User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 2836 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 10, 2020
    10
    Nesse jogo praticamente tudo é perfeito os gráficos até hoje são lindos, a história é muito boa, dlcs, o online era divertido e a unica coisa que faltou foi legenda em português
  2. Sep 28, 2020
    10
    Red Dead Redemption is a masterpiece. RDR is a open world game set in the wild west (1911). The main story is great and the side missions and activities are great.
  3. Sep 15, 2020
    10
    The first Red Dead Redemption was released 10 years ago and can still keep up with the open world games released today. Great graphics, a tremendous wild west world, badass mechanics and a fascinating story. Everyone should have played this game once to understand why the hype around the Red Dead series is that understandably exaggerated. Buy it!
  4. Sep 2, 2020
    0
    Cockstar won't give us a proper GTA sequel, or Max Payne, or L.A. Noire (which is one of my all-time favourite games), but this overrated horse simulator had to get out, sure. I'll just give it a ZERO. Get your s--- together, Cockstar ffs!
  5. Sep 2, 2020
    8
    Gosto de jogos com mundo aberto, a variedade de espécies animais e biomas me impressiona. O problema desse tipo de jogo é que cansa muito rápido porque é sempre a mesma coisa , mas o jogo é legal.
  6. Aug 30, 2020
    9
    I originally gave this game a 7/10 but after re-playing it, I started to love this game again. Rockstar has succeeded at making a memorable game and protagonist. The story is great and the experience playing along with the story is as well. The soundtrack makes the story even better. RDR is kind of like GTA IV. It has a lot of funny moments but it executes the serious parts of the gameI originally gave this game a 7/10 but after re-playing it, I started to love this game again. Rockstar has succeeded at making a memorable game and protagonist. The story is great and the experience playing along with the story is as well. The soundtrack makes the story even better. RDR is kind of like GTA IV. It has a lot of funny moments but it executes the serious parts of the game wonderfully. This game is great. Expand
  7. Aug 29, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Nice game proshol pat raz i v igre prosta shikarnaia kontsovka tam chel zasluhil omnistiy a eti pidori emy ee ne vidayyt i ybivayout Expand
  8. Aug 24, 2020
    10
    melhor jogo já feito! ate hoje depois de 10 anos o jogo tem gráficos melhores do que alguns jogos lançados atualmente.
    A historia e os personagens e perfeita a trilha sonora e a melhor!
  9. Aug 23, 2020
    9
    Um dos melhores jogos de todos os tempos. Dispensa mais explicações. A Rockstar quando pega para fazer jogo sabe fazer algo excelente.
  10. Aug 21, 2020
    10
    Everything its fine but sometimes feels Boring traveler with a horse. Obviously its 1910, John Marston can't drive but año if he can, the car will run slow
  11. Aug 19, 2020
    9
    Отнимаю за убийство без каких-либо мотивов в конце.
  12. Jul 22, 2020
    10
    This game was huge at the time. Amazing story, graphics, the feeling that you were a cowboy in a old western movie, everything was perfect created.
  13. Jul 21, 2020
    10
    Bought it on the PS3, loved it. Bought it again on my Xbox One and still love it. I freaking LOVE this game. One of my favorite games I have ever played and there are days where I wish I could relive this game again without knowing the story and the outcome. The character John Martson is so freaking awesome he makes Clint Eastwood make a run for his money. For a game made in 2010, it blowsBought it on the PS3, loved it. Bought it again on my Xbox One and still love it. I freaking LOVE this game. One of my favorite games I have ever played and there are days where I wish I could relive this game again without knowing the story and the outcome. The character John Martson is so freaking awesome he makes Clint Eastwood make a run for his money. For a game made in 2010, it blows away some games that are being made today but that's probably because it was made by Rockstar and that team is just riddled with artists. Happy that they finally released the sequel, waiting for the third game now BUT i wouldn't mind if they were to remake this game for the upcoming PS5 because if Red Dead Redemption II looked amazing, imagine what this one would be like? If you've never played this game I implore you to go out and buy it because it's a MUST own for all gamer's especially if you love GTA and Westerns. Expand
  14. Jul 15, 2020
    10
    Remember I had so much fun with the game and its story 10 years ago. Good days.
  15. Jul 14, 2020
    3
    The story is boring and the gameplay is more basic than that of GTA 3, but it was fun to roleplay as a bandit or bounty hunter, I guess.
  16. Jul 3, 2020
    10
    This is without a doubt one of the best games I have ever played. A great open world with tons to do to the point where you never get bored. There are tons of collectibles, side missions, and mini games that you can play across the old west. You can hunt for buried treasure using treasure maps, go hunting, buy or sell goods at general stores and trading posts, go bounty hunting, gamble,This is without a doubt one of the best games I have ever played. A great open world with tons to do to the point where you never get bored. There are tons of collectibles, side missions, and mini games that you can play across the old west. You can hunt for buried treasure using treasure maps, go hunting, buy or sell goods at general stores and trading posts, go bounty hunting, gamble, it is amazing the amount of options the game gives you, and it has so much value and replayability. Rockstar did such a great job bringing this world to life. When you're playing it it feels like you are playing out an old western movie. If you play this now and you have never played it before you might be a little spoiled by today's standards for graphics, but the graphics are still very impressive for its time (the game was originally released in 2010). The gameplay is superb. There is a feature known as "Dead-Eye" where when you shoot you can take out multiple targets at once when you are shooting. The game has an "honor" system where depending on your actions in the story, side missions, or just chance encounters with NPC's, you will gain or lose honor, and gain or lose fame. My favorite part of the game hands down is the story. In this game, you play as John Marston, a former outlaw who is forced by the government to hunt down the remaining members of his old gang in order to save his wife and son whom the government is holding ransom in exchange for Marston's services. This game has so many memorable characters, is well written, and will make you so invested in the story to see what happens next. As the title suggests, it is a story centered around redemption, and a man being forced to face his past. This game will make you feel so many emotions, and it is such a well told story that I cannot give it enough praise. This is easily a 10/10 game that everyone should experience. Expand
  17. Jul 3, 2020
    9
    Incredible game!... Undead Nightmare also showed us how a great DLC should compliment the game.
    I adored the "Spaghetti-Western" feel & vibe through out the game. While I loved Red Dead 2, I wish it had more of original Red Dead's "flavor". In fact, I wish Rockstar would redo Red Dead Redemption and update it with the same graphics, engine, etc. that Red Dead 2 had -- before launching a
    Incredible game!... Undead Nightmare also showed us how a great DLC should compliment the game.
    I adored the "Spaghetti-Western" feel & vibe through out the game. While I loved Red Dead 2, I wish it had more of original Red Dead's "flavor". In fact, I wish Rockstar would redo Red Dead Redemption and update it with the same graphics, engine, etc. that Red Dead 2 had -- before launching a Red Dead 3!
    Expand
  18. Jul 1, 2020
    10
    Red Dead Redemption is one of the best story games of all time, the open world is great. Filled with great characters and gameplay.
  19. May 15, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The best rockstar games story by a long shot, is filled with memorable characters and a heartbreaking ending. I prefer Red Dead Redemption 1 on Xbox 360 due to the controllers button layout and that the game look slightly better on the Xbox 360 over the PS3. That just my console preference when playing this perfect game Expand
  20. Jun 25, 2020
    10
    Grand Theft Auto in the west (aka Red Dead Redemption) Is a remarkable achievement in story telling, and gameplay. With a super likable main character, and hours of fun action, and exploring a large open world makes this adventure an unforgettable one.
  21. Jun 24, 2020
    8
    I wouldn't say "The best wild west game ever!" for me this game is very great...for reasons

    Story-Great. Ost/Soundtrack-Awesome. Characters-Great (incluinding our myth of west john marston.) Honor-this system compared on rdr2 (which i will play later.) is okay it has some detalies on it. horses and controlling them-they are cool same as the controller moviments. Undead
    I wouldn't say "The best wild west game ever!" for me this game is very great...for reasons

    Story-Great.

