Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
Buy On
  1. Sep 6, 2019
    100
    Control marks a new and glorious beginning for Remedy and hopefully there are more wonderful things to come. Despite a few pacing issues here and there and some exhausting late-game shoot-outs, I gladly award the game a perfect score. Am I biased doing so as a Finn myself? Maybe, but Control is a game that today's dull, unimaginative and opportunistic gaming climate doesn't deserve, but I’m happy it exists.
  2. Aug 26, 2019
    100
    Control is Remedy at the height of its abilities. Finally, the studio’s expert handling of tone and story is met with gameplay that’s just as engaging and refined. As an experiment in nonlinear world design, Control doesn’t just stick with tried-and-true waypoints and forests. Its Oldest House is a brutalist masterpiece, and the characters inhabiting it are just as unforgettable. All told, it’s going to be one of the most memorable games of the year.
  3. Aug 26, 2019
    100
    Play Control for its lore, its sense of exploration or its combat, but the bottom line this: you simply need to play it.
  4. Aug 26, 2019
    93
    Control is truly unforgettable with loads of ways to play, terrific acting, lots to explore, satisfying gunplay and abilities, and a spectacular world and story to experience. I can't wait to dive back in with the couple of DLC packs already planned.
  5. From the depth of its world-building and its gratifying combat to the unexpected twists of its story and a handful of truly unforgettable kaleidoscopic fighting sequences, this is an inspired game that manages to match its crazy, beautiful, otherworldly storytelling with action that's every bit as good.
  6. Aug 26, 2019
    90
    Control carries on Remedy's legacy of great story-driven adventures, adding greater freedom to the player and highly dynamic and spectacular fights coupled with a great artistic design. Definitely a game to have for lovers of supernatural plots and third person shooter-adventures.
  7. Aug 26, 2019
    90
    It will not have the impact Alan Wake had in his day, but Control may be Remedy's best game in recent years. It shows the effort of the team to improve the great weakness that had been dragging in their games, the gameplay itself. Storytelling and the graphics are really amazing.
  8. Aug 26, 2019
    90
    Control is a weird, enigmatic, perplexing masterpiece. It's also Remedy's most well-rounded work yet. Like Jesse levitating far off the ground, Control signifies Remedy is capable of ascending to great new heights.
  9. Aug 26, 2019
    90
    Control is a short game and has occasional technical hiccups, but it's still a fantastic experience all-around and quite possibly Remedy's best game yet. The combat is exciting and satisfying, the game is gorgeous, and horror fans will enjoy the creepier elements.
  10. Aug 26, 2019
    90
    When you take into account the standout moments and combine them with brilliant visuals, some audio that is out of this world, a smattering of puzzles, a top drawer narrative and super intense gameplay, and yet again we find that Remedy have delivered the goods with their latest adventure.
  11. Aug 26, 2019
    90
    Thanks to the ever-changing and otherworldly nature of The Oldest House, Control has a varied range of environments that somehow feel cohesive. And while it has the usual mix of gunplay and powers, they combine to create combat that's faster-paced and more frenetic than ever before. This is Remedy at the height of its game. It's just a shame that a couple of annoyances hold Control back from being flawless.
  12. Sep 16, 2019
    88
    Control has that signature Remedy feel to it, from its unique combat to its completely out there narrative, something only Sam Lake could be a part of. Although the story is Control’s strongest asset, it will take a lot of concentration and thought to piece it all together, as I’ve still got many questions even after the credits have rolled. Luckily you can continue Jesse’s journey once completed, allowing you to finish up any sidequests and other activities as we wait on the upcoming DLC that will hopefully answer more questions. Welcome to the FBC Director.
  13. Aug 26, 2019
    88
    Despite a few drawn-out battles near the end, Control is a complete rush. With the power at Jesse’s fingertips, I walked into every room ready for an amazing fight. When I walked out, it often looked like a tornado and torn through the building. The Federal Bureau of Control is a fascinating place to explore, and I loved every bizarre encounter inside its creaking hallways.
  14. Aug 30, 2019
    86
    Control takes us right the other side of that door you do not remember having unlocked, to the middle of the that dark hall that you started crossing while thinking that there’s nothing hiding in the dark, specially not behind you. The dark tone and creepy setting of the Oldest House remains all through your adventure and even though you’ll eventually get enough powers to kick around any enemy you find, you’ll never get to chase away that feeling that something is not right. Control is a reminder that Remedy is still a developing powerhouse.
  15. Sep 3, 2019
    85
    Many believe that Max Payne is the best game ever by Remedy, and they might be right, but Control is not far behind. If you are a fan of action genre, you should play Control. Period.
  16. Aug 26, 2019
    85
    Control is another absolute hit from Remedy, one that delivers from both a gameplay and narrative perspective. One of the generation’s most intriguing game worlds and almost perfect pacing, the only thing that holds Control back from being an all-time classic is its unfortunate and frustrating technical issues.
  17. Official Xbox Magazine UK
    Oct 12, 2019
    80
    A stylish shooter that subverts and surprises at every turn. A little glitchy, though. [Issue#182, p.79]
  18. Sep 11, 2019
    80
    Control is Remedy's most daring work. A courageous level design that encourages exploration and limits visual guides is mixed with fierce combat. In the second half, this combate can be somewhat monotonous and repetitive. Its story is neither the best nor is it told in the best way. Quite the opposite of its setting, which seduces the player with shocking scenarios and situations.
  19. 80
    Control is definitely Remedy's best game since Alan Wake. The sheer variety in the gameplay and fantastic presentation go a long way in making this an enjoyable experience.
