User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2098 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 14, 2019
    10
    GEARS 5 is a 3rd person Action Shooter and the 6th installation to the Award Winning Gears of War Franchise. Planet Sera is on the edge of devastation, War after War has scarred it's face. The enemy is turning the humans dependency on technology into their downfall, and all the secrets of the past are being brought to the surface. GEARS 5 has united everything that is great about theGEARS 5 is a 3rd person Action Shooter and the 6th installation to the Award Winning Gears of War Franchise. Planet Sera is on the edge of devastation, War after War has scarred it's face. The enemy is turning the humans dependency on technology into their downfall, and all the secrets of the past are being brought to the surface. GEARS 5 has united everything that is great about the series into a honed work of art. With jaw-dropping graphics and a perfectly blended soundtrack, the atmosphere of the world is uncannily captured. The character progression throughout the series is one of the most gripping parts of the story, and watching the history of the world unfold before you has given us the best entry the franchise could ask for. The physics are clean and precise, granting gratifying game play. The multiplayer never fails to deliver intense high paced cover based shooting, and seriously brutal action. Horde is even more refined, granting players even more freedom in their strategies and roles on the battlefield. Escape is different than anything I've experienced before. Willingly you go into the depths of the swarm hives and plant a poison emitter and escape from them and the growing cloud of poison starting with no more than a pistol. GEARS 5 is a must have addition for every fan of the series, and will bring new fans from almost anyone that experiences it. Rod Fergusson and The Coalition, have made the best Gears game to date, in ways the fans couldn't have ever imagined! Expand
  2. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    What can I say? Gears 5 takes everything that made Gears 4 great and makes it better while adding something new. The visuals are stunning! Some of the best seen if not the best on any console and the story telling is also top notch. If anyone had any doubt that The Coalition are capable and worthy of having taking over the job of handling the Gears franchise, this game should lay thoseWhat can I say? Gears 5 takes everything that made Gears 4 great and makes it better while adding something new. The visuals are stunning! Some of the best seen if not the best on any console and the story telling is also top notch. If anyone had any doubt that The Coalition are capable and worthy of having taking over the job of handling the Gears franchise, this game should lay those doubts to rest. Great job, guys and gals!

    And just a little advice to all the pathetic fanboys that come on here just to give a game on the opposing system a bad rating out of spite--get a life! I still can't believe that people can be so petty. I originally gave this game a 9, but I decided to get it a 10 to negate some of the negative ratings from people that I'm sure haven't even played or have no intention of playing the game.
    Expand
  3. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    Gran juego, una calidad visual increíble y el apartado sonoro muy bueno, me encanta, es un gran juego y uno de los mejores Gears, a mi me encanta. Se le da un aire fresco
  4. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    The game is absolutely incredible. The graphics are amazing and next level.
  5. Sep 13, 2019
    7
    I've always been somewhat indifferent to the gears series. I play it because I really enjoy Horde mode.
    So in that regard I would like to just say the new Horde mode is about 10 steps back and 2 steps forward.
    The new class system is terrible compared to what was there before. People can't pick same classes which means a lot of people just quit early. In fact I've found it almost
    I've always been somewhat indifferent to the gears series. I play it because I really enjoy Horde mode.
    So in that regard I would like to just say the new Horde mode is about 10 steps back and 2 steps forward.
    The new class system is terrible compared to what was there before. People can't pick same classes which means a lot of people just quit early. In fact I've found it almost impossible to find a game were at least 1 or 2 players don't quit in the first 5 waves. It's mind boggling.

