Red Dead Redemption Image
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 96 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 3112 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Developed by Rockstar San Diego, as a follow up to the 2004 hit game Red Dead Revolver, Red Dead Redemption is a Western epic, set at the turn of the 20th century when the lawless and chaotic badlands began to give way to the expanding reach of government and the spread of the IndustrialDeveloped by Rockstar San Diego, as a follow up to the 2004 hit game Red Dead Revolver, Red Dead Redemption is a Western epic, set at the turn of the 20th century when the lawless and chaotic badlands began to give way to the expanding reach of government and the spread of the Industrial Age. The story of former outlaw, John Marston, Red Dead Redemption takes players on a great adventure across the American frontier. Utilizing Rockstar's proprietary Rockstar Advanced Game Engine (RAGE), Red Dead Redemption features an open-world environment for players to explore, including frontier towns, rolling prairies teeming with wildlife, and perilous mountain passes - each packed with an endless flow of varied distractions. Along the way, players experience the heat of gunfights and battles, meet a host of unique characters, struggle against the harshness of one of the world’s last remaining wildernesses, and ultimately pick their own precarious path through an epic story about the death of the Wild West and the gunslingers that inhabited it. [Rockstar Games] Expand
Buy Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Red Dead Redemption: Undead Nightmare Pack DLC Teaser Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 96 out of 96
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 96
  3. Negative: 0 out of 96
  1. 100
    RDR is a phenomenal game that stands out as one of the year's best. The utmost attention to detail is apparent in every aspect, and is something that no gamer should miss.
  2. Red Dead Redemption is more than a great western, it's the first time this type of game has been successfully recreated for a home game console.
  3. 100
    With Red Dead Redemption, Rockstar succeeds in creating one of the most impressive open worlds I've ever seen in a game, and it's telling that -- even after playing for over 30 hours -- all I want to do is get back on my horse and gallop back into the wilderness.
  4. 95
    Red Dead Redemption performs very well on all fronts and has little to no mistakes. This game is a must have for fans of the sandbox genre.
  5. Red Dead takes a familiar recipe, adds a skilful blend of western elements, and the result is something really rather special. Easily the best Wild West game to date.
  6. While Rockstar San Diego may find some difficulty in filling its open expanses with interesting and emergent play, it does imbue it with a stark beauty and compelling narrative that makes Redemption more than just an allusion to cinema, but a piece of work that can confidently stand next to it. [Issue#96, p.94]
  7. In the end, Red Dead Redemption is going to please a lot of gamers who are simply starved for a new world to explore and the Wild West, even though the game takes place at the end of that era, is ripe for the taking.

See all 96 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 474
  1. AndyZ
    May 20, 2010
    10
    Simply a masterpiece of a game. The world is beautifully crafted and the story is engaging. As a person who though GTAIV was only so-so, I Simply a masterpiece of a game. The world is beautifully crafted and the story is engaging. As a person who though GTAIV was only so-so, I can fully endorse this. There is a wide variety of mission types to do and the minigames are actually fun. The characters are likable and the voice acting and animations are really nice. Graphics are great on the 360, especially for a console game. Anyone complaining about lock on shooting is out of their mind. Half the time in this game you are riding on a horse, shooting people on other horses. Without lock on you'd never hit anything as the action is too fast and people don't just stand there to let you shoot them. That's why you can go manual in Dead Eye mode, because it slows everything down to possible speeds. It is a joy to ride around the countryside and the random events that happen there really break up any monotony you might feel. Expand
  2. Mar 17, 2018
    10
    Simply the best game I've ever played. A true masterpiece. This game will be remembered for centuries to come.
  3. Apr 6, 2011
    10
    One word..wow

    This game is a brilliant master piece, beautiful stunning graphics and sound to go with it. The story is well thought out,
    One word..wow

    This game is a brilliant master piece, beautiful stunning graphics and sound to go with it. The story is well thought out, although fun to play online to me its more of a single player game but still being able to take that online is great. I have never been so into a game like this one, so many different species of wildlife to hunt and skin. One of the best features of this game I like is the horses, the way they look and handle are perfect. I fell in love with this game the moment I started playing, the jobs you can take on are fun and playing poker and horse shoes etc. Its a very captivating experience it makes you feel like your a part of the old west, I never was a fan of and old west theme until I played this game. You can spend countless hours on this game and not cover all of the land, you can almost live inside this game.
    Expand
  4. KevinS
    May 19, 2010
    10
    Finally, a western themed gamed that hits all of the notes and strikes a perfect harmony. Graphically, the world of RDR is designed with more Finally, a western themed gamed that hits all of the notes and strikes a perfect harmony. Graphically, the world of RDR is designed with more detail than has been seem to date - the attention paid to color, lighting, texture, and mood are simply jaw dropping. Getting the ambiance of this gritty and beautiful place so perfectly sets this game apart from most. On top of the striking artistic value, the game itself is damn fun. The core missions are varied and entertaining while serving to move the main plot along. At the same time, the many side missions help to fully enrich the RDR world as a whole. Besides being prettier than previous GTA style games, gone are the difficulty spikes that plagued previous games. I also felt that the save points were managed better than previous games. GTA IV raised the bar for open-world, sandbox style games with interesting characters and story. Red Dead Redemption has push that bar even further. This game is a MUST own. Expand
  5. Nov 13, 2011
    9
    Feel almost ashamed to give this game a 9 out of ten but I find myself going back to it so often and it is like San Andreas where you can haveFeel almost ashamed to give this game a 9 out of ten but I find myself going back to it so often and it is like San Andreas where you can have fun just being a lunatic shooting at strangers ect. Love the fact you can play it outlaw or hero and even intermix the two. It's a must have game just for the fact you don't have to try too hard in order to have fun. Bullet time is a blast as well, Zombies is even fun.....well it can get old. Still an awesome game and you can pick it up now 4 cheap, happy hunting :) Expand
  6. AY
    May 19, 2010
    9
    Red Dead Redemption has something for everyone, but it excels at creating a living, breathing world from another time & place while making Red Dead Redemption has something for everyone, but it excels at creating a living, breathing world from another time & place while making you feel very much a part of it. If you crave non-linearity and the freedom to choose how and where to do things across a giant landscape, this is for you. If you don't like choice and like to stay on task and enjoy games more when you're being guided rapidly from one piece of action to the next, the game's story and primary missions will keep you more than satisfied as well. My only complaint is that despite the multiplayer being fantastic, is that it doesn't quite deliver what was implied in all the pre-release marketing videos and such. I thought i'd be robbing banks and owning land with friends. I was disappointed to run into a bank and find no way to interact with anything apart from simply entering the building. The single player is worth the fullprice of the game though so I'll take the really good multiplayer as a bonus. Expand
  7. Mar 3, 2022
    0
    Basically the same GTA trash but in western setting, do not recommend. Pure garbage

See all 474 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.
  2. Red Dead Redemption: Inside the Reviews

    Red Dead Redemption: Inside the Reviews Image
    Published: May 18, 2010
    You might be hearing the phrase "Game of the Year candidate" a lot this week, and this new Wild West adventure from the creators of Grand Theft Auto is a major reason why. Find out exactly what the critics are saying about this new PS3/360 title.