Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Apr 4, 2017
    90
    I highly recommend playing Blackwood Crossing. Look, you will know whether this is the kind of game you might like by looking at the trailer or screenshots, but it’s game about character, story and atmosphere, rather then high action. Even through it’s a tad short and the price is north of the £10 mark, it’s a beautiful, life affirming gaming experience that I won’t forget for a long time.
  2. Apr 10, 2017
    85
    Needless to say, Blackwood Crossing is a gem, though a couple of slight problems cloud its shine just a bit. This truly is an impressive, memorable and spectacularly human game that does a better job than most of conveying real human emotions through interactive experiences. As such, it behooves you to check it out and give it a chance to warm your heart.
  3. Apr 5, 2017
    85
    The truth Blackwood Crossing finds is unforgettable and emotionally wrenching. Its palette of feelings - love, loss, anger, belonging - are beyond the scope of all but the best narrative games, and Blackwood Crossing is one of the most beautiful and best I have ever played. It explores the meaning of childhood, without falling into a soup of schmaltz. It dares to investigate the mutual incomprehensibility of adulthood and childhood, and to explore the different landscapes we and our offspring inhabit.
  4. Apr 4, 2017
    85
    An emotional and magical adventure, with great visuals and charmingly believable characters. We'd wanted it to endure longer and sometimes would have liked to run instead of slowly walking, but really loved the overall experience.
  5. Apr 11, 2017
    83
    Blackwood Crossing is a game I highly recommend experiencing. It’s a game that defies explanation but has deeply emotional implications. If you’re as fascinated as I am by the emerging trend of games that portray real feels then Blackwood Crossing is a no-brainer.
  6. Official Xbox Magazine UK
    May 29, 2017
    80
    The puzzles may be easy, but this is a beautiful and genuinely moving ode to childhood. [June 2017, p.84]
  7. Apr 20, 2017
    80
    Blackwood Crossing offers a touching glimpse into the inner workings of a family from the perspective of a young teenage girl. Loss is at the core of the story and watching Scarlett and Finn internalize loss is a heartbreaking look at childhood. Revealing too much of the story takes away from the magic of Blackwood Crossing, but it is a gripping tale that everyone can connect to. Some of the puzzles boil down to disappointing distractions, but other are always engaging which makes the beautiful story the most important aspect of the game. Anyone looking for next tremendous story in gaming should look no further than Blackwood Crossing.
  8. Apr 13, 2017
    80
    [Blackwood Crossing is] not perfect, but the amount of love that pours out of the game – both in terms of the visual and technical quality from the team of developers and in the palpable relationship between the characters – far outweighs any minor nitpicks you could have.
  9. Apr 10, 2017
    75
    Blackwood Crossing brings us a memorable and moving experience. Its script, characters and themes will catch us from the very beginning. The game has serious issues on both gameplay and technical aspects, but the quality of its story tips the scales in its favor.
  10. Apr 10, 2017
    75
    Blackwood Crossing might be short but sweet, yet it's clearly an experience that's been made as a labour of love, and as such, it has a magical, almost ethereal quality that's impossible to forget.
  11. Apr 8, 2017
    70
    The narrative genre often takes a closer look at human emotions, something we don't often see in other genres. Blackwood Crossing takes a bold leap into examining emotions and family dynamics, tackling subjects such as love and grief, separation and moving on. It's a topic that lends itself well to the genre, as the minimalistic gameplay places a magnifying glass over the narrative the game competently weaves.
  12. Apr 4, 2017
    70
    Blackwood Crossing is a great game and if you can look past the clunky controls and odd frame pacing issues, it’s a blast to play. However, the majority of gamers will be aggravated by the problems with the controls. The developers need to address these issues soon because it’s a treat to play on PC but not on Xbox One.
  13. Apr 12, 2017
    60
    With a short completion, excellent main characters, and good production values, the highs reach far higher than the lows. It’s an altogether lovely experience, especially if you have siblings to relate to, and it stands clearly among the better adventure games available on Xbox One. The only issue is its cost. This is a game that would firmly benefit from a sale, so I suggest you keep your eyes out because you won’t want to miss this memorable experience.
  14. Apr 4, 2017
    60
    Blackwood Crossing begins with the promise of a fantastic and emotional journey, and provides one from beginning to end when it comes to a terrific story, but in terms of gameplay, the journey ends well before we can even take a stroll to the dining car or the like. It’s just too short a trip, not allowing for enough time to make the most out of things when it comes to puzzles, challenge or unique interactions. It’s decent, sure, but sadly never gets the opportunity to be truly interesting, which is sad given the amount of potential here.
User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 10 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 10
  2. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. Apr 9, 2017
    9
    A perfect narrative, this game will touch your heart. PREPARE TO CRY. Maybe the gameplay could be a little better though, but I understandA perfect narrative, this game will touch your heart. PREPARE TO CRY. Maybe the gameplay could be a little better though, but I understand it´s a narrative game and it doesn´t has to have a perfect mechanics. Full Review »