Forza Motorsport 5 Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 76 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1119 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: By learning how you and your compatriots drive, the utility of the cloud delivers real human behavior. Drivatar technology creates an evolving network of opponents who are consistently ready to take up the wheel. Real tendencies, real mistakes, real victories. Truly feel what it is like toBy learning how you and your compatriots drive, the utility of the cloud delivers real human behavior. Drivatar technology creates an evolving network of opponents who are consistently ready to take up the wheel. Real tendencies, real mistakes, real victories. Truly feel what it is like to own the world’s most exotic cars in an experience that brings you very close to the history, craftsmanship and potential of every car in the game. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Forza Motorsport 5 - FilmSpeed
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 76
  2. Negative: 0 out of 76
  1. Nov 20, 2013
    100
    Forza 5 isn't a fluke. It's the product of almost a decade of refinement, evolution and an unbelievable amount of experience on Turn 10's part. In essence, this is a game without any real weaknesses.
  2. Nov 20, 2013
    90
    The fifth lap in the Forza Motorsport series is a great start for the speed genre in Xbox One, and the first truly must-have for Microsoft's new hardware.
  3. Nov 20, 2013
    88
    Forza Motorsport 5 is what die hard fans of turn 10 deserve. Stunning visuals and great sim-like handling are the highlights of the game, but we need more tracks and cars.
  4. Nov 20, 2013
    80
    Technically impressive, but limited on new ideas. Drivatar is the closest to innovation Forza 5 comes, but needs more depth to be worthwhile.
  5. Nov 28, 2013
    80
    Forza 5 is as spectacular and solid as ever, but you can't ignore the fact that there's a clear content cutback from the previous game.
  6. Dec 16, 2013
    71
    Forza 5 will do as a holdover racing game for now, but for all the bombast that next-gen brings, the game is awfully stagnant, and its lack of competition has never been more apparent.
  7. Dec 5, 2013
    60
    Forza Motorsport 5 becomes a game that is outstanding in specific, limited situations, but overall, it's kind of a drag.

See all 76 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 96 out of 274
  1. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    Might be single handedly my favorite racing game I've ever played! And I'm a guy who normally hates racing games! The controls are slick andMight be single handedly my favorite racing game I've ever played! And I'm a guy who normally hates racing games! The controls are slick and the feedback from the controllers make the game even better! I'm even considering buying the wheel and I never buy the wheel! Note there's going to be a lot of PlayStation fam Boyz coming on here to smash the game.. just remember to report them. if you're going to buy any game on xbox one it would be this one! A game that truly deserves for the first time I've ever reviewed anything An actual 10! Buy it! Expand
  2. Jan 15, 2018
    10
    Jogo muito bom!! Realmente falou uma historia maior por trás do jogo, acho que ficaria mais legal, mas não tira o brilho do jogo de forma alguma!
  3. Feb 26, 2014
    9
    I've been playing racing sims for a long time (pretty much as long as they have existed) and Forza 5 is by far my favorite. The tracks areI've been playing racing sims for a long time (pretty much as long as they have existed) and Forza 5 is by far my favorite. The tracks are gorgeous, the cars (non DLC) are plentiful, and the AI is interesting. I'm definitely a fan of the Drivatars, even though they can be a little impolite at times. I do not view DLC as a problem with this game. There are more than enough cars to satisfy, and when Turn 10 added a new track (Road America), it was free of charge.

