Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Jun 21, 2017
    85
    There are only a handful of titles that I come across that I would truly recommend gamers to experience — Get Even is one such example. If you enjoyed titles like Quantum Break and Deus Ex: Mankind Divided, with an element of thriller thrown in, you’re sure to enjoy this.
  2. Jun 21, 2017
    82
    Get Even might be the Inception game we deserve. The script and the constant plot twists present one of the most twisted scenarios I’ve ever played. The tense atmosphere that surrounds the game will catch us until the end while revisiting the memories of a dramatic event.
  3. Jul 26, 2017
    80
    Get Even is a winner, and if you like film noir, dark crime stories and/or games that make you think, then you need to check it out.
  4. Jul 20, 2017
    80
    For its running time Get Even is certainly not a walking simulator or walk in the park. It takes 16-19 hours to complete the game, depending on the player’s willingness to sweep every nook and cranny for all the clues. But Get Even is not an action game either. It’s a mixed bag really. It’s problematic with its identity, reaching out in different directions and jumping all over the place but in the end, it’s this blurred identity which is the focal point of the game. For those who have the stamina to go for the full length of it all, Get Even is a disjointed, schizophrenic, exhausting but ultimately rewarding experience.
  5. Jul 13, 2017
    80
    Spend enough time with Get Even and you're likely certain to see why it's so arresting. There's something unique and original and intriguing at the core of this game. But hey, maybe I'm wrong. Maybe this is just the Stockholm Syndrome talking.
  6. Jul 3, 2017
    80
    If you like story driven first person adventure games, then you can’t go wrong with this. It’s inventive, brilliantly told and designed, with great voice over work.
  7. Jun 21, 2017
    78
    Get Even results sometimes in too-slow storytelling and fails to provide a valuable shooter, stealth or even thriller experience, but it is redeemed by an adult and surprising story with breathtaking plot twists and by a brilliant audio production.
  8. Jun 30, 2017
    75
    Get Even is better as an experience than as a game, but it’s an extremely evocative experience. Even still, what could have been a completely unique gaming experience is hampered by its desire to be a more action-oriented, generic thriller.
  9. Jun 26, 2017
    75
    It's not a shooter, nor a survival horror or a graphic adventure. Get Even is a mix that creates a terrifying experience that could've been written by Stephen King. It has some mistakes in the gaming design, compensated for by a lot of hours of gameplay.
  10. Jun 28, 2017
    70
    Get Even uses some light brushstrokes of cliches but ultimately paints a picture much more unconventional than it may at first seem. In both story and gameplay, your expectations will be subverted several times over. Not all of its risks pay off, but when they do they ensure the game is a refreshing addition to the medium. Part shooter, part exploration and investigation while always compelling, Get Even is the strange mashup of Saw and Eternal Sunshine we never knew we wanted. If you play games for story and can forgive some forgettable shootouts and visuals, Get Even may someday be a fond memory of yours.
  11. Jun 22, 2017
    70
    While Get Even may not look the best, it still has a surprising story and a lovely soundtrack.
  12. Jun 21, 2017
    70
    A bold and interesting Inception-inspired crack at delivering a twisty turny story, Get Even succeeds in making exploration and collectibles enjoyable, while the later combat engagements prove to be a grind. Overall, however, Get Even is a fun, if somewhat convoluted, first-person yarn.
  13. Jun 26, 2017
    60
    Get Even is the very definition of a mixed bag. While its gameplay might be varied and thoughtful, its narrative sees a staggeringly sharp decline as you enter the final third. The sound design might be truly phenomenal, but the level design loses its stride about halfway through. If you’re a fan of the walking sim genre but you crave something more interactive, Get Even is certainly a game to consider, but not one that is in any way essential.
  14. Official Xbox Magazine UK
    Jul 25, 2017
    50
    Good ideas are drowned out by a confusing story and frustrating controls. [Sept 2017, p.72]
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 38 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 38
  2. Negative: 7 out of 38
  1. Jun 26, 2017
    8
    NOTE: VERY EARLY IN THE GAME REVIEW, ABOUT 90 MINUTES PLAYED

    Already I can tell that the combat is rather clunky, and that some of the
    NOTE: VERY EARLY IN THE GAME REVIEW, ABOUT 90 MINUTES PLAYED

    Already I can tell that the combat is rather clunky, and that some of the investigation mechanics are sort of half baked, as opposed to a game like Criminal Origins. Nevertheless, I believe that it is a solid game because of an interesting story and character, and manages to do something very well that isn't found in a lot of games; it immerses you. I want to find out what happens next, I don't want to put my controller down, even though the game isn't perfect. I think that its shortcomings are made up for because it only costs thirty bucks. If the trailer seems interesting and you like a linear story, I highly recommend.
    Full Review »
  2. Jun 26, 2017
    10
    W Get Even wystarczyło mi zaledwie kilka minut, by zanurzyć się w opowieść. . Klimat gry jest po prostu świetny, podkreślany przez genialnąW Get Even wystarczyło mi zaledwie kilka minut, by zanurzyć się w opowieść. . Klimat gry jest po prostu świetny, podkreślany przez genialną oprawę audio. Początkowo niełatwo mi było przyzwyczaić się do nagłych przeskoków do różnych wspomnień i lokacji, ale pod koniec, gdy wszystkie wątki zostały ze sobą połączone, a wiele wydarzeń pokazano w zupełnie innym świetle, przez długi czas wpatrywałam się w ekran z otwartą gębą :D Full Review »
  3. Nov 22, 2017
    8
    I really enjoyed this game but there are some issues that kept it from getting a higher score. The biggest problem I have is the gameI really enjoyed this game but there are some issues that kept it from getting a higher score. The biggest problem I have is the game punishing you for using all the weapons you work so hard collecting. The forced stealth that is so difficult when you can't really see and can't use devices to help you see without losing your map. Worst of all are the choices to get the "good" ending which is almost identical to the "bad" ending. In my opinion these endings should be reversed, I think the bad ending is a more just outcome. Really, don't waste your time going for the "good " ending unless you need the gamer score because I think you might be really mad for putting in all that effort for such a slight change. Overall for the price this is better than most full priced games so you will get value for your money. One more thing, be careful not to explore too far off the beaten track as you will get stuck in the environment and have to reload but the game does have a good check point system so this isn't too big a deal.. Basically a good game that could have been much better. Full Review »