    Ost/Soundtrack-Awesome.

    Characters-Great (incluinding our myth of west john marston.)

    Honor-this system compared on rdr2 (which i will play later.) is okay it has some detalies on it.

    horses and controlling them-they are cool same as the controller moviments.

    Undead Nightmare dlc-a great dlc and it has some spooky moments to be honest.

    And That's my review :D
    Expand
  22. Jun 21, 2020
    9
    Rockstar's best narrative game. Simple with an emphasis on the progression of John Marston creates a lasting and emotional impact.
  23. Jun 15, 2020
    10
    One of the best games of all time! Perfect and dynamic soundtrack, a very original and well told story, awesome character development and the protagonist is one of the best characters of the whole videogame industry. It's a whole masterpiece with a lot of things to do and a nice gameplay. Without any doubt, my favorite game of all time :D
  24. Jun 4, 2020
    9
    An amazing game, hands down, one of the best Wild West games ever, a true Classic.
  25. Apr 13, 2020
    9
    Played on XBOX 360.
    Gameplay: GREAT.
    Story: GREAT.
    Graphic: GREAT.
    Music/Sound: GREAT.
    Dialogue/Voice Acting: AWESOME.
  26. Mar 31, 2020
    10
    Well, playing this game in 2020 with the 4K patch on a One X is quite amazing. The game itself is great, the content is well dimensioned, a rich story and, it's rare enough to mention, real sidequests with real stories. A must play which has clearly earned its reputation, still 10 years later.
  27. Mar 30, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Esse é o jogo que mais me deixou maravilhado e encantado com tudo oque tem nele, desde que eu joguei Zelda Ocarina of Time, sua trilha sonora, seus graficos, e tambem a sua linda e triste historia, sem sombra de duvidas esse é o MELHOR jogo da ROCKSTAR Expand
  28. Feb 26, 2020
    8
    otimo jogo, muito incrivel mas o 2 pra mim é bem melhor, não acho o john marston um personagem legal mas o mundo aberto e a historia são otimas
  29. Feb 19, 2020
    10
    The only open world sandbox that I've completed. A real testament to the quality of the activities and gameplay you do throughout this masterfully crafted world. Quality writing and acting as well. Does a wonderful job immersing you in the world.
  30. Dec 16, 2019
    9
    This is a really good game.Alot of attention & love has obviously gone into it.I am so close to giving this a ten.even though i cant reall
    y fault this game,I dont think its 'quite' a ten.Though i can understand people that did give it a top score.Everything plays & handles well.The horesriding,gunplay,movement,cover system,its all good.The graphics are truely outstanding,& look almost
    This is a really good game.Alot of attention & love has obviously gone into it.I am so close to giving this a ten.even though i cant reall
    y fault this game,I dont think its 'quite' a ten.Though i can understand people that did give it a top score.Everything plays & handles well.The horesriding,gunplay,movement,cover system,its all good.The graphics are truely outstanding,& look almost photorealistic.Its a shame the game doesnt have some contemporary modern/western fusion music like Red-Dead Revolver had,but great game nonleless.
    Expand
  31. Nov 15, 2019
    10
    I absolutely adore this game. Everything about it from the characters to the music. Where it may have a lot of glitches from it being a lesser priority considering it was wedged between Gta 4 and 5 it still shines in my heart and the sequel cannot beat it.
  32. Nov 9, 2019
    10
    Red Dead Redemption, uma das expressões mais bem desenvolvidas da Rockstar Games, é simplesmente espetacular! Sua história envolvente, ótima execução e a ambientação do popular velho oeste americano, tendo ênfase em sua decadência no início do século XX, são o que o tornam tão incrível, tendo em vista cada minúcia e a obra como um todo, sobretudo sua trama comovente, verossímil e humana.Red Dead Redemption, uma das expressões mais bem desenvolvidas da Rockstar Games, é simplesmente espetacular! Sua história envolvente, ótima execução e a ambientação do popular velho oeste americano, tendo ênfase em sua decadência no início do século XX, são o que o tornam tão incrível, tendo em vista cada minúcia e a obra como um todo, sobretudo sua trama comovente, verossímil e humana. Suas qualidades mais exímias ofuscam quase que por completo seus defeitos e bugs. Expand
  33. Nov 2, 2019
    10
    My entry into the wild west. Red Dead Redemption left me seriously impressed. Awesome combat, great atmosphere and most importantly, an Incredible story. One thats sincere, beautiful and very very captivating. A game that would lay the foundations for Red Dead Redemption 2, my favorite game of all time. Simply a masterpiece.
  34. Oct 29, 2019
    10
    A masterpiece. A worthy sequel (chronologically speaking) to Red Dead Redemption II. Yet another beautiful example of what gaming can be, and as per usual it is Rockstar Games that are the masterminds behind it, boldly pushing the boundaries of interactive entertainment. Both Red Dead Redemption and Red Dead Redemption II are clear 10/10 for me. They are both easily the greatest pieces ofA masterpiece. A worthy sequel (chronologically speaking) to Red Dead Redemption II. Yet another beautiful example of what gaming can be, and as per usual it is Rockstar Games that are the masterminds behind it, boldly pushing the boundaries of interactive entertainment. Both Red Dead Redemption and Red Dead Redemption II are clear 10/10 for me. They are both easily the greatest pieces of art that Rockstar has ever created. (And yes, that includes Grand Theft Auto). Expand
  35. Sep 16, 2019
    2
    This game is basically only GTA in the wild west, it presents basically the same mechanics as in the aforementioned rockstar saga
  36. Jul 31, 2019
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. لعبة ريد ديد ريدمبشن 1 لعبة كما يقول الناس سبقت عهدها إلى الأن الجرافيكس الخاص بها يعتبر جيد
    الحبكة في القصة جيدة جدا قليل ألعاب الي تعطيك قصص مثل ريد ديد 1
    الجرافيكس مثالي يعني في 2010 كان هذا الجرافيكس واقعي
    تقييمي هو 9/10
    Expand
  37. Jul 12, 2019
    9
    Honestly one of the best games ever made. Mindblowing world-building, a classic western story, great characters, fun gameplay, amazing graphics (for the time, though it holds up very well) and finally some fun side-missions that just make you want to explore every inch of the map. For me it's kind of a perfect game, and I did not even have access to its multi-player (because of my **** netHonestly one of the best games ever made. Mindblowing world-building, a classic western story, great characters, fun gameplay, amazing graphics (for the time, though it holds up very well) and finally some fun side-missions that just make you want to explore every inch of the map. For me it's kind of a perfect game, and I did not even have access to its multi-player (because of my **** net connection at the time). Expand
  38. Jun 5, 2019
    10
    Easily my favorite video game, and arguably one of the greatest games ever made. The story is something out of a great novel, the game play is fun, easy to learn, and innovative, and the world of the game and the characters you play as and encounter along your adventure are not easily forgotten. I've gotten 100% completion on Red Dead Redemption three times, and I've gotten 100% completionEasily my favorite video game, and arguably one of the greatest games ever made. The story is something out of a great novel, the game play is fun, easy to learn, and innovative, and the world of the game and the characters you play as and encounter along your adventure are not easily forgotten. I've gotten 100% completion on Red Dead Redemption three times, and I've gotten 100% completion on the Undead Nightmare DLC twice. I've poured more than 100 hours into this game, and it is a must own. You will not regret it! Expand
  39. May 22, 2019
    6
    I think the setting of Red Dead Redemption is pretty awesome, but the story is too confusing.
  40. Apr 7, 2019
    10
    John Marston is a sublime character. He accepted the sins he commited, he fought, he repented and he got redemption. A red redemption, meaning his sins were forgiven with his blood, ending up dead. Red Dead Redemption. One of best videogames of 7th generation. An absolute essential and a master piece.
  41. Jan 15, 2019
    10
    Since the release of red dead redemption 2 I wanted to give a review on this masterpiece of a rockstar game, I always felt like red dead redemption 1 is one of the best games ever made in history, ( and it still is ) they changed too much in red dead redemption 2 that the game is not enjoyable anymore, but feels more like an movie, Red dead redemption 1 is the real game if u want to lookSince the release of red dead redemption 2 I wanted to give a review on this masterpiece of a rockstar game, I always felt like red dead redemption 1 is one of the best games ever made in history, ( and it still is ) they changed too much in red dead redemption 2 that the game is not enjoyable anymore, but feels more like an movie, Red dead redemption 1 is the real game if u want to look for a awesome story, and some real good action and excellent missions. The part I loved the most in this game is that u progress trough the game, u begin at the farm, then u go to the town and progress to mexico, then back to blackwater, etc ,etc I wont tell spoilers ofc :) but red dead redemption is just an masterpiece of a game for me and still is. ( the online part is also still good because it is without microtransactions/lootboxes ) thats all I want to say ! :) Expand
  42. Jan 11, 2019
    9
    Damn near perfect.