    Look anyone who likes Horde tends to compare it to Overwatch now in Gears 5. I'm sorry but I'm not looking to play Overwatch, I never will be looking to play it and I personally hate they are trying to put overwatch style mechanics into Gears.
    Expand
  6. Sep 27, 2019
    7
    Gears 5
    I don’t see the hype.
    I’ve been a playstation guy my whole life, Ive never owned an xbox, but thanks to Microsofts decision to make their exclusives available on pc, im able to experience this side of the tracks, and I was so excited to do so, I never played a Gears of War Game, so I sat down on youtube, got a story recap and hopped in… This is a 3rd person shooter that takes
    Gears 5
    I don’t see the hype.
    I’ve been a playstation guy my whole life, Ive never owned an xbox, but thanks to Microsofts decision to make their exclusives available on pc, im able to experience this side of the tracks, and I was so excited to do so, I never played a Gears of War Game, so I sat down on youtube, got a story recap and hopped in…
    This is a 3rd person shooter that takes places after the events of gears of war 3 and 4.. you get part of the story at the beginning of this game…
    I wasn’t too attached or interested after the intial run down, but still hyped for the gameplay, the tutroal starts, the game is having me look up to determine my input preferences, that alone had me excited for how neat this game was going to be…
    But I just never was blown away…
    The story telling and level design is just so bland.. nothing took my breath away or made me feel like wow, this is what ive been missing all of these years… I do love the weapon variety.. but when it comes down to combat, controls here are so unintuitive that it just constantly pulls you out of the game…
    its okay to have the same control scheme as call of duty… they have it down… I don’t want to hold a buttown down to run, let me just click my stick… the fast reload mechanic makes you take your eye off of the action.. all of the mechanic decisions just makes me feel like Im juggling as Im shooting.
    Throughout this 12 hour campaign yo udo have a little squad with you that changes as the story progresses.. and these members can be controlled by real people locally and online…which is what I highly advise…
    As the ai here is completely useless…
    Dels the type of guy to yell “nows our chance shoot his back!” And not do ****
    Amking these drawnout unfun boss battles even more unfun and frustrating at times as you die over and over…
    Does the boss know where I am Del?
    That’s probably because im the only one of use shooting any bullets.
    Who isn’t useless though is your robot companion jack…
    He sticks with you through the end as youre searching the world to upgrade his abilities that are unlocked as the story progresses…
    back to the mechanics issues though.. shuffling through jacks abilities mid combat or even post or pre combat is unintuitive and feels like a jumbled jumbled mess
    but jack is easily my favorite part of this game…
    Its just a shame that jack is the only incentive to explore though…
    The world and level design here in Gears 5 again is just so bland, so uninteresting and boring…
    there are a couple open world sections of the game where you can go explore a little if youd like.. but again.. nothing about this world made me care to do so…
    another giant issue I had with this games campaign is its awful progression indicators in story…
    don’t dare pause the game and com back to it later, because youl lhave no idea what youre supposed to be doing… Gears 5 does put little markers on the map for you to go to… but I would much prefer they put them on items im supposed to be interacting with instead of running around in circles looking for a switch or door with a footprint or hand print on it… it breaks the flow, takes me out of the world.. its just bad game design…
    And when it comes to performance, Gears 5 is awful on PC..
    I ran into constant crashes and Act 2 made the game completely unplayable.. literally… after searching the internet, ive discovered that this is not an uncommon issue.. updating all of my drivers did fix the crashing issue for me, but the game still stutters when too much is going on on screen.. I missed half of the final cutscene because it was stuck… I had to go to youtube to rewatch the ending.. and wouldn’t you know their cutscene video was lagging too.
    Online here is pretty typical fun third person shooter competitive stuff…
    Entertaining, nothing really wrong with it but nothing here to keep me hooked.. I felt no urge to play after playing for review purposes.. again like the campaign really bland.
    Gears 5 is a good game… But as a flagship exclusive from microsoft… I feel that xbox loyalists deserve better
    Theres nothing here to incentivize a purchase other than the continuation of a beloved franchise…
    And If you are buying to continue the story, I would recommend the xbox version over the pc so you can actually see it all.
    I give Gears 5
    a 7/10
    Expand
  7. Sep 19, 2019
    7
    I like the Gears series a lot, especially playing it in co-op with a friend.

    New Gears does a great job of giving you a lot of challenges to take on together all while enjoying the beautiful and colorful landscapes peppered with the oil of drones you devastated and the blood of Locust you've fed some bullets. The plot is interesting enough, and the characters seem to behave very
    I like the Gears series a lot, especially playing it in co-op with a friend.

    New Gears does a great job of giving you a lot of challenges to take on together all while enjoying the beautiful and colorful landscapes peppered with the oil of drones you devastated and the blood of Locust you've fed some bullets. The plot is interesting enough, and the characters seem to behave very naturally which adds up to the credibility of the world.

    But I simply couldn't enjoy the game because of how it's riddled with bugs and server issues. Every single session we had there were at least two times (often this number could go up to 5-6 times for a 2-hour session) we needed to restart the game because we've stumbled upon a game-breaking bug or the connection was lost.

