Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
Buy Now
Buy on
  1. Dec 16, 2015
    90
    The combination of an interesting and diverse cast of characters and the entertaining and compelling story sit perfectly in the beautifully recreated 1860’s London. It doesn’t do everything to solve all the series’ problems, missions can feel repetitive and there are some minor AI bugs that will shatter the sense of immersion occasionally, but by taking a step backwards and removing much of the excess baggage that the series has accumulated over the years of annual releases, Syndicate has become the best Assassin's Creed since Brotherhood.
  2. Nov 6, 2015
    90
    With a stellar cast of characters, a beautiful setting, thoughtful and open ended gameplay, and a decidedly more playable post-launch game, Assassin's Creed Syndicate is the game that many fans of the series have been waiting for.
  3. Oct 22, 2015
    90
    The focus is back on single player stealth and freedom, with the final game giving us the feeling that the franchise is absolutely back on track. Excellent fun.
  4. Oct 22, 2015
    88
    Assassin's Creed: Syndicate brings some freshness to the series thanks to the protagonists duality and the sped-up movement given by chariots and the new grappling hook, while Victorian era London is a really charming location. We didn't like the shoddy present time story line, though: if Ubisoft can't bring it back to the Desmond days greatness, maybe it's time to definitively let it go.
  5. Oct 28, 2015
    85
    A fair amount of bugs and lack of a present-day scenario detract from what is otherwise a strong return to form for Assassin’s Creed. Syndicate touts not one, but two great protagonists, strong gameplay, and Victorian Era London is neck and neck with Renaissance Italy as the best place the series has been to.
  6. Oct 26, 2015
    85
    While there are some things I could've done without in Syndicate – like the occasionally frustrating "kidnap" mission and some weird ghost-like glitches – it's still one of the best entries in the series in some time.
  7. Nov 5, 2015
    84
    It’s pretty clear Ubisoft has taken an inward look following mediocre offerings in the recent past – and not just among the AC franchise – and made an attempt to correct them. That is commendable in its own right, but even more so for how much better Syndicate is as a result.
  8. Oct 22, 2015
    82
    Best of all, Syndicate asks you to take London back in a way puts the last few games to shame.
  9. Nov 19, 2015
    80
    Assassin’s Creed Syndicate is not without its problems, but it turns out that putting two excellent protagonists in a brilliantly recreated city is all it takes to make us excited about the Assassin’s Creed series again.
  10. Oct 22, 2015
    80
    Assassin's Creed Syndicate is a game for the fans of the series, a step forward when compared to Unity, but not the great comeback that many loyalists were expecting.
  11. 80
    Assassin's Creed: Syndicate is about what we've come to expect from annual franchise. Ubisoft Quebec has built a beautiful new world to explore but relies on many of the same ideas from previous games to keep players interested.
  12. Oct 22, 2015
    80
    Assassin's Creed Syndicate features a solid campaign, elevated by challenging assassination missions and a spellbinding setting. Syndicate delivers all of the innovations I had hoped to see from Unity, which was the franchise's first new-generation console entry, as the adjustments to combat, stealth, and travel breathe new air into the series.
  13. Oct 22, 2015
    80
    Something of a return to form for the series, Assassin's Creed Syndicate is the perfect marriage of time, place and characters with an entertaining story and fun gameplay to match. London has never seemed so appealing.
  14. Oct 22, 2015
    80
    Syndicate feels very much like an Assassin’s Creed game in all the good ways and only a few of the bad.
  15. Nov 12, 2015
    78
    Even in the face of those hiccups, I enjoyed every moment of playing Assassin's Creed: Syndicate and have returned to highly anticipating the next chapter. I still find time to bounce around London with the Frye twins, and I hope whoever comes next can provide the same kind of company.
  16. Oct 29, 2015
    75
    All in all, I think Assassin’s Creed Syndicate is exactly what the series needed, which is a step back in right direction after the dismal release of Unity.
  17. Oct 28, 2015
    75
    A game of this magnitude is bound to have its successes and failures, and Assassin's Creed Syndicate definitely has both. But, in most instances, gameplay and narrative are interwoven nicely enough to keep us vested in our pursuit of a better London.
  18. Nov 19, 2015
    70
    It isn't a terrible game by any means, and I'd rank it much higher on the totem pole than the previous installment, Assassin's Creed Unity. But that doesn't change the fact that Ubisoft's latest assassin-centered story is only a few shades above mediocre.
  19. Oct 23, 2015
    70
    The bugs still remain but Syndicate is saved by a wonderfully vivid London, despite everything else feeling dated.
  20. 70
    Syndicate can't quite escape the series' lingering problems, but it gets by on the breezy charm of its leads, ably assisted by a sprightly score and winning script.
  21. Nov 2, 2015
    66
    While superficially Syndicate is not worse than older Assassin’s Creeds and gives you interesting new features, the magic is gone. Visually a step back, incoherent and bug ridden it might be the first sign that Ubisoft has to give the series a break in order to catch the creative spark again.
  22. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Dec 3, 2015
    60
    Syndicate is a solid sequel that will delight fans of the series, but most likely will not draw new people to the brand. If only devs pay more attention to an optimization and get rid of repeatable tasks, the result could be significantly better. [Issue#258]
User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 581 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Oct 23, 2015
    10
    Massive, Massive improvement over that crapfest that was Unity. The characters are well written, familiar gameplay mechanics such as theMassive, Massive improvement over that crapfest that was Unity. The characters are well written, familiar gameplay mechanics such as the whistling and being able to pick up bodies is back, the story has clever links to the story of the other AC games, the modern day is better and actually goes somewhere (albeit the ending is absolute wank) and the side missions are implemented well into the goal of the main story. Full Review »
  2. Feb 15, 2016
    8
    Updated review: My last review was rather overly negative because I made the mistake of submitting my opinion too early in the game. Now thatUpdated review: My last review was rather overly negative because I made the mistake of submitting my opinion too early in the game. Now that I've completed the game, I can honestly say that this is the best AC so far in my opinion for number of reasons. Firstly, devs now finally realize that sandbox levels are the way to go with AC, and they have made the stealth mechanics fast paced and less frustrating from the previous games. You have number of methods to dispatch your enemy and all of the mechanics are cool. The setting is very immersive and possibly my favorite one in the series. The characters are all memorable and show wide range of emotions from the emotionally disturbed past protagonists. Finally, the game is just a blast - there are plenty of side missions and all are fun, and the story missions are all varied and offer player freedom. I think this game is the biggest surprise of 2015 for me. Full Review »
  3. Oct 23, 2015
    0
    You can tell even the professional reviews were trying to find a sneaky way to tell the consumer that the game is still a broken mess. ("TheyYou can tell even the professional reviews were trying to find a sneaky way to tell the consumer that the game is still a broken mess. ("They fixed most of the glitches", "the gameplay is somewhat improved") it's clear that money changed hands here because this game is just as bad as unity when it comes to the bugs and the uninspired characters/story.