    It's been a while since I played it but from what I can remember it was incredibly well made and most importantly vivid. The story, characters, etc. You could feel it. You really lived the life of John Marston. And there wasn't much to snap you out of it. Some minor, MINOR things. But hardly noticable. Not to mention the vastness of the map (which was **** immense
    Damn near perfect.

    It's been a while since I played it but from what I can remember it was incredibly well made and most importantly vivid. The story, characters, etc. You could feel it. You really lived the life of John Marston. And there wasn't much to snap you out of it. Some minor, MINOR things. But hardly noticable.

    Not to mention the vastness of the map (which was **** immense for it's day) and the fantastic graphics.

    One of my favorite games of all time and probably the peak of Rockstar Games.
    Expand
  43. Nov 23, 2018
    10
    Red Dead Redemption is, to this day, Rockstar's greatest work. The feeling of being a cowboy in the wild west using GTA mechanics was already executed perfectly, but what pushes this game through to masterpiece level is its rich story, relatable characters, and enthralling open world. The online component, while it was functional at least, was also host to hundreds of hours of fun.Red Dead Redemption is, to this day, Rockstar's greatest work. The feeling of being a cowboy in the wild west using GTA mechanics was already executed perfectly, but what pushes this game through to masterpiece level is its rich story, relatable characters, and enthralling open world. The online component, while it was functional at least, was also host to hundreds of hours of fun. Rockstar went above and beyond for the second entry in the Red Dead series, creating an instant classic, and one of the greatest video games of all time. Expand
  44. Nov 8, 2018
    3
    I hated every second I spent playing this. I love open world games, they're among my favorites to play, but I thought I was getting a cowboy open world game, not horse simulator. Every single thing about this game is about horses. I did a mission to hunt a bear and the first thing it forced me to do was unsaddle the horse I was using, saddle a new one, sell that horse, and use the moneyI hated every second I spent playing this. I love open world games, they're among my favorites to play, but I thought I was getting a cowboy open world game, not horse simulator. Every single thing about this game is about horses. I did a mission to hunt a bear and the first thing it forced me to do was unsaddle the horse I was using, saddle a new one, sell that horse, and use the money to buy a new horse. Every time I want to do anything it's a 10 minute minimum horse ride to get somewhere. Then I have to brush my horse because he got dirty and dirty horses' stamina refills slower, feed the horse because it needs to regain health because the auto pilot (there's horse auto pilot) tripped over something and injured it, then find a place to hitch the horse or not hitch it and send it off to safety depending on what I think might happen to it. The actual gameplay, not counting horse maintenance, is a minute or so of stuff happening, usually with a rigid scripted outcome that you're given no choice over, and then back to primping and riding your horse. Expand
  45. Nov 4, 2018
    8
    So I really love the game's visual feel and the voice acting is quite good, but mechanically the game has numerous flaws that make "playing" the game a chore. For instance I was riding through town and a dog decided to approach me, I was unable to stop and hit the dog with my horse and received a bounty for animal cruelty, which was quickly followed by one for murder when I was attemptingSo I really love the game's visual feel and the voice acting is quite good, but mechanically the game has numerous flaws that make "playing" the game a chore. For instance I was riding through town and a dog decided to approach me, I was unable to stop and hit the dog with my horse and received a bounty for animal cruelty, which was quickly followed by one for murder when I was attempting to leave the area and hit a passerby. Small things like this make the game not fun to play. Additionally the need to constantly press and hold the button for everything. Why can I not get the money from bounty hunting directly? Why do I have to put the bounty in a cell and then walk to a desk and collect my money from a table? The same with the skinning animations...can we not just instant skin after the 300th time we kill a deer? Expand
  46. Oct 31, 2018
    10
    This is The Best Gaming That I Played, The Story Is The Best of This Is Game
  47. Oct 30, 2018
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I might be a bit late to the party but Red Dead Redemption has probably become one of my all-time favorite games. The story is top notch with characters that flirt within a world of moral grey, there are characters that are characterized as more black and white good or bad but most of the characters are very morally grey with characters such as the main protagonist, John Marston a former outlaw and one of the last remaining embodiments of the old west myth who wants to escape his past for his family's sake but won't hesitate to threaten people in order to achieve his goals, or Abraham Reyes a revolutionary fighting for the freedom of the poor but as events unfold, it turns out he's just as bad as the man he's trying to usurp power from. A majority of the enjoyment of the story comes from the interactions with the numerous characters where they spout about topics such as politics, the government, the changing of the times (a theme that doesn't really get touched upon until John makes it to Blackwater) and the morality he tries to uphold despite his past as an outlaw. If there's one failing I find with the story is that it underdevelops it's villains somewhat. A lot of the horseback dialogue while riding to missions is used to reveal details about John's past with his gang led by Dutch Van der Linde and his other remaining living members, Javier Escuella and Bill Williamson but not many interactions take place between Bill and Javier with John but the limited ones that do occur, Rockstar makes sure to give them so much character that you can vividly imagine what life was like between all of them back when they were friends but I feel the game would've been better if they developed Bill and Javier more cause a majority of the game is about finding the remaining Van der Linde gang members and Dutch doesn't factor in until the last third of the game who gets the most in game development as to who he is as a character and why he does what he does outside of the in mission horseback dialogue. Enough about the story cause that still holds up extremely well, what about gameplay? The game still plays as good as ever but it has started to show it's age. RDR does play more as a Western-themed GTA without the ability to do all the ridiculous stuff that GTA is known for. RDR 2 has developed more of an identity outside of the western-themed GTA but RDR does hold more ties to GTA than RDR 2 does. The gunplay (which there is a lot of) feels solid but at times clunky, namely when you're aiming while riding your horse. When on foot, it feels solid but it does use a lock on feature when you take aim and sometimes transitioning from one target to the next can feel weird to do but the Dead-Eye feature does help in that regard somewhat. Horse riding feels very fast and smooth but maintaining momentum is difficult. It's a game that at its time of release, it helped to push the Rockstar open world model more towards a grounded less clunky style of movement and gameplay but the clunkiness is still there as evident from the early year RAGE engine stuff. Speaking of the RAGE engine, this game looks so much better than GTA IV and it still holds up pretty well in terms of modern standards. Since the old west setting doesn't contain many buildings and a lot more open space, the team at Rockstar were able to squeeze more detail out of the world and the character models although some of the character models do look dated now, namely the animations and the hair. Another thing the game does extremely well is the handling of the cinematic scenes. The camera is utilized much better but it's still very minimalistic in stuff like camera movements and framing but they do manage to pull off some really cool looking shots during the cutscene moments. All in all, Red Dead Redemption has gone down as one of the best games of the 7th generation and a game that still holds up extremely well compared to most games at the time. If you haven't played this already, play it. Expand