    I'm going to come back to the game in a month or two to finish the campaign and update the review. But for now, I can't recommend this title to anyone who was planning to enjoy it with a friend.
    Expand
  8. Sep 11, 2019
    10
    Game is amazing. One of the meatiest games of this generation with every mode being fleshed out and having incentives to continue playing. Great changes and additions. Easily one of the best games this generation. Amazing value.
  9. Sep 15, 2019
    8
    Gears 5 is one of if not the best original game for the Xbox One. After years of letdowns and mediocre games or broken games that take years to be good such as Halo MCC, Gears 5 brings an original story and fresh life into the market. I played on the Xbox One S and a PC with a 1050 ti. It ran fantastically on PC with a smooth, near-constant 60 fps on high however it is frame capped to 30Gears 5 is one of if not the best original game for the Xbox One. After years of letdowns and mediocre games or broken games that take years to be good such as Halo MCC, Gears 5 brings an original story and fresh life into the market. I played on the Xbox One S and a PC with a 1050 ti. It ran fantastically on PC with a smooth, near-constant 60 fps on high however it is frame capped to 30 on the S which is because of the console limitations. The game is standard Gears gameplay but still manages to be fun. With a friend, it is even better as you can flank or be in two separate areas whereas the AI will only follow you. The weapons are unique and most are fun to use. The story is strong for most the time but it builds up only to climax in a very short manner which is annoying sequel bait. It is a fun game and is worth a play and is free on Gamepass which is awesome. Expand
  10. Sep 28, 2019
    5
    A boring sequel, imprecise gunplay e no new ideas since GOW 1. The graphics is good but the design in uninspired.
  11. Sep 18, 2019
    9
    Gears 5 has been the most ambitious title in the franchise so far. The Coalition has really tried to expand upon the gameplay and the story. They have started to push the boundaries of what we know with Gears and take a few risks. They focused a lot more on story telling and giving us a reason to care about these characters. We see so much more emotional range from Marcus and company. TheGears 5 has been the most ambitious title in the franchise so far. The Coalition has really tried to expand upon the gameplay and the story. They have started to push the boundaries of what we know with Gears and take a few risks. They focused a lot more on story telling and giving us a reason to care about these characters. We see so much more emotional range from Marcus and company. The story and character writing makes all feel so much more realistic. The open world portions of the campaign were a well needed chance to slow down to appreciate the game world. The free roam and side quests were an excellent addition to the Gears formula. The areas do feel empty sometimes, but it feels like they have built great base that can be improved upon with newer iterations of the series. The light RPG mechanics are welcomed addition as well. Using and leveling Jack up with new abilities adds even more depth to already solid gameplay. The gameplay itself is the same tight smooth 3rd person cover shooting that Gears has been famous for. Quality and smooth controls have always been a staple of Gears and the Coalition did not disappoint with 5. The graphical detail in this game is superb. On PC and the Xbox One X running at 4K 60 fps this game is a visual feast for the eyes. Multiplayer has been expanded as well and has something to offer for many different tastes. Everyone from a beginner to a hardcore gamer can find a mode to hop in and enjoy. Escape, Horde, PVP matches, there is no shortage of multiplayer sweetness. the same tight smooth controls, excellent graphics from the campaign are all present here as well. Over Gears 5 feels like a good start in a new direction. Is it perfect? No, but there is a great foundation with new mechanics and ideas that could be expanded and improved upon. Gears 5 isn't a full blown reboot of the franchise, but an evolution. It still feels like Gears in every way and the new additions only add to the experience. This is a very solid game, and a huge improvement over Gears of War 4. Gears 5 could be the beginning of a new Era for Gears games. Expand
  12. Sep 11, 2019
    10
    Perfect! Good system and great performance. And excellent multiplay. I really enjoy it.
  13. Sep 8, 2019
    10
    Best third person action game ever. Awesome graphics and soundtrack. To be honest I didn't expect such a great game from gears of war franchise.
  14. Sep 8, 2019
    10
    Es muy bien juego tanto historia como multijugador solo necesita que se mejore el rendimiento y que se corrigan los bugs pero es un juego hermoso
  15. Sep 11, 2019
    10
    AMAZING!! I can't think of other words to describe this game. Probably the best game of 2019!!!! Can't believe those hater can criticize this game and give it a 0 score: they probably haven't played it and stuck their head so deep in PS 4 ass, it's the only reasonable explanation, because Gears 5 is almost uncriticizable.
  16. Sep 18, 2019
    9
    This game is beautiful and amazing
    New characters are beter from gears of war 4 and for me story is important
    When playing i ask himself what is Kait future? Battels is very good like every gears of war games too many enemies in battle and i like this
  17. Sep 23, 2019
    9
    This game is a fantastic narrative experience and a true treat on the eyes. Right off the bat I was able to select content filters for not only blood and gore but more importantly for me, a language filter option as well. This is a huge achievement unlocked for me and my fellow gamers who do not like Gould language and so a huge thank you goes out to The Coalition for implementing thisThis game is a fantastic narrative experience and a true treat on the eyes. Right off the bat I was able to select content filters for not only blood and gore but more importantly for me, a language filter option as well. This is a huge achievement unlocked for me and my fellow gamers who do not like Gould language and so a huge thank you goes out to The Coalition for implementing this feature!
    Gears of War 5 continues the stellar performances of the previous cast where Gears 4 left off. As you navigate the most diverse and immersive terrain in the history of the franchise, it is easy to get lost in the open world as you hunt down collectables and upgrades for Jack your robot companion. The core gameplay is still intact and some quality of life adjustments have been made in order to truly move forward with the series in a way which is both honoring the past chapters and also setting the stage for new stories to be told in a diverse selection of paths in the future. The multiplayer is phenomenal as well, arguably the best in the series and it has been a real joy to enter into the fray once more having been gone from multiplayer online gaming for several years. While I wish I could give the game a perfect score, I have to dock it simply because of minor technical glitches in the form of the classic "Lancer goes through solid objects while revved up" schtick and pieces of debris and even dismembered pieces of enemy units floating or gliding across the maps on a semi frequent occassion.
    The choices the developers made with the story were superb and I cannot wait to play it again as soon as these kids go to bed. Solid 9/10 or higher and a real must play not only for Xbox players, but gamers and story enthusiasts of all kinds.
    Expand
