• Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Nov 4, 2010
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
Buy On
  1. Nov 11, 2010
    90
    One of the best Kinect launch titles, Your Shape: Fitness Evolved is a perfect experience for everyone looking for some home fitness.
  2. Nov 18, 2010
    87
    It's not a complete trainer replacement, but it's the next best thing.
  3. Nov 10, 2010
    85
    Your Shape is truly Fitness Evolved in not only name, but in nature as well, and it presents a great opportunity for people to workout in their own homes with their own fitness tracker and personal trainer. I find it hard to believe that it will replace gyms and your general workout regime for anyone who is currently active already in these fields, but it makes a perfect supplement, and for those who want to do more, this is the perfect tool.
  4. Nov 6, 2010
    85
    It's a highly recommended piece of software and one that does a great job of showcasing Kinect's ability to go beyond the game.
  5. 85
    Your Shape won't replace a real-life personal trainer, but it does delivers as close an experience as you can get, in the comfort of your (hopefully Kinect-sized) game room - and that's no easy feat.
  6. Nov 14, 2010
    84
    Your Shape Fitness Evolved is the best workout game to date and an excellent choice for Kinect owners this holiday.
  7. Nov 16, 2010
    82
    Your Shape: Fitness Evolved won't replace your professional fitness membership. However, as a well-thought out complement to your sedentary gaming habits, what Ubisoft offers is worth the detour.
  8. Xbox World 360 Magazine UK
    Dec 28, 2010
    80
    Not the most glamorous of titles, but one of the most well-rounded. [Jan 2011]
  9. Dec 15, 2010
    80
    The end result is a solid exercise simulator for the more determined work-out fiends.
  10. Official Xbox Magazine UK
    Dec 1, 2010
    80
    A compelling way to stay healthy. [Christmas 2010, p.108]
  11. Nov 19, 2010
    80
    If you have enough space in your living room, Your Shape: Fitness Evolved is simply the best fitness game you can get today on consoles. KINECT offers a whole new dimension to these fitness exercises, with an impressive accuracy of the the motion recognition, and live corrections from your virtual trainer... There is no room for cheating here! We'd have loved more customization options, maybe a little bit more exercises, but the experience here is really surpassing any other similar product we've experienced before in the genre.
  12. Nov 16, 2010
    80
    There's not a staggering amount of content here, but there's plenty of unique things to do here to keep you busy during your workout though. There's not enough of a "game" to subtly convince you to continue on.
  13. Nov 16, 2010
    80
    Even though a membership card at your local gym is still the best solution to a healthier life, Your Shape: Fitness Evolved turns out to be a very good alternative that will help you get into better shape and improve your condition.
  14. Nov 15, 2010
    80
    The first attempt to use Kinect against the extra weight is really good. Your Shape: Fitness Evolved is a great way to train yourself at home. The "no controller" experience is perfect for this kind of training games, and the good quality and variety of the training programs are really important for the final result.
  15. Nov 4, 2010
    80
    It's not likely that Your Shape will or should replace an actual in-the-gym routine, but it's a great supplement and a step in the right direction for the more sedentary gamers among us.
  16. Feb 1, 2011
    75
    Your Shape: Fitness Evolved is a title that will require a lot of determination, but if you put in that time and effort, you will see the results.
  17. Jan 17, 2011
    75
    Even if it's only the first rung on the evolution ladder, Your Shape: Fitness Evolved shows off excellent potential for the Kinect and the future of fitness games.
  18. Games Master UK
    Dec 29, 2010
    75
    The launch title that could tentatively fulfill a geek's wildest dream - to grow delts like Arnie from the comfort of their living room. [Jan 2011]
  19. Dec 1, 2010
    75
    Certainly, fitness has evolved in this first exergaming title for Kinect, but it has been thanks to the technology, and not for any additional software effort. Fitness Evolved is a good demonstration of what Kinect is able to achieve, and is a good fitness title, but we think it could have been better.
  20. Nov 29, 2010
    75
    It isn't quite perfect and has a number of other launch fitness titles to compete with, but as it stands if you feel the pounds are piling on or if you want to complement your gym visits or daily exercise, Your Shape is the perfect way to feel happy and healthy this winter.
  21. Nov 23, 2010
    75
    Until a more precise programme comes along, Your Shape will do a great job of keeping you active with minimal fuss.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 25 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 25
  2. Negative: 2 out of 25
  1. Dec 12, 2010
    9
    if you have an active lifestyle already (gym regular, runner, play sports more than twice a week), this game will bore you in the long run...if you have an active lifestyle already (gym regular, runner, play sports more than twice a week), this game will bore you in the long run... but if you don't have time to exercise, a fitness session, a couple of fitness games, and a class of either cardio boxing or tai chi everyday will make you active. as a game, it's not as fun as Dance Central... but it'll surely get you started. the success of Your Shape: Fitness Evolved depends on the games future DLC's and the user's willingness to do repetitive exercises. other fitness games will be coming out on the Kinect soon but this game has set the bar for this exercise genre. Full Review »
  2. Nov 16, 2010
    10
    I dont' like the gym and I know I need exercise. Kinect is giving me that opportunity, and if you are as lazy and unfit as I am, then thisI dont' like the gym and I know I need exercise. Kinect is giving me that opportunity, and if you are as lazy and unfit as I am, then this title is just the thing for you.
    There is a small lag if you watch your avatar on-screen, but if you follow with the trainer and focus on their avatar, you can't go wrong. Your avatar is good for correction, but don't focus on it too much.
    As a beginner title in the Kinect series, I hope to see more add-ons in the future, but for now, this will get you exercising and moving.
    The programs do seem to be a little limited, but I have learned from experience that too much variety creates confusion. For beginners like us, this is the perfect title. In the future one can look at other titles like EA Sports Active 2.
    I do hope that one day someone will design a title focusing exclusively on yoga, pilates and tai chi.
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 12, 2010
    9
    Just picked this up with the Kinect. I have to say I am impressed. about .00000001 percent lag that doesn't even mess you up. I love doing myJust picked this up with the Kinect. I have to say I am impressed. about .00000001 percent lag that doesn't even mess you up. I love doing my Cardio with this before I hit the gym. It totally beats the boredom of a treadmill. If this is in the beginning line up of the Kinect, i can't wait what the future holds. Full Review »