User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2848 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    Gran juego, una calidad visual increíble y el apartado sonoro muy bueno, me encanta, es un gran juego y uno de los mejores Gears, a mi me encanta. Se le da un aire fresco
  2. Sep 14, 2019
    10
    GEARS 5 is a 3rd person Action Shooter and the 6th installation to the Award Winning Gears of War Franchise. Planet Sera is on the edge of devastation, War after War has scarred it's face. The enemy is turning the humans dependency on technology into their downfall, and all the secrets of the past are being brought to the surface. GEARS 5 has united everything that is great about theGEARS 5 is a 3rd person Action Shooter and the 6th installation to the Award Winning Gears of War Franchise. Planet Sera is on the edge of devastation, War after War has scarred it's face. The enemy is turning the humans dependency on technology into their downfall, and all the secrets of the past are being brought to the surface. GEARS 5 has united everything that is great about the series into a honed work of art. With jaw-dropping graphics and a perfectly blended soundtrack, the atmosphere of the world is uncannily captured. The character progression throughout the series is one of the most gripping parts of the story, and watching the history of the world unfold before you has given us the best entry the franchise could ask for. The physics are clean and precise, granting gratifying game play. The multiplayer never fails to deliver intense high paced cover based shooting, and seriously brutal action. Horde is even more refined, granting players even more freedom in their strategies and roles on the battlefield. Escape is different than anything I've experienced before. Willingly you go into the depths of the swarm hives and plant a poison emitter and escape from them and the growing cloud of poison starting with no more than a pistol. GEARS 5 is a must have addition for every fan of the series, and will bring new fans from almost anyone that experiences it. Rod Fergusson and The Coalition, have made the best Gears game to date, in ways the fans couldn't have ever imagined! Expand
  3. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    The game is absolutely incredible. The graphics are amazing and next level.
  4. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    What can I say? Gears 5 takes everything that made Gears 4 great and makes it better while adding something new. The visuals are stunning! Some of the best seen if not the best on any console and the story telling is also top notch. If anyone had any doubt that The Coalition are capable and worthy of having taking over the job of handling the Gears franchise, this game should lay thoseWhat can I say? Gears 5 takes everything that made Gears 4 great and makes it better while adding something new. The visuals are stunning! Some of the best seen if not the best on any console and the story telling is also top notch. If anyone had any doubt that The Coalition are capable and worthy of having taking over the job of handling the Gears franchise, this game should lay those doubts to rest. Great job, guys and gals!

    And just a little advice to all the pathetic fanboys that come on here just to give a game on the opposing system a bad rating out of spite--get a life! I still can't believe that people can be so petty. I originally gave this game a 9, but I decided to get it a 10 to negate some of the negative ratings from people that I'm sure haven't even played or have no intention of playing the game.
    Expand
  5. Oct 17, 2019
    10
    Interesting story. Quite a lot of plot twists. What makes the game interesting, and in its way insane
  6. Oct 25, 2019
    10
    GOTY DE ESTE AÑO 2019. NO HAY MAS QUE AÑADIR. Supera a titulos como astral chain, fire emblen, devil may cry 5, sekiro, resident evil 2 remake. Etc
    Tecnicamente es abrumador, jugablemente es divertidisimo. La mayor produccion de este tipo que he visto
  7. Sep 29, 2019
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Es un juego estupendo. Sinceramente creo que es el mejor juego para la xbox en esta generación . Impresionantes gráficos jugando en la xbox one x . Modo campaña bastante interesante y el online va muy bien . Expand
  8. Nov 4, 2019
    9
    El mejor Gears de esta generación, al fin "The Coallition" le ha pillado el punto a la saga.
    La version de One X es genial, y la de PC esta simplemente a otro nivel, un pequeño atisbo de la next gen... el gunplay es muy divertido, las misiones junto a la duración muy bien, la verdad que es mucho mejor juego del que me esperaba. Y gracias al Game Pass, disponible desde el día uno, no hay
    El mejor Gears de esta generación, al fin "The Coallition" le ha pillado el punto a la saga.
