Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
Buy On
  1. 90
    Far Cry New Dawn takes players on an interesting journey to tell the story of what happened after the cliffhanger events of Far Cry 5. It mixes and matches franchise staples with new RPG mechanics and gameplay ideas to offer something familiar, but fresh.
  2. Feb 14, 2019
    86
    Contrary to the popular belief in the video game industry, more isn't always better, and Far Cry New Dawn is a great example of this. Its smaller scope compared to the regular Far Cry games improves the storytelling and the gameplay. It's a concentrated Far Cry experience that you enjoy from start to finish.
  3. Feb 15, 2019
    83
    Far Cry New Down is an excessive big budget toy, with a lot to do, a lot of guns, and a lot to explore, but with a little bland plot, and some questionable design choices. A very fun and solid adventure nevertheless.
  4. Official Xbox Magazine UK
    Mar 9, 2019
    80
    Hardly a far cry from what's come before, but still surprisingly enjoyable. [Issue#225, p.74]
  5. Feb 28, 2019
    80
    If you love Far Cry then there is no reason for you not to want to involve yourself with Far Cry New Dawn, as it does everything you would expect and a little bit more.
  6. Feb 25, 2019
    80
    I must admit that I find it easy to recommend Far Cry: New Dawn, especially to folks who happen to be fans of the series like I am. While it’s certainly not the best game in the franchise, or even the second or third best, it’s a very solid affair, and one that offers good value for its price tag. You’ll get a lot out of this game, including fun, a good challenge, lots of side content and some very dangerous and difficult beasts to hunt. If you’ve never been a fan of the series, then Far Cry: New Dawn won’t win you over. However, if you’ve ever enjoyed one of these games, or happen to really enjoy this type of experience, it’s well worth picking up.
  7. Feb 20, 2019
    80
    New Dawn adds a bit while keeping everything running the same way. Over the years, I have enjoyed my time with all the Far Cry games and this is yet another one I had a lot of fun with. The setting is both fun and interesting to explore, the expeditions add a new layer, and while not as important as some other games, the RPG elements at least point players in the right direction for improving. Sure, it’s another Far Cry game, but that’s never been a bad thing to me. Pick it up for you’re looking for a smaller scale Far Cry adventure with a few new twists thrown in.
  8. Feb 15, 2019
    80
    The game delivers fast and fluid open-world gameplay from start to finish, offering plenty of replayability with tiered outpost raids and expeditions. While New Dawn won’t be known for its memorable characters or plot, it’s fun enough that gamers are likely to forgive the narrative stumble.
  9. Feb 14, 2019
    80
    Far Cry New Dawn is a great sequel to Far Cry 5. Less ambitious but an even better result than its predecessor. The RPG elements that were introduced make it feel great and the post-apocalyptic setting has allowed designers to let their imagination run wild, resulting in a truly beautiful world.
  10. Feb 14, 2019
    80
    If you are a fan of the open world FPS Far Cry formula, New Dawn will meet your expectations. If you were looking for a great revolution after Far Cry 5, better wait for 6, which may include similar mechanics.
  11. Feb 14, 2019
    80
    Despite its positive attributes, Far Cry New Dawn feels more like the endgame to Far Cry 5. It's almost like an epilogue that should've been included with the base game, maybe as part of the season pass. In order to properly conclude the story started in Far Cry 5, you have to play Far Cry New Dawn.
  12. Feb 14, 2019
    80
    This blueprint is still fun, don’t get me wrong, but if anything New Dawn represents more of a sunset on an old design sheet. Might be time to drop a figurative nuclear bomb on Far Cry as we know it right now, in an effort to rebuild, from the ground up; something new and contemporary for the brave new world ahead of us. Fuel, after all, will be a thing of the past soon enough.
  13. Feb 14, 2019
    80
    Relatively short but still incredibly sweet, Far Cry New Dawn is yet another fine instalment in the series, and a genuinely excellent Far Cry 5 follow-up that works equally well as a standalone experience.
  14. Feb 14, 2019
    80
    Despite changes to the formula, New Dawn is still very much Far Cry at its core.
  15. Feb 14, 2019
    78
    As an overall package, Far Cry New Dawn delivers a focused expansion of the world that was established in Far Cry 5. You don't need to play the prior game to enjoy what's here, but those who have done so will come into New Dawn with a greater appreciation of the world and the characters. The more limited scope means no add-on features (like Far Cry Arcade) and no season pass, but it also allowed for some experimentation that you don't usually see in a AAA title. Put this one on your purchase list, but you should stick with the regular edition and skip the deluxe edition. The deluxe edition is $10 more, with nothing to offer except some early weapon unlocks with alternate skins.
  16. Feb 14, 2019
    75
    Far Cry: New Dawn gets many elements from Far Cry 5 adding a more focused world and a good base management component, but it still feels much like its predecessor and with probably the mostly forgettable villains of the entire series. If you appreciated FC5 you'll like this one too, but it won't blow you away.
  17. Feb 14, 2019
    75
    Ubisoft could've done more to refresh Hope County for Far Cry: New Dawn, but there's still some good, chaotic fun to be had here.
  18. Feb 18, 2019
    70
    New Dawn still is a very enjoyable shooter, but it doesn’t bring many new things compared to FC5 and it doesn’t make the most of its great setting.
  19. Feb 16, 2019
    70
    The villains weren’t that intriguing in New Dawn, the heightened focus on resource gathering and crafting led to some grinding stretches of gameplay, and I’m not quite sure how to feel about bullet sponge and floating damage appearing in a Far Cry game. Luckily, combat is just as chaotic and explosive as ever, especially with a co-op buddy, and I would still recommend the game to Far Cry fans.