  48. Oct 29, 2018
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is amazing. A masterpiece of its time.
    Bought my X-Box 360 just to play this game back in 2010.
    Expand
  49. Oct 27, 2018
    10
    Da greatest ever da greatest ever da greatest ever Da greatest ever da greatest ever da greatest ever Da greatest ever da greatest ever da greatest everDa greatest ever da greatest ever da greatest ever
  50. Oct 19, 2018
    10
    The best story Rockstar has written yet, and the most believable world I have ever roamed in, and with simple but consistently fun gameplay to boot. It is truly one of the greatest games I have ever played. I played it recently and it still holds up really well...well at least in my opinion. If you get an opportunity to play this game please do so. It is a #P4P great.
  51. Sep 26, 2018
    7
    I think that this is truly a unique game and I would recommend that if you are a fan of this type of genre then I think you should give this game a try.
  52. Sep 1, 2018
    10
    You want to know who you are? Huh? Huh? You don't, I do, everyone does... you're the son of a thousand fathers, all bastards like you
  53. Aug 14, 2018
    9
    Insanely good game. Engaging story and beautiful and diverse open world. The second best Rockstar game ever after GTA 5. Red dead 2 will probably be the 2018 GOTY
  54. Aug 7, 2018
    9
    It's an amazing game. The story is amazing and gripping. The gameplay is stupendous. There's a lot to do and it's still fun even when their is nothing left to do except shoot at people. It's not perfect and has a few problems like the dullness of riding horses, but other than that its spectacular. Rating - 94%
  55. Jul 24, 2018
    10
    Absolutely perfect in every way. The story kept me interested the whole way, no game-breaking bugs or glitches, and gunplay was satisfying especially with the awesome dead eye mechanic. The multiplayer had tons of hours of fun. The shootouts, hunting animals, playing poker and joining together as a posse to fight against others. It truly made me feel immersed in the western world and hadAbsolutely perfect in every way. The story kept me interested the whole way, no game-breaking bugs or glitches, and gunplay was satisfying especially with the awesome dead eye mechanic. The multiplayer had tons of hours of fun. The shootouts, hunting animals, playing poker and joining together as a posse to fight against others. It truly made me feel immersed in the western world and had tons of hours and fun with replayability. Especially with the DLC that was basically another game (undead nightmare). I would recommend to all to check this game out. As of 2018 though I would recommend only private lobbies as online lobbies are filled with hackers. Expand
  56. Jul 21, 2018
    10
    Incredible and unique experience. A fabulous western game with an amazing gameplay, an incredible open world, and an astonishing storyline.
  57. Jul 10, 2018
    10
    In a basic Rockstar's games style (which in itself is synonymous of quality), reminding GTA's playability, Red Dead Redemption one of the best games of alltime.
    The story is fantastic and emotional (causing even tears at the game's epilogue) and makes the game even more cinematographic.
    And just not a story is amazing, also does the game beautiful its visual, including breathtaking
    In a basic Rockstar's games style (which in itself is synonymous of quality), reminding GTA's playability, Red Dead Redemption one of the best games of alltime.
    The story is fantastic and emotional (causing even tears at the game's epilogue) and makes the game even more cinematographic.
    And just not a story is amazing, also does the game beautiful its visual, including breathtaking landscabes. Over the years, this game remains full of beauty . The soundtrack is very well-fitted, what makes game even more epic. The mini-games like duels, horse races, bets, hunting rewards and animals secondary missions also works to make this game so incredible.
    The artificial intelligence is incredible, the enemy hides itself so many times and you need shot vary times to kill it.
    Besides that, you may have a this game's abstinence after play Red Dead
    Another Rockstar's many goals. One of best games of all time for sure.
    Expand
  58. Jul 4, 2018
    5
    can anyone tell me why is this game so ducking overrated???? it is repetitive as hell and veeeery boring. the beginning was fun but the rest was simply repulsive. I would not recommend playing this game in 2018. it might have been fun in 2010 but nowadays it is no fun at all.
  59. Jun 16, 2018
    10
    A real rockstar classic, strong characters, brilliant voice acting, a story of revenge executed perfectly, a wild west journey that can't be missed - 10/10
  60. Jun 6, 2018
    10
    Did I forget to go back and review one of the best games of all time?! Well let me rectify that situation, given the abolish spawns gaming hath given us since thy release of this classic. Story-A+, Graphics at the time A+, Character personality A+ Mission amounts and Side Mission content A+...this will forever be the pinnacle of gaming, because its been nothing but downhill since thisDid I forget to go back and review one of the best games of all time?! Well let me rectify that situation, given the abolish spawns gaming hath given us since thy release of this classic. Story-A+, Graphics at the time A+, Character personality A+ Mission amounts and Side Mission content A+...this will forever be the pinnacle of gaming, because its been nothing but downhill since this game in the industry. So much so that I know Red Dead Redemption 2 coming up in a few months, wont live up to its older sibling in terms of old gamers familar with this series. This was back when "DLC" wasnt being chopped from the main game to be sold later, and once that trend started, games have been shallow and too short, for "full" experiences to be sold to you later for more $$. This company "Rockstar", used to have my upmost respect...but GTA V online ruined that. I fear, actually, I know, Red Dead Redemption 2 online will have low trickling pay offs for their in game $$ and way overpriced EVERYTHING just to try to get you to buy their in game currency "Red Dead Bonds" or some BS. You heard it hear first...I wont be buying Red Dead 2 until its on a huge sale or I just playing the single player when I can borrow a disk from a friend. I no longer tolerate, play, or recommend any game that models EA/Activision/Ubisoft and all the rests predatory game models. My wallet is closed like the rest should be until this industry changes its ways back to being consumer friendly and non predatory. Get ready for "loot" boxes in Red Dead 2 everyone...RIP Red Dead Redemption, your legacy will never be forgotten. Expand
  61. Apr 13, 2018
    10
    Rockstar Games has defied all expectations of what a western video game could be by delivering a well written and thoroughly engaging narrative with memorable characters including perhaps one of the greatest protagonists to ever grace gaming.

    Red Dead Redemption is also a technical achievement with great view distances, character detail and some of the most gorgeous lighting you will
    Rockstar Games has defied all expectations of what a western video game could be by delivering a well written and thoroughly engaging narrative with memorable characters including perhaps one of the greatest protagonists to ever grace gaming.

    Red Dead Redemption is also a technical achievement with great view distances, character detail and some of the most gorgeous lighting you will ever see on this console hardware.

    The multiplayer component provides a limitless playground for some truly memorable moments thanks to its free roam mode with also a great amount of game modes to dive into, ranging from gang shootouts to a four player cooperative mode.

