Metascore
49

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 33 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 33
  2. Negative: 13 out of 33
Buy On
  1. Nov 25, 2018
    45
    We tried so hard to like Fallout 76, but the game didn’t allow us to do it.
  2. Nov 24, 2018
    45
    An interesting experiment that fails to nail either side of the experience, it uses Fallout trappings to good effect and can be fun with great environmental storytelling and West Virginia itself is gorgeous. The lack of NPCs and overall cohesion along with lacklustre PvP hinder its identity, however.
  3. Nov 22, 2018
    45
    A sort of big multiplayer mod of Fallout 4, which shares the features and interface errors that have not changed since 2015, Fallout 76 is a collection of uncertain mechanics and unclear rules, served in a dated and technically unstable fashion. All that remains is for Bethesda to work hard so that we can better understand the real strengths of the game, and not its many weaknesses.
  4. Nov 30, 2018
    40
    There's no sugarcoating it: Fallout 76 comes up short at nearly everything it aims to be. It's not a good role-playing game and it's not a good multiplayer experience. It never really feeds into the gradual RPG power fantasy but it's also inadequate as a survival simulator. In wanting to be so much, Fallout 76 doesn't amount to much at all.
  5. I can’t recommend Fallout 76 to more than a handful of people. A niche few will still be drawn to it, perhaps out of curiosity, a completionist’s need to devour all things Fallout, or, like me, a morbid desire to simulate life after the end of the world. For everyone else, hold onto the hope that Bethesda learns a lesson from this failed experiment.
  6. Nov 22, 2018
    40
    Bethesda has betrayed Fallout's spirit to create a game full of bugs and without a soul.
  7. Nov 21, 2018
    40
    Fallout 76 can look and feel like its illustrious predecessors at times, but it's a soulless husk of an experience.
  8. Nov 21, 2018
    40
    Bethesda has chosen to release a half-finished, buggy mess of a title in its current state. This isn’t early access, nor is it a beta — this is apparently a finished product that I have to assess. I have: it’s garbage. This poor release provides Bethesda the opportunity to take notice of two key takeaways: the Creation Engine needs to go, and single-player developers shouldn’t bite off more than they can chew when making a multiplayer game. And this comes from a guy who looked past Fallout 4‘s last-gen engine and subsequent failings to give it a 10/10. Free pass no more, Bethesda.
  9. Nov 23, 2018
    39
    Even if all the systems would work, this would be a mediocre and shallow Fallout experience. With all the bugs, inconsistencies and technical problems this is little more than a post-apocalyptic mess.
  10. Nov 26, 2018
    38
    Fallout 76 is a confused product that blows it on so many levels. 76 represents a critical misunderstanding about what makes the Fallout franchise special, and sacrifices all those pieces to shoehorn in a half baked and barely functional online system. While I applaud taking a chance on a crazy idea, Fallout 76 would undoubtedly have been a better and more engaging experience as a traditional open world RPG. As it stands, this is a broken, unfun, and repetitive title that I can’t recommend. And that hurts me to say.
  11. Nov 21, 2018
    30
    A disastrous failure whose technical shortcomings may one day be fixed but whose design failings, and obliviousness to its own potential, suggests a game that is irrevocably broken.
  12. Nov 22, 2018
    20
    Stripped of the series’ trademark color and hi-jinx, Fallout 76 turns into a heartless trek through a barren wasteland filled with mindless enemies and arduous, inconsequential quest lines. Although there are some curious set-pieces, the lack of interaction with the world means even the most detailed of its environments fall flat. You shoot mutants, collect scrap, build things and repeat, all under the guidance of cosmically vast reams of recordings left by dead people. Despite its colossal size, Fallout 76 stretches out into a whole lot of nothing.
  13. Nov 22, 2018
    20
    There are no redeeming features to be found in Fallout 76, and I’m not even sure if it can be saved. Technical issues just make what’s a boring and soulless experience at its core into something that’s simply more of an abomination.
User Score
3.2

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 1720 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Nov 14, 2018
    0
    Its not fallout i remember and aside from that its literally unplayble bugged and glitchy
  2. Nov 14, 2018
    0
    This isnt fallout. Its like a bastardized version of some online f2p shooter. This is not what i was waiting for and i am trully hoping thatThis isnt fallout. Its like a bastardized version of some online f2p shooter. This is not what i was waiting for and i am trully hoping that bethesda will stop and think next time. Full Review »
  3. Nov 14, 2018
    1
    Let's give them a score for showing up, but this isn't a fallout game anymore than Mass Effect Andromeda was a Mass Effect game. Using theLet's give them a score for showing up, but this isn't a fallout game anymore than Mass Effect Andromeda was a Mass Effect game. Using the game as a skin and playing off the name doesn't make it part of the series. This is the MEA of the fallout world, and will be rated accordingly.

    While there are endless opportunities to criticize the game for everything no one wanted, lets focus on one thing. NO one wants to read through endless terminals or listen to endless halotapes, in an empty environment. The same disregards EA made with MEA, is being made all over again with Bethesda and 76. The reviews should reflect accordingly.
    Full Review »