Red Dead Redemption" has achieved the status of legend.
    Expand
  42. Feb 15, 2011
    10
    A truly amazing game, one of my favorite of all time. Their is just so much to do, the story is compelling and when this is matched with a superb sandbox experience it make a true masterpiece of gaming delight. Have purchased all the DLC and still loving it. Now I just want to get every last achievement, but ill still be playing it after that.
  43. Oct 27, 2010
    10
    This Game es PERFECT and much better than any Grand Theft Auto may have existed, but I can not wait to see what they have prepared for the sequel. Rockstar is undoubtedly the king of the sandbox!
  44. Oct 15, 2010
    10
    Red Dead Redepmtion is an incredible game, for me it beats GTA. This game definetly deserves its pace as one of the greatest games of all time. The graphics, characters and story all add up to this rockstar masterpiece. It's a must have if you don't already have this you should purchase it right away. Quality Game!
  45. Oct 17, 2010
    10
    One of the greatest games of all time. In fact, it's a game that just evolves with the use of the online free roam and all the challenges packed into it as well as the other online game modes. Graphically it is jaw droppingly good.

    Anyone giving this game less than 8 confuses me. It is a masterpiece both on and offline and there really can be no disputing that. Even if it isn't your
    One of the greatest games of all time. In fact, it's a game that just evolves with the use of the online free roam and all the challenges packed into it as well as the other online game modes. Graphically it is jaw droppingly good.

    Anyone giving this game less than 8 confuses me. It is a masterpiece both on and offline and there really can be no disputing that. Even if it isn't your type of game, it's qualities cannot be ignored.
    Expand
  46. Oct 29, 2010
    10
    Red Dead Redemption is THE most stunning free roam experience ever to date in a video game. From the Mexican fortress to the Pine Forests in the North, you simply cannot be unimpressed with such excellence.
    Some superb attention to detail is also present as the sort of things you would say "wouldn't it be good if...." are actually present whether it be in the controls, the navigation, the
    Red Dead Redemption is THE most stunning free roam experience ever to date in a video game. From the Mexican fortress to the Pine Forests in the North, you simply cannot be unimpressed with such excellence.
    Some superb attention to detail is also present as the sort of things you would say "wouldn't it be good if...." are actually present whether it be in the controls, the navigation, the transport system, the justice system or pretty much everything has a brilliant feel to it and it really is a joy to play! For example, whilst riding your noble steed, you can keep him travelling at the same speed as the AI you are escorting or following - Yes, stallions do indeed have cruise control it would seem! Superb small features like this really add to the experience.

    This is the sort of game which is not at all predictable though, you find yourself travelling at your own pace only to be savaged by a bear or cougar - so keep your gun at the ready and your eyes peeled as you are bound to gape onscreen if you lose 10 minutes worth of hunting goods in a split second...

    Despite its minor niggles, this game would have been harder to make better than it was before its actual release...So close to perfect it is!
    Expand
  47. Nov 1, 2010
    10
    Is Red Dead Redemption a masterpiece?
    Simple answer: Yes!
    "Why?" you ask. Because it takes the already amazing Grand Theft Auto IV formula and improves it. The storyline is right up there with any game that I have played and in all fairness would make a brilliant Hollywood Epic western. The game starts off fairly slow, don't worry the game benefits hugely from this. It makes the game
    Is Red Dead Redemption a masterpiece?
    Simple answer: Yes!
    "Why?" you ask.
    Because it takes the already amazing Grand Theft Auto IV formula and improves it. The storyline is right up there with any game that I have played and in all fairness would make a brilliant Hollywood Epic western. The game starts off fairly slow, don't worry the game benefits hugely from this. It makes the game feel more real as you will find out if you've played the game. The missions are varied and are superb fun. I have completed the game three times now and still enjoy getting back on my horse and ride across the beautiful landscape. There has been plenty of times when I've been riding my horse when I have just stopped to look at the beautiful scenery. The games graphics are slightly improved upon from Grand Theft Auto and the facial details are brilliant, you really get a sense of how the character is feeling. This is another high point as you become attached to certain characters throughout the game and grow to care about how the story pans out. Take on grizzly bears, climb mountains, become a train robber. There are cool side missions that you can complete as well. There is 30-40 hours of game play here for you to spend your time with and it is well and truly time well spent. Epic gaming, Masterpiece of a story. Buy now for some awesome gaming!
    Expand
  48. Nov 7, 2010
    10
    This is my favourite 2010 game. I've just completed the main adventure, if I can say there is a main adventure. Plenty to do, the sense of freedom is un matched...... just waiting assassin's III to see if there is a game that can match rockstar masterpiece. Definitely buy it, got to the nearest store and tell all your friends you are busy for the entire month........!!!!!!
  49. Nov 10, 2010
    10
    Simply put, this is one of the greatest games ever made. It is a true masterpiece. The world is dense and gorgeous, and playing through the game feels like you're playing through a classic western film. Even without the DLC (which are very reasonably priced - especially the 6+ hour single-player 'Undead Nightmare') the game offers hours and hours of single player and multiplayer fun.Simply put, this is one of the greatest games ever made. It is a true masterpiece. The world is dense and gorgeous, and playing through the game feels like you're playing through a classic western film. Even without the DLC (which are very reasonably priced - especially the 6+ hour single-player 'Undead Nightmare') the game offers hours and hours of single player and multiplayer fun. Well done, Rockstar! Expand
  50. Nov 12, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Red Dead Redemption is the newest game from rockstar, it follows on from its cousin Red Dead Revolver which was released in May 2004.
    Red Dead in general has "Grown up" since then, and has a complete make over with graphics, sounds, and the sand box effect gameplay. The sand box effect gives you an amazing feel for reality and continuous adventure, you will be able to tame and break your own wild horses, drink, steal money, objects, ammo, and carts etc. you will also meet alot of new friends that may be able to help you finish your quest.