    La version de One X es genial, y la de PC esta simplemente a otro nivel, un pequeño atisbo de la next gen... el gunplay es muy divertido, las misiones junto a la duración muy bien, la verdad que es mucho mejor juego del que me esperaba. Y gracias al Game Pass, disponible desde el día uno, no hay excusa para no jugarle.
    Expand
  9. Sep 13, 2019
    10
    Honestamente tenía mucho hype por este juego que llevo esperándolo desde el 2016, y debo decir... que ha superado completamente mis expectativas. La historia (cosa que era el punto más débil de gears of war 4)creo que es de lo mejor del juego. Es increíble como han mejorado en la calidad del guión, y la forma de narrar la historia. Los otros modos son geniales también, destaco el nuevoHonestamente tenía mucho hype por este juego que llevo esperándolo desde el 2016, y debo decir... que ha superado completamente mis expectativas. La historia (cosa que era el punto más débil de gears of war 4)creo que es de lo mejor del juego. Es increíble como han mejorado en la calidad del guión, y la forma de narrar la historia. Los otros modos son geniales también, destaco el nuevo modo escape. Por otro lado me resulta impresionante el nivel de detalles que tiene el juego, tanto en las gráficas como en las físicas
    Este junto con red dead redemption 2, son lo mejor en cuanto a gráficos de esta generación
    Expand
  10. Oct 25, 2019
    10
    Best Gears game in the series IMO, everyone that owns an Xbox One should give this game a try.
  11. Sep 15, 2019
    10
    This game is simply amazing. I've never been a Gears fanboy, so you can take my word for it. I love it so much, that I might just go and play the previous ones in the series. It's worth playing, and the best thing is that you can get it for free with Game Pass.
  12. Nov 15, 2019
    9
    В предыдущие части не играл, но эта часть отличная. Графика и геймплей супер. Боссов маловато. Игра реально сложная (прошел на максимальной сложности)
  13. Aug 20, 2020
    9
    great campgain,new cool additions in horde and a new fantastice game mode escape
  14. Sep 12, 2019
    9
    Stunning graphics, great marketing, and a really intriguing story. Marketing for this game was really well done. Xbox is certainly the more superior console in 2019
  15. Sep 10, 2019
    9
    Awesome game love escape multiplayer need to make lancers stronger nerd the gnasher
  16. Oct 9, 2019
    9
    Great game! Great story and pacing, with a lot of great content. Excited for more gears of war!
  17. Sep 8, 2019
    10
    La verdad es muy entretenido y hace recordar mucho al gears 2, solo cuesta deciar que se han superado!!!!
  18. Sep 8, 2019
    10
    Excellent game, I have completed all the gears and this is my second favorite one, but it feels new in all the ways, 10/10 and I have Ps4 PRO, Xbox one X, Switch, PC Gamer and all retro consoles, not a fanboy, just honest about the game!
  19. Sep 9, 2019
    10
    Great campaign! It is a great evolution from the previous entries. Combat is more tense, specially playing in Experienced difficulty, but at the same time is more fun since you have more abilities to play with. Narrative is awesome, music and scenery just nailed it. A must play for any Gears fan.
  20. Sep 10, 2019
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I recently went back and played through the Gears OG Trilogy and Gears of War 4 to prepare myself for Gears 5. I was pleasantly surprised at how the campaign evolved the story while adding in RPG Elements, Stealth moments, and a Semi-open - World with Side missions. I had a blast and see this as a bright future for The Coalition and Xbox Game Studios going forward. Expand
  21. Sep 12, 2019
    9
    Conheço um pouco da série no PC e é fantástica, ansioso pra jogar o 5, Só pelo que vi até agora me parece um jogo fantástico.
  22. Sep 9, 2019
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Genial no cambia mucho respecto al 4 en el online pero en la campaña se lucieron y no dieron una de las mejores entregas aunque un poco triste también prepárense a perder a otro compañero Expand
  23. Sep 8, 2019
    10
    By far it’s the greatest gears game ever even far more superior than the original gears of war , even though i’m not that fan of third person shooters you’ve got to love the excitement that this game gives to you when you finish an enemy with the retro lancer it just give you the chills , plus if you are new to the gears franchise I totally recommend this one and you will not regret it .
