Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. May 12, 2017
    100
    If you are looking for a good reason to hop back on Forza Horizon 3, this is an amazing one. With some of the most intense racing I’ve experienced in years...for $20 you simply cannot go wrong.
  2. May 18, 2017
    95
    The Blizzard Mountain expansion was enjoyable, but this Hot Wheels expansion takes the game to a whole new level. I can say without any doubt; this Hot Wheels expansion is absolutely worth every nickel.
  3. May 16, 2017
    92
    Forza Horizon 3: Hot Wheels is a dream come true to all the fans of the popular toy brand, an outstanding expansion with new challenges to conquer over its paradise of plastic tracks that offer us challenging gameplay and confirms again that this is one of the greatest racing games of recent years.
  4. May 26, 2017
    90
    Forza Horizon 3 Hot Wheels is an expansion that no fans of the game should miss. Far from being mere padding, we are almost talking about a new game, offering an unprecedented game area quite wide, full of possibilities and with more news than ever. The brilliant and original design of the roads makes playing a delight and is a reason enough to enjoy this fantastic title.
  5. May 23, 2017
    90
    The Forza Horizon 3 Hot Wheels expansion is another stunning addition to the Horizon experience. If you are done with everything that has come before it, and need some new races to get involved in, or just want some fun for you and your mates, then the price asked is a good one.
  6. May 22, 2017
    90
    Playground have managed to extract the awesomeness stored in the collective hive-mind of every “big-kid” out there that wants to be able to play with their Hot Wheels sets without strange glances from onlookers. It’s a fun outing for the series as a whole and something I hope to see more of down the line.
  7. May 17, 2017
    90
    Completely changing the rules, the Hot Wheels Expansion brings new life to the Forza Horizon 3 world, in an unpredictable way.
  8. May 16, 2017
    90
    The second expansion of Forza Horizon 3 Hot Wheels is a bet for the originality and vertiginousness of fantastic scenarios with toy tracks. You will return to your childhood in high definition and a open world, in this new opportunity to extend the life of the original game with tons of fun.
  9. May 12, 2017
    90
    A delightful, daring, and different expansion that reinforces Forza Horizon 3’s reputation as one of the best racing games ever made.
  10. May 19, 2017
    88
    The explosive offering in this latest DLC will, in short, satisfy all fans of the series and re-energize passion for a long time thanks to a play map run by orange slides and dotted with science fiction acrobatics capable of challenging any law of physics.
  11. May 18, 2017
    80
    The Forza Horizon series has always embodied the adventurous and fun side of driving, and the Hot Wheels expansion delivers that in spades.
  12. CD-Action
    Jun 30, 2017
    70
    It’s kinda funny that standard AWD vehicles are much better suited for the tracks introduced in this expansion than Hot Wheels toy cars that come with it. [07/2017, p.47]
  13. May 19, 2017
    70
    Forza Horizon 3 Hot Wheels works even though it occupies a weird space. It doesn't play to Forza Horizon's strengths and, eventually, it doesn't even feel much like Hot Wheels anymore. It's claustrophobic and constricting in a way this franchise hasn't been before. In a twist of irony, it's the Hot Wheels aspect that prevents this expansion from ever performing anything spectacularly perilous.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. May 10, 2017
    Hot Wheels demonstrates that Playground Games are so assured and steadfast in their vision for Forza Horizon that they can make something so patently absurd feel like the most obvious and natural thing in the world. It shows that games can be rooted in realism while reveling in the preposterous and that's what guarantees Forza Horizon 3's place as one of the all time great driving games.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 101 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 101
  2. Negative: 19 out of 101
  1. May 11, 2017
    10
    If you love the forza series, than you will love Forza Horizon 3. If you love FH3 and you loved hot wheels as a kid, than you will definitelyIf you love the forza series, than you will love Forza Horizon 3. If you love FH3 and you loved hot wheels as a kid, than you will definitely love this. This sort of expansion I would've never expected in a game like this, so much stupidly yet dangerously fun stunts. This DLC could not get any better. It combines FH3 with Hot wheels beat that from the PS2 & Nintendo DS, both some of my favourite racing games of all time. This pack is definitely worth $20 ($30 AUD) whether you are a fan of hot wheels or not, but as long as you love Forza. This and Blizzard Mountain have proven that no matter how unrealistic some of these stunts and features may be, it still works very well in a racing game like this. This is way better than both of the expansions we ever got in Forza Horizon 2 and this one is definitely Playground Games finest work at an expansion pack. Full Review »
  2. May 10, 2017
    10
    Hot Wheels DLC is one of the best DLCS on Forza takes me back to being a kid again i never had soo much fun in my life playing this DLC .Hot Wheels DLC is one of the best DLCS on Forza takes me back to being a kid again i never had soo much fun in my life playing this DLC . Forza Horizon 3 is one of the the best racing games on xbox one u get a good dlc for just $19.00 buy now u will not be disappointed Full Review »
  3. May 10, 2017
    10
    This Hot Wheels DLC is something I never knew I wanted and after playing it for 5 hours I am totally hooked to Forza Horizon 3 even more thanThis Hot Wheels DLC is something I never knew I wanted and after playing it for 5 hours I am totally hooked to Forza Horizon 3 even more than before. Forza Horizon 3 is by far the best racing game this generation. Im not a big fan of the Forza Motorsports series since its a bit too hardcore for me but its also great. It feels like Forza is the single handed reason why the racing genre is becoming more relevant again. Hopefully when GT Sport drops on PS4 this year it will be just as good. PS4 owners deserve an elite racing experience from GT like Xbox provides its owners with Forza. The Hot Wheels DLC is simply and Epic experience that can be appreciated by hardcore and casual racing fans. Its like Mario Kart for real cars, simply amazing visuals, and so much detail has been put into this DLC its insane. Truly a must play game for Xbox owners or Racing fans. Full Review »