    After being left for dead by your band of brothers you seek revenge and the return of your family from the grips of the government, to do this you must find and kill all of your brothers and take down Bill Williamson, and Dutch to get your family back
    You begin your journey in The Old West, from there you meet people, make friends, and make enemys, after a certain time and certain missions you "Unlock" the bridge to Mexico (This is a typical thing for rockstar to do since they've been doing it since GTA III). As you go through Mexico you help friends escape the country and help feed the revolotion to make a better Mexico for all. After been sent to Mexico and picked up by the Amercian Government, you travel to Blackwater where you will settle this once and for all, after doing just a few missions for people you are led into Tall Trees and into a camp, this is where you will find Dutch and Kill him.
    Above all i think Red Dead Redemption is a beautiful game, very clear and extremely addictive, being able to hunt and kill animals for money is a bonus. To conclude i think Red Dead Redemption and Rockstar deserves an award, this is truely a masterpierce of gaming technology, anyway one who loves Western games or Loved the old Red Dead Revolver will love this one, It has plenty of things to do with Side missions, including Wanted Posters, Deliveries, Horse Breaking, and General Random tasks set by AI Strangers.
    This Game Is Perfect.
    Expand
  51. Nov 12, 2010
    10
    Seriously, If you dont have anything positive to say about this game its most definately because you have no idea what your talking about.. This game is definitely a Masterpiece... The only thing I would change is having the ability to change views...but thats just me being picky. Rockstar...Keep making games like this. Controls are fluid, Game is lengthy, story is impecible. You know whenSeriously, If you dont have anything positive to say about this game its most definately because you have no idea what your talking about.. This game is definitely a Masterpiece... The only thing I would change is having the ability to change views...but thats just me being picky. Rockstar...Keep making games like this. Controls are fluid, Game is lengthy, story is impecible. You know when a game is good when A, you dream about it or B you think about it all day long at work or school. I Give this Game the OFFICIAL LUCAS GAME OF THE YEAR AWARD....which is totally Legit since Ive been gaming since I was 5(im 24 now) and every single game Ive ever liked a lot ended up being a high rated game... Expand
  52. Jan 5, 2012
    10
    This game is perfect. The story is great, and you rarely find a game that provides this much freedom, but still keeps you busy and thoroughly entertained. I don't know why people are complaining about the voice acting because I personally think it is absolutely spot on. Yes, you can get tired of the old western setting and music, but that is hardly a gripe. You can get tired of justThis game is perfect. The story is great, and you rarely find a game that provides this much freedom, but still keeps you busy and thoroughly entertained. I don't know why people are complaining about the voice acting because I personally think it is absolutely spot on. Yes, you can get tired of the old western setting and music, but that is hardly a gripe. You can get tired of just about anything, no matter how perfect it is. The characters in this game barely ever seem like they blend together like so many others and the storyline is fantastic. Maybe this is my favorite game only because I haven't played GTA IV and don't see the similarity's, but honestly, I could care less. Expand
  53. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    First off, I didn't like GTA IV, not at all. So when I picked up Red Dead Redemption, I was hesitant. This ended up being the best open world game I've ever played. The world of Red Dead was beautiful, deep, and everything good, just wow. The story was long, the side quests were never ending, and the replay value was unbelievably high.
  54. Nov 28, 2010
    10
    This game is not Grand Theft Auto 4! Calling this game GTA 4 is like saying Modern Warfare 2 is Black Ops, not even close. This isn't GTA in the wild west, this game is graphically superior and more engrossing. Plus it is one of the longest games I have ever played. The map is massive and there are tons of DLC. Don't even get me started on Undead Nightmare. I enjoyed this game a hell of aThis game is not Grand Theft Auto 4! Calling this game GTA 4 is like saying Modern Warfare 2 is Black Ops, not even close. This isn't GTA in the wild west, this game is graphically superior and more engrossing. Plus it is one of the longest games I have ever played. The map is massive and there are tons of DLC. Don't even get me started on Undead Nightmare. I enjoyed this game a hell of a lot more than GTA because I actually felt like the good guy. I just wish the controls were better. 10/10 Expand
  55. SFN
    Jan 4, 2011
    10
    the game is absolutly amazing, i mean the stroy line behind it is really really good, the graphics are amazing!!! Rockstar really out did themselfves yet again with this game, this is definitly worth every single pit of your money and trust me you"ll be glad you bought it.
  56. Jan 23, 2011
    10
    Red Dead Redemption is the best game to release in 2010 and is easily one of the best games this console generation. Rockstar does it again and creates yet another masterpiece. The insane attention to detail that Rockstar is known for returns. GTA IV featured by far the most realistic and authentic urban landscape ever seen in a sandbox game, and now RDR has the rural landscape coveredRed Dead Redemption is the best game to release in 2010 and is easily one of the best games this console generation. Rockstar does it again and creates yet another masterpiece. The insane attention to detail that Rockstar is known for returns. GTA IV featured by far the most realistic and authentic urban landscape ever seen in a sandbox game, and now RDR has the rural landscape covered too. RDR runs on the same engine as GTA IV, but it has since been overhauled. The scenery is breathtaking, with huge expanses of desert and forest (but mostly desert). And this isn't some copy/paste job like in Just Cause 2; every area has its own unique look and feel, just like Liberty City in GTA IV. The day and night cycle is wonderful, with the most beautiful sunsets and sunrises you've ever seen in a video game. The weather effects are also brilliant. Just wait until you see those storm clouds rolling in from the distance and experience your first RDR thunderstorm. You'll get goose bumps from how realistic this game is.

