Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
Buy Now
Buy on
  1. Oct 31, 2017
    73
    Assassin's Creed Origins does enough things differently to warrant a look, but there is still something left to be desired. It's a lengthy game in a huge and varied open world that provides a foundation for what's to come, but it doesn't quite offer the breakthrough that the series was probably looking for.
  2. Nov 11, 2017
    70
    AC Origins is definitely a back to the roots (story and gameplay wise) effort with a great setting, a well written script and amazing visual department. The action rpg elements, though well implemented, leave much to be desired and side quests are blunt and indifferent. However, the late Hellenistic Egypt is a vibrant world with much to do and many secrets to unveil.
  3. Oct 26, 2017
    70
    Assassin’s Creed Origins isn’t the reinvention of the prolific franchise that many had hoped for. Instead, it refines the formula put in place a decade ago while telling an important story about the Assassins. Ancient Egypt is a compelling playground to explore, and the RPG elements make it easy to stay engaged. If you love the franchise, Origins is an easy recommendation. Just don’t except much change.
  4. Oct 26, 2017
    70
    Assassin's Creed has undergone many changes in its long and storied history, and Origins feels like the first step in the start of a new journey. It has its fair share of problems, but the vision for its future is one worth pursuing.
  5. Nov 2, 2017
    60
    Assassin's Creed: Origins packs many new tricks, yet feels dated. Its combat is clunky, its story generic, and despite a gorgeous world, Origins fails to live up to the standards set by the games it wants to resemble.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 890 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Jan 2, 2018
    9
    I’m glad that they gave the Assassin’s Creed series the break it so desperately needed. Being such a big fan of the series it was hard to seeI’m glad that they gave the Assassin’s Creed series the break it so desperately needed. Being such a big fan of the series it was hard to see it become stale, but thankfully that’s all changed. Assassin’s Creed Origins has without a doubt rejuvenated the series, and whilst it still has a few problems it’s still one of the best Creed games I’ve played in years. The combat system seems to have had a complete overhaul and in my opinion this is the best combat I’ve ever played in a Creed game. They’ve also done a great job with the mission variety in the game and I never once got bored on a mission because they made each mission matter. I was however a little disappointed with the stealth sequences in the game, and the main reason why I was disappointed is that I think they’ve made the stealth to easy this time around. The world of Egypt has been created to perfection and it’s absolutely massive so be prepated to explore quite a lot, which is great considering exploring is fun and very interesting. The story in the game is fantastic, exciting and most important of all interesting throughout, and in my opinion this is definitely one of the best story’s the series has had so far. The presentation side of the game is amazing and packed full of fantastic detail, especially when it came to the visuals. The game looks stunning and the amount of effort gone into here is really evident, and this effort makes the world come alive which is awesome. At the end of the day fans of Assassin’s Creed will be relieved to learn that the series has returned to being one of the best game’s on the market. Without a doubt this game has made me fall in love with the series again and they’ve done this by putting a lot of hard work into it. Don’t get me wrong it does still have a few problems and bugs dotted around, but I completely forgot about them because the game was so enchanting and delivered on a number of areas. Assassin’s Creed Origins has made the series come alive and matter again and in the end it gets a massive thumbs up from me. Full Review »
  2. Oct 27, 2017
    10
    Ubisoft really did it, they listened to all the criticism of the past AC games and addressed them. I can't believe the gaming community isUbisoft really did it, they listened to all the criticism of the past AC games and addressed them. I can't believe the gaming community is going around attacking this game and giving it zero without even playing. The game itself is great, no performance issues, ignore all the no life haters. Full Review »
  3. Oct 27, 2017
    10
    Assassin’s Creed Origins is one of the best open-world action games of this generation. The setting is quite evocative, the plot is engagingAssassin’s Creed Origins is one of the best open-world action games of this generation. The setting is quite evocative, the plot is engaging and there are also good endgame activities. The Creed is reborn. Full Review »