User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 884 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy Now
Buy on

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 9, 2017
    4
    Just like madden, cod, or battlefield... Once you played one of these games you have played them all. Red M&M... Blue M&M... They all wind up the same color in the end... Slight differences but mostly it's just the same crappy game every year. Rushed... Unfinished... over priced... tons of dlc that's just stuff that the game should have launched with from day one... Heck..... Some timesJust like madden, cod, or battlefield... Once you played one of these games you have played them all. Red M&M... Blue M&M... They all wind up the same color in the end... Slight differences but mostly it's just the same crappy game every year. Rushed... Unfinished... over priced... tons of dlc that's just stuff that the game should have launched with from day one... Heck..... Some times the games are even broken and in dire need of proper patching... Heck...... Some times they never get fixed like in the case of Master crap collection on the xbox one.

    Luckily this isn't unity but it's still trash for the most part. Also micro transactions so you're not missing out on anything by ignoring this one. As a matter of fact you're helping the world of gaming become a better place by avoiding micro transaction games so not getting this crappy game would be for the best.
    Expand
  2. Nov 7, 2017
    0
    The combat within this game is so bad! It sucks. One of the worst games I purchased this year. Stopped playing after 2 hours. I tried to give it some time but nope, it sucks. Gave it back the same day to EB games and swapped for Wolfenstein 2! Now that is a good game!
  3. Feb 21, 2018
    4
    The most impressive, beautiful, huge open world I've played to date. Nothing else good other than that.

    World design: A+++
    Story line: F
    Game characters & voicing: F
    Combat: F
    Bird: F
    Main missions: F
    Side quests: F
    Final missions: F minus
  4. Jul 3, 2018
    3
    Got about 4 hours in before complete boredom set in.

    Pros:
    - The game looked good and thought it was a cool setting

    Cons:
    - One of my favorite things in Creed games was the 100% sync challenge. They removed it.
    - Combat was not fun
    - Not much climbing and scaling buildings which is one of my favorite part of Creed games
    - The early missions were not interesting
  5. Jan 5, 2018
    0
    Listen to what we've been telling you for the past 7 years. Flaming swords? Flaming horses? Come on Ubisoft, you're not even trying. This game isn't even worthy of the Assassin's Creed name. I don't even feel like an assassin. I feel like I'm playing The Witcher III in an Egypt setting.

    Try harder next time. Come up with your own format instead of blatantly trying to copy a different
    Listen to what we've been telling you for the past 7 years. Flaming swords? Flaming horses? Come on Ubisoft, you're not even trying. This game isn't even worthy of the Assassin's Creed name. I don't even feel like an assassin. I feel like I'm playing The Witcher III in an Egypt setting.

    Try harder next time. Come up with your own format instead of blatantly trying to copy a different game. If I wanted to play TW3 I'd play it.

