Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
Buy On
  1. Dec 17, 2014
    90
    One could still wish for a better story, for more choice and consequence in your actions or for an end to the nagging collect-em-up nature of the Ubiworld. But for sheer daft mayhem, this is now the action game to beat.
  2. Nov 25, 2014
    90
    Far Cry 4 excels because it provides the depth that so many other shooters lack.
  3. Nov 24, 2014
    89
    Far Cry 4 is Far Cry 3 dialled up to eleven, with more animals, activities, missions and abilities. And while throwing more stuff at the player isn’t the perfect recipe for success, I was happy to play a richer, larger version of one of my favourite games in recent years.
  4. Dec 15, 2014
    87
    Overall, I enjoyed my time with Far Cry 4, although it's really an extension of Far Cry 3 with a more exotic location but a weaker story. Open world shooter fans should enjoy their trip to Kyrat.
  5. Nov 19, 2014
    85
    It’s a little safe, overall -- its competitive multiplayer stands out as a gamble that paid off -- in that it has many familiar elements from Far Cry 3 transplanted to an amazing new place, but those elements are incredibly empowering and rewarding.
  6. Nov 30, 2014
    84
    Even without bringing huge innovations to the table, Far Cry 4 delivers a great and very polished gameplay experience coupled with lush and spectacular environments. Too bad for the forgettable main characters and the unexciting story, something we missed from the previous game in the series. It's a very funny and advised game nonetheless.
  7. X-ONE Magazine UK
    Feb 15, 2015
    80
    It can sometimes feel a little bit like Far Cry 3.5 rather than Far Cry 4, but it's a fun and enjoyable experience nevertheless, particularly so with another player. [Issue#119, p.60]
  8. Hyper Magazine
    Feb 9, 2015
    80
    It's a fine sequel but plays it a little too safe for our liking. [Issue#257, p.70]
  9. Dec 4, 2014
    80
    The story might be pale and the characters are bland and boring, but it is easy to forgive since it is so damn fun to free Kyrat. It does not matter if you prefer to sneak around and hide in bushes and trees, or just charge into an enemy camp on an elephants back. Far Cry 4 will not be a classic that people will talk about years to come, but it will entertain you greatly while it lasts.
  10. Full of an overwhelming amount of stuff to do this is insane value for money and pretty to boot. Still, we can't help but feel a shake-up is needed for Far Cry 5 to prevent series fatigue.
  11. Nov 26, 2014
    80
    Far Cry 4 is a great game that just feels like a lot more of the same.
  12. Nov 24, 2014
    80
    Mechanically, Far Cry 4 is an excellent shooter. It adds further polish to the open-world and action of its predecessor with even more involved and dynamic gameplay, and is loaded with rewarding side content on top of featuring a huge game world you'll spend hours exploring. The narrative isn't quite as solid, and falls through in several places with some aggravating characters and a lack of context to drive your actions.
  13. Nov 24, 2014
    80
    More a transition than an actual evolution of the concept, Far Cry 4 is still a thrilling adventure. But we were expecting a bit more innovation, besides a cooperative option and a few elephants.
  14. Nov 18, 2014
    80
    Most of what's great about Far Cry 4 is emergent in a way that doesn't need to be attached to a story or locale, so in most of the ways that matter, Far Cry 4 is more of Far Cry 3. But the little additions and co-op play do make meaningful differences, and on its own terms, Far Cry 4 is a great time.
  15. Nov 17, 2014
    70
    It's when you circumvent Far Cry 4's major thematic flaws, inconsistent missions, and incessant nagging that you find the game you came looking for, breathing easy and enjoying the mountains that rise in the distance and the valleys that stretch beneath you.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 433 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 48 out of 433
  1. Nov 18, 2014
    10
    In response to my somewhat picky review of FC3,the developers showed up a couple of nights ago with FC4.Play it they said sternly.Drink thisIn response to my somewhat picky review of FC3,the developers showed up a couple of nights ago with FC4.Play it they said sternly.Drink this energy drink,eat these snacks they commanded.So I did,and after 30 hours and just starting to scratch the surface they B slapped me to the ground and screamed 'Is that what you wanted'? It is...No contest,GOTY. Full Review »
  2. Nov 19, 2014
    9
    So far this game has been as enjoyable as I had hoped. Far Cry 3 was one of my favorite games and yes Far Cry 4 is very similar in someSo far this game has been as enjoyable as I had hoped. Far Cry 3 was one of my favorite games and yes Far Cry 4 is very similar in some respects but I am fine with that. There is nothing worse when a developer ruins something good by making it overly complicated in later versions. The mountains are a change from the tropical islands but still offer great opportunities to explore. I enjoy the stealth/hunting aspect although I can see why it isn't for everyone. If you are looking for a COD style FPS then I suggest you avoid this game. Having the choice to stealthily take down outposts or go in with guns blazing is another feature I enjoy about this game. The menu seem somewhat cleaner and simplified which is nice and the auto-drive feature is also a nice addition (for when you want to be lazy). I have not messed with the Multiplayer so I can't rate that but to be honest I could really care less. With xbox one making any sort of interaction with friends online 2-3x as cumbersome as 360 I am fine with solo which is partially I reason I bought this game in the first place. Overall, I am glad I decided to purchase this game and will definitely get my money's worth out of it during the coming months. Full Review »
  3. Nov 19, 2014
    9
    I have played it now for 5h and the game is just pure fun.If u loved FC3 u will love FC4 even more.I personally love games were i can just runI have played it now for 5h and the game is just pure fun.If u loved FC3 u will love FC4 even more.I personally love games were i can just run around the map and do what ever i want to do and this game delivers.Hunting Animals,driving around and even flying a little heli is huge fun.As i see i will definitely get my moneys worth with this game.Must have ! Full Review »