  24. Sep 13, 2019
    10
    Greatest action game of this generation. An excelent experience for play with friends
  25. Sep 8, 2019
    10
    Visually impressive. smooth as butter. cinematic feeling is so much better than previous games.
  26. Sep 13, 2019
    9
    A fórmula de Gears já estava desgastada e eram necessárias inovações, após o sólido Gears of War 4, a The Coalition chegou com Gears 5 e um jogo que, com toda certeza é o mais ambicioso da franquia. A história foi abordada de uma forma muito mais profunda que os títulos anteriores, tendo personagens muito mais interessantes e uma estória que instiga o jogador a querer saber mais de tãoA fórmula de Gears já estava desgastada e eram necessárias inovações, após o sólido Gears of War 4, a The Coalition chegou com Gears 5 e um jogo que, com toda certeza é o mais ambicioso da franquia. A história foi abordada de uma forma muito mais profunda que os títulos anteriores, tendo personagens muito mais interessantes e uma estória que instiga o jogador a querer saber mais de tão complexa que parece ser. Com um dos gráficos mais bonitos da geração de Xbox One/PS4, a qualidade do visual do jogo é inquestionável e a adição de áreas de mundo aberto foi muito bem-vinda, contendo missões secundárias que ajudam muito no fortalecimento do robô Jack, que controlamos durante a jornada com Kait, além de terem colecionáveis com informações curiosas sobre determinados aspectos da estória do universo de Gears of War.
    É o jogo mais completo em toda a franquia, com uma robusta campanha e o multiplayer mais diversificado já visto, uma pena o jogo ter passado por diversos problemas técnicos que impactam o desbloqueio de conquistas, o salvamento de progresso, a inteligência artificial de inimigos e aliados, desconexão nas partidas online, entre outros infortúnios. Felizmente a desenvolvedora está trabalhando duro para corrigir esses problemas, a maioria dos problemas que sofri durante o acesso antecipado não ocorrem mais comigo, considerando que houve grande ambição nesse projeto e ele ainda assim continua tendo tantos pontos positivos, os pontos negativos acabam não negativando tanto o desempenho do mesmo, porém impedem que Gears 5 se sobressaía muito diante de seu antecessor quando colocamos as notas nos papéis, que teve uma campanha sólida, mas fraca e com personagens extremamente rasos, entretanto, Gears of War 4 não enfrentou problemas técnicos nem um pouco parecidos com os de Gears 5. Facialmente estabelecido como um dos melhores jogos da geração em que ele se encontra e mantendo seu pódio como a melhor franquia TPS existente, Gears 5 é disparado o melhor trabalho da The Coalition até o momento dessa análise.
    Expand
  27. Sep 8, 2019
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. O jogo esta muito bom, fluído , gráficos lindos, melhor gráfico dessa geração com certeza, a campanha muito boa, dá início a uma nova guerra, introduzindo gears of war para um novo mundo, o sistema de mapa, mundo semi aberto, ficou muito bom, o Jack e o sistema de upgrade do mesmo, ficou muito bom TBM, teve alguns Bugs sim, algumas falhas no servidor,mas tenho certeza que isso será arrumado! A campanha está excelente, modo horda muito mais completo e difícil, modo fuga muito bom tamm espero que a The coalizão continue evoluindo nesse jogo e tbm que traga novas franquias, estão de parabéns esse jogo está fenomenal Expand
  28. Nov 16, 2019
    10
    joguei e zerei no modo normal, joguei apenas um pouco do multiplayer. Joguei no meu OneX em um monitor 4k 60htz. sem dúvida merece nota máxima.
  29. Oct 13, 2019
    10
    The best game of xbox one. Very Beautiful, action, guns, Gears 5 its GOTY.
  30. Sep 13, 2019
    10
    The graphics look incredible even on the One S! Definitely one of the best looking games of this generation. The gameplay doesn't stray from the foundation gears set and yet introduces fun gameplay elements. Extremely satisfied with my purchase. Congratulations to the Coalition team!
  31. Sep 9, 2019
    10
    O jogo é incrível realmente o maior Gears de todos. Modo história muito bem feito e gráficos maravilhosos, para mim um dos melhores dessa geração se não for melhor. Nota 10.
