Far Cry New Dawn Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 147 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Seventeen years after a nuclear doomsday, Hope County, Montana, has changed in unexpected ways. Nuclear winter has given way to a "superbloom," creating a lush, colourful landscape that survivors have begun to re-populate with makeshift buildings. It's a lawless frontier where people areSeventeen years after a nuclear doomsday, Hope County, Montana, has changed in unexpected ways. Nuclear winter has given way to a "superbloom," creating a lush, colourful landscape that survivors have begun to re-populate with makeshift buildings. It's a lawless frontier where people are struggling to get by - and you'll be able to experience it all with a friend in co-op, or on your own as a lone gunslinger. After living through the apocalypse, the survivors in Hope County now face a new threat: the nihilistic Highwaymen, vicious scavengers intent on bleeding the county dry. When the survivors put out a call for help to combat this deadly threat, you are quickly thrust into the middle of a new battle for the future of Hope County. Since the nuclear apocalypse, survivors have been piecing their shelter, tools, and weapons together from the broken remnants of the old world. The results may look ramshackle, but they'll keep you alive in a fight. Your Homebase will let you construct powerful weapons and vehicles, giving you more options than ever for explosive, over-the-top action. When anything and everything can happen, it is never too much to have someone watching your back. Whether it's Hurk, a boar, or whoever you want, you can recruit an eclectic cast of Guns and Fangs for Hire to fight by your side. You can even play with a friend in co-op. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Far Cry: New Dawn - Official Story Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. 90
    Far Cry New Dawn takes players on an interesting journey to tell the story of what happened after the cliffhanger events of Far Cry 5. It mixes and matches franchise staples with new RPG mechanics and gameplay ideas to offer something familiar, but fresh.
  2. Feb 20, 2019
    80
    New Dawn adds a bit while keeping everything running the same way. Over the years, I have enjoyed my time with all the Far Cry games and this is yet another one I had a lot of fun with. The setting is both fun and interesting to explore, the expeditions add a new layer, and while not as important as some other games, the RPG elements at least point players in the right direction for improving. Sure, it’s another Far Cry game, but that’s never been a bad thing to me. Pick it up for you’re looking for a smaller scale Far Cry adventure with a few new twists thrown in.
  3. Feb 14, 2019
    80
    Despite changes to the formula, New Dawn is still very much Far Cry at its core.
  4. Official Xbox Magazine UK
    Mar 9, 2019
    80
    Hardly a far cry from what's come before, but still surprisingly enjoyable. [Issue#225, p.74]
  5. Feb 14, 2019
    75
    Ubisoft could've done more to refresh Hope County for Far Cry: New Dawn, but there's still some good, chaotic fun to be had here.
  6. Feb 15, 2019
    70
    From a big picture perspective, Far Cry: New Dawn is fine. It hits a lot of checkboxes that have come to define what Far Cry is and manages to wring some newness and intrigue out of its reused map. While the storytelling is even more unfocused than the previous game (though much less disappointing, due to a noticeable walkback on pretense), new gameplay additions like breezy RPG progression and the Expedition missions make it a fun ride all the way through. Far Cry: New Dawn still has a lot of familiar snags, but the overall experience makes for a solid weekend or two of Hollywood-style gaming.
  7. Feb 14, 2019
    60
    There's a lot of potential in the ideas seeded in New Dawn, but there isn't enough room for many of them to breathe and feel fully realized.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 21
  2. Negative: 8 out of 21
  1. May 18, 2019
    10
    I always knew it would be a FC5 reskin, so not sure why so negative! Its a fun game that has alot of punch!
  2. Feb 19, 2019
    9
    I do recommend that you finish Far Cry 5 first since New Dawn is, story wise, a sequel. It is by no means Far Cry 6 though, and it was neverI do recommend that you finish Far Cry 5 first since New Dawn is, story wise, a sequel. It is by no means Far Cry 6 though, and it was never advertised as such. It feels in every aspect I can think of, like a large DLC. The changes made to perks, guns for hire, crafting system, fighting and the possibility to liberate outposts multiple times for greater rewards is in my opinion good ones. The map is smaller, but that's not a bad thing. The action comes closer, you don't spend endless amounts of time staring at loading screens when you fast travel, it's faster to just grab a trike and drive there since the map is not that huge! I'm satisfied, no bugs that I've seen and a **** of action. Expand
  3. Feb 15, 2019
    8
    The presentation side of the game does a solid job on both the visuals and sound design deliver a decent amount of immersion. I enjoyed theThe presentation side of the game does a solid job on both the visuals and sound design deliver a decent amount of immersion. I enjoyed the story that was present in the game and in my opinion they’ve carried on the story from Far Cry 5 extremely well. Whenever you’re in combat it always feels satisfying and I especially enjoyed the feel of the shooting mechanics because they definitely pack a punch. There’s a decent amount of content for you to explore and enough variety in the missions to keep you interested. Crafting has a great importance about it and upgrading certain things makes you become even more attached to the overall gameplay. Technically the game suffers with a few issues every now and then which can be some-what annoying. There hasn’t been many changes implemented in the game so it pretty much feels the same as Far Cry 5.
    While I enjoyed the story the lack of character progression meant that they didn’t always feel as important as they should’ve been. Far Cry 5 was an absolute masterpiece and it got so much right that it ended up being my 2nd favorite game in the series. I was looking forward to Far Cry New Dawn and while it isn’t as good as Far Cry 5 it’s still a solidt addition to the franchise. Once again we’re treated to a very good and compelling story but in order to get the full value of the story I would recommend playing Far Cry 5 first. Something that I really enjoyed about the previous Far Cry game was its presentation and I’m pleased to say that they’ve done justice to both the visuals and sound design again. I do however have a small gripe though and that is that you have to deal with a few bugs every now and then but thankfully they don’t come up very often so you won’t be bothered by them too much. In terms of content the game has a decent amount for you to sink your teeth into and the combat elements feel very satisfying. Crafting also feels important as well but I do wish they would have focused a little more on character progression because it makes the characters in the game feel a little less important. At the end of the day then whilst Far Cry New Dawn feels very similar to Far Cry 5 with not too many changes I still recommend that you get the game because if you’re a fan of this franchise you’ll still see it as being an important addition. In the end it's worth the lower price of admission into the far car series.
    Expand
  4. Feb 21, 2019
    6
    Far Cry: New Dawn is a rather simple, uninspired game, but it manages to capture an important aspect of a quality video game very well. BeingFar Cry: New Dawn is a rather simple, uninspired game, but it manages to capture an important aspect of a quality video game very well. Being fun. It isn’t the best in the series, and I would recommend playing Far Cry 5 before jumping into this. It’s a direct sequel to 5, so that background would help. Far Cry 5 is also generally a better game and is a more traditional Far Cry experience. But don’t let that stop you from picking up New Dawn. If you’re a Far Cry fan then chances are you will enjoy this game.