  20. Feb 15, 2019
    70
    From a big picture perspective, Far Cry: New Dawn is fine. It hits a lot of checkboxes that have come to define what Far Cry is and manages to wring some newness and intrigue out of its reused map. While the storytelling is even more unfocused than the previous game (though much less disappointing, due to a noticeable walkback on pretense), new gameplay additions like breezy RPG progression and the Expedition missions make it a fun ride all the way through. Far Cry: New Dawn still has a lot of familiar snags, but the overall experience makes for a solid weekend or two of Hollywood-style gaming.
  21. Feb 14, 2019
    70
    This new Far Cry shines from its variety of side quests and a setup that gives a fresh taste to the formula. We would have loved a better scenario and a brand new AI system.
  22. Feb 14, 2019
    70
    Far Cry New Dawn continues the series' year-long descent into self-parody with this uninspired sequel. The spinoffs for Far Cry are usually very exciting, previously taking us to an alternate future or the ancient past. In New Dawn we return to Hope County, now with 300% more pink. Neither the premise nor the execution of the setting and story ever justify the project, but for fans who haven't tired of the series' formula yet, you can't really go wrong with more of the same when it's well done. It's mechanically tight and often engaging while it lasts. Let's just hope New Dawn is actually the setting sun for this version of Far Cry. The series could really use a makeover soon.
  23. Feb 19, 2019
    67
    In theory I like this game better than Far Cry 5 and I enjoy it more than Metro Exodus. But why Ubisoft decided and went for micro transactions that can impact the balance (optionally of course) is beyond me.
  24. Feb 20, 2019
    65
    Whilst it’s lacking in story content and comes with a questionable mission structure, there’s much to like about New Dawn. The gameplay remains fluid and responsive throughout, with no shortage of memorable moments born through its nonstop action, as well as its broad variation of unique opportunities. That said, once the game’s grind-wall kicks in towards the end, you’ll start feeling less like a liberator, and more like a liberator’s butler.
  25. Feb 14, 2019
    60
    Just like the series, Far Cry New Dawn is a game of exploration and self-discovery. Despite flaws and bumps along the way, New Dawn captures new magic and shows a glimmer of what the future of the Far Cry series looks like. Now if only Ubisoft could match the game design with equal level and story quality, we may be able to see the series capstone game in Far Cry 6.
  26. Feb 14, 2019
    60
    There's a lot of potential in the ideas seeded in New Dawn, but there isn't enough room for many of them to breathe and feel fully realized.
User Score
3.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 146 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 146
  2. Negative: 91 out of 146
  1. Feb 15, 2019
    8
    The presentation side of the game does a solid job on both the visuals and sound design deliver a decent amount of immersion. I enjoyed theThe presentation side of the game does a solid job on both the visuals and sound design deliver a decent amount of immersion. I enjoyed the story that was present in the game and in my opinion they’ve carried on the story from Far Cry 5 extremely well. Whenever you’re in combat it always feels satisfying and I especially enjoyed the feel of the shooting mechanics because they definitely pack a punch. There’s a decent amount of content for you to explore and enough variety in the missions to keep you interested. Crafting has a great importance about it and upgrading certain things makes you become even more attached to the overall gameplay. Technically the game suffers with a few issues every now and then which can be some-what annoying. There hasn’t been many changes implemented in the game so it pretty much feels the same as Far Cry 5.
    While I enjoyed the story the lack of character progression meant that they didn’t always feel as important as they should’ve been. Far Cry 5 was an absolute masterpiece and it got so much right that it ended up being my 2nd favorite game in the series. I was looking forward to Far Cry New Dawn and while it isn’t as good as Far Cry 5 it’s still a solidt addition to the franchise. Once again we’re treated to a very good and compelling story but in order to get the full value of the story I would recommend playing Far Cry 5 first. Something that I really enjoyed about the previous Far Cry game was its presentation and I’m pleased to say that they’ve done justice to both the visuals and sound design again. I do however have a small gripe though and that is that you have to deal with a few bugs every now and then but thankfully they don’t come up very often so you won’t be bothered by them too much. In terms of content the game has a decent amount for you to sink your teeth into and the combat elements feel very satisfying. Crafting also feels important as well but I do wish they would have focused a little more on character progression because it makes the characters in the game feel a little less important. At the end of the day then whilst Far Cry New Dawn feels very similar to Far Cry 5 with not too many changes I still recommend that you get the game because if you’re a fan of this franchise you’ll still see it as being an important addition. In the end it's worth the lower price of admission into the far car series.
    Full Review »
  2. Feb 19, 2019
    9
    Not sure why there are so many negative and scathing reviews. Far Cry New Dawn is a blast and a fun way to re-engage with Hope County. TheNot sure why there are so many negative and scathing reviews. Far Cry New Dawn is a blast and a fun way to re-engage with Hope County. The colours and transformed landscape are stunning, and it is of little consequence to me if this would be a realistic post-apocalyptic landscape; Far Cry has never been about ultra-realism and has been more about creating havoc and accomplishing missions in a fully realized world, which is what this is. It feels like a more realized and expanded DLC that allows you to play with new (and some old) characters in a new way, filled with some of the humour and playfulness of the Far Cry 5. Full Review »
  3. Feb 22, 2019
    0
    Another example of politically correct garbage, a cash-grab and a lazy job by the developers, don't even bother with it.
    It's not even a Far
    Another example of politically correct garbage, a cash-grab and a lazy job by the developers, don't even bother with it.
    It's not even a Far Cry game anymore.
    Full Review »