  32. Sep 10, 2019
    9
    Gears 5 ıs a good game that gıves us the spırıt of the real trılogy. Lıke that.
  33. Nov 11, 2019
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The is incredibly little hard and sometimes is so crazy, the most bather thing is the guns and characters, because is new engines and new forms for you win the game is sound is incredibly. Expand
  34. Sep 10, 2019
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. این بازی شگفت زده‌تون میکنه. یکی از برترین های نسل هشت که هر گیمری باید تجربه اش کنه Expand
  35. Sep 9, 2019
    10
    Juego imperdible, al mismo nivel que gears 2 o incluso mejor para mi punto de vista
  36. Sep 8, 2019
    10
    O melhor jogo da geração para o Xbox.
    O jogo com o gráfico mais bonito da geração.

    Sem mais
  37. Sep 11, 2019
    9
    Gears 5 is Fantastic. As someone who’s played every Gears game thus far, Gears 5 is easily among the top tier. It feels, looks and sounds as good as ever. Finally an Xbox One exclusive worth the $60+ (Or less with Game Pass!)

    Side Note: Early connectivity issues are unfortunate. But due to the large amount of players on Game Pass, it’s hard to blame the Devs for a lot of people playing
    Gears 5 is Fantastic. As someone who’s played every Gears game thus far, Gears 5 is easily among the top tier. It feels, looks and sounds as good as ever. Finally an Xbox One exclusive worth the $60+ (Or less with Game Pass!)

    Side Note: Early connectivity issues are unfortunate. But due to the large amount of players on Game Pass, it’s hard to blame the Devs for a lot of people playing their game at launch. I am confident they’ll iron out the connectivity issues within the coming weeks.
    Expand
  38. Sep 8, 2019
    9
    Jogo sensacional , digno da franquia , muito melhor que o julgamento e o 4. Mais não adianta sonhar com o goty , Hideo Kojima vem aí Sony WINS.
  39. Sep 20, 2019
    9
    En lo personal , mi esposa y yo lo hemos gozado a las mil maravillas , ella misma fue la que insistio en que lo jugáramos , cualquier titulo que nos haga unirnos en mi hobby mas amado merece buena calificación!!
    Ademas esta brutal!!
  40. Sep 8, 2019
    10
    The Coalition have definitely put their heart and soul into this game! Well done everyone!
  41. Sep 8, 2019
    10
    Gran juego,no el mejor de la saga,pero sin duda le hace honor al nombre y es una gran mejora del anterior,aparte le dare un 10
    (para mi es un juego de entre 8.7 a 9.1)por que veo muchos 0 o 1 sin verdaderas razones y arena mas que nada,asi que estas son mis razones de por que lo considero un juego que puede ser una grandiosa experiencia;Apartado Grafico,mecanico,argumental y ambiental,los
    Gran juego,no el mejor de la saga,pero sin duda le hace honor al nombre y es una gran mejora del anterior,aparte le dare un 10
    (para mi es un juego de entre 8.7 a 9.1)por que veo muchos 0 o 1 sin verdaderas razones y arena mas que nada,asi que estas son mis razones de por que lo considero un juego que puede ser una grandiosa experiencia;Apartado Grafico,mecanico,argumental y ambiental,los sonidos estan muy logrados en este juego con una gran optimizacion para que pueda correr en una technologia mas basica que la de pc,la cual es la x a 4k y 60 fps.su historia me parece muy bien desarrollada,no tan forzada como muchos dicen,lo malo es que si hay partes que me parecen forzadas,escenas muy especificas,pero aun asi lo considero muy buen juego,
    Expand
  42. Sep 8, 2019
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. O jogo tá muito top os gráficos a jogabilidade Tá tudo top parabéns Microsoft Expand
  43. Sep 8, 2019
    10
    amazing game
    this game is absolutely fantastic one of the best xbox one games
  44. Sep 8, 2019
    10
    Muito bom .Gráfico lindo e níveis de dificuldade pra todos os gostos. Insano pra ninguém Botar defeito hehe, história melhorou bastante TB .
