User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 10 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 2 out of 10

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 8, 2019
    10
    An incredible, weird, crazy but above all, Incredibly FUN game.
    If you love experimental games, or enjoy works full of all kind of references this is a game you should try.
  2. Sep 4, 2019
    9
    An experimental game, very surprising. Do not conisder it as a classic video game, it's an UFO, but a pleasant one.
  3. Sep 11, 2019
    10
    So weird !
    only one question : WHY ?
    So if you want something strange and unusual go for it.
  4. Sep 13, 2019
    10
    I love it. Ok it's strange and it's not for everyone, but it's for me, sure. A weird game... WGOTY (Weirdest Game Of The Year)
  5. Sep 13, 2019
    9
    This game is so ....well ... don't find the words... try it if you're curious
    original graphics
    original concept
    original sound
  6. Sep 13, 2019
    8
    Gaijin Charenji 1: Kisss OOR Kill: The Sega Dreamcast is a console that broke a lot of ground in such a small amount of time and back when it first came to America and Europe in 1999 the excitement levels in the gaming community were high to say the least because it did things that no other console ever did before. Unfortunately though it didn’t last very long which was a shame because itGaijin Charenji 1: Kisss OOR Kill: The Sega Dreamcast is a console that broke a lot of ground in such a small amount of time and back when it first came to America and Europe in 1999 the excitement levels in the gaming community were high to say the least because it did things that no other console ever did before. Unfortunately though it didn’t last very long which was a shame because it was a console I was hoping was going to be around for many years. Gaijin Charenji 1 was one of those games that was meant to release on the Dreamcast but it never came to fruition and after doing a little bit of research on it I found out that Yosuke Takahashi was the son of the person who originally intended to bring it to the Dreamcast. In a way then this made me want to play Gaijin Charenji 1: Kiss or Kill even more because it was 20 years in the making and in the end I’m glad I did because I haven’t played anything quite like it before. Basically it’s all about killing your enemies with some twin-stick shooting action that feels completely fresh which is quite impressive considering the amount of twin-stick shooters that are out there. There’s a twist on the normal twin-stick action though and that twist is the Kiss or Kill mechanic. This mechanic is decent and it adds an extra dimension to the gameplay because choosing Kiss or Kill in regards to your enemies does impact on things as you progress. It gets quite a lot right and the strange and weird vibe it has dotted throughout is one of the things it gets completely right. The presentation side of the game is memorable to say the least and without going into too much detail because I don’t want to spoil it for you the visual style and other quirks will definitely stay with you long after completion. The gameplay whilst not containing a huge amount of depth will also stay with you long after completion as well because even though I’ve said it many times before it’s certainly unique to the core. In a way yes because this game is definitely not for everybody due to the nature of it. As I said earlier the gameplay doesn’t have much to it either so if you aren’t engrossed by the presentation style this game has then it probably won’t hold your attention for very long. I will say though that in terms of pros and cons there isn’t many cons at all so if this game is up your alley then you won’t deal with many issues at all. I’ve no doubt that Yosuke Takahashi was very emotional when making this game but I’m sure his father would’ve been very proud with the outcome because Gaijin Charenji 1: Kiss or Kill is certainly an experience that I won’t forget in a hurry. Yes this game isn’t going to be for everybody but if you’re one of those people who craves something new then I urge you to get this game because it will take a hold of you immediately and take you on a journey you’ve probably never experienced in the gaming world before, especially on your Xbox One. Expand
  7. Dec 11, 2019
    8
    "Gaijin Charenji 1 : Kiss or Kill" which for the rest of the video will just be referred to as "Kiss Or Kill" because I've butchered this games name enough today. Is a shoot em up like I have never experienced before. From the very start I just knew I was in for something different. it starts explaining how his father Yoshiro Takahashi in 1998 started working on this game for the Sega"Gaijin Charenji 1 : Kiss or Kill" which for the rest of the video will just be referred to as "Kiss Or Kill" because I've butchered this games name enough today. Is a shoot em up like I have never experienced before. From the very start I just knew I was in for something different. it starts explaining how his father Yoshiro Takahashi in 1998 started working on this game for the Sega Dreamcast one my all time favorite consoles by the way. When Sega pulled the plug on the Dreamcast his project was halted, but in 2017 Yosuke Takahashi his son vowed to see it's completed. I'm really glad he did, because i had a blast with this game. You really just never know what to expect.
    It's really hard to review because there is nothing else like it. usually you talk about things like graphics and music, but those things are constantly changing. I did love the music I'll say that even if it got repetitive at times hearing the same songs over and over for combat screens the songs were so good and unique them selves that I could deal with it. The game play is so different one second your controlling a ball through mazes avoiding blades and blocks. The next your fighting aliens like Space invaders, to roaming towns with traps with a actual character like Final Fantasy. Your battling real cool but weird bosses like giant brains, Game Boys, even Sadam Hussien. I told you totally off the wall game. While yes being able to kiss or kill your enemies is unique , nothing is as weird as seeing these strange cut scenes. In between rounds the Dev will pop up doing all kinds of strange stuff, hell not only in between some times during levels. He will pop up, but not only him worms, flies. his mask will take over the screen and you have to clear the level with the distraction. This game is like nothing else, and it really kept me on my toes.
    The biggest surprise was for this game, and maybe any game I ever played before. One of the secret levels was a theatre. You could actually sit there and watch the entire Night of the Living Dead movie by the Legendary George Romero. How crazy is that. I had just purchased the Criterion Collection and planned on watching it soon any ways so i thought when will I ever experience something like this again in a game, so I grabbed a snack and just watched the entire movie. The developer putting that in really made me feel this was special game, and a special kind of person to understand the greatest of that film. That is one of those movies that has so many things going on in it besides just zombies. I won't get into it all, because this isn't a review for Night of the Living Dead it's for Kiss or Kill. I'll just say Romero's courage to cast a minority as a lead in a movie in that time is something special. I feel the developer of this game really understands the films importance to horror, and overall cinema as a whole as well. It really took me by surprise, and made me look forward to more games from this guy and team.
    "Kiss Or Kill" i'll say again is like nothing I have ever played before, and probably not like any thing I'll ever play again. I review a lot of games, and not very often am i caught off guard. If you are looking for something totally different then you are used to , and your feeling game fatigue from playing the same things over and over. Check this out, it's probably gonna make you feel the same way it made me feel.