    Thank heavens I got this piece of crap on sale, otherwise you bet your bottom dollar I'd be doing a charge back.
    Expand
  6. Nov 4, 2017
    0
    Well, thanks to everyone who provided a review. I will not be buying this game after reading about microtransactions and dlc (day1) and not bothering with polishing bugs. -1 customer
  7. Nov 5, 2017
    2
    Что плохо: оптимизация, квесты, сюжет, микротранзакции. В общем плохо все, кроме пейзажей древнего Египта. Поэтому 2 бала, а не 1.
  8. Nov 6, 2017
    0
    scripted. there is a system in the game that when you die somebody can have a mission to avenge you... and it strange but sometime it feels like the game force you to die.
  9. Mar 15, 2018
    3
    Someone needs to remind Ubisoft that bigger/more ISN'T better. This game follows the same pattern as every ubisoft game ... a billion side quests with little to no relevance to the main quest and basically only 2 or 3 variations to these billion side quests. Zzzzzzzzzzzzz. At least they didn't always use the same locations for all these questions like they did in Watch Dogs 2. BayekSomeone needs to remind Ubisoft that bigger/more ISN'T better. This game follows the same pattern as every ubisoft game ... a billion side quests with little to no relevance to the main quest and basically only 2 or 3 variations to these billion side quests. Zzzzzzzzzzzzz. At least they didn't always use the same locations for all these questions like they did in Watch Dogs 2. Bayek as a main character was boring and I felt no emotional connection to him and the main story was so short. The entire game is based on its repetitive filler, the only reason I am even giving this game a 3 is because the combat is fun. MESSAGE TO UBISOFT: PLEASE TRY QUALITY QUESTS OVER QUANTITY Expand
  10. Dec 2, 2017
    4
    on nov 23rd i purchased assassins creed origins gold edition for the xbox one x...i paid 74 dollars for a game that i can't play longer than 10 or so minutes without the game crashing and freezing...this game is unplayable...i just got ripped off for a broken game!!!!!!!
  11. Dec 28, 2017
    0
    The menu is navigated with a cursor (on console). Its beyond me how many people would have tested this, used this, and created this, all of whom should have stressed how obviously difficult this is. It should have never been implemented and should have been removed as soon as it was. This is a relativity small aspect, but is a constant pain throughout, and is so blatantly incompetent thatThe menu is navigated with a cursor (on console). Its beyond me how many people would have tested this, used this, and created this, all of whom should have stressed how obviously difficult this is. It should have never been implemented and should have been removed as soon as it was. This is a relativity small aspect, but is a constant pain throughout, and is so blatantly incompetent that for a AAA game and large production co. as Ubisoft, it would be absurd to condone this in any way. Expand
  12. Oct 3, 2020
    1
    Ubisoft ne s'est pas fait prier et fort de la puissance de frappe de ses innombrables studios, l'éditeur français mondialisé a sorti ici de son chapeau magique l'un des plus vastes et plus beaux mondes ouverts jamais créés, non seulement techniquement mais aussi artistiquement, puisqu'à l'architecture pharaonique stupéfiante se superposent également les superbes monuments grecs de cetteUbisoft ne s'est pas fait prier et fort de la puissance de frappe de ses innombrables studios, l'éditeur français mondialisé a sorti ici de son chapeau magique l'un des plus vastes et plus beaux mondes ouverts jamais créés, non seulement techniquement mais aussi artistiquement, puisqu'à l'architecture pharaonique stupéfiante se superposent également les superbes monuments grecs de cette période ptomélaïque.



    Avec le patch (presque) 4K (du 1800p), le jeu brille de mille feux sur la Xbox One X sans jamais faiblir et garde toujours en vue sa cible des 30 im/s sans coup férir ; les temps de chargement sont également fort réduits pour un monde aussi grand qui charge globalement plus vite qu'un Witcher 3. La seule critique qui nous vienne à l'esprit concerne la nuit mal faite, une sorte de "nuit américaine" avec une pleine lune qui brille comme un soleil et qui reste d'ailleurs toute la journée... un peu ballot pour une lune, très surdimensionnée d'ailleurs !



    Mais AC Origins a aussi remis à plat les combats et l'infiltration ainsi que toute l'interface elle-même : tout y est bien plus accessible et mieux pensé, plus efficace surtout dans le parcours et la maniabilité du personnage, très réactifs. Même les combats peuvent être comparés sans honte à la référence dans le domaine, à savoir le fameux Witcher 3.



    Tout est donc pour le mieux croit-on... jusqu'au moment où l'on bute sur un choix de "design", c'est-à-dire les niveaux de notre personnage. Ce n'est pas nouveau dans les jeux Ubisoft de cet acabit de proposer une progression par niveaux qui permet de gagner des points et de débloquer des compétences. Ce qui est nouveau, c'est d'avoir découpé les parties de ce monde égyptien selon des prérequis précis en la matière : des zones sont à 30, d'autres à 25, d'autres à 40 et ainsi de suite...



    Cela bloque déjà le joueur de facto et dénie toute liberté de choix et de mouvement... dans un monde prétendument ouvert (?) mais ce n'est pas tout, car les missions principales héritent de prérequis elles aussi : on s'aperçoit alors qu'avec un retard de 4 niveaux ou plus, il nous est impossible d'accomplir la moindre mission principale sans se faire péter la gueule.



    Impossible d'assassiner un +4 par exemple, car l'assassinat devient une ""attaque furtive"" ; quant au +5 ou plus, ils ont une tête de mort sur eux, ce qui signifie qu'ils peuvent vous liquider en un coup... quand tout ce que peut leur faire notre cher assassin ne consiste qu'en quelques éraflures !



