Destiny Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1745 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Destiny (from the creators of Halo) you are a Guardian of the last city on Earth. You are able to wield incredible power. Explore the ancient ruins of our solar system, from the vast dunes of Mars to the lush jungles of Venus. Defeat Earth’s enemies. Reclaim all that we have lost. BecomeIn Destiny (from the creators of Halo) you are a Guardian of the last city on Earth. You are able to wield incredible power. Explore the ancient ruins of our solar system, from the vast dunes of Mars to the lush jungles of Venus. Defeat Earth’s enemies. Reclaim all that we have lost. Become legend. Embark on an epic action adventure with rich cinematic storytelling where you unravel the mysteries of our universe and reclaim what we lost at the fall of our Golden Age. The next evolution of the first-person action genre that promises to provide an unprecedented combination of storytelling, cooperative, competitive, and public gameplay, and personal activities that are all woven into an expansive, persistent online world. Venture out alone or join up with friends. The choice is yours. Personalize and upgrade every aspect of how you look and fight with a nearly limitless combination of armor, weapons, and visual customizations. Take your upgraded character into every mode, including campaign, cooperative, social, public, and competitive multiplayer. Expand
Buy On
  • Developer: Bungie Software, Bungie
  • Genre(s): Shooter, Sci-Fi, Action, Shooter, First-Person, Sci-Fi, Arcade
  • # of players: Up to 16
  • Cheats: On GameFAQs
  • Rating: T
  • More Details and Credits »

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Destiny's Ghost takes on the Ice Bucket Challenge
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Sep 15, 2014
    88
    Personally I’ve found the experience to be a visceral and engaging one. I’m a huge fan of the mythical sci-fi fusion and have eaten up the planetary environments -- on a visual level -- like they’re going out of fashion (though I can’t really buy cars being on Venus, Bungie).
  2. Sep 15, 2014
    88
    Bungie’s new game is not as gigantic or revolutionary as that hype may have led some to believe. In fact, it has several features that feel like missteps or problems. But that doesn’t change the fact that the more I play it, the more I love it.
  3. Sep 16, 2014
    80
    Destiny is a confident, solid, sometimes stunningly beautiful shooter with RPG mechanics that add longevity and depth, and the beginnings of what could be an incredible online universe. But it feels like the tip of the glacier, and I’m not sure it’s a good thing to be more excited about what a game might one day be, than what it is actually is.
  4. Sep 12, 2014
    75
    It's not quite the epic space-faring journey we were expecting, but for the time being, we'll sit back and enjoy the ride.
  5. Sep 19, 2014
    75
    Destiny stays quite enjoyable as long as it has something new to offer, but this ends rather soon leaving us with a well-crafted repetitive shooter and a disappointing story. The lacklustre competitive multiplayer doesn't help either, so it won't probably be what will keep players attached to the game. Here's hoping Bungie will keep the game relevant by constantly adding new events that won't simply be fighting more of the same enemies in the same environments.
  6. Oct 21, 2014
    70
    Destiny feels like the key elements of an FPS and an MMO gently resting shoulder to shoulder, instead of being fused together in a truly creative way. It plays and looks great, and offers many, many hours of entertainment to anyone okay with repeating the same tasks, but it isn’t exactly the game-changing science fiction epic we felt it was aspiring to.
  7. Sep 13, 2014
    60
    A multiplayer shooter that cobbles together elements of massively multiplayer games but overlooks the lessons developers of such games learned many years ago.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Sep 9, 2014
    10
    Incredible game so far, was playing last night with my friends and had an amazing time. Don't listen to the other reviews because to me theyIncredible game so far, was playing last night with my friends and had an amazing time. Don't listen to the other reviews because to me they don't even seem like they've actually played the game or gotten past the first mission. Expand
  2. Sep 10, 2014
    10
    I am not sure why people are bashing this game because it is an amazing game. The graphics are amazing, game play is fantastic and worthwhile.I am not sure why people are bashing this game because it is an amazing game. The graphics are amazing, game play is fantastic and worthwhile. I have played through all of the currently available campaign missions but I am still enjoying replaying the game and helping friends make it through. I love to be able to collect chests and ghosts as well as doing the exploration made and do small quests. I played halo and enjoyed it so was looking forward to this game and let me tell you that it was well worth it. I haven't been able to get interested in any of my other games since the beta. I think people just want to be negative to be negative. If you enjoy shooters you will love this game, if you don't like shooters then that is your choice and you will not enjoy this game. If you liked Halo series then you will love Destiny. I say go ahead and give it a try. Expand
  3. Sep 17, 2014
    9
    I can't believe how harsh some of these reviews are. In my opinion, the game is extremely fun. The campaign may seem repetitive but it's stillI can't believe how harsh some of these reviews are. In my opinion, the game is extremely fun. The campaign may seem repetitive but it's still enjoyable. The loot system is awesome. However, the game isn't perfect. PvP only has a few playlists and is lacking a competitive playlist. This doesn't make it a bad game for me though. It's still one of the most fun I've had playing a game since Halo 3 or Call of Duty 4. It's also important to keep in mind that the game is organic. It's constantly changing and Bungie is always adding new stuff so it's hard to provide a concrete review right now. It's only going to get better from here. Expand
  4. Sep 27, 2014
    6
    Destiny had potential, there are bits of it found in many areas of the game. The combat and movement is fluid and smooth, the engine isDestiny had potential, there are bits of it found in many areas of the game. The combat and movement is fluid and smooth, the engine is beautiful and the story could have been epic. However Destiny fails to tie it all together and we are offered is a burst of short dialog and repetitive tasks in seemingly identical locations. It's humorous that I find Peter Dinklage's voice acting to now be the most memorable aspect of the game. Destiny while enjoyable enough at first and promising after the Queen cinematic, the game does very little to tell a story or build a world you want to be a part of and ends quite abruptly. Cinematics could have filled in much needed meat to this games potatoes but I can remember maybe two or three. It is true that the game technically is only beginning but it does a poor job instructing the player on the bizarre level by chance grind ahead. The PVP is lack luster and unbalanced but the hardcore fps players should enjoy it enough.I feel that the game could have benefited from another year or more of development and when asked about Destiny I reply that it's like playing Halo ODST without any other Halo games existing. If you have friends to play with check it out, if your looking for an epic adventure while forging your legacy across the galaxy while socializing with other players look elsewhere. Expand
  5. Sep 14, 2014
    5
    Destiny is Halo meets Call of Duty meets Gears of War. Somewhere in there it took the negatives and left out the positives. The multiplayerDestiny is Halo meets Call of Duty meets Gears of War. Somewhere in there it took the negatives and left out the positives. The multiplayer matchmaking isn't balanced and is terrible for beginners. But that's not why I bought the game. I bought the game for a massive Co-Op campaign. Destiny fails because there is no way to communicate with others. So I run around and see people killing things in front of me. Should I join them? Should I awkwardly wait until they're done and the enemy has respawned so I can play too?