  45. Sep 8, 2019
    10
    best gears after the second one. good story... very good grafic and sound. I'm very happy with it so far
  46. Sep 8, 2019
    10
    Great game, did not disappoint, i think gears fans are going to appreciate this game, it is still gears but it is also not gears in other levels of the game. Multiplayer is also fresh and great.
  47. Ja9
    Sep 8, 2019
    10
    Jogo Espetacular com mapa gigantesco e novidades na jogabilidade.
    trás uma pegada nova com fases e missões secundárias durante a campanha.
    qualidade de audio está absurdamente incrível, 60 FPS perfeitos no XboxX. narrativa excelente. Há muito o que fazer no jogo com opções de horda, versus e agora a fuga que é bem dinamica. superou minhas espectativas. super recomendado. Um jogo que
    Jogo Espetacular com mapa gigantesco e novidades na jogabilidade.
    trás uma pegada nova com fases e missões secundárias durante a campanha.
    qualidade de audio está absurdamente incrível, 60 FPS perfeitos no XboxX. narrativa excelente.
    Há muito o que fazer no jogo com opções de horda, versus e agora a fuga que é bem dinamica.
    superou minhas espectativas. super recomendado.
    Um jogo que deve ser avaliado por jogadores deste genero e não por que não se identifica com este genero para que possa ser uma avaliação e opinião justa.
    Expand
  48. Sep 11, 2019
    10
    Un gran juego Una campaña con buena historia y evolución de los personajes que haces que te encariñes

    Multijugador muydivertido y pulido
  49. Sep 12, 2019
    10
    Um jogo bacana, na minha opiniao, o salvador da franquia gears, que é uma das minhas preferidas no mundo dos games. O game tem graficos impecaveis sendo comparado POR MIM, com até Red Dead 2. Gears 5 esta simplesmente fantastico
  50. Sep 12, 2019
    10
    Melhor jogo do ano, melhor jogabilidade, o melhor gráfico que vi até hoje, esse jogo com certeza merece o GOTY
  51. Sep 12, 2019
    10
    Jogo fantástico. Os gráficos são lindos, a campanha é divertida e a história é envolventes.
  52. Sep 13, 2019
    10
    ive been playing the GoW series since it came out November 2006 and in my opinion is the G.O.A.T right next GoW1
  53. Oct 1, 2019
    10
    After playing the game in a nice gamingpc I must say that all the technical stuff is just mindblowing... Its also fun to play, the story and the characters are awesome too... Definitely, for me, this is a must-have, specially on PC. Online is so deep with a lot of options and game modes, the servers are really quick and the coop and PVP experiences are so enjoyable.
  54. Sep 13, 2019
    10
    Jogo Brilhante, juntando tudo de bom da franquia e combinando inovações que geram muita diversão... O modo online é incrível!!!!
  55. Sep 13, 2019
    10
    The best crafted game this generation. It desrves 95%. Optimized, interested, inovative, jet good old gears.
  56. Sep 13, 2019
    10
    it's one of the best Xbox One games I've ever played.I always liked Gears of War
  57. Sep 13, 2019
    9
    Awesome game! Good story! The best Gears of War I've ever played. I recommend it!
  58. Sep 13, 2019
    10
    Everything we complain about Gears Of War 4 has improved in this game such as graphics, mechanics and campaign, adding new game modes and characters literally out of this world, Gears 5 is a step up for the franchise one we could say a little underrated.
    Kait as the new protagonist is the best decision The Coalition made. Gears 5 is the exclusive that Xbox One needed :)
  59. Sep 13, 2019
    10
    The best graphic in console amazing game. Game have good gameplay and story mode amazing
  60. Sep 13, 2019
    10
    Awesome game. The coalition has done it again. I really enjoy how the gears franchise has evolved at the world, characters, and game play.
  61. Sep 13, 2019
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game shines so well on the X and even more so on ultra PC settings. Beautiful game mechanics and beautiful and detailed world! Expand
  62. Sep 13, 2019
    9
    Another great addition to the series. Wasn't expecting it to be as good as it is and maybe best looking game on any console to date
  63. Sep 14, 2019
    10
    GOTY 2019 :

    Huge content with 5 game modes,
    Split screen and cross-network play,
    Amazing graphics and 60fps even in campaign,
    Great campaign with a very good story and impressive direction,
    Longest Gears ever,
    Best accessibility features ever,
    No paid DLC, no season pass, no lootboxes, but free content every 3 months.