    RDR has a nice, long storyline and a mission structure just like GTA. The motion capture and voice acting in the cutscenes is phenomenal. No one does it like Rockstar. This is one game where you will never want to skip the cutscenes. Espceially with the sudden and shocking ending., one of the best ever seen in a video game. The gameplay mechanics are fantastic. The shooting and aiming are much improved from GTA IV, and the Dead Eye mechanic , which allows you to slow down time, is perfectly implemented. When you're not engaging in the main plot, you have a plethora of side missions to take part in. You have the persistent challenges that you can complete at any time (Treasure Hunting, Sharpshooting, etc) and you will face many random encounters out there in the wilderness. There's also poker and a few other activities if you want to take a break from the action.

    The Euphoria physics engine is back from GTA IV and it is better than ever. These are the most realistic physics you will ever see in a video game, simply put. The horse animations are something to behold as well. Rockstar pays attention to even the tiniest details and you will be truly impressed by all the game's little nuances.

    Now the single player alone gives you far more value than you would get from almost any other game, but then you have the multiplayer on top of it. There are many different modes, but Free Roam is really all you need to roam the entire game world with your friends and do whatever you want. You also have persistant challenges in multiplayer, just like the single player, so there's always something to do. You also level up by gaining experience from various activities throughout the world. Then there's the fantastic (free) co-op DLC pack that adds a bunch of cooperative missions to the multiplayer. this is some of the most fun you'll have when you're not competing against your friends but actually working with them to complete your goals.

    Overall, RDR is one incredible package and this game is not to be missed. It is the greatest game since Grand Theft Auto IV and I can't wait to see what Rockstar has in store for us next...
    Expand
  57. May 16, 2011
    10
    This is simply one of the best games i have ever played, with a amazing story, great weapons and game play, lots of interesting people to meet, great side quests and its online multi player is great. If I had one thing to say was not amazing it would be the fact that it has alot of glitches but we can forgive it for this as downlodable content is great.
  58. Mar 1, 2011
    10
    1. This game is why video games were created. Red Dead is an open world, sand box Western. Sounds orgasmic, and it is. I luv westerns, so you might think im being biased, but i will not for this review. The Pro's- Graphics are gorgeous, detailed and very realistic. Character models are perfect. There is an awesome amount of detail in this world such as weather affects, um, when you shoot1. This game is why video games were created. Red Dead is an open world, sand box Western. Sounds orgasmic, and it is. I luv westerns, so you might think im being biased, but i will not for this review. The Pro's- Graphics are gorgeous, detailed and very realistic. Character models are perfect. There is an awesome amount of detail in this world such as weather affects, um, when you shoot somebody blood will come out of that limb and since R* added Euphoria it makes it almost like a movie. You shoot somebody on their left arm their gonna fall to their left and try and crawl away. Sound- guns sound real, horses sound real as they travel over wood bridge, dirt roads, etc. especially if you have surround sound. Story- is about a bounty hunter after his "fallen" comrades. John Marston (main character) used to be in a gang, he changed his ways and now the U.S. government kidnapped his wife and son in exchange for his comrades. The story introduces you to amazing life like characters that, throughout the game you start to feel as if you start to know them, you have feelings for these characters, and its amazing. By the end you feel all these emotions for John. The ending leaves you gasping for breath, and your heart racing, this game is a work of art. Setting- Red Dead takes you into Texas, Mexico, and West elizabeth (which is a north eastern U.S feel to it) The detail from the towns in the middle of nowhere, huge pillars of rock in mexico to the Woods and plains of West Elizabeth is amazing and a grand scale. Another great thing about this game is replay value, im currently playing the story for the 2nd time. And i still love it. There are so many challenges that aren't to hard but not easy, and really serves you a balanced challenges. CONS- there are some frame rate issues where i would be sprinting into a town and it would go slow mo, if u will. adn when skinning or picking a flower in a bush, john will go through the plant or his horse, which dampens the experience for a minute. Other than that its a great game. This is a Grand Masterpiece of gaming. You must play this game, i give it a 9.6 out of 10 Expand
  59. Mar 24, 2011
    10
    I never played a western shooter before, but rockstar nails the western genre perfectly. I loved how different areas reflected different topography of the western states. The visual graphics are stunning. I never got tired of seeing the sunset. The only problems I had with the game was that most of the characters gave me the creeps and that the plot line was so ambiguous that I never feltI never played a western shooter before, but rockstar nails the western genre perfectly. I loved how different areas reflected different topography of the western states. The visual graphics are stunning. I never got tired of seeing the sunset. The only problems I had with the game was that most of the characters gave me the creeps and that the plot line was so ambiguous that I never felt like I had a family that I was trying to save. Not much replay value for me though. Expand
  60. Mar 3, 2012
    10
    A bold and confident game that perfectly recreates its setting. RDR doesn't feel like it has to keep players in a constant adrenaline rush, instead focusing on realism and authenticity. The story is interesting even if takes a while to truly take off. It looks amazing and the soundtrack is fantastic. The voice acting and writing are some of the best you'll see in a video game. MultiplayerA bold and confident game that perfectly recreates its setting. RDR doesn't feel like it has to keep players in a constant adrenaline rush, instead focusing on realism and authenticity. The story is interesting even if takes a while to truly take off. It looks amazing and the soundtrack is fantastic. The voice acting and writing are some of the best you'll see in a video game. Multiplayer doesn't feel tacked on and gives players a nice change of pace. It also has a nice balance of co-operative and competitive game modes. RDR has a huge amount of excellent content and is genuinely a must-buy. Expand
  61. CPB
    Apr 6, 2011
    10
    This is one of my favorite games of all time, and with good reason. Great storyline (for some reason I thought I was playing 'the man with no name' trilogy), the shooting mechanic feels 10x better then GTA 4's, damage is shown when shooting a enemy (when you shoot someone in the head you actually see a disgusting mess of a exit wound which is a good thing), so many weapons it's ridiculous,This is one of my favorite games of all time, and with good reason. Great storyline (for some reason I thought I was playing 'the man with no name' trilogy), the shooting mechanic feels 10x better then GTA 4's, damage is shown when shooting a enemy (when you shoot someone in the head you actually see a disgusting mess of a exit wound which is a good thing), so many weapons it's ridiculous, and a more like able character (John Marston doesn't complain like a frenchman like Niko Bellic). The only bad thing is if you play as a bad guy it doesn't really go well with the story (since they portray you as a good guy in the story). But besides that it is perfect- 9.9 Expand
  62. Mar 16, 2011
    10
    Absolutley brilliant,vision>budget>execution.Red Dead is the way it should be,amazing visuals,soundtrack,voice acting and some good story telling coulped with fantastic gameplay and brilliant multiplayer.Gett it ,buy it,steall it ,borrow it whatever just make sure you play this bad boy.
