Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 29
  2. Negative: 2 out of 29
  1. Sep 6, 2019
    85
    Blair Witch is a great horror experience. It's frightening and agonizing. It takes us back to our deeper fears. Despite not being technically impressing, gameplay and story manage to shine. Bloober Team shows us, once more, why is one of the best horror studios in the whole videogame industry.
  2. Sep 4, 2019
    85
    Bloober Team makes an honorable tribute to the mythology of Blair Witch, not only by recreating its atmosphere and distinctive elements, but by building an intense and significant experience.
  3. Sep 13, 2019
    83
    It shouldn’t come as a huge surprise that Blair Witch is so solid. After all its developers, Bloober Time, were also behind the very creepy Layers of Fear (not mention the frighteningly bad Basement Crawl), so for them to apply the lessons from that game to an established horror property like Blair Witch Project is clearly a no-brainer. Nonetheless, it makes for a very enjoyable — and, more importantly, very creepy — horror game, and one that any aficionados of the genre would be wise to check out.
  4. Dec 11, 2019
    80
    Blair Witch captivated me in a way that no other horror game has ever done before. A brilliant story that is complimented by even better gameplay allows for an enjoyable, yet terrifying experience. It has a few issues in terms of gameplay but iron those out and it's near perfect.
  5. Sep 9, 2019
    80
    Technical issues aside, Blair Witch makes for a satisfying experience with an oppressive atmosphere, an engaging plot and interesting gameplay mechanics. There’s also plenty of written plot details and collectable items dotted throughout the game, should players enjoy themselves enough to come back and attempt to figure out how to unlock some of alternative endings. Being a horror experience (and one with lots of scripted events) means that the most engaging experience will always be the first run through. At the very least, players can expect the game to be tense, well-paced and imminently memorable.
  6. Sep 5, 2019
    80
    Even though I greatly enjoy the movies, I have to say, Blair Witch makes a better game than a movie.
  7. Sep 3, 2019
    80
    Some technical hiccups and out of place combat isn’t enough to stop this from being Bloober Team’s scariest game to date, and the best Blair Witch entry since 1999.
  8. 80
    The Blair Witch franchise has never been able to capture the magic of the original movie in the years since, but this may be the closest attempt yet thanks to the effective use of the a psychological focused story and gameplay that feels fairly fresh within the horror genre.
  9. Aug 30, 2019
    80
    The problems that I brought up prevent Blair Witch from being truly excellent, but Bullet's glitchy moments and the performance issues are things that the developer can hopefully improve with an update, making a great game even better. Even as it is, though, I still highly recommend Blair Witch if you're a fan of horror titles.
  10. Sep 3, 2019
    78
    You should not expect playful depths.
  11. Sep 3, 2019
    75
    Blair Witch feels more like a tip of the hat to Eternal Darkness : Sanity's Requiem than one of the most gruesome games out there. The characters (including the forest) are pretty good, but the sub-par graphics (even on Xbox One X) are a true let down.
  12. 75
    Blair Witch is the best Blair Witch game yet. However, its willingness to get you lost can be frustrating despite being so authentic to the franchise. Regardless, despite some uneven presentation, Blair Witch is a passionate love letter to the first and third films in the franchise. It manages to maintain its scares from beginning to end, even if it becomes a little predictable.
  13. Sep 2, 2019
    75
    Blair Witch manages to offer a gameplay that has reached its limits by propping it up with an intriguing storyline, a good dose of atmosphere and a couple of interesting mechanics. However, it tends to overdo in the end and, above all, he needs a little more technical cleaning.
  14. Aug 30, 2019
    75
    An interesting experience that mixes investigation, puzzles and chasing scenes with jumpscares. The forest and the oppressing atmosphere are really well handled, and we really liked the end of the game, that unfortunately, concludes an intense, yet short and sometimes too conventionnal, story.
  15. Aug 30, 2019
    75
    Managing to make the forest seem oppressive and claustrophobic, Blair Witch is adept at creating a tense and foreboding atmosphere, while weaving a compelling narrative that still proves exciting, even if you've sussed out the final twist hours before the end. You'll never look at trees the same way again.
  16. Oct 1, 2019
    74
    I really enjoyed Blair Witch, it caught the essence of the franchise and definitely gave me nostalgia from the movies – which now I have to watch again. Visuals look great and it plays well, although being a bit short in length I’d recommend this to any horror or franchise fan. Bloober did a pretty good job and I can’t wait to see what they have in store next.
  17. Sep 11, 2019
    70
    Blair Witch might just become one of the most satisfying psychological horror experiences on consoles. Despite the protagonist's weak story, the context and sound design in the game turn into a unique experience.
  18. Aug 30, 2019
    70
    Blair Witch is a decent adventure… with an absolutely perfect ending. When Bloober Team do what they do best, it turns into a horror masterpiece, but you’ll need to endure a few hours of less inspired exploration to get to enjoy this. It is worth it, though.
  19. Aug 30, 2019
    70
    Blair Witch is a horror game with some good ideas poorly executed, such as the use of a video camera to change environments or the relationship between the main character and his dog.