  20. Aug 26, 2019
    80
    On one hand Remedy shows off nicely executed action mixing ballistic and supernatural elements in destructible environments, while on the other presenting unusual design flaws. But everything is kept together by a good script that draws inspiration from David Lynch and the likes.
  21. Aug 26, 2019
    80
    Control is Remedy at its best: pulpy, weird, and immensely satisfying to play. Its setting is a potent concoction of '60s brutalist style and wacky sci-fi. Performance issues hamper the shootouts, and the characters are a little cold, but it's the setting and atmosphere that win the day.
  22. Aug 26, 2019
    80
    Control is a mysterious, exciting and intense action game that lets you hurl office equipment at twisted enemies while gliding through the air like the harbinger of death.
  23. Aug 26, 2019
    80
    It's not often that a game invades my thoughts the way Control has. I'm at the point where I want to consume every last thing it has to offer. And if I'm honest, it also makes me want to go back and replay Remedy's past games, too. Sure, it's a faulty metroidvania in some respects, but there are so many exceptional qualities afoot that Control handily deflects any momentary ire. I can't wait to take part in discussions about the game, to see what others have figured out, and to better understand where it all fits into Jesse's story.
  24. Aug 26, 2019
    80
    Despite some iffy performance issues and some very frustrating narrative choices, Control's compelling gameplay, excellent combat and dedication to the bizarre make it an easy game to recommend.
  25. Aug 26, 2019
    80
    Remedy is back, and they’re doing what they do best: great gunplay, complex narrative and, this time, a less linear world. It has its flaws, but fans of the studio will love it.
  26. Aug 26, 2019
    79
    Control is a game with a superb pulp sci fi plot, that could have been a masterpiece thanks to it's level design. Unfortunately some very bad design decisions drags the game to the "interesting but flawed" territory.
  27. Aug 26, 2019
    75
    A really strange 15-hour experience, one that is unfortunately too linear, brings intense gunfights, psy powers, and a really great living environment that defies the laws of physics and time.
  28. Aug 26, 2019
    75
    If you have enjoyed past games from Remedy, you’ll certainly find further enjoyment here with Control.
  29. Aug 29, 2019
    70
    I couldn’t help but think that this is a game that has been hobbled by its concessions to the mainstream market. As such, I wonder if Jesse had been allowed to holster her weapon more, Control might have been great instead of good.
  30. Aug 26, 2019
    70
    Control's story has a great premise, but its characters leave a lot to be desired.
  31. Aug 26, 2019
    60
    This game is not as good as perhaps expected. Level design is poor, the main character is not very interesting and the Metroidvania-way of exploring is maybe too difficult. However, the game gets a bit better in the end.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Aug 27, 2019
    Remedy has once again managed to put out a game that is so much better than the sum of its parts.
  2. Aug 26, 2019
    A genuinely eerie and disorienting shooter that is sometimes overstuffed with ideas and gags.
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 182 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 47 out of 182
  1. Sep 11, 2019
    9
    Control has been showed by Remedy, as their last game Quantum Break felt completely new and different and when I found out that their newestControl has been showed by Remedy, as their last game Quantum Break felt completely new and different and when I found out that their newest game simply called Control featured that same style I was very eager to get my hands soon time with it. Thankfully it’s brilliant as well. In fact Control can be considered Remedy’s best games to date which is no small feat considering they have produced franchises such as Max Payne and Alan Wake and neither of those were slouches either. Control is one of those games that never lets go from start to finish and you’ll definitely feel a great sense of satisfaction because the gameplay is interesting featuring a style that feels much more polished this time around. A lot and each little intricate part seems to combine together almost flawlessly. Something that does combine together perfectly though are the visuals and audio. There’s a huge amount of detail included in both aspects and for me it’s some of the best visual and audio work I’ve ever experienced because I hadn’t been this immersed in such a long time. The immersion didn’t stop there either because the story is breathtakingly brilliant from start to finish and when you factor in the amazing visuals and audio as well you fall in love with Control almost immediately. It’s absolutely brilliant with plenty of variety present in a number of different areas. As I said earlier it features the same gameplay style that was present in Quantum Break and whilst the gameplay was decent in that game I found Control to be much more refined. Learning each ability is worthwhile then and progressing through the different environments always felt rewarding because there always seemed to be something new to find or destroy so to speak. Control was one of my most anticipated games of the year and after playing it it’s now one of my most favourite games of the year. I can’t recommend it enough because even though it isn’t absolutely perfect it features uniqueness in all areas and with a story and presentation that’s simply amazing you’ll find it very difficult to put this game down and you’ll also find it very difficult to forget about it long after completion. Remedy's critically acclaimed action-adventure game Control will receive new content very soon! These updates will include a photo mode, a new game mode and two full expansions. The first, The Foundation, will delve into the very depths of the oldest house, while the second expansion, AWE, will introduce Jesse Faden to the Investigations Sector and the mysteries within! Set in a unique and ever-changing world that juxtaposes our familiar reality with the strange and unexplainable, Control is a third-person action-adventure game combining Remedy’s trademark gunplay with supernatural abilities. Full Review »
  2. Aug 27, 2019
    10
    Very high quality action game. Unique story and excellent game mechanics. Beautiful graphics! XBOX is working very fluently with the game!
  3. Aug 27, 2019
    10
    amazing game. on OneX is amazing.
    beautiful graphics, really interesting atmosphere full of mysteries and references. it feels like playing Fringe.