Metascore
48

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 28
  2. Negative: 11 out of 28
  1. Sonic Adventure is still a great game like it was back in the late 90's when it was on Dreamcast, but nothing has changed at all with this Xbox LIVE port - all the flaws still remain.
  2. Sonic Adventure isn't the beaming example of Dreamcast development excellence, with its annoying camera issues, unnecessary side character missions and on-and-off gameplay enhancements.
  3. If you've never played the game but want to find out what it was like, get this version. If you've played the original and want to be taken back to 9.9.99 without having to dig out your Dreamcast, then this is $10 well spent.
  4. 60
    Sonic Adventure reaparition has contradictory results. It is a charming game we all remember fondly, but the formula has aged badly.
  5. Even with enhancements this is a basic conversion that relies too much on rose tinted charm and does not bode well for the forthcoming Dreamcast titles.
  6. Ultimately Sonic Adventure for XBLA offers absolutely nothing but an opportunity for nostalgia.
  7. This is a great game for the fanatics who like having all their Sonic games on a next generation console. However, if you're a casual fan looking for a masterpiece, all you'll find is a relic that was once considered greatness. It honestly pains me to say that.
  8. Sonic Adventure is still a loved title among some hardcore Dreamcast enthusiasts, but those may be the only people who need to pick up this title without any reservations.
  9. Not the classic re-release we wanted, developers should start improving old games before simply throwing them out on XBLA.
  10. 55
    Nostalgia is the only reason Sonic Adventure is worth playing through.
  11. When you are running at full speed as Sonic, hitting all the boosts, pulling off the loops, and outrunning the Orca whale as it demolishes the very pier you are running on (still the best part of the game), you remember why the game is so much fun. Those parts alone are almost worth the price of admission. It's just that pesky rest of the game that ends up ruining all the fun.
  12. Official Xbox Magazine
    55
    Sonic Adventure may have been a 3D revolution for Sega's storied franchise when it debuted in 1999, but in these HD-ified days, it just feel dated. [Nov 2010, p.69]
  13. Jan 10, 2011
    50
    A game that should've rested in peace with the good old Dreamcast.
  14. X-ONE Magazine UK
    Dec 25, 2010
    50
    A title revered for its looks in the years gone by both ages badly and succumbs to design logic issues... [Issue#65, p.105]
  15. A horrible camera, lots of bugs, no widescreen or any significant news. Not a good use of your money.
  16. 50
    The brilliance of Sonic Adventure can only be found within Sonic's Action Stages. The game hardly lives up to the lofty praise it received back in the day, but for what it's worth, Sonic Adventure will provide you with the most entertaining 3D Sonic experience to date.
  17. Sonic Adventure doesn't just make you realise its age, it also makes you question the world we live in: just how did this ever become the most successful Dreamcast game?
  18. Am I glad to see this Dreamcast title on XBLA? Yes. It is just too bad a little more work didn't go into the porting process.
  19. Oct 25, 2010
    40
    Rather than begging the question of whether or not the Dreamcast title is still relevant, this port clearly indicates that it isn't.
  20. 40
    It's almost not Sonic's fault -- 3D games just don't age well -- but this lazy port makes the Blue Blur look slower than ever.
  21. 40
    Sonic Adventure did not age well at all. The camera is frustrating and the voice overs are very weak. People who are looking for nostalgia could buy this game but even they should wait for Sonic Colors to come out.
  22. Sonic Adventure isn't worth 800 points, and it absolutely isn't worth 1200 to get the additional content. For 1200 points, you can instead get the entire original Sonic the Hedgehog trilogy, and trust me when I tell you, it's a much better use of your money.
  23. Only the most ardent Sonic fans need apply. For the rest of us, some good gaming memories should just remain that: memories.
  24. 35
    Even as a curiosity, I would advise you give Sonic Adventure a wide berth.
  25. There's almost nothing to like about Sonic Adventure. It's clunky and awkward at best, painfully buggy and broken at worst. Its most unforgivable sin, though, is that it's just not fun.
  26. Although It carries a great deal of nostalgia, especially for the Dreamcast, Sonic Adventure has a hard time adjusting to life on PSN and XBLA.
  27. In short, I would not recommend Sonic Adventure to any of my friends, acquaintances, co-workers, enemies or anyone else.
  28. 25
    A slapdash title like this shouldn't take anyone's time or money.
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 109 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 71 out of 109
  2. Negative: 17 out of 109
  1. Sep 17, 2010
    9
    The game is a bargain at 800 ms points. The game is not going to blow you out of your chair but it is full of nostalgic awesomeness. Can'tThe game is a bargain at 800 ms points. The game is not going to blow you out of your chair but it is full of nostalgic awesomeness. Can't believe these comments about the game not ageing well. It's more than ten years old for gods sake. Quite annoyed that you need to spend another 120 ms points to get the DX version. Bad move SEGA. Full Review »
  2. Sep 17, 2010
    8
    To be honest, back at 9-9-1999, there was only one game making me buy a Dreamcast, and that was Crazy taxi :-). But, after finaly jumping onTo be honest, back at 9-9-1999, there was only one game making me buy a Dreamcast, and that was Crazy taxi :-). But, after finaly jumping on the Dreamcast machine, i also bought Sonic adventure. And to be honest, i still think this is the best 3D sonic game to date. Even the last one, where he turns into a wherewolf failed me, just because of that wherewolf part, and those parts took the longest time.

    So back to Sonic adventure. Ive got the DX update as well, and i must sai that for me, i allready knew the tough spots of this game, and so it did not take long before i finished the game with Sonic. There where times i thought they should have finetuned the gameplay, but still, to me, they kept true to the dreamcast/gamecube/pc Sonic adventure. For me, it still feels like the same game. So here's some pro, and con's to help out getting this game or not.

    Pro's:

    + Sonic finest adventure is back and hasn't changed for the worce (it could have been terribly emulated, but it's not.)
    + the high(er) resolutions make some sonic levels really shine with less jaggies.
    + If you are like me, and are used to the old voice casting, they did not changed that. Some find this anoying, but i kind of like the humorous voice acting :-D
    + If you don't get the DX extension, it's just 800 MS points. So for a trip down memory lane, it's not even that expensive.

    Con's:

    - Some collours feels altered, i will soon play this game on my dreamcast to see if i'm right about this one.
    - why can't we have a option to make this game widescreen? as if there are not enough widescreen tv's around to make this worth their trouble....
    - DX update should have been given for the 800 MS points you pay for the normal game.
    - If you hated this game on the Dreamcast, there's nothing that makes you change your mind now.
    Full Review »
  3. Sep 15, 2010
    6
    A reasonably enjoyable game but the controls feel so twitchy and oversensitive at times. It can also be very annoying to find the next levelA reasonably enjoyable game but the controls feel so twitchy and oversensitive at times. It can also be very annoying to find the next level if you haven't played this game before, I spent an irritatingly long time running around looking for stones to access new areas/levels.

    Sega also had the nerve to charge 800 MS points for this game, and then release DLC mere hours later to get the 'full' game (DX version) which will set you back another 400 points, totalling 1200 MS points.

    Those complaints aside, this is a fun little game with colourful graphics and great sound. Worth a buy. I advise you to give the 'DX' upgrade a miss though - just purchase the main game. The DX upgrade doesn't add enough to warrant another 400 MS points.
    Full Review »