    If you have never played this game somehow, stop what you are doing and play this straight away as i bet you wont find anything like this.
    Expand
  62. Mar 17, 2018
    10
    Simply the best game I've ever played. A true masterpiece. This game will be remembered for centuries to come.
  63. Mar 13, 2018
    6
    Bought this game recently, in preparation for the RDR 2. Really wanted to like it but just didn't give me the jolt of in-game excitement. The graphics were pretty good considering it was originally designed for xbox 360. It's a massive open world which was pretty awesome. The story was alright, not compelling. At first there lots to do but quickly became tedious and repetetive. TheBought this game recently, in preparation for the RDR 2. Really wanted to like it but just didn't give me the jolt of in-game excitement. The graphics were pretty good considering it was originally designed for xbox 360. It's a massive open world which was pretty awesome. The story was alright, not compelling. At first there lots to do but quickly became tedious and repetetive. The sidequests or random encounters became lacklustered: do three or four, youve done them all. The side games gave value-added to the whole western feel but couldnt invest in repeating them. The gameplay had its moments but the gun battles were pretty mundane, relying on auto aim coupled with easy-to-kill enemies. I did feel immersed in a western background. The dialogues were pretty authentic. The characters were rich and the main protagonist was likeable. I gotta say i wasn't impressed with some of the voice over though -- everyone seemed to rave about them. I think the game wouldve done better if it was an RPG, with choices and consequences. Expand
  64. Jan 22, 2018
    8
    Rockstar no defrauda. Un mundo vivo y muy bonito. Me hubiera gustado algún toque más rolero y más actividades extra que hacer.
  65. Jan 3, 2018
    10
    Hikaye = 10
    Oynanış = 9
    Grafikler = 7
    Sesler = 10
    Keyif = 10
    Atmosfer = 10
    Süre = 10
  66. Sep 28, 2017
    10
    The fact that its on 2 consoles, I'm just giving you what I thought of the story and the open world. Red Dead Redemption was one of the best games I have ever played. The story john Marston, a formal outlaw that rode with duchess gang. Until he is forced by the government to hunt down he formal gang members. I just played the campaign again and this is one of my favorites. The story andThe fact that its on 2 consoles, I'm just giving you what I thought of the story and the open world. Red Dead Redemption was one of the best games I have ever played. The story john Marston, a formal outlaw that rode with duchess gang. Until he is forced by the government to hunt down he formal gang members. I just played the campaign again and this is one of my favorites. The story and the amazing ending. This is a must play masterpiece, and a great western. And the open world is filled with amazing things to do like hunting, saving and killing, and doing other thing. PLAY IT. Expand
  67. Sep 28, 2017
    9
    I am not a big fan of Rockstar's work. Much like Halo and other well known series of games in the past decade, I generally have seen hyped games like Grand Theft Auto games to be a bit goofy and boring for my taste. Of course I can't deny there is reasons why they are so good and popular, but making such wacky antics felt more of Saint's Row honestly. Bully was also one of those games tooI am not a big fan of Rockstar's work. Much like Halo and other well known series of games in the past decade, I generally have seen hyped games like Grand Theft Auto games to be a bit goofy and boring for my taste. Of course I can't deny there is reasons why they are so good and popular, but making such wacky antics felt more of Saint's Row honestly. Bully was also one of those games too but I respected Rockstar more for trying to be different and still show their style all the same way. When Red Dead Redemption came around however I was very interested and in retrospect I see it as an important game and one of the best wild west styled games ever made.

    Red Dead Redemption is an open world sandbox wild western shooter that has you playing as John Marston, a former outlaw put up by the gov't to hunt down his former comrades so he can get his family back and resume his life. The time is in 1911 and it's during the end of the Wild West age and the emergence of a new modern age, so it plays itself as a dark and grim end to one the most iconic American symbols in history. Unlike previous western games like Red Dead Revolver struggling to make mainstream and critical success in a modernized world, Redemption's emergence was something of a phenomenon that grew to be loved and acclaimed by many (myself included) for finally having a fun and wonderful moment of being a cowboy.

    The single player is the main part of the game. The activities you do range from herding, horse breaking, hunting outlaws, poker, horsehoes and more really drives home the marriage of fantasy and grit the Wild West has on the modern minds. The story itself isn't outstanding, but it's very good at making John Marston a likable and memorable character that plays off the movies and shows that had Clint Eastwood and Dean Martin. Some would write off his character as simple but I'd argue that having simple characters add more mystique to them as long as the context of their character is intriguing and answers the main questions we ask while leaving the rest to our own thoughts. The ending and epilogue is one of the best gaming moments in any open world shooter I have ever played and the amount to do leading up to those moments can make you emotional as they happen. Criticisms of the story would be some mission design isn't that good and the combat can be a bit too easy. Money is practically useless and there is repetition in the side missions.

    The multiplayer is a mixed bag. The co-op side is very fun with friends; riding as a posse and being outlaws is a jubilation of charm and fun that is goofy and yet badass. I loved running with strangers and friends into towns, stealing and being chased down by sheriffs in the sunset. You can level up your character and earn different character skins, weapons and more, but I found this to be pointless as it makes customization feel limiting and not as rewarding. The competitive shootout modes and such are cool ideas, but don't always flow well and I wasn't really impressed with it. It felt more like something tacked on then a well rounded mode. I felt if Rockstar had only made the game open world co-op instead and focused more on level design fitting around players than the experience would be far better. Still, despite my issues, I consider it to be one of my better multiplayer experiences in recent memory and I do respect the chances Rockstar took with them.

    The combat and cover system screams the action of Wild Western Clint Eastwood films. The gun shots, explosions, clumping of horse hooves and intensity is wonderful and extremely satisfying. A bit iffy on cover control at times, but for what it's worth and what it brings to the table, I did not feel disappointed with it. The music is pretty dam good, with a Western feel mixed with a modern style, mirroring the times of the game's world. The graphics and atmosphere was amazing, with dynamic night and day cycles, weather, shadowing and more that gave the game a sense of realism. Of course being such a big game there is going to be technical problems, but through patches and time those issues were gone and my enjoyment for the game was in full force.

    I spent over 60 hours in Red Dead Redemption and I loved it's world, characters and concept. It really feels like being a cowboy/outlaw of those old shows, but with a sense of identity and choice that solidifies itself as an important game for not only being different but also accomplishing a good deal in the process. While it does have issues under it's belt, Red Dead Redemption always was a great game to me as a teen and in retrospect as a adult one of the best open world games and open world stories of all time.
    Expand
  68. Sep 24, 2017
    10
    Red Dead Redemption is the perfect game. Period.

    I have never played a game with such an impressive atmosphere. The breath taking open world with all it's details, that monumental soundtrack (I'm a proud owner of the soundtrack CD) and one of the best stories in gaming history make it so awesome. Even the small things are so great: all those entertaining stories from strangers, the fun
    Red Dead Redemption is the perfect game. Period.

    I have never played a game with such an impressive atmosphere. The breath taking open world with all it's details, that monumental soundtrack (I'm a proud owner of the soundtrack CD) and one of the best stories in gaming history make it so awesome. Even the small things are so great: all those entertaining stories from strangers, the fun search for treasures or the challenging hunting missions. If you haven't played it yet, you should do it. Now!

