Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Jun 24, 2020
    94
    Deep Rock Galactic is a co-op masterpiece. No matter the aspect, you can feel the thought and care that has gone into its creation.
  2. May 20, 2020
    82
    If you love playing online co-op games then Deep Rock Galactic will knock your little dwarf socks off with its rewarding gameplay loop, variety of fun gadgets, and satisfying sense of comradery. Rock and Stone!
  3. May 27, 2020
    80
    Deep Rock Galactic on Xbox One is a game with obvious appeal. It is punchy, funny and a blast with friends. The environments and mission structures do become a bit repetitive but the moment to moment gameplay is fantastic. If you are looking for a “blow off steam” game to play with friends, Deep Rock Galactic has you covered.
  4. Mar 12, 2018
    80
    Deep Rock Galactic creates a fun team-based first person shooter with lots of interesting puzzles and clever gaming mechanics.
  5. May 26, 2020
    77
    A game to be creative and explore with friends.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 30 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 30
  2. Negative: 4 out of 30
  1. Mar 4, 2018
    8
    We have another addition to the fantastic game preview program on Xbox One and it comes in the way of co-op shooter Deep Rock Galactic, and IWe have another addition to the fantastic game preview program on Xbox One and it comes in the way of co-op shooter Deep Rock Galactic, and I must admit it surprised me quite a lot. The main reason why it surprised me is because it hardly suffers with any problems already and for me it’s the best game that has entered the preview program so far. The gameplay is awesome and when you have a group of friends it’s an incredible amount of fun. Everything about the gameplay feels fast and fluid and there is a decent set of mechanics in play at the same time. When these mechanics combine together you see the game in all its glory and it’s pretty good to say the least. The content that is avaliable so far is very good and will keep you satisfied for quite a while, but it does definitely need more in the coming months to stop it from going stale. It won’t go stale quickly though because the game is already blessed with quite a bit of variety. The variety is mainly found in the classes and weapons you can use and playing as each different class was very fun and at the same time very addictive as well. The customisation could do with a bit more especially on the load-outs, but to be honest this is only a minor problem and I’m sure they will add more as we move forward. The controls which are very important in a game of this ilk are pretty much flawless. Everything feels great and the guns definitely pack a punch and most important of all they’ve made the controls feel tight and responsive throughout, which is great. Technically the game holds up really and despite a few issues every now and then for the most part things run smoothly which is way more than you can ask from a game that is in its very early stages in the preview program. The presentation side of the game tickled my fancy right from the get go. Visually the game looks beautiful and it feels alive at all times. The sound design also makes the game come alive and it keeps things ticking along nicely. At the end of the day I can’t wait to see Deep Rock Galactic grow in the preview program and without a doubt it’s going to get bigger and better which is going to be awesome considering it’s already very good now. If you’ve never paid for a game that’s in the preview program yet then I fully recommend you make this game your first purchase because its clear that the developers have been listening to the gamers and I can see this game being relevant for quite a while. Full Review »
  2. Jun 12, 2020
    0
    Until they fix quick play and add in voice chat this game gets a zero from me. The constant disconnects from everyone not just me and theUntil they fix quick play and add in voice chat this game gets a zero from me. The constant disconnects from everyone not just me and the rubber banding is cancer. I was disconnected from 7 games til I got a good one. And people kept joining and disconnecting at random. It was basically 2 players and not 4 Full Review »
  3. Feb 23, 2020
    10
    This game is a fantastic buy on Xbox, especially with it being "Play Anywhere". I would say that this game is best enjoyed with a friend orThis game is a fantastic buy on Xbox, especially with it being "Play Anywhere". I would say that this game is best enjoyed with a friend or 3. I am certainly happy with the fresh updates adding more replayability to the game as well. I hope they keep the content coming. Full Review »