    Also, great job on the online gameplay.
    Expand
  4. May 14, 2015
    7
    Well, to be honest, Forza 5 is quite a standard racing game, which would normally get it a 6/10 in my books, as they tend to be boring, butWell, to be honest, Forza 5 is quite a standard racing game, which would normally get it a 6/10 in my books, as they tend to be boring, but I'm giving it an 7/10 because of the INSANE graphical fidelity. The graphics were so good, that at some moments, I forgot that I was playing a video game, and thought that I was watching racing on TV. Of course there's other little awesome things that add on to the realism, like your engine heat, the physics, and there's an amazing photo mode. Also, custom paint jobs is awesome. I can understand the low user ratings a bit, seeing as the game is SO realistic, that it tends to be difficult to play. But, at the end of the day, there's no better feeling in Forza 5 than pulling across the finish line in 1st place! Expand
  5. Nov 26, 2013
    5
    The good :
    Excellent graphics at a solid 60 fps (even with the post E3 downgrade in the off track detail)
    Awesome sound Amazing detail in
    The good :
    Excellent graphics at a solid 60 fps (even with the post E3 downgrade in the off track detail)
    Awesome sound
    Amazing detail in the rescanned tracks and cars
    Drivatar works well so far

    The meh :
    Much reduced car and track lists

    The awful :
    Gutted multiplayer functionality. I don't know how Turn 10 have the audacity to use the word Motorsport in the title anymore. FM2/3/4 run circles around FM5.
    * No multiplayer replays kills online league racing, drifting and many other types of community activity
    * Matchmaking doesn't work. I've not been in a hopper with more than 4 people.
    * No custom public lobbies
    * Still no fixable aero
    * Damage is now nothing or 100%. Pitcrew can fix an engine in 10 seconds, but not change your tyres.
    * Can't invite friends of friends
    * No playground modes

    Then we get to the DLC. I've already coughed up £429 for a console, and £60 for an incomplete game. They now want me to buy the cars I got free in FM4 back for £7.99 a pack, and there's microtransactions all over place for shortcutting to the expensive/rare cars. It's greed, bordering on robbery especially after charging a premium price for a game with half the content.

    Forza 5 has so much potential. The graphics, sound and physics are excellent. The (reduced) content is of excellent quality. The simple, easy stuff that worked just fine and makes the community therefore helps extend the game life and perhaps sell more (reasonably) priced DLC has just been broken for no good reason, and covered up in all the pre-launch coverage.

    So much potential, badly squandered for greed and to meet someone elses hardware launch deadline.
    Expand
  6. Mar 8, 2017
    3
    Forza 5 continues the series with another boring and generic racer which feels like most other realistic racing games. Could not play it forForza 5 continues the series with another boring and generic racer which feels like most other realistic racing games. Could not play it for more than an hour before putting down my controller in boredom. The graphics of the cars look nice, and some of the tracks are very detailed however, as a launch title, seeing the crowd look like cardboard cutouts is not the sign of a next generation game. Expand
  7. Jan 25, 2016
    0
    I would like to talk about forza 5,its a great game.know if you have found out that this is a lie,good.FORZA 5 SUCKS!!! I WOULD RATHER DO 15I would like to talk about forza 5,its a great game.know if you have found out that this is a lie,good.FORZA 5 SUCKS!!! I WOULD RATHER DO 15 COLLEGE ESSASY'S!! I thought this game was gonna be cool,forza 4 was nice,but this one,itll make you rage more than sup3r meat boy×1000.every time i try to turn with a newly purchased car,it eather,A:looses countrol to like everything or B: decides that its a beyblade and starts to spin out of no where.this is a waste of your money go buy starwars or something,youll regret buying this,it gets really oring,and they expect you to pay 60 dollars,i would rather use it to wipe my butt with,at least then it wouldnt be wasted that much.So be careful buying certain games. Expand

See all 274 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2013

    The Best Videogames of 2013 Image
    Published: December 30, 2013
    In our annual ranking of the year's best video games, get a list of 2013's best and worst releases by platform, view a comparison of the various game consoles, and find out which title earned Metacritic Game of the Year honors.
  2. Hardware Review: Microsoft Xbox One

    Hardware Review: Microsoft Xbox One Image
    Published: November 20, 2013
    Microsoft's next-gen console arrives in stores Friday with a hefty price tag but the promise of becoming an all-in-one multimedia center for your living room. What do critics think of the Xbox One, and how does it compare to the new PS4? Find out inside.