    Not let's hope that part two can live up with the high expectations I have!
    Expand
  69. Sep 8, 2017
    9
    Um ótimo jogo, traz o melhor do velho oeste e lhe faz viver o final dessa época...
    nenhum momento do jogo você sai da imersão do velho oeste.
    simplesmente MARAVILHOSO!!!
  70. Jul 19, 2017
    10
    Red Dead Redemption creates a lived in world that makes you want to stay there forever (of course the duels don't hurt either.) This might be one of the least mature games in the Rockstar universe, second to L.A. Noire.
    The only sex scene lasts about 2 seconds. The honor system gives you many reasons to not kill every single civilian you see. You can do bounty hunting and bringing in your
    Red Dead Redemption creates a lived in world that makes you want to stay there forever (of course the duels don't hurt either.) This might be one of the least mature games in the Rockstar universe, second to L.A. Noire.
    The only sex scene lasts about 2 seconds. The honor system gives you many reasons to not kill every single civilian you see. You can do bounty hunting and bringing in your target alive gives you more money than killing them it's also more ethical. However this game greatly dismisses the US genocide of Native peoples. Overall this game is great and I can't recommend highly enough.
    Expand
  71. Apr 25, 2017
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Le pongo un 5 por que aun asi me ha parecido mas entretenido que los gta,pero tiene demasiado relleno artificial que corta la historia y ademas desespera siempre lo mismo,por no hablar que apunte solo siempre y demas,se hace un poco aburrido y pesado la verdad,he rescatado ya a mi familia y aun asi ahora me ponen a mover ganado de un lado a otro ,despues de 14 h no se si lo acabare si esque sigue mucho mas por que es un coñazo hacer ese tipo de misiones. Expand
  72. Apr 17, 2017
    1
    Un GTA au far west, c'est-à-dire un jeu Rockstar à l'interface déficiente et à la maniabilité défectueuse (rien que le canasson, mon dieu !) sauf que c'est plein de vide avec de temps en temps des personnages caricaturaux et des pseudo-histoires sans intérêt noyées dans une trame principale des plus convenues. Les mini-jeux sont bien nazes, la VO texane marshmallow est insupportable.Un GTA au far west, c'est-à-dire un jeu Rockstar à l'interface déficiente et à la maniabilité défectueuse (rien que le canasson, mon dieu !) sauf que c'est plein de vide avec de temps en temps des personnages caricaturaux et des pseudo-histoires sans intérêt noyées dans une trame principale des plus convenues. Les mini-jeux sont bien nazes, la VO texane marshmallow est insupportable.

    Naturellement on incarne un tocard comme de coutume chez Rockstar, rien de nouveau sous le soleil. Et dans ce monde immense, inutilement grand, on n'a toujours pas de système de sauvegarde normal. Bien sûr, le jeu est beau, très beau même mais quelle importance quand on s'y fait chier comme un chacal crevé ?
    Expand
  73. Mar 28, 2017
    7
    Good game for a one time playthrough but theres not much here to keep you coming back for more. Another game that is way over hyped. Worth a playthrough at the least.
  74. Mar 5, 2017
    5
    Com gráficos sensacionais e a boa velha engine, RDR veio para inovar, e isso seria ótimo se as mecânicas do jogo não funcionassem tão mal. Controlar o cavalo nesse jogo é uma experiência tão exaustiva que chega a ser frustrante.
  75. Mar 3, 2017
    10
    Este es un juego excelente, los motivos son: historia buenísima, jugabilidad perfecta, mapa muy grande, cantidad de armas muy buena, gran cantidad de contenido (ademas de ser muy divertido), posee un personaje principal muy carismático, misiones principales y secundarias muy buenas, no tiene caídas de fps y multijugador muy bueno.
    Es un juego que recomiendo totalmente, si sos una persona
    Este es un juego excelente, los motivos son: historia buenísima, jugabilidad perfecta, mapa muy grande, cantidad de armas muy buena, gran cantidad de contenido (ademas de ser muy divertido), posee un personaje principal muy carismático, misiones principales y secundarias muy buenas, no tiene caídas de fps y multijugador muy bueno.
    Es un juego que recomiendo totalmente, si sos una persona a la que le gusta los juegos no te podes perder este.
    Expand
  76. Feb 28, 2017
    10
    Red Dead Redemption is very original while being very familiar at the same time. I played this game 5 times and the more I play it the more I like it. It's been 7 years now since this game came out (2017) and it's still one of my favourite games I have ever played. Rockstar are my favourite devs, when they announce a game you know it's gonna be good. They took the gameplay from GTA 4 andRed Dead Redemption is very original while being very familiar at the same time. I played this game 5 times and the more I play it the more I like it. It's been 7 years now since this game came out (2017) and it's still one of my favourite games I have ever played. Rockstar are my favourite devs, when they announce a game you know it's gonna be good. They took the gameplay from GTA 4 and implemented it into an excellent open world unlike any thing before it. This is easily their best game yet and I can not wait for Red Dead Redemption 2. This game is a masterpiece and if you never played it, you should ASAP Expand
  77. Feb 26, 2017
    10
    Si alguien duda que los chicos de Rockstar game solo saben hacer GTA o Midnight Club. tienen un problema señores. Esta aventura es simplemente fantastica, basicamente se puede hablar de esas peliculas del ultimo gran vaquero. el cowboy malo renegado que hace su vida pero su pasado jamas lo dejara en paz. bueno eso es este juego. una obra maestra, graficamente, musicalmente, en ambiente,Si alguien duda que los chicos de Rockstar game solo saben hacer GTA o Midnight Club. tienen un problema señores. Esta aventura es simplemente fantastica, basicamente se puede hablar de esas peliculas del ultimo gran vaquero. el cowboy malo renegado que hace su vida pero su pasado jamas lo dejara en paz. bueno eso es este juego. una obra maestra, graficamente, musicalmente, en ambiente, personajes y situaciones. una aventura que debe ser jugada realmente al menos una vez en esta vida. excelente Expand
  78. Feb 20, 2017
    10
    One of the greatest masterpiece of open world games. I played as if I'm John Marston so the ending touched my mind... not just the story, a pleasure playing game is also great. interesting stranger side-missions, item.....etc. strongly recommended if you like western culture.
  79. Feb 13, 2017
    10
    Pro’s
    Amazing graphics
    Easy controls Fun to play Cons Many glitches long story line RockStar games did a wonderful job creating Red Dead Redemption to a swaying piece of grass in the middle of the desert to a giant city next to the mexican border.It’s all in this game the storyline takes place in the Wild West. The main character is John marston a former gang member that has to
    Pro’s
    Amazing graphics
    Easy controls
    Fun to play

    Cons
    Many glitches
    long story line

    RockStar games did a wonderful job creating Red Dead Redemption to a swaying piece of grass in the middle of the desert to a giant city next to the mexican border.It’s all in this game the storyline takes place in the Wild West. The main character is John marston a former gang member that has to pay for what he has done to the Government. But instead of locking him up, the government takes his wife and child and tell him to take down his old gang. The game comes around at about 20 U.S dollars and it's worth it. Red Dead Redemption runs off the same platform as GTA5 Rockstar Advanced Game Engine also known as RAGE. RAGE is the platform Rockstar Games uses in there free roam games. The Red Dead Redemption game for more money you can get Undead Nightmare which is the same game but in a apocalypse scenario.

    This game Red Dead Redemption is one of the best games I've played in a while It’s constant action from gunfights to riding your horse into the sunset. The controls are a little funky but once I got to the third mission I was a pro. This game runs smoothly on your Xbox 360, a bit buggy at times but can be fixed by simply restarting your Xbox 360 console. There are two gameplay modes Single player and multiplayer but multiplayer requires Xbox Live. The game is rated M for Mature.

    I have found that when traveling long distances on your horse is very boring Every ten seconds I had to press the A key to keep my horse on the road. On the other hand the game doesn't AUTOSAVE this is very annoying I completed one of the hardest parts in the game and had to restart because I forgot to save. What I liked about the game is the graphics. It has one of the best graphics i've ever seen in a game. I have never seen the most detailed graphics until I played this game sunsets are amazing!