  63. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    it's a game absolutly great in all, better than GTA 4. The world is huge and very real, it seems to be in a old west film. I have purchased an Xbox 360 only to play with RDR, I love this game! Rockstar Games Rules!!! Now we want Read Dead Redemption 2
  64. Apr 25, 2011
    10
    Brilliant game. heavily engaging. one of those rare experiences where you procrastinate in the game so it won't end. literally the only thing in this game that i wouldn't say was well done is the controls but a series of bullet time and auto aim features really help to smooth it out. Amazing graphics and spectacular SFX, great voice acting and even better story line. would heavilyBrilliant game. heavily engaging. one of those rare experiences where you procrastinate in the game so it won't end. literally the only thing in this game that i wouldn't say was well done is the controls but a series of bullet time and auto aim features really help to smooth it out. Amazing graphics and spectacular SFX, great voice acting and even better story line. would heavily recommend this to anyone thinking about it. Expand
  65. Apr 5, 2011
    10
    This game more accurately captures Western movies than any other one out there. To start, it has an incredibly intense, moving, and addicting storyline. The characters are believable. You really grow close to them, especially the protagonist. The voice-acting is beyond superb. The graphics are incredible. The game boasts multiple hours of playtime, and you will love almost every second ofThis game more accurately captures Western movies than any other one out there. To start, it has an incredibly intense, moving, and addicting storyline. The characters are believable. You really grow close to them, especially the protagonist. The voice-acting is beyond superb. The graphics are incredible. The game boasts multiple hours of playtime, and you will love almost every second of the campaign. Once the campaign is done, you can hop into exciting multiplayer game modes and free roam, or you can do some solo free roam - and with so many side quests and possibilities, the solo free roam itself can entertain you for hours. All in all, this game revolutionized Western games and GTA-style free roam games alike. The downsides? You can only throw so much dynamite into a bar before everyone is dead. Expand
  66. Apr 6, 2011
    10
    One word..wow

    This game is a brilliant master piece, beautiful stunning graphics and sound to go with it. The story is well thought out, although fun to play online to me its more of a single player game but still being able to take that online is great. I have never been so into a game like this one, so many different species of wildlife to hunt and skin. One of the best features of
    One word..wow

    This game is a brilliant master piece, beautiful stunning graphics and sound to go with it. The story is well thought out, although fun to play online to me its more of a single player game but still being able to take that online is great. I have never been so into a game like this one, so many different species of wildlife to hunt and skin. One of the best features of this game I like is the horses, the way they look and handle are perfect. I fell in love with this game the moment I started playing, the jobs you can take on are fun and playing poker and horse shoes etc. Its a very captivating experience it makes you feel like your a part of the old west, I never was a fan of and old west theme until I played this game. You can spend countless hours on this game and not cover all of the land, you can almost live inside this game.
    Expand
  67. Sep 28, 2012
    10
    I'm a bit late for this awesome wild-west adventure. Everything is near perfect and almost have nothing to complain about. Easily falling in love with and feeling the atmosphere of the wild west is not the only things you got from the game. More to be explored
  68. Apr 6, 2012
    10
    There is a reason why this game is in the TOP 10 360 games of all time. Rockstar nailed it with this one. From the soundtrack, to the sets, to the voice acting; everything screams cowboy! The story is absolutely amazing and John Marston is one of the best if not THE best characters I've seen in a game. Get out the Jameson and poor yourself a glass while you settle in for one of the bestThere is a reason why this game is in the TOP 10 360 games of all time. Rockstar nailed it with this one. From the soundtrack, to the sets, to the voice acting; everything screams cowboy! The story is absolutely amazing and John Marston is one of the best if not THE best characters I've seen in a game. Get out the Jameson and poor yourself a glass while you settle in for one of the best video game experiences of your life! Expand
  69. Oct 17, 2011
    10
    This game is amazing. The storyline is the best I ever saw in a game, the multiplayer is awesome. There's so much to do in this game. Also the characters and their animations are well designed and it's easy to feel with Marston. The graphics are quite good, nothing special though.
    Just buy it, you'll be happy you bought it.
