Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
Buy Now
Buy on
  1. Aug 14, 2022
    90
    Digimon Survive is a fantastic game, which manages to mix visual novel and tactical RPG in a masterful way, offering a perfect symbiosis between both genres. Its story will be able to grab us from beginning to end, and its deep combat system will guarantee us some really fun playable stages. To all of this we must add the finishing touch of an unbeatable audiovisual section, resulting in a truly rounded product.
  2. Aug 10, 2022
    85
    Digimon Survive combines the Visual Novel genre with tactical turn-based combat in the purest Final Fantasy Tactics style. The title shows us one of the most mature and dark stories in the history of Digimon, moving away from the childish tone of previous titles in the franchise. If you are a fan of Digimon, especially its manga and anime, it is a must.
  3. Aug 15, 2022
    80
    Digimon Survive feels like it was made with every kid who wanted to be a DigiDestined. It’s a darker twist on a fan favorite story. While the story is amazing, it is brought down by okay combat. 10 percent of the gameplay weighs down the other 90 percent.
  4. Aug 9, 2022
    80
    There’s no doubt Digimon Survive is a great visual novel full of content that will warrant multiple playthroughs, however the tactical aspect feels like an afterthought. It’ll all depend on what you want from the experience as to whether you should pick it up, or not.
  5. Aug 5, 2022
    80
    This is not the Digimon game you are looking for - and that might actually be a good thing.
  6. Aug 6, 2022
    76
    Digimon Survive offers something new compared to other games within the franchise. An adventure full of mysteries that traps the player until the end, despite a battle system that cannot deploy all its components.
  7. Aug 10, 2022
    70
    A unique direction for the Digimon franchise comes with growing pains and flashes of greatness in equal measure.
  8. Aug 23, 2022
    65
    Digimon Survive is an experiment that is only half successful, as when determining the narrative and role-playing and strategic components of the hybrid, the developers have allocated insufficient space to the latter. The result is a dark and mature visual novel, which however we would like to recommend only to the most avid fans of the genre, due to the exhausting long-winded dialogues and excessive repetitiveness that characterize this type of product. If, on the other hand, you are looking for adrenaline and the collectible component typical of the brand, you had better turn your attention to the much more deserving episodes of the Digimon Story series.
  9. Aug 15, 2022
    60
    Digimon Survive is a misshapen DNA digivolution. Most of the game is this great visual novel, which starts slow but eventually tackles some intriguing themes that are interwoven into one of the most mature Digimon stories ever told. Sometimes the characters can be a little one-note, but each manages to carry aspects of the story in compelling ways, and I wanted to keep pushing through Digimon Survive to unravel each person's history and ultimately learn why and how they had been transported to another world. But, at the same time, Digimon Survive is regularly dragged down by tedious tactical combat, and it negatively affects other sections of the game too, like exploration and Digimon evolutions. It's not enough to ruin an otherwise great visual novel, but it does put quite a damper on the whole experience.
  10. Aug 9, 2022
    60
    Digimon Survive is a standout visual novel wrapped around one of the worst tactics systems of all time.
  11. Aug 8, 2022
    60
    Digimon Survive is a game that isn’t just for Digimon fans. It has a great story and hints of brilliance in the gameplay, but each person’s mileage may vary with this one. It may be best to wait for a price drop before picking up Digimon Survive if you’re on the fence.
  12. Aug 28, 2022
    55
    I’m glad I had the chance to play Digimon Survive, but I’ll just keep playing Digimon World 4 and Rumble Arena for my fill of Digi-goodness.
User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 158 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 50 out of 158
  1. Jul 30, 2022
    0
    It would be a Digimon game that I would really enjoy if it wasn't so loaded with those VN elements that are completely out of place.
    Bandai
    It would be a Digimon game that I would really enjoy if it wasn't so loaded with those VN elements that are completely out of place.
    Bandai Namco has gone a long time without a worthwhile Digimon 'arcade' game and that this is the flagship that represents the franchise in videogames is disappointing to me.
    The tutorial/intro is very long and the dialogue is excessive.
    I would like it to at least have animations like... I don't know, PAST Digimon games.
    Full Review »
  2. Jul 31, 2022
    10
    Great game. It was correctly advertised as a vn, and i bought it knowing that, because i greatly enjoy them and it's a very well made one.
  3. Jul 31, 2022
    10
    Do not look to the bad reviews, this game is getting review bombing and they're not honest