  64. Sep 14, 2019
    10
    100% recomendado,sin duda una experiencia única en cuestión de shooter en tercera persona,de los mejores o el mejor del año
  65. Sep 14, 2019
    10
    Its cool af I thoroughly enjoyed It. Had some fun killing monsters, chainsaw is fun, and story is pretty darn awesome.
  66. Sep 14, 2019
    10
    Having a lot of fun played campaign co-op and also playing horde awsome game
  67. Sep 14, 2019
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Gears 5 is, probably, the best Xbox One game and one of the best games of 2019. It has some of the best graphics and sound effects I've ever seen, and its story is emotional and action packed. It has also new solid, well executed gameplay features, like Jack's skill tree and semi open world. Gears 5 is a game for both old and new players Expand
  68. Sep 14, 2019
    10
    Best gears game ever!! 60 fps for both Campaign and Multiplayer is incredibly difficult to accomplish considering what you're seeing on screen. The visuals, lighting, and gameplay are all best in class.
  69. Sep 14, 2019
    10
    Excelente videojuego! Gran campaña, muy buen multijugador online, Me encantó la historia, la jugabilidad es insuperable y los gráficos brutales! Sin olvidar que se puede jugar la campaña en cooperativo en la misma consola, The Coalition hizo un gran trabajo! Uno de los mejores juegos que he jugado en Consola! Lo recomiendo 100%!
  70. Sep 14, 2019
    10
    O jogo ta impressionante o melhor Gears depois do Geras of war 3 na minha opinião história ta bem consistente cheia de reviravolta gráficos lindos e com mecânicas novas de certo merece a nota que dei
  71. Sep 14, 2019
    9
    Its amazing it have a lot of bugs but its so good, trust me, the campaign its so interesring
  72. Sep 14, 2019
    10
    Es un gran juego lo recomiendo al 100% buena historia el Multijugador es muy divertido y los gráficos están a otro nivel
  73. Sep 15, 2019
    8
    Personally, I believe that the talented developers of Gears 5, The Coalition, exhibits solid craftsmanship in game development. Gears 5 provide players with an engaging, albeit sometimes prolonged and tedious campaign, perfect gunplay, and a variety of game modes that may cater to a diverse set of gamers.

    Seeing that Gears 4's campaign concluded with a revelation surrounding Kait's
    Personally, I believe that the talented developers of Gears 5, The Coalition, exhibits solid craftsmanship in game development. Gears 5 provide players with an engaging, albeit sometimes prolonged and tedious campaign, perfect gunplay, and a variety of game modes that may cater to a diverse set of gamers.

    Seeing that Gears 4's campaign concluded with a revelation surrounding Kait's relationship to the Locust, The Coalition made the correct choice of revolving Gears 5 around this character. As a result, being in Kait's shoes, experiencing her struggles, and enduring her journey was not only very personal to her but exuded a fascinating campaign for players. However, several concerns regarding the campaign's structure should be addressed. Indeed, the campaign showcases amazing moments but, there seems to be a lot of clutter that prolong the game and makes the overall experience tedious. For example, backtracking or completing several uninteresting objectives that isn't very integral to the story (much of this done over a open world setting). Furthermore, there was two pesky glitches. One was if you happened to have pressed the xbox guide button while the game decided to save, the character is locked and unable to move until you restart the game, losing all of your progress after the most recent checkpoint.

    The escape mode and Horde mode featured in these games can be quite fun with your friends; however, if you encounter a lobby of random players, you may experience a high occurrence of people quitting the game and leaving you to deal with the enemies that work as obstacles to victory. Escape, the newest mode, sees that your and your friends are intentionally kidnapped by snatchers and taken to their hive. You burst out of your pod and place a ticking time bomb that releases poison to the surrounding area and forces you to flee from the nauseous fumes. As you make your escape, you're confronted by a variety of enemies that attempt to slow and stop your progress from freedom. This is a fun and fresh idea. During each new round, the game throws a different combination of enemies at designated locations. Unfortunately, if you progressed through these same areas enough, the mode seems to grow a little repetitive. Therefore, additional difficulties and cards that can enhance the game may continue to keep things fresh but ultimately I would like to see additional maps that can add creativity to your escape. Moving on to the Horde mode, I believe that players may already be familiar with it due to its previous incarnations in older titles. Thus, too much time shouldn't be used to critic this mode. As before, have your buddies, fortify your positions, and watch out for the matriarch.