  70. May 6, 2011
    10
    Guess what! I actually have reasons to back up the perfect score i gave this game rather than just saying "Sweet buy this now". This game is sweet though. This game is like gta4, you wanna know why? IT'S MADE BY THE SAME PEOPLE! This game really is a masterpiece. The scenery is beautiful and sometimes actually jawdropping. The voice acting is great but far from perfect. As for characterGuess what! I actually have reasons to back up the perfect score i gave this game rather than just saying "Sweet buy this now". This game is sweet though. This game is like gta4, you wanna know why? IT'S MADE BY THE SAME PEOPLE! This game really is a masterpiece. The scenery is beautiful and sometimes actually jawdropping. The voice acting is great but far from perfect. As for character animations: they are smooth and for the most part realistic (jumping freakin sucks) The game plays like gta4 but is that really bad? That game is no doubt game of 2008. It is a great game and so is Red Dead. There really isnt a reason to not buy it. Unless you have no money. Expand
  71. May 23, 2011
    10
    Despite Red Dead having a few minor problems as far as replay ability (IMO) online, Red Dead Redemption is the best cowboy game, to date. It was just recently Rockstar released their latest Sandbox game "LA Noire" which had success of it's own, but Red Dead was the start of showing that Sand box games can be fun not because you can murder whoever you want. The game lets you play throughDespite Red Dead having a few minor problems as far as replay ability (IMO) online, Red Dead Redemption is the best cowboy game, to date. It was just recently Rockstar released their latest Sandbox game "LA Noire" which had success of it's own, but Red Dead was the start of showing that Sand box games can be fun not because you can murder whoever you want. The game lets you play through a compelling story and along the way do side missions/stories that are overall fun. The engine handles really well to the demanding graphics and the game opened my eyes to the full potential of western games (which originally I thought would be slow paced and they wouldn't be as fun unless they were FPS), not to mention the sand box aspect was a complete surprise to me, and knocked my socks off when I found the amount of interaction in the world. The only people I could find hating this game are people who didn't enjoy the multiplayer, or people who can't stand fun sand box games that AREN'T Grand Theft Auto. Expand
  72. May 12, 2011
    10
    Fantastic game! It is virtually a living world where you can do anything. Great story, great characters. This game is limited only by your imagination!
  73. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    Uncharted 2 is not just a game, it's an experience that every gamer needs to go through. It matters not whether you are a huge fan of third person shooters; if you are a fan of a quality product, Uncharted 2 will not disappoint. While not perfect, it's as close to perfection as a game can come.
  74. Jun 14, 2011
    10
    Well everyone who says this game is just GTAIV in a western setting is smoking some terrible crap lol actually if anything its better than the GTA series the story is compelling and i actually cared about John Marston. Niko Bellic and that other Italian character i seem to forget about i just dont really care what happens to them now john marston, he has character his background story mayWell everyone who says this game is just GTAIV in a western setting is smoking some terrible crap lol actually if anything its better than the GTA series the story is compelling and i actually cared about John Marston. Niko Bellic and that other Italian character i seem to forget about i just dont really care what happens to them now john marston, he has character his background story may be a little cliche but never the less its solid. The game's setting puts you right in a western movie, Every character is either meaningful or just amusing, Besides riding your horse in chase or running away from bad guys in the open west is much more fun that a city infested with bad AI drivers. Voice acting is solid too a lot of the dialogue and way of talk back then is implemented in the game yeah that might not be a big deal but it was for me. As for the graphics theyre solid not AMAZING but solid. The Gameplay is just about the same as GTAIV of course with a few additions, youre a western gunslinger and this is where the setting makes all the difference, the mutiplayer in my opinion could use some work but it is quite solid and fun!... Over all this game is FREAKIN AWESOME its definitely a keeper and worth paying money for it, Ive never played through a rockstar game twice until Red Dead Redemption was released Expand
  75. May 26, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is the greatest game I've ever played. It's a game of firsts.It's the first game to actually make me stop and look at the scenery, the first game that I completed 100%, the first game that I still play a year later, the first game that brought me to tears and I'm not just talking about the end. The pleasence house stranger mission made me feel so bad when I hurt an old man just to save some dollars.End comments: This game is art. Expand
  76. Jun 1, 2011
    10
    Grand Theft Equine is far from a bad thing. Red Dead Redemption takes what makes GTA great and applies it to a world not often used in video games. When you aren't doing story missions, there are tons of things to do in the game world like gambling, getting into a shoot out or even just watching the sun set. After you finish the 30 hour campaign, you can jump online to experience a numberGrand Theft Equine is far from a bad thing. Red Dead Redemption takes what makes GTA great and applies it to a world not often used in video games. When you aren't doing story missions, there are tons of things to do in the game world like gambling, getting into a shoot out or even just watching the sun set. After you finish the 30 hour campaign, you can jump online to experience a number of different game modes with your friends. From open world to shoot outs to horse races, Red Dead Redemption can potentially dwindle hours of your life away. Do yourself a favor and experience this game for yourself. Expand
  77. Jun 3, 2011
    10
    Rockstar may have taken the action to 1911, but this is BY FAR one of the best open world games out there! Sure you cant drive a car but this game has the best gunplay ive ever seen.
  78. Jul 11, 2011
    10
    This really is a tour de force. The more I play, the better it gets. Keep coming back to this time and time again, which makes it very special. One thing to note, I think it needs an HD setup. I first played before my TV was upgraded, and it needs the detail of HD to be fully appreciated.