    Also, story. Where is it? I don't even know what orders to play the story in.

    Destiny has SO much potential, if I could just talk to people and make fireteams easier I'd give it an 8. If there was any kind of story.... it would be so good. I would be happy if they shut the server down for a couple months and fixed their game.
    Expand
  6. Jun 1, 2015
    4
    Good:

    -Graphics -Music -Concept -Feeling of the guns. Bad: -Unbalanced multiplayer -limited pve content -poor boss and fight
    Good:

    -Graphics
    -Music
    -Concept
    -Feeling of the guns.

    Bad:
    -Unbalanced multiplayer
    -limited pve content
    -poor boss and fight design
    -no social/chat system in an mmo game
    -pricing structure for dlc
    -story
    -dialog
    -weapon balance
    -reward system
    -poor multiplayer map design
    -full of bugs and glitches

    I expected this game to be a gamechanger in the gaming community. I thought this was going to be the next world of warcraft. It's just another mediocre FPS like CoD, halo, that you'll play for a month and then get bored or become to frustrated with unbalanced multiplayer, lack of content, glitchy fights, and boring boss mechanics.
    Expand
  7. Dec 20, 2015
    0
    This game is such a piece of crap. The interface is awkward and has many pointless features. The grinding in the game is so mind numbing it'sThis game is such a piece of crap. The interface is awkward and has many pointless features. The grinding in the game is so mind numbing it's embarrassing. The graphics are decent if there's something positive I must say.

    Play control is sloppy and AI is as dumb as a sock full of dicks. The level design is boring and linear, not to mention the absurd amount of times the developers make you goto the same place over and over and over and over and over again....
    Expand

See all 631 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Destiny: Early Impressions From Critics

    Destiny: Early Impressions From Critics Image
    Published: September 9, 2014
    Critics are taking their time to review Bungie's new MMO shooter Destiny, which means final reviews won't be out for a week or two. But we're collecting their first impressions right here as they are published.
  2. Fall Preview: 30 Notable Upcoming Video Games

    Fall Preview: 30 Notable Upcoming Video Games Image
    Published: August 28, 2014
    Our fall video game preview has release dates, trailers, and details for over 30 notable upcoming games, including Destiny, a pair of Assassin's Creed releases, Sunset Overdrive, Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare, and much more.
  3. The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2014

    The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2014 Image
    Published: January 13, 2014
    We preview 2014's most notable upcoming game releases, including major new titles like Titanfall, Watch Dogs, and Destiny, sequels to popular franchises like The Witcher and Elder Scrolls, and a few key indie games.