  18. Sep 23, 2019
    9
    Good story and gameplay,great multiplayer!
    Nice praphics,good servers!!!!!!
  19. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    I played with Xbox game pass ultimate and all I can say is don’t listen to the reviewers saying that this game is bad. Gears 5 doesn’t deserve anything below an 8 in my opinion. It brings in some new open world-like mechanics that no other gears has. If you’re a fan of fast paced multiplayer, a good story, Or Co-Op campaign, this game is for you
  20. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    Buenísimo juego, exelentes gráficos 10/10
    4k hermoso y realista, amo este juego apenas estubo en la tienda lo compre para que si se me acaba el gamepass no lo pierda
  21. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    Simplemente fantástico juego, Excelente jugabilidad, batallas épicas y diversión sin límite.
  22. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    Me gusto mas que el 4. se ve muy bien el juego y muy buen control. el sonido como en todo es excelente. esto apenas comienza XD
  23. Sep 6, 2019
    9
    In order not to scare away Gears veterans, Act 1 plays just like any other game in the series with some minor tweaks. Then on Act 2 the new Gears begin properly. It looks and plays amazing, even on Xbox S, one of the tightest controls I've played this generation, multiplayer is a blast, as usual. Definitely the game Xbox needed this gen. Will put other games on the backlog for some time now.
  24. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Gears 5 é o grande triunfo e retorno da Microsoft ao mundo dos melhores games AAA+ dessa geraçao, inovando e arriscando em jogabilidade mais ousada, mundo maiores com gráficos insanos e a melhor história entre personagens desde o começo da saga.
    Parabéns Microsoft.
    Expand
  25. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    This game can easily be described as an experience. The game looks and plays incredibly (4k 60fps & HDR) the sound is amazing (Dolby Atmos option included) & it plays smooth. Plus, its on game pass! I recommend it, its really good. Best thing is if you have doubts just use gamepass and play it!
  26. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    Warning: Once you start playing this, you won't be able to stop. You won't sleep, you won't eat, You'll laugh and you'll cry, you'll lose all sense of time, and your loved ones may never see your again. Until your done, and then you'll just start over because it was so good the first time.
  27. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    Campanha incrível, mais cinemática do que jamais antes visto na franquia, multiplayer divertidíssimo, promessa de atualizações constantes de conteúdo em uma base já sólida tanto visualmente, em performance e diversão.
    De longe o gears com mais conteúdo. De longe o gears mais bonito, e do mesmo jeito o mais promissor
  28. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    Best of Gears games. Stunning graphics and great story. Good sign for Gears 6!
  29. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    Gears 5 is probably the best Xbox One exclusive alongside with Sunset Overdrive. It brings frenetic and action combat scenes that were missed since Gears of War 2. Introducing more character development as well as new characters and bringing back the old crew. It is also a fan service game that only veterans from the first trilogy will understand the references, it is also full packed withGears 5 is probably the best Xbox One exclusive alongside with Sunset Overdrive. It brings frenetic and action combat scenes that were missed since Gears of War 2. Introducing more character development as well as new characters and bringing back the old crew. It is also a fan service game that only veterans from the first trilogy will understand the references, it is also full packed with 4 more modes, including the horde, versus, escape and a map creation. Expand
  30. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    Excelente regreso de la saga gears of war, un baño completamente y con una nueva capa de pintura, se siente fresco y sobre todo para explotar lo que queda de esta generación de consolas con el motor gráfico, que aun puede llegar a sorprendernos mucho, la historia vaya si que me da un buen sabor de boca a diferencia del 4, este lo siento mas libre y arriesgado por parte del estudio, elExcelente regreso de la saga gears of war, un baño completamente y con una nueva capa de pintura, se siente fresco y sobre todo para explotar lo que queda de esta generación de consolas con el motor gráfico, que aun puede llegar a sorprendernos mucho, la historia vaya si que me da un buen sabor de boca a diferencia del 4, este lo siento mas libre y arriesgado por parte del estudio, el multijugador creo que es mas de lo mismo solo puliendo cosas que quedaron a deber en el 4, la punta de lanza que necesitaba microsoft, ahora tienen que ver que la calidad de sus juegos es de aquí para arriba, felicidades the coalition y a los que tienen una xbox, ya se lo merecían. Expand
  31. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    Jogo simplesmente incrível,novas mecânicas interessantes; história como sempre está muito boa; parabéns the coalition pelo ótimo trabalho
  32. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    Gráfico lindo, jogabilidade fluida, história muito boa continuando a do 4 trama boa, som foda, sem dúvidas meu jogo favorito de 2019, multiplique sensacional muitas opções, até a campanha tem coop.
  33. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    Jogo muito bem fluido, gráficos excepcionais, novas mecânicas de jogo, iluminação e som ambiente do jogo perfeitos, combate frenético do começo ao fim, desafiador, multijogador viciante, impossível jogar uma unica partida, trama muito bem feita, jogo feito em detalhes, ja podem entregar as taças!
  34. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    Fluid gameplay and many game modes. It is a great game. Microsoft made a great job.
  35. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    Simplesmente Impressionante , jogabilidade incrível , multiplayer fantástico , gráficos incríveis em 4k
  36. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    Frantic game with thrilling story. Multplayer still fun, long life to Gears 5! S2
  37. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    Much more expansive than the first 4. Beautiful graphics, gameplay is familiar yet refreshing. Standard of how Microsoft AAA games should be
  38. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    Melhor Gears de todos os tempos em termos de gráficos, som, jogabilidade, história, multiplayer...
  39. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    The best Gears of War ever created. Amazing Graphics and Gameplay. The variety of modes and innovated campaing makes this a refreshing entry in the saga.
  40. Sep 6, 2019
    9
    No soy fan de la saga pero este me sorprendió, muy recomendable. La historia me gustó, el multijugador es frenético y divertido, creo que lo hicieron bien :)
  41. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    It is one of the best games created by Microsoft.great graphics, great story. excellent game
  42. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    Gears 5 takes everything a Gears fan loves and cranks it up to 11. With 5 modes including a map editor that is to expand to multiplayer and horde in the near future, this is a Gears game no fan should miss.
  43. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    fan de Gears, ce 6 eme episode( oui judgment existe) est mgnifique.

