Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
Buy On
  1. Feb 2, 2020
    90
    I can’t stress just how smartly made Children of Morta is. The narrative flows smoothly in and out of dungeons, the characters have a real life to them, and the gameplay is enthralling and has those addictive qualities that make you just want to keep leveling everyone up. In the 15-plus hours I invested in this adventure, I was thoroughly captivated by everything Dead Mage set out to achieve. The way family comes together for the final conflict is truly impressive.
  2. Dec 2, 2019
    87
    While at first glance Children of Morta may simply appear to be another typical roguelike RPG hack and slash, it all comes together in a wonderful and charming way, making you forget that you’re generally repeating dungeon runs back to back. While the lack of online co-op was really the only negative I have, the rest of the experience with the Bergson’s was a very memorable and entertaining one throughout.
  3. Nov 5, 2019
    85
    Children of Morta is the perfect game for RPG fans. It's well written story and perfect design make it worthy for any player. Despite some gameplay issues, Children of Morta is one of the most interesting RPG games we've recently played.
  4. Nov 6, 2019
    81
    Children of Morta finds its ideal habitat on consoles, thanks to a spot-on control system and state-of-the-art pixel graphics. We found it hits just the sweet spot between randomness and sense of progression.
  5. CD-Action
    Nov 25, 2019
    80
    The game might disappoint the veterans of the genre but it also makes an interesting introduction to it – and the flawless pixel art is definitely one of its strongest selling points. [13/2019, p.89]
  6. Nov 20, 2019
    80
    While the game can be quite a grind to finish everything, I guess as long as you’re having a good time it shouldn’t matter.
  7. Oct 23, 2019
    80
    Roguelite RPG, that invites you not only with its coop-option, but also the charming pixel design and the well constructed story. But technical issues as well as the high grind factor provide a setback.
  8. Oct 22, 2019
    80
    Children of Morta on Xbox One is a traditional roguelike hack and slash RPG situated in a rich fantasy setting that feels alive thanks to an endearing cast of characters in the Bergson family.
  9. Jan 13, 2020
    78
    Even if not resulting in a too original and memorable experience, Children of Morta successfully mixes several genres like the rogue-like and Diablo-like ones, delivery a satisfying gameplay with fascinating pixel art animations.
  10. Sep 7, 2019
    75
    Taking its inspirations both from Diablo and rogue-lite games, Children of Morta has a nice story to tell, and shows a pretty face with its stunning pixel art visuals.
  11. Official Xbox Magazine UK
    Nov 18, 2019
    70
    A charming game with a wonderful story, but let down by its repetitive combat grind. [Issue#194, p.78]
  12. Oct 31, 2019
    60
    Children of Morta has a very compelling story and the way they use death in the game to help progress the story is refreshing. However, there is so much that you need to unlock in the game to try and balance the difficulty in your favour to even complete the first dungeon. This, in turn, ruins the experience by having to play the same dungeon over and over. It is a shame that the same level of effort that was put into the story line was not put into the gameplay, things becomes repetitive quite quickly.