    I believe the last mode is multiplayer. I've played older iterations of the multiplayer but didnt get a chance to touch the one for Gears 5.

    Overall, I would give this game a 8/10. The campaign is solid but may feel a tad bit tedious. The Horde and Escape can be enjoyable with the right crew. So pick this one up. Its smooth, the gunplay is enjoyable, and the visuals are attractive.
    Expand
  74. Sep 15, 2019
    10
    Very good game i think its on the level of the original trilogy. It has the best storytelling of all the franchise.
  75. Sep 15, 2019
    10
    Es una pasada de juego.Imprescindible para los que busquen acción.Supera a su antecesor.Brutal.
  76. Sep 15, 2019
    10
    Very very good game! The game has beautiful graphics, good gameplay amd story.
  77. Sep 15, 2019
    10
    The best Gears with the best canpaign and the most complete multiplayer.
    Not to mention that the game is beautiful
  78. Sep 15, 2019
    10
    Gears 5 has the most game types out of any Gears game before it. If you want to be a competitive player you have all the ranked matches, or if you are a casual you have arcade and quick play, if you are big into coop you have campaign, horde, and escape. They also made a map editor so we will be getting new maps from the community all year long. Gears 5 is great in my opinion because itGears 5 has the most game types out of any Gears game before it. If you want to be a competitive player you have all the ranked matches, or if you are a casual you have arcade and quick play, if you are big into coop you have campaign, horde, and escape. They also made a map editor so we will be getting new maps from the community all year long. Gears 5 is great in my opinion because it feels like a gears game unlike judgement but bringing in new things into it to make it feel like a refreshed gears game. I'm a big believer if something isn't broken no need to fix it. Expand
  79. Sep 15, 2019
    10
    An absolute showcase of a game, possibly the best looking and sounding game thanks to impressive hdr, detail, fluidity and Dolby Atmos sound design which is head and shoulders better than anything out currently. The gameplay is very fun and satisfying with horde mode and a great multiplayer, this game is the complete package. If you have an Xbox one it’s pretty simple just buy this gameAn absolute showcase of a game, possibly the best looking and sounding game thanks to impressive hdr, detail, fluidity and Dolby Atmos sound design which is head and shoulders better than anything out currently. The gameplay is very fun and satisfying with horde mode and a great multiplayer, this game is the complete package. If you have an Xbox one it’s pretty simple just buy this game now or use game pass!! Expand
  80. Sep 15, 2019
    10
    Amazing sequel, best Gears game. It's packed with content, stunning graphics and great story. Playing on Xbox One X it's a blast!
  81. Sep 15, 2019
    10
    Fãs de longa data irão amar e para os novos a coisas para nao boiarem na história
  82. Sep 16, 2019
    10
    Exelente juego mi favorita de este año
    Recomendado al 110% excelente campaña excelente multijugador
  83. Sep 16, 2019
    9
    I enjoyed every moment of Gears. The atmosphere, gameplay, and action are awesome. I only thing I dislike about it was the cop out ending.
  84. Sep 16, 2019
    10
    Awesome game graphics 100% story is perfect online is beautiful masterpiece
  85. Sep 16, 2019
    10
    Amazing game. Great continuation of the series. Online is amazing and so is the campaign. Love the addition of 3rd party characters for multiplayer
  86. Sep 16, 2019
    10
    Best Gears Ever! The visuals on the X are unbelievable and the story line is the best I've ever seen for this franchise. I can't stop playing this game!!