    Jouant sur xbox one x c'est un des plus beaux jeux auquel j'ai pu jouer et dépasse de loin la concurrence. Niveau gameplay on retrouve notre bon vieux gameplay encore améliorer et le multi est toujours aussi jouissif Niveau campagne on tiens la un hommage à tous els opus et surtout, pour ceux ayant detesté le4 pour
    fan de Gears, ce 6 eme episode( oui judgment existe) est mgnifique.

    Jouant sur xbox one x c'est un des plus beaux jeux auquel j'ai pu jouer et dépasse de loin la concurrence.
    Niveau gameplay on retrouve notre bon vieux gameplay encore améliorer et le multi est toujours aussi jouissif

    Niveau campagne on tiens la un hommage à tous els opus et surtout, pour ceux ayant detesté le4 pour je ne sais quelles raison, il est bien au niveau des anciens et meme au dessus
    Expand
  44. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    The best game of the franchise. 10/10.
    Semi open world, side quests, a little RPG style, etc.
  45. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    Espectacular videojuego, de lo mejor de la generación. Los gráficos son de los más top de esta generación. El doblaje es sorprendente, y es algo que se disfruta. En general un juego de 10.
  46. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    The Coalition hizo un gran trabajo en Gears 5 en lo técnico contiene un gran contenido de lanzamiento y gráficamente sobresaliente comparado con el 4, algo de mencionar el peso la diferencia paso de ser mas 100 GB del 4 con la nueva entrega el 5 tienes un mejor peso menos de 70 con el parche X y por ultimo mantiene los 60 FPS en los 4k nativos. para termina gran juego de acción lasThe Coalition hizo un gran trabajo en Gears 5 en lo técnico contiene un gran contenido de lanzamiento y gráficamente sobresaliente comparado con el 4, algo de mencionar el peso la diferencia paso de ser mas 100 GB del 4 con la nueva entrega el 5 tienes un mejor peso menos de 70 con el parche X y por ultimo mantiene los 60 FPS en los 4k nativos. para termina gran juego de acción las personas que califican mal con 0 por solo ser continuista o un gran narrativa difiero con eso comentarios sin valides alguna !!!! Expand
  47. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Gears is BACCCKKKK! The Coalition knocked this out of the park. Most of you are asking. Is this better than 4? Yes by a long shot and is now Game of the Year for Xbox in my eyes. New Multiplayer mode escape added while existing MP have been tweaked for the better game mechanics and experience. This is also where 60fps @4k shines. Did I mention Map Maker? The Coalition tweaked the weapons and fine tuned the feel of them and it feels really good now. Campaign layers in just enough new ideas, ie skiff exploration, new bosses, Jackbot now included in battle. but keeps the gears feel from what we loved in the original trilogy. The games also looks damn beautiful on the both xbox1x and S. Leaves me looking forward to Gears6. Expand
  48. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    Best console exclusive of this Gen, Just play the game is amazing on Xbox One X!!!
  49. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    Hay poco que decir, 60fps a un nivel grafico que te deja asombrado, mejor juego de accion del 2019 hasta la fecha, super divertido y adictivo como todos los gears pero mas variado incluso que el gears 2. Un juego que NADIE que le gusten de verdad los videojuegos de accion y concretamente los TPS se querrà perder.... luego leo cosas absurdas de comparativas con otros juegos de laHay poco que decir, 60fps a un nivel grafico que te deja asombrado, mejor juego de accion del 2019 hasta la fecha, super divertido y adictivo como todos los gears pero mas variado incluso que el gears 2. Un juego que NADIE que le gusten de verdad los videojuegos de accion y concretamente los TPS se querrà perder.... luego leo cosas absurdas de comparativas con otros juegos de la competencia y que entra en el denominado fanboy... querer comparar este juego con Uncharted o HZero Dawn es ridiculo por mil motivos....(horizon zero para mi es el mejor juego de esta generacion por motivos de gusto personal). Este juego es de un 10 como la copa de un pino. Expand
  50. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    A very good game, it look too different to gears 4, and it use the same engine!, coalition made a very well job with gears 5, and the extra characters of halo reach, Dave Batista, terminator, a very good add on, my respect to Microsoft, I Wait more surprises from Microsoft, and the other studios of Microsoft, like obsidian, ninja theory, etc, and that’s all
  51. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    The game is awesome! The best TPS game of gen! Master piece. I played on xbox one x
  52. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    DE LA MANERA MÁS OBJETIVA POSIBLE:

