User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 23
  2. Negative: 9 out of 23
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 5, 2017
    10
    Old school rules here ! Adrenaline arcade style game , been waiting a long time for this kind of game to came out on XONE ! The different gameplays are variate and the controls are a bit fluffy!!! But the real deal here is that it s difficult , realy hard to finish first , not like those game where you just had to uprade a bit your engine and then get far away with nobody behind you, noOld school rules here ! Adrenaline arcade style game , been waiting a long time for this kind of game to came out on XONE ! The different gameplays are variate and the controls are a bit fluffy!!! But the real deal here is that it s difficult , realy hard to finish first , not like those game where you just had to uprade a bit your engine and then get far away with nobody behind you, no not in this game!!!The AI dosent give you the chance to pass free and that s were the thing becomes great!!! I gave a ten to this game because every time i comeback and sit on the couch, take the controller , start the game,........ i feel like i m 16 again with a big smile on my face thinking about not ! TY to take the time to read my review, if you like that kind of gameplay , maybe you should try GAS GUZZLERS EXTREME ,around 25$ on the Xstore, also 10/10 !!!Bye ,from Ricky ! Expand
  2. Mar 25, 2017
    8
    I won this game on twitter and started playing. The game is a little difficult at times but extremely fun, you can collect cars and upgrade them and race against the AI in career mode or play death match or well made mini-games in flatout mode. As a bonus there is also multiplayer and you can play all the fun mini-games with 1 controller with friends, which makes it a great game for whenI won this game on twitter and started playing. The game is a little difficult at times but extremely fun, you can collect cars and upgrade them and race against the AI in career mode or play death match or well made mini-games in flatout mode. As a bonus there is also multiplayer and you can play all the fun mini-games with 1 controller with friends, which makes it a great game for when friends come over. Expand
  3. Sep 9, 2017
    8
    Believe it or not, I found this to be the best FlatOut game yet (if there's anymore that come out in the future). Sure, the graphics aren't exactly the best for PS4/XBO standards, but the rest of the game has that certain charm to it. It's like they knew what kind of audience would buy this, because they have everything the other FlatOut games had, plus more. They have local multiplayer inBelieve it or not, I found this to be the best FlatOut game yet (if there's anymore that come out in the future). Sure, the graphics aren't exactly the best for PS4/XBO standards, but the rest of the game has that certain charm to it. It's like they knew what kind of audience would buy this, because they have everything the other FlatOut games had, plus more. They have local multiplayer in the form of turned based gameplay, as in up to 8 people can pass one controller around when it's their turn. I would've preferred being able to use up to 4 player split screen, but this gets the job done. There's also more mini games along with racing and destruction derby. The physics still aren't the best, a bit too slidey, but you get use to it. There's a lot to do in the game, and was only $40 upon release day. If you're a FlatOut fan, this is definitely for you. Expand
  4. May 17, 2017
    8
    At least a racing game that doesn't fall under the simulation category, FlatOut 4: Total Insanity re-introduces the arcade racing genre to the current generation. The game controls quite well and with an array of beautiful tracks to race around, I see plenty of replay value in aiming for high lap times on the leader board. The online unfortunately is very basic and not so populous howeverAt least a racing game that doesn't fall under the simulation category, FlatOut 4: Total Insanity re-introduces the arcade racing genre to the current generation. The game controls quite well and with an array of beautiful tracks to race around, I see plenty of replay value in aiming for high lap times on the leader board. The online unfortunately is very basic and not so populous however getting into an online lobby is a ton of fun much like I remember the games from previous generation arcade racers. FlatOut 4 however is not as good as FlatOut 2 but is a vast improvement over the previous abysmal game, FlatOut 3. It reintroduces the FlatOut mode as well as the stunt mode. The graphics are average at best however the detail of the environments I found had the biggest leap over FlatOut 2. FlatOut 4 barely has anything new to offer (apart from some new abilities in a carnage race mode) but is still very enjoyable to anyone who has a lust for the arcade racing genre. Expand
  5. Feb 23, 2021
    8
    Непогана спроба, видно що розробники старалися угодити фанатам і орієнтувалися на 2 частину. Можливо 5 частина буде справді достойною?
Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. Official Xbox Magazine UK
    May 29, 2017
    60
    What should be lighthearted fun turns into a grind in this knockabout arcade racer. [June 2017, p.82]
  2. May 15, 2017
    60
    Flatout 4 feels like a game destined to reinvigorate the franchise and just ran out of steam. I am a massive fan of the original game and its sequel, and while this is light years beyond the abomination that was the third game, it still falls short. More tracks, more variety, and some much needed polish would have gone a long way in bringing back this cult classic. As it stands though, arcade racers still sit dormant in today’s gaming landscape.
  3. May 15, 2017
    71
    After a half dozen hours in the campaign it simply dawned on me that while FlatOut 4 has its moments, namely in its entertaining, yet offline only Stunt Mode, the campaign itself was simply average. The main problem is that it feels like a grind and there’s no hints at what’s needed to unlock all of the customization items like paint jobs and exhaust flames. FlatOut 4 is completely serviceable game, but there’s a lot of issues with its AI and buggy physics, as I’ve fallen through the world more than once. While it won’t bring the series back to the forefront with its rough edges, it has a decent amount of content within, topped off with a delightful stunt mode that will constantly having you aiming for a higher score, even if it is a solo affair.