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 35 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 35
  2. Negative: 4 out of 35
  1. Oct 16, 2019
    7
    Children of Morta is an isometric top-down action-adventure roguelike game. When a dark evil comes to Mount Morta The Bergson family, a familyChildren of Morta is an isometric top-down action-adventure roguelike game. When a dark evil comes to Mount Morta The Bergson family, a family of adventuring protectors sets out to protect their world as their ancestors have for generations. You start the game out as John and learn the ways of the family as you discover the evil encroaching on your family's land, and the world you call home. You are soon introduced to Joh's eldest daughter Linda, who follows you for a short while until you can return home. As you play more members of the Bergson family become available to play, allowing you to experience each of their unique fighting styles and abilities. Children of Morta paints an elaborate tale as you fail and retry, and fail again. Keeping your characters' advancements after death, each character has their own skill tree, and some skills focus on the entire family, not just the individual. Inside the home, Grandma Margaret, and Uncle Ben offer global upgrades to the entire family, helping add that extra edge to your adventures. With two-player shared/split-screen local play you can team up two of the family members and watch each other back! The game is a roguelike, and you will die quite a bit, but each death offers an opportunity for advancement. With procedurally generated stages, the levels are never the same, offering nearly endless replay value. Children of Morta is an insanely fun and addictive game, offering up smooth pixel art graphics and a deep intricate story. Full Review »
  2. Jun 27, 2020
    8
    •The way they’ve used the rogue-lite template here is fantastic. I love how it’s individual levels you’ve gotta go through, with there being•The way they’ve used the rogue-lite template here is fantastic. I love how it’s individual levels you’ve gotta go through, with there being multiple floors per level, and gaining powerups as you go through. It works really well. I will admit, and I know it’s random, that the level design isn’t too good. It gets sorta dull walking through the same places over and over, especially since there isn’t exactly much to find other than the run-in events. And those are cool enough, finding the items and completing the events are good and provide some helpful stuff, but other than that it feels very samey. Movement around the levels isn’t interesting in any way. And I just don’t love the traps that are laid out they feel more like a nuisance than an obstacle. You just walk around. Albeit the pace you move is swift, so it’s not too bad. •Thankfully, the great combat makes up for any grievances I have about moving around the levels. I really enjoyed all of it. The fact that there are multiple completely unique characters is so fun. They’re all well designed, and learning to use them efficiently, as well as seeing them get better with the skill trees, is pretty gratifying. The combat is fast, somewhat simple but still deep, and the enemies are diverse enough to keep things interesting. On top of that, the bosses at the end of every level are mostly very good. •The story is ok. I like the way it’s told, the narrator is quite good, but it’s simple. More or less, it’s just about a fight against evil and the love between family members. Cute, and well told, but didn’t have me invested to the point I was actually intrigued by it. There are only a few moments you don’t see coming but you should know the ending from the start. Also, the lore bits are boring to go through. I like the character biographies but nothing else is worth looking at. •The skill trees and upgrade shops are great, as I sort of already mentioned. I especially loved the skill trees because of how different they make the characters when you upgrade them, and how as you level up they’ll gain traits that assist all the characters. You also gain skill points at a great pace. The upgrade shops are very well done too, and the rate at which you obtain money is also well done. Here you get upgrades for everyone, and while they aren’t the most amazing it did make a difference. •The pixel art is excellent. From the animations to the models and backgrounds, it all looks great. •Music is also great. •The length is just about perfect. While I think I liked the first set of levels the best, they never became monotonous to get through, and I even found myself wanting to go back through levels just to upgrade the characters. Overall: I enjoyed it more than I thought I would. In just about every department worth recognizing, the game excels. I can see myself coming back to it too. Full Review »
  3. Jun 24, 2020
    8
    This is a pretty fun take on the roguelike genre. The game consists of trips into dungeons where you accumulate various upgrades usable onlyThis is a pretty fun take on the roguelike genre. The game consists of trips into dungeons where you accumulate various upgrades usable only for that run as you try to clear 2-4 levels and a boss. The game lets you choose between a variety of characters, each with their own specialties, moves, and playstyles. The cool thing is as you level each character up, they have attributes that will also help all of the other characters when you play them. You can also permanently upgrade various stats (for all players) between levels as well with the gold you collect from runs.
    The story is pretty cool and focuses completely on a family called the Bergsons, each selectable character being a different member of the family. While not a terribly long game, it does have a decent amount of replayability as you continue to try and level up each different character and unlock all of their abilities and attributes as well as their bonuses for all the other characters as well.
    While I did enjoy this game a lot, I found that it became pretty tedious as I got farther into the game. It became strikingly clear that the characters were largely unbalanced and there was little reason to choose anyone other than those characters with the better playstyle. Obviously this is usually the case with games like this, but usually the characters are closer together in effectiveness so that you can still use them if you like and they are totally viable. In this game however, the way the enemies are in the later levels makes many of the characters a complete chore to use and I found myself dreading spending any time with them.
    Regardless, I enjoyed my time with this game, even if it was cut a bit short by its shortcomings. I enjoyed the pixelated art style and the narrative storytelling. I just wish the characters were balanced a bit better so I could continue using the characters I liked without feeling like I was severely handicapping myself. In short, if you enjoy games like binding of Isaac or Enter the Gungeon, I think you’ll feel right at home here.
    Full Review »