    En el apartado técnico el juego logra algo que muchos otros quisieran, que es correr con un solido 4K y 60fps estables, lo cual de entrada ya lo posiciona por encima de la gran mayoría de juegos. Los detalles gráficos logrados (iluminación, texturas y acabados) resaltan de sobremanera ante un juego que -claramente- nos da una aproximación a lo que
    DE LA MANERA MÁS OBJETIVA POSIBLE:

    En el apartado técnico el juego logra algo que muchos otros quisieran, que es correr con un solido 4K y 60fps estables, lo cual de entrada ya lo posiciona por encima de la gran mayoría de juegos.

    Los detalles gráficos logrados (iluminación, texturas y acabados) resaltan de sobremanera ante un juego que -claramente- nos da una aproximación a lo que será la nueva generación de consolas.

    En cuanto al rendimiento, resulta un verdadero logro conseguir una tasa de frames tan estable más aun tratándose de un juego de acción tan frenético y con tantos elementos en pantalla que interactuan a la vez. Esa solidez de rendimiento se agradece muchísimo, ya que genera que jamás se pierda el nivel de inmersión para un juego de éste género.

    En el apartado sonoro, el juego cumple con mantener un equilibrio de ritmo para cada parte del mismo. Gran fidelidad en detalles como las explosiones, el sonido particular de cada elemento o arma, y la inmersión en los momentos más frenéticos o de suspenso. Todo ello sin mencionar una calidad como la de Dolby Atmos que genera una experiencia de otro nivel.

    De otro lado, respecto al juego en sí mismo, Gears 5 logra superar con creces las expectativas generadas a partir de su predecesor (Gears of War 4). Esto se puede apreciar desde cada uno de los apartados en los que el juego nos introduce:

    En el modo campaña, no sólo nos encontramos con una historia sólida y que brinda muchas respuestas a interrogantes que la saga nos hizo plantearnos desde sus predecesoras. Todos coincidimos en que Gears of War 4 nos trató de introducir a una nuevo universo (resultado lógico luego de la primera trilogía), presentándonos personajes nuevos que no llegaron a conectar con los jugadores ni tampoco tuvieron el desarrollo que se esperaba. En esta ocasión, nos encontramos con una historia que nos presenta una profundidad en cada uno de los personajes, cada uno con objetivos y trasfondos que nos hacen empatizar o -por lo menos- entender cada uno de sus conflictos. Es una historia que logra lo que todos los fans extrañaban desde las primeras entregas y en ese sentido el juego cumple con lo que se pedía a gritos. Sin entrar en mayores detalles (para evitar spoilers) tenemos una historia sólida, envolvente, que nos trasporta desde los momentos de mayor adrenalina y desesperación hasta situaciones de suspenso y tensión extremos. Esta nueva propuesta ya no sólo nos exige avanzar disparando a diestra y siniestra, ahora la historia nos obliga a llevar una jugabilidad más rica en opciones (desde avanzar de manera frenética hasta evaluar la posibilidad de optar por el sigilo en los momentos de mayor suspenso). Esta variedad introducida se agradece mucho, ya que enriquece el juego de muchas maneras.

    Y ya que hablamos de jugabilidad, no se puede dejar de mencionar las nuevas propuestas y las innovaciones que el juego nos introduce. Las nuevas mecánicas de juego, tales como el árbol de habilidades de Jack, la propia opción de jugar con Jack o la campaña cooperativa de 3 jugadores de manera local son realmente grandes aportes a un juego que exigía nuevos aires para una nueva generación.

    Y si desde ya con todo lo mencionado podemos decir que Gears 5 nos ha dado una gran sorpresa como lo han hecho otros grandes juegos de este año (Resident Evil 2, Devil May Cry 5 o Astral Chain por citar algunos), debemos tener en cuenta que Gears 5 va más allá, pues si tan sólo con el apartado técnico, la campaña, la jugabilidad y las innovaciones mostradas ya nos ubica ante un juego más que imponente y serio candidato a Juego del Año, debemos tener presente que Gears 5 sobresale sobre otros grandes juegos (como los que ya mencionamos) pues nos encontramos ante un juego que no se agota en su más que interesante Campaña, pues otro de los pilares en los que este juego destaca sobre otro grandes juegos que no cuentan con ello, es precisamente su increíble modo Multiplayer y el clásico modo Horda.