  79. Jun 27, 2011
    10
    Fantastic Game, Nothing like GTA4, (Which I disliked a lot) This game had a lot to do, Way more than GTA4. Tons of game play, and the voice acting is absolutely incredible. It's the most convincing, best acting I have personally ever heard from a video game. Being able to choose between good and evil, stop bandits, or hold up a bank, help out neighbors, or still a stage coach, captureFantastic Game, Nothing like GTA4, (Which I disliked a lot) This game had a lot to do, Way more than GTA4. Tons of game play, and the voice acting is absolutely incredible. It's the most convincing, best acting I have personally ever heard from a video game. Being able to choose between good and evil, stop bandits, or hold up a bank, help out neighbors, or still a stage coach, capture criminals, or hold up a train, it gives you so much freedom, and allows for so much. The controls are a little hard to master, but are very unique, and has a lot of things you can do at once, EX: On horse press A rapidly for speed, hold down LT To Aim, While holding B To Look towards important characters/places, etc, while turning the joysticks to steer, while press RT to shoot. But it makes it so unique, and so fun. The game blew me away, I thought it was be similar to GTA4, (Which I hated) But it's nothing like it. It's so much different, and it is spectacular, you won't regret this game, I PROMISE. Expand
  80. Nov 2, 2011
    10
    This is my favorite game of all time. There has never been a better soundtrack available on any game. The landscape is absolutely gorgeous. The special effects are mind blowing. The weather changes... sunrise, sunset, dusk, midnight, dawn....seriously, they make me gasp...they are so artfully done and really convince you about the passing of time. Yes, this is GTA on a horse. Yes,This is my favorite game of all time. There has never been a better soundtrack available on any game. The landscape is absolutely gorgeous. The special effects are mind blowing. The weather changes... sunrise, sunset, dusk, midnight, dawn....seriously, they make me gasp...they are so artfully done and really convince you about the passing of time. Yes, this is GTA on a horse. Yes, Rockstar has the same formula for all of their releases....but that is why they are the best. They have perfected this genre. So why change something that works. I'm sure they will innovate and grow with future releases...but they pull off the cowboy version and go on to create the best western game of all time. After a year and a half of playing this game, I still love it, and I still enjoy the multiplayer. There are some incredibly skilled players playing Red Dead Redemption and I have met some really great people during my time playing. This is a must have game. As close to perfect as it gets as it offers something for every player. Expand
  81. Aug 4, 2011
    10
    Red Dead Redemption is a blast!! The storyline is awesome, a huge world to explore, cool gameplay mechanics like Deadeye and the best graphics out there. This is more than Grand Theft Auto 4 with horses. I strongly recommend this game to gamers everywhere. 10/10
  82. Jul 7, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. For me the best game of the year 2010, excelent graphics, nice sound and jogability, nice adaptation of wild west, and for bad critics: isn't a GTA, isn't all sandboox are "GTA'S", this game is RED DEAD a great game adapted on wild west with great story to tell about the protagonist.
    This game is for lovers of games adapteds in a antigue epic, isnt for bad players.
    Expand
  83. Dec 23, 2011
    10
    If you love Grand Theft Auto, you'll love this, game is typical of Rockstar, fantastic story, the way they capture the Wild West is amazing, the game had me daydreaming about being a cowboy. If you haven't, do not hesitate to buy it and enjoy, this is a gameplay game, not about the graphics or the franchise, this is what games should be all about (even though the graphics are polished).
  84. Jul 23, 2011
    10
    BEST GAME EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I am obsessed with this game and I haven't even played multiplayer yet. The story is fantastic you learn to care for this character and the people around him you also learn to hate certain characters it has a Fallout like karma system. It looks like they have filmed this in 1000000000000000000000p. It sounds like they have recorded theBEST GAME EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I am obsessed with this game and I haven't even played multiplayer yet. The story is fantastic you learn to care for this character and the people around him you also learn to hate certain characters it has a Fallout like karma system. It looks like they have filmed this in 1000000000000000000000p. It sounds like they have recorded the real old west with todays sound technology it is awesome 100000/10 Expand
  85. Jul 20, 2011
    10
    Wow... What a masterpiece. The story is amazing, game play, just all out addicting. It has some replay value, for some players. I just started playing this game all over again after a year. Such an adventurous story line with great composed music. The ending of the story made me get goosebumps, I started to feel emotions for this fictional character. A strong hard working man, a bit of anWow... What a masterpiece. The story is amazing, game play, just all out addicting. It has some replay value, for some players. I just started playing this game all over again after a year. Such an adventurous story line with great composed music. The ending of the story made me get goosebumps, I started to feel emotions for this fictional character. A strong hard working man, a bit of an idiot, but very loving, just dies. Honest to god, I think this video game with it's amazing story that fills many people with emotions, will probably even make a psychopath cry. RIP John Marston. Those of you who says it is another GTA game just set in a WESTERN theme, are just naive people that "judge a book by it's cover". Expand
  86. Jul 26, 2011
    10
    Experience the wild west like never before.In Red Dead Redemption you play with the wild gunslinger John Martson who is trying to revenge against the gangster who left him to die.The game is an open world style like Gta ,La Noire,etc that is the style that Rockstar games uses on their games.You can explore the open wild world of Red DEAD REDEMPTION by hunting animals,taking their skin forExperience the wild west like never before.In Red Dead Redemption you play with the wild gunslinger John Martson who is trying to revenge against the gangster who left him to die.The game is an open world style like Gta ,La Noire,etc that is the style that Rockstar games uses on their games.You can explore the open wild world of Red DEAD REDEMPTION by hunting animals,taking their skin for trading,finishing tasks for strangers,completing missions,purchasing homes to save your game,and travelling from MEXICO to US.The gameplay is so much fun because of the accurate controlling of the gun,the simple,easy covering system,the variety of weapons in the game like a wenchester repeater,the knife,the lasso,the shotgun,etc.Very good graphics,high quality textures,realistic landscapes of the mountains,the rivers,and the desserts.The Rockstar team are very well on representing the wild west by the so many details in the game,the old saloons,the houses,the horses,and the high mountains.Strong story of John Martson who is working with the US government agent Edgar Ross to kill the outlaws,in his journey he went to mexico to revenge from Bill Williamson that was his best friend,he was involved with the Mexican revolution against the president,and with the president of mexico.After finishing his deeds with government,he went to his house to see his wife Abigail,his son Jack,and Uncle.Lefting behind the harsh world that he was living in ,but the surprise is the government after making him to work with them,They decided to kill him like a dog but his wife and his son have escaped from them.Jack Martson has grown up to seek revenge for his father.The possitives are good gameplay,strong story,good graphics,fun missions,long map to explore,good voice acting,fun multiplayer.The negatives are the dead eye feature that lets you to kill multiple enemies fast which makes the enemies week and non competitive,and the sadly ending.I am waiting for the next Red Dead Redemption maybe they will make Jack martson the new character in the game.(Sorry for my bad English). Expand
  87. Apr 9, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Well , what can I say about this master piece? This was one hell of a journey and I loved and lived each and every moment of it !!
