Batman: Return to Arkham Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 94 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Return to Arkham and experience two critically acclaimed titles from the last generation - Batman: Arkham Asylum and Batman: Arkham City, with fully remastered and updated visuals. Batman: Return to Arkham includes the comprehensive versions of both games and includes all previously releasedReturn to Arkham and experience two critically acclaimed titles from the last generation - Batman: Arkham Asylum and Batman: Arkham City, with fully remastered and updated visuals. Batman: Return to Arkham includes the comprehensive versions of both games and includes all previously released additional content. Batman: Arkham Asylum exposes players to a dark and atmospheric adventure that takes them into the depths of Arkham Asylum -Gotham City's high security psychiatric hospital for the criminally insane. Use Batman's legendary gadgetry, strike from the shadows, and confront The Joker and Gotham City's most notorious super villains. Batman: Arkham City sends players soaring into Arkham City - a heavily fortified sprawling district in the heart of Gotham City. Batman Arkham City introduces a brand-new story that draws together an all-star cast of classic characters and murderous villains from the Batman universe. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Batman: Return to Arkham Announcement Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Nov 16, 2016
    87
    Arkham City is the better of the two games on offer here, but both games are wonderful to play-through for nostalgic reasons. However, if you’ve never played either of them before, you owe it to yourself to do so now.
  2. Oct 27, 2016
    82
    A very good remaster, with visible graphical improvements even if a bit lacking on frame-rate stability. Definitely suggested to both newcomers to the series and veterans willing to again wear the Dark Knight's cape.
  3. Oct 24, 2016
    80
    The decision to lock both games at 30 FPS is a poor one in my opinion and maybe just keeping the original assets and increasing the frame rate would’ve served the collection well.
  4. Oct 28, 2016
    75
    The chuggy frame rate (particularly in in Arkham Asylum) is disappointing but it won’t ruin your enjoyment of either game.
  5. Oct 21, 2016
    75
    Batman: Return to Arkham is a good game but an awful remaster. It should have improved the frame rate, visuals and gameplay, but does none of that leaving the game almost as it was.
  6. Official Xbox Magazine UK
    Dec 4, 2016
    70
    IF you're really itching to return to Arkham, it might be better to fire up your Xbox 360. [Christmas 2016, p.78]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 10
  2. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. Nov 16, 2016
    10
    very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very veryvery very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very good! Expand
  2. Oct 18, 2016
    9
    These graphics are gorgeous! There's still some signs that the games are old (especially Arkham Asylum with the character models when theyThese graphics are gorgeous! There's still some signs that the games are old (especially Arkham Asylum with the character models when they talk), but MAN the environments are STUNNING! The only reason it didn't get a flat out 10 for me is there is a bit of stutter and framerate drop that I've noticed so far. Otherwise, you've made my dreams come true! Now bring Arkham Origins to back compat and complete my set! Expand
  3. Nov 15, 2017
    8
    This new version of Batman is darker in tone but stylistic with gripping stories from the best two superhero games every made. A brilliantlyThis new version of Batman is darker in tone but stylistic with gripping stories from the best two superhero games every made. A brilliantly fantastic story driven trilogy following the Dark Knight's journey into the night in a bid to take down the underworld of Gotham City. There are an array of different characters to meet and interesting places to explore and side missions to keep you gripped inside the psyche of The Batman for hours. Expand
  4. Feb 26, 2020
    8
    nota 8 pelo primeiro jogo, o segundo ainda não joguei, quando jogar volto aqui pra dar nota, o primeiro me fez estressar numa certa parte lanota 8 pelo primeiro jogo, o segundo ainda não joguei, quando jogar volto aqui pra dar nota, o primeiro me fez estressar numa certa parte la kkkkk mas é bom Expand
  5. Oct 21, 2016
    8
    Although the games have aged well and look fantastic, the frame rate (At least in the Xbox One version) is still pretty sub-par. The two gamesAlthough the games have aged well and look fantastic, the frame rate (At least in the Xbox One version) is still pretty sub-par. The two games still hold up well and I strongly recommend anyone who hasn't played them to pick them up. For those who have played the games in the past, there's no real reason to purchase them again unless you are an avid of the series. Expand
  6. Oct 20, 2016
    6
    These are good games, no question about that.
    But technically this is a very disappointing remaster. Arkham Asylum especially stutters a lot
    These are good games, no question about that.
    But technically this is a very disappointing remaster. Arkham Asylum especially stutters a lot and framerate is not a stable 30 fps. Would stay away until this is patched.
    Expand
  7. Feb 16, 2020
    0
    First game(s) I ever played that give me headaches & eye pain. Played & still play the originals to death but these remakes are so badly madeFirst game(s) I ever played that give me headaches & eye pain. Played & still play the originals to death but these remakes are so badly made that their remastered graphics give me literal eye pain & head aches. Bloom is too high, shadows are too dark & lights are too bright. Even when playing in a well lit room & setting TV brightness lower game(s) still cause me head/eye pain. I've been playing games for over 25 years. I've never had a game where every time I play it I get a headache until now.

    Asylum is the worst. Going in & out of detective mode gives you a very bright white flash. It was never this bright in the original. I have to close my eyes every time I turn detective mode on or off because it's so bad.

    Arkham City is better, but it still hurts my head to look at. The bloom on neon signs & fire effects is set so high that having them on screen gives me eye pain.

    Both games suffer from severe lighting/shading problems that just hurt my eyes to look at. I dunno why it causes me eye pain & head aches but they just do. I can still play the originals on PC with no problems or the 360 versions which I own as well, but playing these remasters is like looking at the sun during a solar eclipse. It's beautiful but keep staring & you'll go blind.
    Expand

See all 10 User Reviews