    Tanto en el modo de Enfrentamiento como en el modo Horda, The Coalition nos vuelve a sorprender con más innovaciones que avivan su ya muy reconocido modo Multiplayer. Nos encontramos con un modo Horda en el que se destacan nuevos aportes como los roles de cada personaje, situación que nos hará trabajar de manera más estratégica con nuestro equipo. Asimismo, dicha característica (habilidades únicas de personaje) nos lleva a un modo competitivo mucho más interesante que los modos que ya conocíamos. La introducción del modo Escape se agradece de gran manera y es una nueva opción para poder disfrutar de modo cooperativo hasta entre 3 jugadores. Finalmente, la introducción de nuevos personajes de otras franquicias representa el esfuerzo de los desarrolladores que no se puede dejar de mencionar.

    Por todo ello, Gears 5 nos ofrece un paquete completo y de gran calidad. Digno de aplaudir
    Expand
  53. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    Great game evn though the 3rd party games run better on the x they still recieve a lower score.theyre is a media bias and gears 5 is a great example 8.5 metacritic score tells every gamer out there you can kniw longer trust m3ta cr1t1c
  54. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    Best gears ever made , the story mode campaign amazing and the best looking graphics this generation
  55. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    Really good graphics, nice story, good multilayer and very good modes like escape and horde
  56. Sep 9, 2019
    10
    The best Gears since GoW 2. It finally controls well and tells an interesting story. The new mode called "Escape" is a lot of fun and the new MP-maps are much better designed than those from Gears 4.
  57. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    Gears 5 es lo que esperábamos. Sencillamente una oda a la accion y a los ingredientes que han hecho grande a esta saga. Gráfica y técnicamente es de 10.
  58. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Excelente calidad de juego 10/10 Tiene un excelente contenido Multijugador
    Campaña
    Gorda
    Escape
    Creador de mapas Muy buenos sistemas de cobertura
    Expand
  59. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    Um dos melhores ano! Otima campanha, Jogabilidade refinada, gráficos deslumbrantes no X.
  60. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    Excelent job The Coalition this game its just beautiful and fun, no more words.
  61. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    Amazing campaign, many new changes but predominantly for the better. Fantastic multiplayer as always.
  62. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Best gears ever the world the story and the HDR all working fine I love this game Expand
  63. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Magnificent game, best gears yet, sumptuous visuals, enthralling gameplay, Coalition knocked it outta the park. Expand
  64. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    Que jogo maravilhoso, sem dúvidas tudo foi melhorado. Mapas, sons, iluminação, tudo e um espetáculo!
    Campanha lindíssima
  65. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    Incredible,one for best games in the gears series (um my opinion of cuorse)
  66. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    Se esperaba algo bueno pero se han superado las espectativas, acción y diversión sin fin, un lujo de juego, detalles gráficos sobresalientes que en la X con HDR y 4K rayan la excelencia.
  67. Sep 6, 2019
    9
    El hyyype dios, no sentia algo asi desde end game, se agradece el gran trabajo de The coalition, uno de los mejores del año ESO ES SEGURO
  68. Sep 6, 2019
    9
    O jogo apresenta a sua história com cadencia e cuidado. Gráficos bonitos e paleta de cores muito bem feita.
  69. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    very good, the graphics are wonderful!
    i dont forget this game
    good good good!
  70. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    O jogo tá muito bom. Gráficos excelente, jogabilidade muito boa e precisa, uma ótima história muito tbm. O jogo com certeza respondeu as minhas expectativas.
  71. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    Grande experiencia al jugar lo mejor de este año 2019, con seguridad tendras la mejor experiencia en gears hasta ahora
  72. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    Graficos, dieño, gameplay, en Gears 5 encontramos lo mejor de la saga hasat ahora
  73. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    Este juego merece un diez no voy a entrar en detalles porq todo el mundo lo sabe
  74. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    Un juego mas grande, mas completo y mejorado para los grandes fans de esta saga
  75. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    Increible desempeño de las grandes consolas de Microsoft, junto a una gran jugabilidad
  76. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    este juego es espectacular, por fin The Coalition logro entender a la saga, muchos debemos de aplaudir y estar feliz por que una de las grandes sagas regreso, lo que mas me encanto del juego fue su jugabilidad y sus nuevos mode de juego en el multijugador. este juego representa que una saga puede mejorar sin perder su esencia. esto es un gears.
  77. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    Resultado sublime del gran trabajo dedicado a una de las mejores sagas de videojuegos
  78. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    Difrutamos de las mejores experiwncias y ahora estamos ante lo mejor del pasado, presente y futuro de la saga
  79. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    Para defender el gran trabajo de Microsoft y The coalition en sacar adelante la saga de Gears of War que tanto nos gusta
  80. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    Mejor que cualquier otro juego que veremos este año, defendiendo lo mas destacable de este año para los fans
  81. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. O jogo é a evolução perfeita da saga, o gráfico é impecável e mostra ser um dos mais bonitos do Xbox One. Expand
  82. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    Simplesmente épico parabéns a Microsoft jogão jogabilidade perfeita gráfica lindíssimo história muito bem elaborada simples uns dois melhores jogos dessa geração pra mim o melhor do Xbox one até agora
  83. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    Great visuals, HUGE campaign, 3 modes for multiplayer. A true AAA for the Xbox One.
  84. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Gears 5 is better and bigger than any gears of war ever made a complete pack! Expand
  85. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    Gears 5 is the best shooter to date. There is not a more complete, fun, graphical powerhouse in the industry. Don't miss this one. The metacritic score is completely unfair and should not be used as a true metric of how much fun you will have playing this game.
  86. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    Voy en el acto 3, pero me parece un juego increible, realmente me sorprendieron positivamente, da gusto jugar con esta calidad, ahora a ver como termina este juegazo.
  87. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    Gears se supero, el apartado gráfico es excelente, la jugabilidad muy buena, la acción no para, la historia buen guion, buena narrativa, los diálogos mejoraron y se agradece. El mejor juego hasta el día de hoy