    Overall this is the most amazing game I've played. If you ever head to gamestop and see this game pick it up. I would recommend this game to everyone whos likes a good old fashioned gunfight or likes Rockstar games. But I really enjoyed this game and recommend you pick it up. For the price you pay this game will keep you entertained for hours and hours. Overall is just a outstanding game and recommend that you play it.
    Expand
  80. Feb 3, 2017
    10
    This is one of the best games ever made. Rockstar has done it once again, they struck gold. From the sound track all the way up to the characters/story and environments. Simple superb.
  81. Jan 16, 2017
    10
    One of the best games of all time, maybe the best. Red Dead Redemption is not just a Grand Theft Auto in the Wild West, it's a unique game, the best of Rockstar Games.
  82. Jan 13, 2017
    10
    La nota lo dice todo, el juego P-E-R-F-E-C-T-O. Sin más. Espero que su secuela (Red Dead Redemption 2) esté a la altura, ya que esta entrega dejó el listón muy alto. Desde una historia atrapante, DLC'S que merecen la pena sin duda, gráficos geniales, buenas mecánicas, y un largo etcétera hacen de este un gran juego. Lo que si que es cierto es que el mapa es muy pequeño, pero el tener queLa nota lo dice todo, el juego P-E-R-F-E-C-T-O. Sin más. Espero que su secuela (Red Dead Redemption 2) esté a la altura, ya que esta entrega dejó el listón muy alto. Desde una historia atrapante, DLC'S que merecen la pena sin duda, gráficos geniales, buenas mecánicas, y un largo etcétera hacen de este un gran juego. Lo que si que es cierto es que el mapa es muy pequeño, pero el tener que ir montado en un caballo (más lento que un coche/moto/etc.)

    RECOMENDADISIMO,YA SEA EN XBOX360, PS3, PC O RETROCOMPATIBLE EN XBOXONE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Expand
  83. Dec 6, 2016
    9
    This world is giant! The history is really epic, and de gamplay is awsome. The characters and personality is really true and is very easy believe the story and the characters!
  84. Dec 3, 2016
    9
    One of my favourite games ever created and arguably, one of the best games of all time. Let me get into it:

    Pros: -Outstanding story with memorable characters - Really fun gunplay, wiht a variety of shotguns, snipers, rifles, pistols, revolvers and more! - Good variety of missions - Beautiful graphics for the Xbox 360 - Very cool landscape and world - Huge amount of content -
    One of my favourite games ever created and arguably, one of the best games of all time. Let me get into it:

    Pros:
    -Outstanding story with memorable characters
    - Really fun gunplay, wiht a variety of shotguns, snipers, rifles, pistols, revolvers and more!
    - Good variety of missions
    - Beautiful graphics for the Xbox 360
    - Very cool landscape and world
    - Huge amount of content
    - Very cool reputation system that changes the world around you
    - Bullet physics and dead eye are fun to play with

    Cons:
    -A few bugs and glitches here and there
    -The mechanics can be a bit clunky and can take time to get used to.

    Overall scores:
    Story: 9.5/10
    Gameplay: 9/10
    Graphics: 8.5/10 (for the Xbox 360)
    Overall: 9/10
    Expand
  85. Oct 18, 2016
    10
    um dos melhores jogos que eu ja joguei na minha vida, Red Dead Redemption é o melhor jogo da Rockstar na minha opnião, obvio que ainda irão lançar outros jogos, hoje foi confirmado a continuaçao e foi a melhor noticia do mes sem duvidas, o visual do jogo é excelente, o jogo tem uma grande variedade de animais, momentos marcantes, um final emocionante, o melhor que eu ja vi em um game, eum dos melhores jogos que eu ja joguei na minha vida, Red Dead Redemption é o melhor jogo da Rockstar na minha opnião, obvio que ainda irão lançar outros jogos, hoje foi confirmado a continuaçao e foi a melhor noticia do mes sem duvidas, o visual do jogo é excelente, o jogo tem uma grande variedade de animais, momentos marcantes, um final emocionante, o melhor que eu ja vi em um game, e personagens excelentes, John Marston é um personagem incrivel, um dos melhores dos games, Red Dead Redemption é um jogo inesquecivel que deve ser jogado por todos. Nota 10 Expand
  86. Aug 7, 2016
    9
    The good: Awesome gameplay, outstanding history, huge open world, one of the best music uses in videogame history. If you don't like John Marston history and ending (Spoiler free) I don't know what in the world did you smoke. Gameplay is just incredible. Music use is just magic.

    The bad: Rockstar games. Multiplayer servers have been broken, and Rockstars seems not to care. Also, after
    The good: Awesome gameplay, outstanding history, huge open world, one of the best music uses in videogame history. If you don't like John Marston history and ending (Spoiler free) I don't know what in the world did you smoke. Gameplay is just incredible. Music use is just magic.

    The bad: Rockstar games. Multiplayer servers have been broken, and Rockstars seems not to care. Also, after completing the main missions, you do a couple of side missions (Stranger missions are not that impressive), maybe the Legend of the West outfit and you'll see yourself bored, massacring Blackwater a hundred times

    The ugly: Jack Marston. (For reasons I won't say to avoid spoilers) you end controlling John's son, Jack, at one point in the main campaign. He's freaking annoying! And you have to stay with that annoying kid with a preeeetty significant period of time... Trust me on this. Play it and you'll know what I mean

    Conclusion: Best Rockstar games release to date in my opinion, and my personal favorite. A masterpiece in audiovisual and history level. Though free roam gets boring after a time and multiplayer is broken, the game itself is just awesome. 9/10
    Expand
  87. Jun 21, 2016
    10
    As an experienced player who always waits for new Western games, I can definitely say that RDR is the most fascinating Western game I've ever played. I enjoyed a big open-world, soundtrack, story, missions, gameplay, etc. Although the story was pretty simple (and I spoiled the end myself, unfortunately), I still liked it. Gameplay wasn't innovative, since I played it in 2016, but it was aAs an experienced player who always waits for new Western games, I can definitely say that RDR is the most fascinating Western game I've ever played. I enjoyed a big open-world, soundtrack, story, missions, gameplay, etc. Although the story was pretty simple (and I spoiled the end myself, unfortunately), I still liked it. Gameplay wasn't innovative, since I played it in 2016, but it was a lot like GTA. The quality of side-missions was outstanding, and there's always something to do in this world after comleting the storyline. What a pitty that I managed to play Red Dead Redemption only because I borrowed XBOX360 from my brother. Expand
  88. May 1, 2016
    8
    One of the best game by Rockstar Games . This game better than Grand Theft Auto 4 , Grand Theft Auto 3 and other , but Grand Theft Auto San Andreas and V and Max Payne 3 better than Red Dead Redemption . Very good graphics and awesome storyline . Good open world and this game one of the best open world game .
  89. Apr 6, 2016
    10
    Want to experience a sandbox game in the western? Then Red Dead Redemption is for you. Created by Rockstar San Diego, RDR is like GTA, but in the beginning of the 20th century. You play as John Marston, a former outlaw, who must seek and capture or kill your former gang members. At your disposal, you have a surprising amount of revolvers, rifles, shotguns and even sniper rifles. The gameWant to experience a sandbox game in the western? Then Red Dead Redemption is for you. Created by Rockstar San Diego, RDR is like GTA, but in the beginning of the 20th century. You play as John Marston, a former outlaw, who must seek and capture or kill your former gang members. At your disposal, you have a surprising amount of revolvers, rifles, shotguns and even sniper rifles. The game is extremely violent and bloody, so the 18+ rating is well deserved. You can choose to either do main missions or choose between a wide range of side objectives. Some of those are patrolling the perimeter, capture or kill bounty targets, break wild horses and, my favourite, play Texas Hold'em. If you wear a special suit, you can cheat. But beware, if someone sees you when you cheat, prepare for a lethal duel. In the end, I love this game (one of my favourites), but I can see why some people hate on it. I won't deny the fact that it's practically a GTA clone and have lots of glitches. On the other hand however, we have a pure masterpiece that will keep you busy for many hours. Well worth your money. Expand
  90. Mar 22, 2016
    10
    one of the best open world games i have ever played with a unique and amazing story. you meet lots of interesting and funny character whilst being a badass bounty hunter. i 100% recommend this game
  91. Jan 21, 2016
    10
    This game is just a complete masterpiece, Red Dead Redemption is just my favorite game of all time, no game that i 've ever played, has ever felt so deep, so great at going to it's purpose, that is to transmute Art in video games, the other 2 games that i nearly felt this way playing it was The Last of Us and The Witcher 3, that even though i recognize has better storytellers, they neverThis game is just a complete masterpiece, Red Dead Redemption is just my favorite game of all time, no game that i 've ever played, has ever felt so deep, so great at going to it's purpose, that is to transmute Art in video games, the other 2 games that i nearly felt this way playing it was The Last of Us and The Witcher 3, that even though i recognize has better storytellers, they never made me feel like this game did, the complete art that this game is. Literally everything is perfect, for the incredible graphics, to the perfect original soundtrack, to its amazing character molding, and to it's heart breaking ending... This game made me cry, this was the first game that made me cry. John's story was made to be told and Rockstar sure made a hell of a good job. This is their best game ever, and if they ever announces a new Red Dead one day, my eyeballs will melt into tears of joy. 100/10 Expand
  92. Jan 13, 2016
    10
    Red Dead Redemption best game of western ever... I spend many hours of muy life with this game, always yo have to do somethig, rescue womans, gambling, shoots...
  93. Dec 13, 2015
    9
    Had I reviewed this game immediately upon release, I'd have given it a 10. We're now nearing 2016, however, and I have to adjust accordingly. Having given The Witcher 3 a 10, I must therefore give this game a 9.