    Pros:
    So Unique, like nothing else out there
    Creepy at times
    Awesome Music
    Spot on controls, a fun challenge
    Ton of replay value
    You get a free movie lol

    Cons:
    Songs can feel repetitive
    Some the levels feel the same at times as well

    Overall: 8.0
    "Kiss or Kill" is going to catch you off guard. I really hope you just play it and don't watch my video for it so you don't know what your in for. It's a can't miss in my opinion, and if the story about his father is true, he would be very proud of Yosuke Takahashi cause he delivered his art in a masterful way.
    Expand
  8. Sep 19, 2019
    10
    Ok , It's my game but it's the game of my life.
    I made it with all my love.
    Hope you'll enjoy.
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 4 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Oct 10, 2019
    97
    Brilliant, amazing, show stopping, spectacular, never the same, totally unique, completely never been done before, unafraid to reference or not reference, put it in a blender, eat it, vomit on it, give birth to it.
  2. Oct 1, 2019
    61
    As overGame put in their email to me, Gaijin Charenji 1 : Kiss or Kill is more of an experience than a traditional video game. If you are up for an hour spent questioning what you see before you, before having your mind melted by the mad antics on display, then absolutely pick it up. I fear many people won’t be willing to give it a chance however, and that’s a shame, as it is a unique experience that will stay with you for some time.
  3. Sep 22, 2019
    80
    Gaijin Charenji 1: Kiss or Kill may be a simple and strange game but it's so insane that you'll wonder what the heck you're experiencing.