  20. Sep 11, 2019
    65
    Bloober takes the opportunity to keep adding game mechanics in its horror games, but misses in going deep in them as well as expanding the mythology behind the Blair Witch universe.
  21. Sep 6, 2019
    65
    Blair Witch has got some good premises, but stumbles with a banalized plot and an overall boring and not so scary experience. Bloober Team's hand is still noticeable, but the game could maybe have benefited from a longer development time.
  22. Sep 3, 2019
    65
    Bloober Team tries to mix successful elements from titles like Alan Wake and Outlast, and use the atmosphere and theme from The Blair Witch Project to create a different horror game. But the result is not as good as expected, as the game starts to get boring soon and has no true identity, with the opportunity to roam the Burkittsvills forest being the only salvage point.
  23. Oct 10, 2019
    60
    Because of the horrible glitches I experienced along with a confusing end sequence, I was not able to enjoy it entirely. It’s not a bad game, in fact quite the opposite. There just was no room for that much error. With only one game mode heavily focusing on story, it just has to be done right. You can complete the whole adventure in just a few hours. Is it scary? Yes, they have done a fantastic job with jump scenes and being lost in the eerie woods. I wanted to give it another try, so I started a new game. When in the first area I could not get Bullet to fetch the hat for me, I force quit the game and decided not to bother. If they ever fix the issues, I may revisit the forest and get lost all over again.
  24. 60
    An uneven mix of tense psychological drama and buggy, half-broken gameplay mechanics but the end result is still one of the better movie tie-ins of recent years.
  25. Sep 2, 2019
    57
    Blair Witch is more of an exercise in tedium than it is an immersive atmospheric horror experience. There are some clever mechanics and a ton of replay incentives yet the campaign manages to derail from its promising premise thus making the rest of the story fall flat.
  26. Official Xbox Magazine UK
    Oct 13, 2019
    50
    Nails the atmosphere of the films, but falls horrifically flat in gameplay terms. [Issue#183, p.77]
  27. Sep 24, 2019
    50
    Blair Witch is plagued by bugs and technical problems, which is a major obstacle to the psychological horror. It rarely gets scary in this predictable and fairly monotonous horror game. A mortal sin for a game based on the film of the same name.
  28. Edge Magazine
    Oct 10, 2019
    40
    As Ellis crushes his umpteenth fistful of twigs, you're merely reminded of a far superior, far more disturbing journey through the woods near Burkittsville. [Issue#338, p.110]
  29. Sep 9, 2019
    40
    Blair Witch, much like the rest of the franchise, is a disappointment. It's not scary, it's rarely interesting and it's not particularly fun to play. It has a solid look, but is lacking in just about every other department. I say this begrudgingly, but you're better off watching the films.
User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 341 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 96 out of 341
  1. Sep 11, 2019
    8
    The Blair Witch Project first hit our movie screens over twenty years ago and whilst it wasn’t the most scariest film that’s ever been seen itThe Blair Witch Project first hit our movie screens over twenty years ago and whilst it wasn’t the most scariest film that’s ever been seen it had a vibe about it that drew you in and what was happening on screen was actually believable due to that vibe. The film was actually pretty successful as well but I would’ve never have thought that a game would have been made about it. That being said when it was first announced I was actually looking forward to Blair Witch the game and if done right it could be one of those games that scares the back of your hair on your neck up like a cat, and was hoping that was the case because I love a game that truly scares you. Thankfully it did scare me some and even though it isn’t perfect if you’re one of those who likes to be scared then Blair Witch needs to be in your library. Basically you’re a police officer who joins the search of a missing nine year old boy and tracking down this boy is full of horror and events that make you wish you weren’t there. The story sounds simple and to a degree it is but as you progress you realise that the character you play as has a lot of depth to them and as things go even further you start to imagine actually being this person experiencing the horrifying events he’s gone through at the same time. This in turn makes things become even more immersive and at the same time you become to get very attached to the character your portraying.Yes there are quite a few things that make this game stand out but for me the biggest thing that makes Blair Witch stand out is the atmosphere. I’m not exaggerating when I say then that the atmosphere is so tense that you’re always on the edge of your seat and dreading what will happen next because the visual style and stellar sound design infuse together perfectly creating a horrifying experience at every turn. The puzzles should also get a special mention because they are quite clever and give the gameplay and atmosphere an extra layer which in turn makes the events feel that little bit more important. definitely a solid offering for those enjoying their Xbox late at night. Full Review »
  2. Aug 30, 2019
    10
    Perfeito!!!!!!!graficos lindos e terror de verdade supremo top✌✌✌✌✌✌✌
  3. Sep 1, 2019
    0
    Si la version de pc daba pena y asco imaginense la de xbox, el juego tiene caidas feas de fps, tiene muchos bugs, es un walking simulator ySi la version de pc daba pena y asco imaginense la de xbox, el juego tiene caidas feas de fps, tiene muchos bugs, es un walking simulator y edta muy mal optimizado. Le daria un menos 0, pero no se puede, asi que ahi esta mi exhaustivo analisis. Full Review »