Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Jan 14, 2015
    100
    I highly recommend #IDARB, and this comes from someone that doesn’t play sports games, yet I knew the moment I yelled at my TV during a slow motion instant replay victory, this was special.
  2. Feb 9, 2015
    90
    It may have resulted in a seemingly incoherent fusion of ideas and pixels, but at its heart, #IDARB is a classic sports game that will click with just about anybody, and the extra helping of random chaos will never cease to entertain.
  3. Feb 9, 2015
    90
    Even if you are playing 1 v 1 matches, it makes for an incredibly fun time and since matches are short, you will probably find yourself saying "just one more match" over and over again like I have.
  4. 90
    Chaotic, fun and fantastic, #IDARB may just be the best multiplayer experience currently available on the Xbox One.
  5. Feb 10, 2015
    85
    #IDARB is a 2D platform competitive game. It's dirty, action-packed, and filled with Internet memes. It's genuinely fun and best played with friends locally or head to head in online matchmaking. #IDARB is a game made from the ground up to be a spectator title thanks to social interactions with Twitch and Twitter, which is a lesson developers can learn from and implement.
  6. Feb 2, 2015
    85
    IDARB throws a lot of goof spaghetti at the wall, and a shocking amount of it sticks. But its absurdity can, when cranked up to 11, distract from the real joy of the game — its satisfying mechanics and miles-deep strategy.
  7. Jan 30, 2015
    83
    #IDARB is a fantastic party game with its large player count, simple-yet-solid mechanics, and the ability to let those spectating interact. It’s the perfect game to keep loaded on your Xbox One, as long as you have someone nearby to join the fun.
  8. Jan 22, 2015
    83
    Aside from the less than stellar implementation of the multiplayer #IDARB is a boat load of fun, easy to pick up and will have you laughing for hours. This Canadian made game manages to shine in nearly every department.
  9. Jan 21, 2015
    82
    It feels experimental, halfway between a platformer and a sports game, but still unique and fun. If you're looking for an original game, this can be a good choice.
  10. Apr 2, 2015
    80
    As a standalone arcade game it isn’t worth much. The multiplayer is what makes it great, whether it be local or online. It offers a face paced and ever-changing game space that can be fun for everyone.
  11. Feb 11, 2015
    80
    #IDARB starts as a leisurely game of basketball/soccer/whatever you want to call it and it could very well stay that way, or it could become a fountain of chaos with random elements thrown in from all sides.
  12. Feb 9, 2015
    80
    #IDARB gives us the answer to what happens when the whole Internet gets to play game designer. The result is an inviting and simplistic e-sport with unexpected depth of play. Unfortunately multiple players is a must to enjoy the game. However the support for up to eight players, if enough controllers were available, makes this a guaranteed hit and one of greatest multiplayer experiences on the Xbox One. Perfect for a game night with friends.
  13. Feb 7, 2015
    80
    It stands as proof that all it takes to make a fantastic game, even with today's available technology, is a solid set of core gameplay mechanics with inherent depth.
  14. Feb 2, 2015
    80
    #IDARB reminds me of the core reason why I play videogames, the honest fun and good spirit of the design with the tight competitive gameplay make this a perfect game to sit back and let the world slip away.
  15. Digital Spy
    Jan 21, 2015
    80
    #IDARB already earns a spot as one of the Xbox One's premier party games based on its frantic multiplayer matches, striking a fine balance between skill-based competition and playful silliness.
  16. 80
    As good as #IDARB is, it’s going to need a community of players and fans to get the most out of it.
  17. Jan 14, 2015
    80
    As a game, it's fairly simple, and playing by oneself could grow dull quickly. It's really when people play together, either locally or online, that #IDARB takes off.
  18. Feb 2, 2015
    78
    It seeks to shake up the familiar co-op sports game with simplistic controls and unstoppable energy and creates an ultra-competitive gameplay that’s easy to play or watch. And while the game shines at 2v2, it falls victim to its own frenzy with any additional players.
  19. Feb 16, 2015
    76
    A frantic, enjoyable and easy to approach strictly for multiplayer game.
  20. Feb 17, 2015
    75
    #IDARB is a fun experience when it comes to local co-op play, offering enough wacky elements to keep its general premise as interesting as possible. Unfortunately, control issues, poor online matches, and a few other problems keep it from really impressing.
  21. Feb 10, 2015
    75
    The next stop for the e-sports' train, developed with the help of the community and thought with the online world as engine for the experience. If you are a solo player, run away from this game as fast as hell.
  22. 75
    Fast, silly, disposable fun that excels at couch competition but falls short of our expectations for online play, #IDARB is nevertheless a brilliant laugh.
  23. Jan 13, 2015
    75
    With the right composition of friends holding controllers, IDARB becomes a ridiculous, intense sports game that is much smarter and more technical than its silly presentation may lead you to believe.
User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 88 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 88
  2. Negative: 15 out of 88
  1. Feb 4, 2015
    10
    This game is all about the online multiplayer. It has to be the most addictive game I have ever played. There are some matchmaking issues butThis game is all about the online multiplayer. It has to be the most addictive game I have ever played. There are some matchmaking issues but after one or two tries you find a match. Fast fun simple gameplay makes this a treat. I play with hashbombs off as I feel they detract from the game. This game also has online guest support so you can play up to 4v4 with a team of friends on your sofa. Full Review »
  2. Feb 18, 2015
    4
    For free it is definitely worth the add, but for the regular price it would get a little stale after a while for me. Having 8 people runningFor free it is definitely worth the add, but for the regular price it would get a little stale after a while for me. Having 8 people running around on one screen is something that is hard to beat though. All Xbox one owners should scoop this game up while it is free. It's a game that you will definitely thrown on every once in a while for some wild fast paced action. Not a huge fan of some of the mechanics but overall, it is fun to play every once and a while. Full Review »
  3. Feb 1, 2015
    10
    This game is all about the online multiplayer. It has to be the most addictive game I have ever played. There are some matchmaking issues butThis game is all about the online multiplayer. It has to be the most addictive game I have ever played. There are some matchmaking issues but after one or two tries you find a match. Fast fun simple gameplay makes this a treat. I play with hashbombs off as I feel they detract from the game. This game also has online guest support so you can play up to 4v4 with a team of friends on your sofa.

    an absolute gem and its currently free on xbox one. I do believe this to be the first (10) I have given a game.

    trust me it deserves it
    Full Review »