    Despite it being a practical DLC to Far Cry 5, it manages to save face by being $40, rather than $60. It means Ubisoft is able to acknowledge that this entry is lacking in many areas compared to the standards the previous games have set.
    Collapse
  5. Feb 17, 2019
    5
    I totally appreciate the willingness to try something a bit different, and the lower price point, but in this case I don't feel like it paidI totally appreciate the willingness to try something a bit different, and the lower price point, but in this case I don't feel like it paid off. Damage numbers and loot rarity doesn't add anything meaningful to the FarCry experience I have come to know and love. Enemy A.I is still the same as in FC5. Enemies are extremely predictable and easy to manipulate making a lot of the game a bit boring. The villains are only mildly interesting compared to past titles. I don't know that there is much more to say. I mean if you played FarCry 5 you already know what to expect, though for me personally doesn't do anything in particular that makes me want to come back to it. It honestly just made me want to replay FarCry 5. If you do decide to pass on New Dawn let me assure you that you aren't missing anything super special. Expand
  6. Apr 9, 2019
    3
    My first FarCry game was Farcry 5 and I loved it me and my friend grinded it over and over and over again but I was very disappointed i spentMy first FarCry game was Farcry 5 and I loved it me and my friend grinded it over and over and over again but I was very disappointed i spent 60$ on this game to finish it in 8.5 hours i bought the most expensive edition for nothing i didn't even realise i had finished the game when i only realised i was finished the game when I got to the final mission I am very disappointed and I hope they expand the game with DLC and more Expand
  7. Feb 19, 2019
    0
    pior igual far cry primal ,por que não fez dlc gratir no far cry 5????? pra paga mais de 50 dólares o mesmo jogo de far cry 5 , pra min farpior igual far cry primal ,por que não fez dlc gratir no far cry 5????? pra paga mais de 50 dólares o mesmo jogo de far cry 5 , pra min far cry morreu Expand

See all 21 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2019 Videogame Preview: 45 Most-Anticipated Games

    2019 Videogame Preview: 45 Most-Anticipated Games Image
    Published: January 10, 2019
    Here are the most noteworthy games expected to be released in 2019 for PlayStation 4, Xbox One, Switch, and PC.