    Graphics: Beside some minor glitches this is one beautiful game running on a 5 year old machine without any frame rate drop. Just wow! Just gorgeous. 10/10
    Story: This was a wonderful journey.A master piece story...10/10 little sad though.
    gameplay : 10/10.With many side quest and other stuffs to do!!
    Expand
  88. Aug 4, 2011
    10
    Rockstar have done it again... they have made another amazing game proving that Rockstar are the greatest game developers ever. Red Dead is one of the best games ive ever played, it made cowboys cool again. the graphics are pretty nice looking, and the story line is amazing, its not really anything like and GTA games, it still has those GTA qualities. The multiplayer was amazing, if youRockstar have done it again... they have made another amazing game proving that Rockstar are the greatest game developers ever. Red Dead is one of the best games ive ever played, it made cowboys cool again. the graphics are pretty nice looking, and the story line is amazing, its not really anything like and GTA games, it still has those GTA qualities. The multiplayer was amazing, if you ever see this game in a shop surrounded by a million other games, buy this game you will not regret it... the DLC are amazing, and i really cant put into words how good this game is. the map is huge. The game is addicting like hell. Red dead is defently a game i would play to its fullest, because its never boring. I enjoy the freeroam multiplayer because it was a good way to go and do gang hideouts with friends. I love how realistic the multiplayer is. When you are on the mic only people near by can hear you, and this is really fun when its full of 10 year olds that you throw dynamite at and they get all annoyed, and thats what makes this game such a fun game to play. This game is a 10/10 always, i i hope that another game is made, becuase i know it will be even better, because RockStar has never dissapointed gamers. Expand
  89. Dec 20, 2011
    10
    This is easily in the top 3 games I've ever played with Skyrim and Fallout 3. First off let's get the bad things out of the way, the story is a bit generic and the horse riding can be a bit tricky. It has great voice acting, gambling and spectaculer multiplayer. As a third person shooter it's the best I've ever seen, there is just so much extra things to do. You can gamble, hunt downThis is easily in the top 3 games I've ever played with Skyrim and Fallout 3. First off let's get the bad things out of the way, the story is a bit generic and the horse riding can be a bit tricky. It has great voice acting, gambling and spectaculer multiplayer. As a third person shooter it's the best I've ever seen, there is just so much extra things to do. You can gamble, hunt down bounties, watch a movie and piss off the local gang, to name a few. But the most impressive thing is the graphics on a big tv it's the best I've ever seen. Rarely do you get a game so flawless you become so immersed that you wish you lived in the old west. Expand
  90. Aug 14, 2011
    10
    I LOVED this game. Game play was fantastic, the story was long and was always somthing new. I love the western theme, the AI was perfect. There was always somthing to do. The large map is exactly what draws me into a game and this map was pretty big. Lots thought went into this game, graphics are amazing and the fact John Marston was pretty much the baddest Mofo made him so likable. AI LOVED this game. Game play was fantastic, the story was long and was always somthing new. I love the western theme, the AI was perfect. There was always somthing to do. The large map is exactly what draws me into a game and this map was pretty big. Lots thought went into this game, graphics are amazing and the fact John Marston was pretty much the baddest Mofo made him so likable. A great game i really enjoyed it Expand
  91. Aug 30, 2011
    10
    Wow this has to be the greatest open world game ever. The characters and story are great. The multiplayer is thoroughly enjoyable. Rockstar have really made an amazing game. I can't wait what they do next
  92. Oct 27, 2011
    10
    This game is relatively easy to finish, and is basically a re-skin of GTA4. This is exactly what I like about it, because I didn't like GTA4 all that much, the story was lame to me. With a western theme, it seemed to spring to life. It has zero replay value for the story, but you can really be immersed in the environment here. There is a lot to love about the game, with difficultThis game is relatively easy to finish, and is basically a re-skin of GTA4. This is exactly what I like about it, because I didn't like GTA4 all that much, the story was lame to me. With a western theme, it seemed to spring to life. It has zero replay value for the story, but you can really be immersed in the environment here. There is a lot to love about the game, with difficult achievements that will milk you for 100 hours of your time into it. Is anyone that crazy? Yep. The undead nightmare expansion is nice as well. It all plays out like a movie, and not surprisingly that is what the market wanted at the time. This is the only viable western game to date. Now for a romanesque re-skinning of GTA4, please. Expand
  93. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    Tis is simply put one of the most wonderful games ive had the pleasure to play. I can spend hours on this game doing every little thing, just riding about and taking in the landscape and the story is grand and bittersweet. Rockstar have provided a great game and then lavised a bunch of extras on top of it and thats even before you get to the multiplayer mode.

    This game will go down as one
    Tis is simply put one of the most wonderful games ive had the pleasure to play. I can spend hours on this game doing every little thing, just riding about and taking in the landscape and the story is grand and bittersweet. Rockstar have provided a great game and then lavised a bunch of extras on top of it and thats even before you get to the multiplayer mode.

    This game will go down as one of the true greats.

    Blessed are the peacemakers
    Expand
  94. Oct 3, 2011
    10
    You NEED to buy this game, mp is really good, campaign is way cool, this will always be the best western shooter of all time. One of the best open world games in a long time. Makes GTA look like a d*** made it, literally.