    Bref, vous l'avez compris : il faut farmer sa mère pour "accéder" aux missions principales dans de bonnes conditions, ce qui implique de farmer des activités très vite répétitives et copiéés-collées sur toute la putain de carte gigantesque ! Au bout du énième camp à nettoyer, de la énième statue à fracasser, du énième papyrus à trouver, de la énième tour à escalader (encore ces putains de tours qui servent de voyage rapide ici !) du énième trésor à ramasser, on en a marre...



    Ce ne sont pas ces dizaines (ou centaines ?) de "quêtes" annexes qui vont changer le train-train d'aller délivrer un connard... dans un putain de camp, hélas ! Malgré ces dialogues et ces nombreuses cinématiques pour chacune des quêtes annexes, leur caractère creux n'en est que plus patent et consternant, surtout que l'écriture est d'une beaufitude et d'une naïveté affligeantes. Et plus on y passe de temps, plus on avance (très laborieusement) plus on zappe tous ces dialogues et ces pseudo-histoires -y compris la "trame" principale complètement nulle à chier- plus on se rend compte que ce soit-disant jeu de rôle est une arnaque totale qui n'a rien à dire -sauf de la merde- et qui n'a pas d'autre but que de vous faire acheter des "XP boosts" si vous comptez le finir... un jour !



    A côté de cela, le héros Bayek a une tronche de cake et l'ensemble des protagonistes qu'on peut croiser sont transparents et sans aucun intérêt. De toute façon, il faut farmer tout le temps et pour tout, y compris pour améliorer son équipement : il faut en effet se procurer des peaux et des matières premières et on en voit pas le bout, ni la putain de fin...!



    Voilà qui est donc étonnamment décevant et très irritant. Dans le Witcher 3, on peut mettre de côté tous les à-côtés, je dis bien "tous" et se concentrer sur le plat principal et ne pas se retrouver avec des niveaux et des niveaux de retard ! il manquerait plus que ça... Ubisoft a donc oublié le caractère optionnel du farmage de crevard pour le rendre obligatoire.



    Quel dommage, car la jouabilité est bien faite, le jeu est très beau mais les mécaniques sont celles d'un MMO immonde qu'ils ont meublé comme des cons avec du remplissage débile à en dégueuler partout : ça nous fera donc juste 1 point, finalement ! Expand

  13. Sep 10, 2020
    4
    business as usual only worse ac has always suffered from tedious busywork nobody cared about.
    it´s just giant waste of time but this time is even more oberloaded with nonsense time wasters . it has got even more grindy to justify lootboxes and microtransactions. 3 and 4 added some variety with the ship actually the only ac games i could suffer through to the end. this one is getting
    business as usual only worse ac has always suffered from tedious busywork nobody cared about.
    it´s just giant waste of time but this time is even more oberloaded with nonsense time wasters . it has got even more grindy to justify lootboxes and microtransactions. 3 and 4 added some variety with the ship actually the only ac games i could suffer through to the end. this one is getting boring fast.
    the combat is a bit better i´d say but theres really no point to it since the xp and gold to gain is absolutely neglectable it looks nice sure. but that doesn´t matter much in the long run. all the characters are boring and the story is nonsense. after a short while you´ll find yourself skipping the characters slow meaningless blathering.
    Expand
  14. Jul 17, 2022
    1
    c: ........................................................................
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. CD-Action
    Jan 10, 2018
    90
    For me Origins is the best game in the series, a beginning of a new era for the long-running franchise. I was awestruck by how huge, varied and believable its world is and how dense it is with all sorts of appealing activities. I welcomed the completely redesigned combat system, which bids farewell to the old “press X to win” feature. Apart from various glitches and technical issues (often resulting from game’s complexity) my only serious charge against Origins is that it sets up its story poorly and fails to keep it tight. [13/2017, p.68]
  2. Dec 13, 2017
    90
    Origins provides a much-needed change in direction for the Assassin’s Creed franchise. The range of new action-RPG elements isn’t especially innovative but they do more than enough to make the previously tired gameplay feel fresh and engaging. The world is beautiful and dense, the characters are interesting, and the story offers enough mystery and intrigue to keep players coming back before it sadly ends far too quickly. Assassin’s Creed Origins isn’t perfect, but it points to a long and healthy future for the series.
  3. Official Xbox Magazine UK
    Dec 12, 2017
    90
    Egypt and star Bayek make this a promising forebear to a new age of Creed.