    mi comentario se basa en estarlo jugado en la xbox one x y pantalla 4k
  88. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    Gears at its best.
    If you like Gears or 3rd Person shooter then this is for you.
  89. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    Não imaginava como poderiam melhorar os gráficos depois de GEARS 4, mas veio o tão esperado 5 e me surpreendi novamente com a beleza do game. O jogo te prende tanto pelo gameplay como pela história. Isso mostra o quanto de coisas boas podemos esperar dessa nova fase da Microsoft.
  90. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Gear 5 es una obra maestra, cómo poseedor de Xbox, Swich, PS4 y PC creo que es uno de los mejores juegos de esta generación, es increíble ver el trabajo que está haciendo Microsoft con game pass y the coalition con esta franquicia. Expand
  91. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    He developed the best story in the Gears series and the best graphics in this year's games
    With a huge world, huge online content and new Gears characters are becoming more mature
  92. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    Awesome game. Stunning graphics. Intelligent Gameplay and an awesome story. This is gears 5 in 2019. Exzellent work. Even it is not Native 4K you won't find a better looking console game Running and stunning at 60fps.
  93. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    Un juego de 10 magnífico en todos sus aparatos tanto en el de mecánicas como el de gráficos y obviamente en la jugabilidad pero sobre todo una narrativa buenísima!!!!!
  94. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Amazing game, I've been a huge fan of the series owning all the games, consoles. Didn't like the direction 4 went in but now after 5 it makes more sense. This is easily the best gears experience for the game single player and multiplayer. Expand
  95. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    I can't believe that Xbox One Fat is running this game.
    Incredible!!!
    Sara Connor, T800, Kat and Emile finally tearing apart enemies as always but now literally...
    ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
  96. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    Best Gears ever! Ha evolucionado en todos sus apartados. El juego comienza de menos a MÁS. Mejor juego de acción de la última década sin duda alguna.
  97. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    Merci coalition pour ce Gears. Juste au top !!! Un solo excellent et un multi de folie
  98. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    A masterpiece! Everything has been improved greatly! JUST PLAY AND ENJOY IT! ;-)
  99. Sep 6, 2019
    9
    A great Gears comeback. The most incredible visual of all this generation games. The plot is solid to the story of Gears and works. Horda comebacks great as well and Escape is frenetical!
  100. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    great game.. best geraphic.. best story.. best campigan and multi player.. great..
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 86 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 78 out of 86
  2. Negative: 0 out of 86
  1. Oct 23, 2019
    80
    The game looks really great and has a deliberately brighter and more varied color palette than most of the previous games. While I think the open-world stuff is flat and could have been way better, there are moments out there in the nothingness that just look straight-up incredible, including a late-game weather sequence that, despite not being great gameplay, was worth seeing a couple of times just for the visuals alone.
  2. Official Xbox Magazine UK
    Oct 11, 2019
    90
    Gears 5 is definitely a success story... it’s just not quite on the same Xbox tier of insta-classic territory as the original Gears Of War. Though combat is satisfying, there’s the nagging doubt it hasn’t evolved enough over the past 13 years – a point hammered home if you play Remedy’s recent Control. Still, despite some overly safe online modes, that refreshed, never-bolder campaign makes Kait’s story a tour of duty you should definitely sign up for. [Issue#183, p.69]
  3. Edge Magazine
    Oct 10, 2019
    60
    There's a lot going on here, much of it captivating, some of it just for appearances and some of it annoying. [Issue#338, p.92]