  95. Oct 10, 2011
    10
    The story is near perfect with unforgettable moments and characters. It has an emotional and epic plot. The size of the game area is massive and has dozens of different side missions which will keep you occupied for hours! Multiplayer is top- notch and has so many fun and creative playlists! Rockstar has made their best game and best game of 2010! One of my favorite games that offersThe story is near perfect with unforgettable moments and characters. It has an emotional and epic plot. The size of the game area is massive and has dozens of different side missions which will keep you occupied for hours! Multiplayer is top- notch and has so many fun and creative playlists! Rockstar has made their best game and best game of 2010! One of my favorite games that offers hundreds of hours of offline gameplay alone! So ya get my point? BUY THIS GAME! Expand
  96. Oct 27, 2011
    10
    The Wild West shouldn't really appeal to me because I'm British, but then again, grew up with cartoons that sometimes had a Wild West theme for an episode; Red Dead Redemption is a pretty unique game; the story mission were great while it lasted, the graphics are brilliant, the gameplay is fantastic, the characters are likeable, and there is definitely lasting appeal in this game, with allThe Wild West shouldn't really appeal to me because I'm British, but then again, grew up with cartoons that sometimes had a Wild West theme for an episode; Red Dead Redemption is a pretty unique game; the story mission were great while it lasted, the graphics are brilliant, the gameplay is fantastic, the characters are likeable, and there is definitely lasting appeal in this game, with all the gambling games available; any GTA lover will adore this game Expand
  97. neo
    Nov 8, 2011
    10
    This game has been in stores for some time now. When you look at are still blown by how good they are. The characters move very realistic and the shadows fit in perfectly. It really is amazing to see the sun set down when riding on your horse through the sand. The sound is great too because of the great voice actors of the game. The gameplay is almost perfect, the shooting works great andThis game has been in stores for some time now. When you look at are still blown by how good they are. The characters move very realistic and the shadows fit in perfectly. It really is amazing to see the sun set down when riding on your horse through the sand. The sound is great too because of the great voice actors of the game. The gameplay is almost perfect, the shooting works great and the controls are easy to use. The game has so much to offer next to it's great missions. You can do everything a cowboy wants to do. There are tons of random events and side quests. The storyline is great too, overal this game really deserves a 10! Expand
  98. Dec 15, 2011
    10
    This game is one of the greatest games i have ever played. if not the BEST GAME EVER. i'm not a fan of GTA, I like a game with a bit more depth and story, and a bit more rough. The main character, Marston, is one of the most loveable characters I've come across in media. He's got a lot of history, and is trying to do things to make life better for his family. an x-gunslinger has been doneThis game is one of the greatest games i have ever played. if not the BEST GAME EVER. i'm not a fan of GTA, I like a game with a bit more depth and story, and a bit more rough. The main character, Marston, is one of the most loveable characters I've come across in media. He's got a lot of history, and is trying to do things to make life better for his family. an x-gunslinger has been done many times before in hollywood, but this game sheds another light on the whole cliche. If you like a good story, with an awesome ending (you will cry.) buy this game.

    As for the gameplay, every moment I've spent in this game I have thoroughly enjoyed. The game has an open world, and it's BEAUTIFUL. one of the best looking games around. I was so surprised to see such a big open world with such good graphics this gen. Halfway through the game you cross the border into mexico...and it makes the map even bigger. wow. The horse riding is amazing. sound design and music fit perfectly and make you feel like you're really there. the shooting is perfect, especially dead-eye which slows down time and makes you feel like a bad ass gunslinger. Theres so much to this game i can't really talk about it all. Go watch a video review. Theres side quests and things that are so awesome. so many items to collect, horses to break, bandits to capture, items to loot, animals to kill, places to explore... everything you need in a game, and an AMAZING story. BUY IT.
    Expand
  99. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Fantastic story, gameplay, graphics, sound, voice acting, mechanics, and polish. There is literally nothing I don't like about the single player aspect of this game. I can even forgive a particular side quest that I've never been able to complete. This review is strictly in terms of the single player. I gave multiplayer a shot online, but it's truly not worth playing, especially withFantastic story, gameplay, graphics, sound, voice acting, mechanics, and polish. There is literally nothing I don't like about the single player aspect of this game. I can even forgive a particular side quest that I've never been able to complete. This review is strictly in terms of the single player. I gave multiplayer a shot online, but it's truly not worth playing, especially with titles like Halo, Call of Duty, Gears of War, and Battlefield out there. If you want this game for the multiplayer, save your money. If you want, what is in my mind, the best single player game available on the 360, buy it. Expand
  100. Dec 15, 2011
    10
    Nothing short of Rockstar's finest work, and an example to all other games out there. This masterpiece took a brave step introducing the west back to a different generation of people, and it succeeded. A gripping storyline, gorgeous graphics, lots of side missions, a vibrant and gritty atmosphere, solid multiplayer, a beautiful score, Red Dead Redemption is gaming at its finest.
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 96 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 96 out of 96
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 96
  3. Negative: 0 out of 96
  1. 'Red Dead Redemption' is a must buy. Every Xbox 360 and Playstation 3 owner should play this game (as long as they're over 18 and not a member of PETA). The only reasons I can't give this game a full 10 are the annoying glitches, connection issues and the lack of difficulty.
  2. AceGamez
    97
    At times breathtaking, often awe-inspiring and never, ever dull, Red Dead Redemption is already one of 2010's biggest hitters, and is likely to become one of this generation's greatest achievements. A staggering work of art.
  3. 100
    RDR is a phenomenal game that stands out as one of the year's best. The utmost attention to detail is apparent in every aspect, and is something that no gamer should miss.