    Biggest glitches I've experienced in my three hours with the game so far:
    -Fell through the world and had to restart.
    -My carriage hit a bump of some sort and flipped over like someone did the old warthog jumping glitch in Halo.
    -Textures all over the place take longer to load than in thps5.
    -The freerunning has somehow got worse since unity so they made the zipline I guess to keep you from climbing and breaking the game. Only my character fell off the line halfway across a gap and then ragdoll'd around until magically resetting on the ground as if nothing happened.
    -The combat is once again a disaster and there was even one person I kept punching that got stuck in a wall and wouldn't go down so I had to restart.
    -fell into a wall while climbing once. Luckily I just fell to the ground and was then able to walk right through the wall and back into the street. No reset necessary that time.

    And those are just the notable things in 3 hours of play. I'm not THAT much of a glitch magnet. This is inexcusable.

    I love how all the professional reviews dodge around the fact that horse carriages are the most broken gameplay element since the batmobile or the witcher 3 horse. Leave vehicles to racing games already!

    I usually just come to the user reviews section here because the critic reviews are all or mostly lies. I'm starting to see some devs or friends of devs bleed through into this section though. Nobody that actually played this game would rate it 10/10. Even if you liked it and you weren't being paid to write the review, at best I can see the game being an 8 if there weren't so many bugs and you liked the story I guess.

    Anyway, I'm giving this a zero because 10 and 0 are the only numbers that stand out and get read here. And this is certainly no 10.

    Don't be fooled by the corrupt reviewers! I bought my copy at full price and once again I was left wondering why Ubisoft is still in business. Assassins creed just needs to take a long break and get a different dev team to be worth buying ever again.
    Full Review »