  87. Sep 16, 2019
    10
    Es un juegazo el mejor de la generación para Xbox One y un serio candidato para juego del año. La campaña es una delicia, la trama los personajes absolutamente todo majestuoso y el apartado técnico y gráfico el mejor de la generación para consolas con su 4K a 60 FPS que locura
  88. Sep 17, 2019
    9
    Com certeza o melhor da franquia. Poderia ser melhor sem os bugs nos momentos críticos do game. Percebi que acontecem mais nas dificuldades mais altas. Mas nada é perfeito! Minha nota esta baseada na história que ficou mais envolvente com os diálogos dos personagens, enriquecendo a história. Este é o caminho Microsoft. Parabéns!!!
  89. Sep 17, 2019
    10
    I hope Gears 5 is nominated for game of the year, At this moment it is the best game in both performance and graphics that exists!
  90. Sep 17, 2019
    10
    Best Gears game yet! Graphics are so next gen and game play is unbelievable. Everything you have always loved about the franchise is here. The End will Shock you to your core. The Coalition has proven itself as the AAA game studio to beat.
  91. Sep 17, 2019
    9
    A historia foi incrivel e com uma gameplay dinamica e sem ficar enjoativa, só peca um pouco n IA dos companheiros. Ainda testarei o online
  92. Sep 17, 2019
    9
    Es un juegaso solo lo que le falta es un poco mas de carizma a los personajes cosa que en este gears ya sea mejorado comparado con la entrega anterior. Que se arreglen algunos bugs (The coalition ya esta trabajando) y dejate llevar por la aventura. Una cosa si eres un jugador nuevo trata de ver videos resumenes de la historia por que es mas compleja de lo que crees.
  93. Sep 17, 2019
    10
    Simplemente hermoso era lo que a Xbox le faltaba un buen juego desde hace buen rato!
  94. Sep 18, 2019
    10
    Melhor lançamento de 2019 sem dúvidas, graficamente o jogo mais bonito da geração e a história não deixa a desejar em nada.
  95. Sep 18, 2019
    10
    Juego perfecto, de lo mejor de la generación. buenisimo gameplay, historia, banda sonora y sobre todo optimizacion en pc. 60fps clavados con una 1050ti 1080p y calidad grafica muy generosa en comparaci9n de otros titulos. Cada detalle del juego está muy bien cuidado. sin bugs, cinematicas que se convierten en gameplay sin que te des cuenta, se nota que fue hecho con mucha dedicación.
  96. Sep 18, 2019
    10
    El mejor juego de la generación Xbox one, buena historia, protagonista con personalidad y unos graficos increibles.
  97. Sep 19, 2019
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great game one of the best games i ever played in the gen besides God of war and the legend of zilda and the witchers 3 Expand
  98. Sep 20, 2019
    10
    Excelente campaña con buen trasfondo y desarrollo que te permite entrar en el personaje y sentir lo que ellos sienten.
  99. Sep 21, 2019
    10
    Es un gran juego exelentes gráficos jugabilidad impecables y un multijugador divertido y dinámico
  100. Sep 21, 2019
    10
    Probably my favorite Gears in the franchise, combines the best of all games: lots of weapons, cursing, cool and long story, good graphics, and most important, couch-coop.
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 89 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 89
  2. Negative: 0 out of 89
  1. Mar 16, 2020
    80
    Gears 5 is an odd thing; it's neither a grand leap forwards, nor a complete rehash of what came before, and therefore sits somewhere in the middle of the two. On the whole, the improvements do outweigh the negatives (the non-linear approach to campaign levels and the small changes to horde mode being some of the most notable), and while The Coalition still has some work to do to really make the series its own, this is a far bolder and more varied approach the relatively safe Gears 4. If you love shooters and you want a good place to jump back into the series, this is perfect place to work the rust out of your lancer.
  2. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Feb 28, 2020
    80
    Gears 5 offers a solid portion of brutal action with several refreshing new things. If you have intentionally avoided games from this series, the fifth sequel probably won´t change your mind, but if you are looking for a quality action game and you are still a fan of multiplayer, try it. [Issue#298]
  3. Jan 29, 2020
    80
    Gears 5 proposes a breathtaking solo campaign and a generous array of multiplayer modes. Even if the recipe remains classic, we really want to go through with it. The characters are rather well written, the environments are often spectacular, and Jack the robot adds some salt to the gameplay. A visual feast and glorious action game that perfectly demonstrate Xbox One X's true power.