    The open world consists of a large fictional United States territory modeled after Texas, Arizona, or New Mexico during the early 20th century. Cars are a new invention. You'll
    Had I reviewed this game immediately upon release, I'd have given it a 10. We're now nearing 2016, however, and I have to adjust accordingly. Having given The Witcher 3 a 10, I must therefore give this game a 9.

    The open world consists of a large fictional United States territory modeled after Texas, Arizona, or New Mexico during the early 20th century. Cars are a new invention. You'll also venture into Mexico, which is connected by bridge(s) to the aforementioned fictional U.S. territories. There's a lot to do, and although it's a 360 game, the graphics are gorgeous. The world is extremely immersive, and you'll actually want to take a look around. I spent hours just roaming around the desert hunting, which is a good way to make money, incidentally. The main character is likable, and you'll actually want to see him succeed as the game progresses. The overall plot is very good as well.

    The game does an excellent job at making you feel like you're in the Wild West. Rockstar made the game, so that's not surprising. This is basically Grand Theft Auto: Wild West. Like I stated earlier, there are cars in the game, but they're limited to a beginning cut-scene, and one mission where you man a mounted machine gun. Apart from that, your mode of transportation is a horse, the mechanics of which are quite good (better than the Witcher 3, in fact). The combat is good as well, however, if you've played any of the GTA series, you'll be largely accustomed to it.
    Expand
  94. Nov 16, 2015
    10
    Graphics: 9.8 Sound: 10 Gameplay: 9.5 Fun/Story: 10

    An amazing sandbox with gorgeous graphics. It recreates very well the cowboy feeling and has some memorable characters and tasty moments. It remembered me Some Epona's times which is great and very soulful. Another touch of art by Rockstar. Directly to my top 10 list...
  95. Nov 6, 2015
    10
    Red Dead Redemption is a masterpiece. It shows, as if we need any more proof, that Rockstar Games is truly one of the best game developers in the business today.

    As with all the worlds I have experienced that was created by Rockstar, their attention to detail is met perhaps only by games and worlds made by Bethesda Game Studios (Fallout, Elder Scrolls). Beautifully rendered, large
    Red Dead Redemption is a masterpiece. It shows, as if we need any more proof, that Rockstar Games is truly one of the best game developers in the business today.

    As with all the worlds I have experienced that was created by Rockstar, their attention to detail is met perhaps only by games and worlds made by Bethesda Game Studios (Fallout, Elder Scrolls). Beautifully rendered, large enough to foster the player's inner explorer but not TOO large, and full of many things to do; it's about as amazing as virtually rendered worlds get.

    A detailed and expansive world is a great start for any game, but RDR also delivers on gameplay, characters, and story. John Marston is an excellent protagonist, and the supporting characters are memorable and intriguing. His story of revenge and redemption, taking him from home to a rebellious Mexico, to back home again, is great fun. The ending is easily recalled almost 5 years later. Even horseback riding, a mechanic that games have been struggling with for years, is simple and effective.

    Although I didn't spend nearly as much time in it as in single player, it also has a great and diverse multiplayer as well. You can do your standard adversarial deathmatch games, or you can play poker against real opponents, and you can play co-op missions if teamwork is more your style. It's got something for everyone.

    Indeed, Red Dead Redemption has to challenge for one of the best games of the last console generation. It absolutely places in my Top 3.
    Expand
  96. Oct 26, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. awesome game from the team brought the grand theft auto series comes a tale from the old west top notch shooting and great graphics and background some of the towns are real looking just a amazing game to play missions and off missions even has mini games such as poker and blackjack and so much more 10 all the way Expand
  97. Sep 27, 2015
    10
    A fantastic story, beautiful world, great soundtrack, and fun multi-player. Honestly, to think such a big game can run on a 360 is unbelievable. But still, the horses are **** retarded.
  98. Sep 8, 2015
    8
    tipico Rockstar , jogo muito bom , trabalharam bem na artificial , e em cada detalhe parabéns Rockstar, nem zerei mais sei que merece 8 , alguma vezes buga "raramente"
  99. Aug 30, 2015
    10
    For me the greatest action adventure open world game ever created. One of the most believable settings seen in a video game console. There's nothing in the wild west theme that comes close to it. If they release a sequel that improves on some of it's hurdles it would score Everest mountain high. Some problems I have found with the game were the AI of the local law enforcer especiallyFor me the greatest action adventure open world game ever created. One of the most believable settings seen in a video game console. There's nothing in the wild west theme that comes close to it. If they release a sequel that improves on some of it's hurdles it would score Everest mountain high. Some problems I have found with the game were the AI of the local law enforcer especially serifs was atrocious. You could run over an old lady and get to Jail immediately while when a whole mod of desperado's were passing by and raiding the city they didn't even move. All they have to do is make the AI better and we'll have the greatest game of it's kind ever. Expand
  100. Jul 13, 2015
    10
    This game has to be the best game I've ever played on Xbox. If you're into free roam/shooter games, I definitely recommend this game. Might even be better then GTA V.
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 96 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 96 out of 96
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 96
  3. Negative: 0 out of 96
  1. 'Red Dead Redemption' is a must buy. Every Xbox 360 and Playstation 3 owner should play this game (as long as they're over 18 and not a member of PETA). The only reasons I can't give this game a full 10 are the annoying glitches, connection issues and the lack of difficulty.
  2. AceGamez
    97
    At times breathtaking, often awe-inspiring and never, ever dull, Red Dead Redemption is already one of 2010's biggest hitters, and is likely to become one of this generation's greatest achievements. A staggering work of art.
  3. 100
    RDR is a phenomenal game that stands out as one of the year's best. The utmost attention to detail is apparent in every aspect, and is something that no gamer should miss.